Citibank, Review

Citibank, Review

Average rating based on 101 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
23
4 star:
2
3 star:
3
2 star:
4
1 star:
69
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 6
CITIBANK CRUEL AND UNUSAL PUNISHMENT
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Mia24k, Jun. 19, 2021

https://www.usbanklocations.com/img/star-solid.gif

I have had the absoute WORST week because of citibank. Its funny i closed an acct with them like a year ago and now  i remember why, because they are the definition of TRASH.

My tax return was given to me on a check which i deposited over a week ago. Min you no date was given on when it would clear si after a couple days i called to see status. Thats when i began calling TFA option 4... I spoke with atleast 50  agents, and i can honestly say NOT ONE helped me.

Some of their names were Ria, Irish, bella...Sounds like aa bunch of fake names to me. then they all make me repeat the same information MY PERSONAL info, then  in the end they all had different answers and would hang up on me.

Yesterday i had called Carlos Baloza from the Doral Branch since the am and finally at 3:45 pm he called back and said that i needed something completly different (address vs harmless letter) He said he would wait for me, I arrived at 5pm and he would not attend me even though he had to be there till 6.

I practally begged him and nothing, mind you 2 days prior with one customer in the entire branch he said he couldnt attend me because i didnt have an appointment. WHICH I CANT MAKE BECAUSE MY ONLINE ACCESS IS BLOCKED BECAUSE OF THIS BS SITUATION.

lastly after him and the other branch mgr and the girl teller played around and laughed i honestly thought to myself. How could people be so mean and unprofessional?

Knowing we are in a pandemic and i explained i have kids and in the end of the day -  there was never anything wrnong wit the check, or my account or anything! Only that the check has my previous address, which even after Carlos submitted notes saying he verified addres that i showed proof, the Fraud agent would not unlock my account because she wanted to make sure he said that.

I am going now for the 5th time to a branch and i pray that it is clear so i can withdrawl all my funds and close my account and i never have to do business with them again. Lets see if theY even try to reach ouT...iF NOT KARMAS A BIT**

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Doral Commons Branch at Miami, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

rude and terrible experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SuzanneG, May. 28, 2021

While on vacation, I visited this branch to get a form notarized.  The manager and employee who notarized were out of the office and the other workers could not help me make an appointment with him (did not know his schedule). I was told to wait for 40 minutes until he came back. I proceeded to ask more questions and ask for a regional manager. The other employee then told me I had to have a bank account to have forms notarized there. I have had a Citibank credit card for over 20 years and easily pay/charge $5 thousand a month with it. The employee was extremely rude and not helpful at all. She just wanted to rid of me. She said a credit card did not count- I had to have a bank account and did not offer to open one for me.
I ended up going down the street to Chase who eagerly helped me because my husband had a Chase credit card (and no Chase bank account.)  Meanwhile, I will be cancelling my Citibank credit card and begin doing business with Chase. Also, this bank never answers the phone and I can not contact a manager about my experience.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, 5th And Jefferson Branch at Miami Beach, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Daniela Vasquez Excellent Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jedlevine, Apr. 13, 2021

I had a difficult problem and Daniela Vazquez helped me with professionalism, courteousness, and patience. My account had been frozen because of suspected identity fraud.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Whitestone Branch at Whitestone, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Lovely
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Lisamorgan, Mar. 04, 2021

I love this bank

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, 1107 Broadway Branch at New York, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Slick easy friendly working
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ChasGee, Dec. 19, 2020

Flagship Branch ... Been here a hundred times, always been accommodated and treated well, whether it was my account, exchanging currency, cashier's check, whatever.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, 399 Park Avenue Branch at New York, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Avoid this branch and manager
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by SW33, Dec. 17, 2019

