Truist Bank, Review

Truist Bank, Review

Average rating stars based on 67 reviews
stars Interest Rate and Cost
stars Office Environment & Staff
stars Waiting Time
stars Other Services
5 star:
21
4 star:
2
3 star:
4
2 star:
5
1 star:
35
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 4
Sad Customer Relations, Long Waits,
 1star Overall Rating
 2star Interest Rate and Cost
 1star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
 2star Other Services
by OverBBT, Nov. 28, 2023

Sadly, 20+ years experience with BB&T now Truist. The Truist migration, although supposedly seamless to the customer, was far less so. We bank not only personally but for several small business' we have owned over the years through Truist. Add to that usage a substantial commercial loan several years ago and several residential home mortgages as well in the last 20+ years. I have also used the affiliate BB&T Insurance for various business insurance needs. We have a substantial history with the now Truist Bank. As we have dealt with several branches in 4 States now, Truist in Murphy NC may be one of the worst branches that Truist has. It is trypically chronically understaffed and thus the staff is often under stress which translates into a poor customer relations experience quite often. They have no patience with you on the phone no doubt due to often having a backed up line of customers to service. Try sitting in the lobby to speak with a relationship banker...best to take the afternoon off as it typically is a ridiculously long wait. Often banking issues go either unresolved or a partial kidney donation is required to beg for assistance. Not returning calls seems to be the status quo for this particular location. The scariest dealing with this branch was when i turned over the details of my entire financial portfolio to the BB&T Financial represntative and then could not get return emails or phone calls responded to for subsequent actions/follow-up. Had to seek out other resources to handle my financial needs. Run of the mill branch visits often are stressful as well as the "I want to assist with your banking needs/issues" seems to not exist much at this branch. Much of this attitude I discern as mismanaged scheduling initiatives wherein the staffing is often overwhelmed by business cycles/volume. I hope that i am correct in this assumption and that it is not just a cultural issue (referencing poor customer relations) for this branch. Alas, I have too many tie's to this bank due to my various business accounts but Truist, at least this branch, has been a huge disappointment in customer service and friendly can do atmosphere. If you're new to the area and looking for a new bank, maybe one of the other local banks may service your needs better. Check out their ratings and as always...buyer beware before you purchase. Buyer remorse afterwards is frustrating.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, MURPHY WEST HIGHWAY 64 BRANCH at Murphy, NC
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Save urself the headache
 1star Overall Rating
 1star Interest Rate and Cost
 1star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
 1star Other Services
by JesusFreak, Nov. 28, 2023

I miss the old BB&T Bank & services before the merge.

A big inconvenience in many ways almost every time.

1. Atm Inconvenience mutiple different times restarted w/ error after I deposited my checks the atm ate my debit card after hrs. Now I've got to contact and re-enter all my payment info with every buisness again the 5th time. 1 occasion they gave me a temporary card and it got stuck inside atm.

2. Disaster, dangerous, small parking lot. Make sure u go after hrs because customers leaving have to sometimes wait until lines of cars wrapped around building move along.

3. Very long lines inside some days there's people standing all the way outside waiting 5 - 10 mins til they can get inside the bank door.

4. Drive thru even worse. The line stretched blocking customers from leaving and interfering with dental buisness next door. Other blocking cars from getting to atm.

5. I've called numerous times past couple months nobody answers or returns my calls.

After the merge bb&t changed overnight in Covington Ga. Why didn't they keep the building on the square? The parking lot and building was over 5 times larger.

