Citizens Bank, Review

Citizens Bank, Review

Average rating based on 29 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
10
4 star:
2
3 star:
0
2 star:
3
1 star:
14
< Previous Page     Page 2 of 2
terrible bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by moneylost, Jul. 17, 2012

One of the worst experiences of my life with this so called financial institution.  This place has cost me alot of money in fees and late charges etc.. due to mistakes on there behalf. 9 months at the red oaks mill branch 3 debits cards due to the fact that they "sometimes just stop working" . They close at 4pm and aren't .open on saturday . Which means the majority of your banking will be done in a grocery store.  Which by the way are now changed to "peoples choice " and aren't affiliated with citizens.  The final straw was when I tried to deposit cash today I was told my account was closed because I hadn't used it in12 days! That's just a few examples

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Red Oaks Mill Branch at Poughkeepsie, NY
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

total nightmare!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sidekiksar, Jun. 01, 2012

DO NOT use First Niagara Bank- if you have money in that bank- move it somewhere else immediately. We have lived in 3 states now and have never experienced such horrible customer service or ineptitude from a financial institution. They don't have account records for those who had HSBC accounts, you can't close out an account without going in in person, they lost our credit and debit cards, our new address was never transferred so things are being sent all over the US... the list goes on- over 6 hours wasted talking to people and being put on hold over a 3 day period.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Niagara Falls Blvd./Tops Branch at Niagara Falls, NY
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Love this bank
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Smooshles, May. 26, 2012

Citizens Bank in the North Andover Stop & Shop has been my bank since I moved to the town 11 years ago and I have to say that the staff has been just so friendly which is my most important criteria in addition to convenient bank hours.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, North Andover Stop & Shop Branch at North Andover, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

5/5/12 Review of 20 Years of a Clients Experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Finn, May. 05, 2012

  A client of Citizen's Bank, at their Cranston, Sockanossett Branch, for over 20 years ... I have decided to move to a just as convenient local bank with much better personal service.
  - I have grown very tired of their philosophy of offering only minimal services to personal and business clients who are too small to afford the $10,000.00, or $20,000.00 minimum daily balance to avoid the excessive fees charged ... even for such services such as using their ATM to obtain an account history of the 10 past transactions (not even notifying you by a message on the ATM screen you are going to be automatically charged $3.00).

 - Their endless stream of service offers mailed out to you at almost weekly intervals, and included in all of their monthly account statements.  If they wanted to endear their clients, and, reduce the cost of standard services, they would stop this barrage of expensive 3-4 color brochures printed on high grade glossy paper.  I would love to find out just how many hundreds of thousands of dollars they must spend each year in Rhode Island alone for this "service".

 - Several years ago I was lied to, directly to my face by a bank clerk when I went into the bank to recover my Business Debit Card I had inadvertently left in the pneumatic container the previous day ... an essential bank card needed on a daily basis for purchases for my lawn and garden company.  While she told me they did not have it, I noticed the very card in her hand ... It took the threat of ending all of my personal/business banking with Citizens in order to retrieve my card.

 - Their latest problem seems to be continued poor customer service to clients ... Notified by Citizen's Bank Client Fraud Division of what appeared to be fraudulent use of my debit card number for overseas and Florida online site charged items ... they directed me to see customer service at my local branch:
  For the 2nd time in 3 months I was forced to wait over an hour to be seen by Mr. Merrill Winoker who was casually and obsequiously waiting on a single client ... despite my waiting 15' away (along with 5 other clients, 2 of which left after realizing they probably would need to spend a good hour or more to get 5 minutes worth of attention from him).
  A recent hire at this bank in the past few months, Mr. Winoker seems to be the "chatty cathy" of customer service ... evidently not caring about providing efficient and prompt customer service despite heavy backlogs of waiting clients (On a previous visit I had seen a second rep deal efficiently with 3-4 clients to every 1 of his) Mr. Winoker loves to talk and explore every opportunity to pitch bank services, and seems to delight in calling friends, other employees, and even his own personal relatives in more of a social oriented service to bank clients).  I wonder, ... is Mr. Winoker providing the style and efficiency of service approved by his bank manager?  ... or is he stroking his own ego, and perhaps cultivating client contacts who might be valuable if he decides to leave Citizen's and work, or even start his own financial management or loan business.

 Bye, Bye Citizen's  ... if you haven't noticed, over the past few years I have slowly depleted and closed several different accounts with you and currently have only a small amount in a checking account mainly used for utility bills and walking around money.  You lost all of my financial investments years ago when you stopped offering personal brokerage services, ... and now I am leaving to bank with one of the many national investment/brokerage services I have done business with for many years now.

  Folks, do you feel like you walk around with a bulls-eye target on your back these days that advertises you are a soft touch for any person/business/ or banking service to make easy money off of?  Just start doing something about it.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Sockanosset Branch at Cranston, RI
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

phone service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by clclclclcl, Apr. 11, 2012

I needed to order Euro's quickly and my branch did not carry them.  Dawn took my phone call and went the extra mile to find a Citizen's branch that did carry them, found the phone number and gave me directions.  Very helpful.  

Cynthia Lehan

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Cobbs Corner Branch at Stoughton, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude Staff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ioioi, Sep. 21, 2011

The staff at this location are some of the rudest in the state. I asked a simple question and the response was, "Of course what do you think? Do you think?." I mean come on! Rude!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Vfw Parkway West Roxbury Branch at West Roxbury, MA
1 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude Staff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ioioi, Sep. 21, 2011

The staff at this location are some of the rudest in the state. I asked a simple question and the response was, "Of course what do you think? Do you think?." I mean come on! Rude!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Vfw Parkway West Roxbury Branch at West Roxbury, MA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Just for checking good not good if you have an issue
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by moeman, Aug. 23, 2011

Don't have the customer in mind.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, North Andover Stop & Shop Branch at North Andover, MA
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Outstanding effort!
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by davelima, Jan. 03, 2011

Manuel Guerrero, the Assistant Manager, went out of his way to help our mutual client close on their new home on New Years Eve. Without his help they could not have closed. He saved the day.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Financial Center Branch at Boston, MA
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

< Previous Page     Page 2 of 2

Banks Nearby

Bank of America, West Road Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
16124 West Road
Trenton, MI 48183
Comerica Bank, West-Allen Branch (0.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
23120 Allen Road
Trenton, MI 48183
Monroe Bank & Trust, Trenton Branch (0.8 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2410 West Road
Trenton, MI 48183
The Huntington National Bank, Woodhaven-Allen Rd Meijer Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
22600 Allen Rd
Trenton, MI 48183
Fifth Third Bank, West Chelsea Branch (1.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2040 West Road
Trenton, MI 48183

More