I've been a business customer of Citi Bank for years. First time ever encountering what I encountered today. I noticed fee's on my business account and haven't had any activity on my production account. Sam Tabbara the bank manager couldn't explain to me where these bank fee's were being charged from and why? After fifteen minutes of the run around with no straight answers Sam then says I just need to pay the fees and that I shouldn't have a business account with little money in it. (It's none of this employee's business what is in my account first of all and how much is run through it. I explained it's a production account and production money on projects is placed into the account. As we are in production money is spent. Regardless Sam refuses to give me any straight answer as to why I incurred fees. I became aggravated and cursed to him about the situation and stated I'm not blaming or cursing you. He said he has the right to refuse service and I said I have the right to freedom of speech as long as it's not directed at him. Sam asked me to leave and I refused as I was given no explanation to my situation. He said he would call the police on me as he was nervous he couldn't give me clear answers, I responded to his threat to go ahead and call the police and this isn't how you treat any customer let alone a business customer. I called corporate and spoke with a supervisor who was on the call when police arrived. Police were polite and friendly and explained the laws that I have to leave due to being on private property. I said fine and told them I was on phone with corporate. The supervisor couldn't believe the conversation that I was being treated this way by the bank manager. With in 5min she had the answers I was looking for about the bank charges on my account. Sam couldn't answer and instead of calling corporate as they are instructed to do he calls police. Makes false statements that I'm banned from the branch and will personally close my account to police. The bank must do an investigation and the Area director with a security team must review the incident before anyone's banned or account closed. Sam is the rudest, un informed bank manager I've ever dealt with. He goes out side of his training to make false claims and instead of owning his ignorance in understanding bank transactions to avoid embarrassment he calls the police. There was no hostile incident and the police said it was a complete waste of their time but have to abide by the laws. I willingly left to be respectful to the police but Sam completely disrespected me as a bank customer, financially discriminated against me saying I need to keep more money in my account and made false statements to police about my personal business and accounts that is not within his power. I would advice all customers or public to avoid this bank branch at all costs. Clearly Sam doesn't understand business or how to treat customers. This manager should be fired and replaced. I've contacted my attorneys regarding what occurred today and don't wish to proceed with a civil case. I'm currently waiting for the area director to call me to discuss what occurred. I did video the incident if I have to proceed with the court. I will also upload content via social media so the public is aware of this manager and branch. I'm appalled as to the level of client I am to Citi Bank and wish that this is solved on a professional level and this managers actions are severely dealt with. I'm considering doing my business with another bank altogether after this has occurred.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Burbank Branch Branch at Burbank, CA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Burnttree1984 2021-04-20 13:48:51
I Was Looking For Another Bank, Currently At WellsFargo,I Was Thinking Of Moving To Citi,Your Review Was Enlightening!
Not too big to fail
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by KYJ2, Nov. 10, 2019

After 15 years of trusting this bank with our hard earned income, they launch a "KYC" (know your customer) program. It's mismanaged, unorganized, and really shows how much after all these years, Citibank not only does not know us, but isn't capable of conducting a proper interview process to do so. It's truly embarrassing for them that they are so inconsistent in their business practices. They sent numerous FedEx correspondence ( threats of having our account closed if we didn't comply) we spent considerable time answering questions via multiple phone calls. They assured us we would have no interruptions in service and to the contrary, three times they suspended our account... it's been a problem. Very unprofessional. Payments returned, unnecessary fees, no debit card transactions and not to mention they assured us that there would be no issue. We've since ended our relationship with this bank and sadly I don't think they care. I would recommend finding someplace else to keep your money. I think it's time to launch a "KYB" program (know your bank) I thought we knew them however, we were mistaken.

* this review was made on Citibank, San Diego-Mission Valley at San Diego, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

21 years at Citi; this branch made me leave
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DeeDeeM, Sep. 28, 2019

After 21 years of banking at Citibank, I am finally closing my account -- ... so many problems with the final straw being a "personal banker" named Roman V. who told me that missing check deposits were  "certainly not my fault." Then he ignored my email, made me wait 45 minutes when I physically came back with the check numbers and time they were cashed, only to tell me to call the number on the back of my ATM card.  I asked him if Citi could even trace the checks and he shrugged, "that's not my job." Had he seen my email? "I've been busy." What did I do to deserve this, other than keep $100K+ in my accounts? When I muttered 'but you're my f---ing banker' in frustration, he stood up and said "we're done here." Indeed, Citi, yes we are done here.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Park Slope Branch at Brooklyn, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr Leon
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by LeonF, Aug. 02, 2019

I have been banking with them .  As well i have a double cash back Citi Credit Card (which is great) And i always had a very pleasant experience with this branch.  I have been a client of two other large well known banks in the past and I will say this branch was my favorite. As well from my experience they keep the lines short and have enough staff and I have never needed to wait lengthy time on line to speak with a bank specialist  or a manager at the banks like I have had to at other places .