Note: Heads up Don't come here between 1 - 3 of the month and don't ever drive in the parking lot when its busy while pulling a tralier. Parking lot is too small.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, COVINGTON NORTH BRANCH at Covington, GA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Stellar Customer Service
 5star Overall Rating
by Sahndra, Nov. 10, 2023

Ann at the Newport, Kentucky branch of Truist resolved a situation w a lost certified check with the utmost knowledge and professionalism.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, NEWPORT BRANCH at Newport, KY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

No customer service
 1star Overall Rating
 1star Interest Rate and Cost
 1star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
 1star Other Services
by suziq, Jul. 15, 2023

I have been trying to work with Truist for a couple of years now on an account of my mothers (I am her POA) & the customer service is horrible, no follow through. The men are rude, inconsiderate and just assholes.  I call Truist number and they can find information the employees in the bank can't seem to find. I absolutely hate trying to work with them.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, ROCKWALL BRANCH at Rockwall, TX
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

So sad
 2star Overall Rating
 2star Interest Rate and Cost
 2star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
 1star Other Services
by UnhappyCustomers, Apr. 15, 2023

They won’t even answer the phone or return calls.  Had been dealing with BBT Zander now Truist for over 15 years. Now can’t even check or deposit a check without showing my ID.
  Wife can’t deposit my check but you can deposit it in the night deposit box or ATM without any ID.   Common sense has left the building.  Employees seem nice but the transition was crappy and PPP piss poor planning.   
  Wanted to charge me $10 for a fax to buy off a loan.  I have called and left three messages over the last two days and haven’t received a return call back yet.   I live 30 minutes away but guess I have to drive up there and try to see where my deposit went?   
 If someone is placing money into your account why would they need ID?  Show you ID and then can’t deposit into my account even through the check is made out to me , signed by me, had a deposit slip attached for my account but couldn’t my son couldn’t  deposit it because he is not on account.   So place in night deposit box.  Now check still hasn’t cleared in two days.   Too many unpleasant experiences to talk about.  Again, employees are nice and say it’s policy but too many headaches dealing with so called policy is crazy.   Hate to change banks but too many unnecessary problems.   
 

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, FARMVILLE BRANCH at Farmville, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by TLDD 2023-07-05 14:29:26
TOTALLY AGREE.  WE SWITCHED TO WELLS FARGO.  CAN NEVER REACH ANYONE AT TRUIST.  IT AUTO GOES TO THE 'CALL CENTER.'  SOMETIMES YOU WANT/NEED TO SPEAK TO SOMEONE AT YOUR OWN BRANCH.  NO 'HOMETOWN' FEEL TO THIS BANK WHATSOEVER.  HAVE LEFT NUMEROUS VOICE MAILS TO CERTAIN EMPLOYEES AS WELL WITH NO CALL-BACK.  MUCH HAPPIER WITH WELLS FARGO.
Worst financial institution I have ever dealt with
 1star Overall Rating
 1star Interest Rate and Cost
 1star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
 1star Other Services
by Madpieandme, Feb. 23, 2023

Truist Bank - WARNING

Do not under any circumstances bank with Truist.  They have the worst customer service I have ever dealt with in my life.  I am not even going to reiterate the multitude of issues I had during the beginning of the merger between Suntrust and BB&T.  However, I will make the point that I was with Suntrust before they or BB&T even existed.

First, I have a letter from them telling me at the beginning of their merger, they were changing my accounts to a new account that did not charge late fees, overdraft fees, etc.  I actually received this letter the very day I had an auto draft coming out of my account and was planning to go make a deposit to cover it.  I am disabled and often not feeling well, so I thought, since I will no longer be charged any type of fee for overdrafts (up to $100), I would wait until the following day, when I hoped I would feel better.  

The following day when I pulled up my account, there was a fee on my account.  The short story is that I called numerous times and also spoke with someone on their chat line.  They refused to refund the fee, telling me the letter was a fraudulent letter, keeping me on hold for over an hour at a time, and ultimately hanging up on me, after I had spent almost 10 hours on the phone with them.  I do want to note however, one of the persons I spoke with on chat did admit to me that they were having a huge issue within their legal department because of these letters, and many people had been complaining about this exact same issue.  I have a screen shot of this as proof of her statement to me about this problem.

Additionally, even though I had never been late on my car loan, HELOC or mortgage payment with them, they raised my interest rate on my HELOC THREE times in a three month period, and cut off my access to the equity in the account.  It now stands at almost 11%.  This is the most ridiculous abuse of power I have ever seen within a financial institution.  I am on disability and cannot possibly afford the monthly payment at this ridiculous rate.  

I tried to remedy this situation by scheduling a call with one of their specialists, in order to modify the rate, payment, length, anything that would help me to fulfill my payment obligation.  Needless to say, they never called at the appointed time.  I tried to call them and ended up on the phone for almost two hours, being transferred to several different departments, and ultimately spoke to 8 people, none of whom would/could help me.  

I am so angry and disgusted by this total lack of support and concern in helping me to resolve this issue. I was the one who tried to be proactive in making sure I would be able to pay my loan without defaulting, and I cannot get anyone within their company to help me at all.

Truist is the absolute worst financial institution I have ever dealt with, since I opened my first account over 35 years ago.  To put it simply, they lie, steal from clients in the form of unjustified fees/fines and have a total disregard for loyal clientele who need assistance to fulfill their obligation in paying on their accounts.  

I have already closed all of my checking and saving accounts with them and will be refinancing my loans with other institutions, once the economy stabilizes again.

Do not under any circumstance trust Truist to look out for their clients' best interests.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, COURT SQUARE BRANCH at Charlottesville, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Richard Moore
 1star Overall Rating
 1star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Other Services
by rmoore7593, Feb. 18, 2023

Zero stars.  I've had accounts with you people for almost 12 years along with 4 mortgages.  My wife went to your Dawsonville, GA branch to get something notarized for ANOTHER mortgage through your bank.  She was turned away because the person she dealt with said she couldn't find a witness.

I went to the Dahlonega branch yesterday with the same issue.  The lady I dealt with-wait for it-simply had another bank rep sign as the unofficial witness.  Imagine that.

My question is how many years of business and how many mortgages do we need to have with you to receive in return a modicum of competence, courtesy, and professional service?  I ask because obviously the aforementioned 12 and 4 are not enough.

BTW, why do you ask how long a person has been with your bank?  (see below). On what planet would that matter?

Thank you for the stark reminder of the world we live in, where simple competence is at an absolute premium.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, DAWSONVILLE MAIN BRANCH at Dawsonville, GA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent customer service
 5star Overall Rating
 5star Office Environment & Staff
 5star Waiting Time
 5star Other Services
by rutyeshleman, Jan. 30, 2023

I would like to convey through you a special thanks and appreciation to a branch employee named Louis in Tifton Georgia for exceptional service!
I live in Romania, I visited the branch when I was in Tifton to solve a problem that required identification at the branch. Lewis cleared her without any problems. When I returned home, the same problem returned due to living in Europe. Luis was not lazy and found a creative way to solve my problem on the phone. This is not obvious and deserves special appreciation. It is important to note that the branch in Tifton is not my branch, I opened the account in Pennsylvania! Kudos to Louis, I wish there would be more like him in the field of service providers. A model for excellence!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, TIFTON MAIN BRANCH at Tifton, GA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Charlene Morgan
 5star Overall Rating
 5star Interest Rate and Cost
 4star Office Environment & Staff
 4star Waiting Time
 4star Other Services
by LauraBer, Dec. 06, 2022

Charlene  helped me out so much, went above and beyond.  She absolutely made my day!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Palm City Branch at Palm City, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Joeavi59 2023-02-28 14:06:38
This branch does not answer their phone an do not call clients back. This bank should close. Customer service is terrible!!!
Horrible experience. Truist has blocked my account for over 30 days and regardless of calling them etc. I repirted them
 1star Overall Rating
 1star Interest Rate and Cost
 1star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
 1star Other Services
by 99GT, Nov. 14, 2022