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Fresh Meadows Branch at Fresh Meadows, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr. Gary S. Eddy
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by gseddy1983, Nov. 10, 2018

Great

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, 120 Broadway Branch at New York, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

how wonderful citibank is
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bfaulkner, Sep. 12, 2018

we have been with citi bank now for 12 years we have always had the best service no matter what we needed the staff is just wonderful,always very business like polite never in a hurry always treated us with the most respect.always answered all or our questions the whole bank is a wonderful business establishment to castro valley, their are also other wonderful businesses in castro valley as well

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, 3288 Castro Valley Blvd Branch at Castro Valley, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sabrinam, Jul. 03, 2018

Ana and Angie helped me and my husband with a special request and they did it with a smile great customer service and made us feel appreciated. Ana was super friendly and very professional. I would recommend Atwater Cities bank branch to everyone and if you do need there services Ana and Angie will take good care of you.100% satisfied.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Atwater Branch at Atwater, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banking rules change depending on what you look like.
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BiasIsWrong, Jun. 12, 2018

My biggest regret is that I did not record this encounter.

The staff at this bank branch changes every few months and the staff gets meaner with every change. If you have do business other than using the ATM for a quick cash withdrawal, choose another branch. The rules of logic and common sense do not apply here. They change bank policies depending on who they are talking to. I asked about banking procedures including check cashing for newly married women about two weeks before I married. I was told no problem, just bring in the marriage certificate, we do this all the time. I come in a few weeks later with the new husband and everything changed when they saw him. The tall, thin and mean spirited branch manager tried for force me to change over all of my bank accounts on the spot to my married name which I did not want to do. My husband and I both have separate and joint bank accounts at Citi Bank and they should have cashed the check against one of the accounts given the fact that we had a NYS marriage certificate. My husband tried to speak with them and was ignored as if he was at a 'whites-only lunch counter' in the deep south, but in reverse. I have open accounts and a co account in my maiden name with my husband and they treated us like garbage. They refused to cash a check made out to both of us, with the total amount for less than 200 dollars against one of our bank accounts and refused to honor the marriage certificate. I called the Citi bank 800 number to complain, was given a case number and the complaint call was routed to another branch and then back to the problem Pelham Manor manager who called and said at the end she did not want to talk to me. If you are an inter-cultural couple beware. The staff wears their racial bias and racism proudly and feel free to discriminate at will. At a certain point we decided to select another bank, not Citi bank to begin our married life with. I advise that you save yourself the time and bypass this branch. I wish I could give them a minus ten. By the way, Citi Bank does not post policy rules/guidelines on newly married women who want to continue to use their maiden names online. The rules at this branch changes depending on who you talk to. If you are not a member of the same ethnicity group, you will be mistreated with the only recourse being leaving negative online reviews, which in my book is bad business.

 


* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Pelham Manor Branch at Pelham, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Security breach
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Stevecally22, Oct. 06, 2017

I live in UK and visited New York in May with the express intention of opening a bank account. I made a deposit and opened an account at this branch. In August I attempted to use my account and had difficulty.  I telephoned Citibank customer service and they informed me initially that my account had been closed down the day after I opened it and the funds I had deposited had been withdrawn.  They advised me to contact the branch for further information.  I telephoned the branch and they told me the account had been closed down because of problems with my ID. I questioned them on this and they were unable to tell me what the problem with my ID was.  I questioned the whereabouts of the funds I placed in the account and they told me they had sent a cheque to my UK address.  I queried this and asked if there was any record of that cheque bring cashed.  The representative then changed his story and informed me that this wasn't the case, he had made a mistake and that the account was closed by a teller transaction - I questioned this and was informed that somebody came into the branch and withdrew my funds and as a result the account was closed.  I explained that I was not in New York that day and had only ever visited that branch on the one occasion and that was to open the account. I asked the representative to investigate this and he said he would get back to me in two weeks time. I have heard nothing since.  I now have no American bank account and my money has gone.  I do hope Citibank read this feedback. It seems to me that the security at Citibank is at best inadequate and I could not recommend this bank to anybody for that reason. Next step for me is a letter to the national newspaper.
Stephen Callaghan

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, 120 Broadway Branch at New York, NY
26 of 26 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Willyaqrpbb, Apr. 06, 2017

Not helpfull

* this review was made on Citibank, 8750 Doral Boulevard Branch at Miami, FL
4 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Other Services
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 1106, Feb. 11, 2017

This branch does not keep its website up to date.  They advertise Saturday hours BUT they are not open on Saturdays.  What a waste of my time.  I drove all the way over to their branch to find it closed and padlocked.  Please update your website hours.  Very inconsiderate to your customers!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Arlington Branch at Arlington, VA
20 of 21 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Super Helpful
Overall Rating
by TriciaHop, Jun. 13, 2015

I am surprised at the other reviews. I have just lived here in Oceanside for 1 1/2 years and I have found the people at this branch to be so much friendlier than any other Citibanks that I have used. Archie in particular is very helpful. The tellers are efficient and chatty in a welcoming way. I love this bank and the employees!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Carlsbad Branch at Carlsbad, CA
6 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by kaczmarczyk 2015-08-12 11:03:45
i am trying to call a CITI Bank in NYC, no one answers the posted phone numbers & the 800 number is pointless if you want to talk to a human. Please send this to the President.
Coit rd Bank Customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by syl19, Mar. 17, 2015

Every time I go to the Bank the people are very unfriendly, the last time I sat outside at the drive through window for almost 10min and then all of a sudden after the two ladies were running their mouths one of them finally comes over and says oh sorry our bell is broken for the drive through, ha ha ha ha ha ha, you cannot tell me that one of them could not take a look to see if their is a customer at the window, you would think since they know they would look periodically to make sure customers do not have to wait so long!!!!!!!!!!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, 14909 Coit Road Branch at Dallas, TX
16 of 24 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by DownersSince84 2015-06-10 18:49:02
There is no drive through at this Citibank location.
Unsatisfied long term customer.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by treatedbad123, Sep. 11, 2014

The manager has no customer skills. I have been with this Bank for 25 years in this location. He told me "I will walk you out of this bank" when I protested about unwarranted fees on one of our checking account!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Glen Ellyn Branch at Glen Ellyn, IL
29 of 37 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by customer1 2014-12-10 14:33:57
It takes so long to see one of the banker in the branch.  Their attitude towards to customer is customer can wait.  I waited for 30 minites to see one of the banker in the branch.  I never experience in  ohter bank.
by BJS222 2015-03-11 11:18:26
I've been with Citibank for almost 40 years. I had a recent problem with being charged service fees that I was never charged before. The branch manager explained the problem and fixed it in under 20 minutes.She was wonderful and very patient, explaining everything in detail.
by gladnotmybank 2016-01-15 11:01:34
Was doing a deposit to a friend fof 200 dollars, since I did not have account with bank , was asked for ID. ID no problem, but unnecessary for them to even ask, deposit not withdraw. Then the receptionist asked me for my social security number, no way that was going to happen. What the..... it was $200, guess that bank does not like money. All she pointed to is some computer printout her own bank printed and posted sayingthey can ask dor ID or social if customer does not have account at bank. What bunch of scammers, she entered my info from my licence in the computer, cool for her to write down my information and want my social too, can you say stolen identity?
Citi bankers
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by GrosseFatigue, Apr. 16, 2014

Citibank uses seasoned bankers and it shows while BOFA is always training new 18 years olds; one of them fainted when I was trying to open a new business account. There used to be Citi bankers, immediately recognizable, and everybody else. It is still true to this day in Evanston. Gerald Brett down to the cashiers are great to work with.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Evanston Branch at Evanston, IL
6 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 6

Banks Nearby

Wells Fargo Bank, Merrifield Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2903 Gallows Road
Falls Church, VA 22042
EagleBank, Merrifield Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2905 District Avenue, Suite 190
Fairfax, VA 22031
PNC Bank, Merrifield Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8315 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22031
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company, Merrifield Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8414 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22031
Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Company, Centreville Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
14122 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22031

More