Horrible experience. After months of large deposits and wires in and outbound I deposited a large bank check payable to me on 11-10-22 and still blocked and now its 11-13-22 and no weitten explaining why the blocked my account? I reported Truist to the North Carolina banking and they email saying they are elevating their review of my account 31 days after blocking my account. My lawyer is suing them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Truist Bank at Charlotte, NC
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Consistently poor service
 1star Overall Rating
 1star Interest Rate and Cost
 1star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
 1star Other Services
by Nicegirl, Nov. 07, 2022

I had to move my bank box here due to bank location closure. I have had complimentary bank box for 20+ years. When I moved my bank box there, I was assured that I would have the same arrangement. I just received a bill. I called the 1800 # who said they could not help me and that I need to go into the bank. I went into the bank and they said that they could not help me. This has be one of many maddening experiences with Truist and this location. I miss Suntrust’s exemplary customer service. I am slowly starting to move my business to other banks.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Plaza America Branch at Reston, VA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by WILLNVERUSETHISBANK 2023-01-05 15:13:39
On Dec 9, 2022, I made a large deposit into a relative's acct. Never recieved any verification, nor would the person verify the reciepient's address... although he is my  ONE of my brothers who live in the SAME town as the branch I used! - THe MAIN BRANCH IN WHITEVILLE NC!  I did not ask for his acct number, I simply wanted to ensure the CORRECT acct received the deposit... also there are more than 1 persons in that town with the SAME name!! I'VE CALLED SINCE DEC 9, 2022 -  NEVER GET A PERSON- ONLY AUTOMATED MCH, AND I'VE LEFT MANY MESSAGES WITH WHY I CALLED, MY FULL NAME AND PHONE NUMBER WITH AREA CODE..... TODAY IS JAN 5, 2023 - AND STILL NO PHONE CALL FROM TRUIST  IN WHITEVILLE NC!  PATHETIC DOESN'T EVEN BEGING TO DESCRIBE THE CUSTOMER SERVICE!! I will NEVER use that bank -  and I almost was about to change banks - - WILL NOT BE TRUIST -- EVER!!!
I am ready to change banks again
 2star Overall Rating
 3star Interest Rate and Cost
 2star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
by Wunjo33971, Oct. 17, 2022

I needed to know my balance in my account. Called branch 3 times and never called back. Lol this is probably the slowest branch in Florida   I had to write a check and didn’t know my balance   Well I called the 800 number and got instant help. Thumbs up to my branch for not helping me I have asked for the past two weeks to change things. I’m really upset that I want to pull out all money and put it under my mattress. I am not a small client with 100.00 in the bank bouncing checks   You telling me that all the employees couldn’t call me back in 8 hours?


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Riverdale Fl Branch at Fort Myers, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst treatment ever
 1star Overall Rating
 1star Interest Rate and Cost
 3star Office Environment & Staff
 3star Waiting Time
 1star Other Services
by MADDOKTUR, Sep. 12, 2022

I looked at my account online one day. My closing balance was a positive amount, but there were 2 overdraft fees being taken out of  and my balance was still positive. Was given no credit for this. they explained it in a nonsence way, not reality.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Fort Oglethorpe Wal-Mart Branch at Fort Oglethorpe, GA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Services excellent
 5star Overall Rating
by Davidbank, Aug. 06, 2022

I want to congratulate the staff of the Marathon Florida Key bank, especially Azucena Landis, excellent service

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Marathon Branch at Marathon, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

No issues
 5star Overall Rating
 3star Interest Rate and Cost
 4star Office Environment & Staff
 3star Waiting Time
 4star Other Services
by Sly17, Jun. 29, 2022

Haven’t had an issue except drive through tellers lanes were closed at 4:15pm on a Wednesday.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Methodist University Branch at Fayetteville, NC
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Joy Garland
 3star Overall Rating
 2star Interest Rate and Cost
 3star Office Environment & Staff
 3star Waiting Time
 3star Other Services
by 320Harding, Jun. 28, 2022

Been with BBT for over 40 years but Truist is ruining it.  I went yesterday to cash a check from my husband, he signed his name at home and I signed mine under it.  Now you tell me he has to be with me from now on in person!  He just had his left lung removed so that’s not going to happen!  We are senior citizens and two people cannot always come together to get a check cashed!  Someone needs to review their policies before everyone leaves, including us!  This is ridiculous!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Belmont Branch at Belmont, NC
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by gingerjohn 2022-10-12 14:11:20
I live in England and have a Truist Dollar account. They suspended my account without telling me. WhenI eventually managed to contact them (1hour 25mins on the phone at international rates) they said it was because my account had been inactive for a year although they still had been taking $4 a month charges from it. When I finally got the account open again I issued a cheque where the written figures and actual figures were different (my mistake) however, still no contact and thy cashed it anyway even though the difference was in the thousands of dollars.  No acknowledgement when tried to ask why. Don't bank with them if you are not a US citizen. Very unprofessional bank!
by Deb56 2022-10-24 09:19:34
I have been with this bank for over 20 years.  Same check goes in bank every week.  Never has bounced.  This week they put a 10 day hold on it. We have stuff coming out automatically that will not go thru. I am done. I will be looking for another bank. Chesapeake Bank makes deposit same day.  I will be checking them out.
No calls returned; unreasonable policies
 3star Overall Rating
 3star Interest Rate and Cost
 3star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
by Robster244, Jun. 21, 2022

Phone messages are ignored.

To get a copy of a signature card for an estate, they require a subpoena. They and Wells Fargo are the only banks known to do this.

I'm ready to transfer all of my accounts to another bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Lumberton Main Branch at Lumberton, NC
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer Service
 3star Overall Rating
 4star Other Services
by Allysa, Jun. 12, 2022

BB&T merge with Truist, I have no problem with that.  I go to the bank personally and do my business face to face with them. I’m sad that a lot of people has problems dealing with them and sounds like communication problem. Maybe Truist need to hire people with professional backgrounds, a good listener with compassion and most of all attention to details on their professional duties. A Good Customer Services is a must in every business negotiation, try it, it will make your customer happy and they will come back again with a smile in their face. You never know what people are going through so have a pleasant attitude towards your customers and prospective ones.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Laurel Branch at Laurel, MD
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best Customer Service
 5star Overall Rating
 5star Office Environment & Staff
 5star Waiting Time
 5star Other Services
by Brynn231, May. 23, 2022

I have had to visit the Round Rock Truist Branch several times in emergency issues and every time I had gone to this branch they listen with empathy and do whatever they can to make things right. Every person in this bank is truly wonderful people.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Round Rock Branch at Round Rock, TX
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Truist is Horrible.
 1star Overall Rating
 2star Interest Rate and Cost
 3star Office Environment & Staff
 1star Waiting Time
 1star Other Services
by GayleT23, Mar. 28, 2022

Debit card doesnt work.  Customer service waiting time is a joke.  I guess they don't want the business.   I was with Sun Trust for 20 years.  I won't be with Truist for 20 days.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Lady Lake Branch at Lady Lake, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 4

Banks Nearby

United Community Bank, TELLICO VILLAGE BRANCH (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
290 Village Square Dr
Loudon, TN 37774
United Community Bank, LOUDON BRANCH (5.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
817 Mulberry St
Loudon, TN 37774
Peoples Bank of East Tennessee, LOUDON LOAN PRODUCTION OFFICE (5.5 miles)
Limited Service Loan Production Office
205 Carter St
Loudon, TN 37774
Peoples Bank of East Tennessee, LOUDON BRANCH (6.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2270 Highway 72 N
Loudon, TN 37774
Peoples Bank of East Tennessee, VONORE BRANCH (7.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1010 Highway 411
Vonore, TN 37885

More