Berkshire Bank, Review

Berkshire Bank, Review

Average rating based on 10 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
3
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
6
Not a problem
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Joannee, Jul. 06, 2018

Extremely Satisfied All Around

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, West Winfield Branch at West Winfield, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

NO PROBLEMS YET, BEEN 9 YEARS
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Steve65, Jan. 17, 2016

Just a blanket review of most of the branches I deal with..Only New York branch I have dealt with is in Glenville. Which was fine. Both business and personal checking acvounts are with this bank, NEVER had a problem, quick service(when cutomers aren't the problem) very friendly tellers, always been helpful,GLAD I chose them over the others,like Greylock..

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, West Housatonic Office Branch at Pittsfield, MA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

VERY SATISFIED BANK CUSTOMER SINCE 1989
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DRCarsell, Oct. 19, 2015

I have been a customer for many years. I have nothing but fabulous things to report regarding dealings with the Pittsfield and Dalton branches of Berkshire Bank. All management and support staff from the branches all the way up to commercial lending have been extremely professional and always accommodating. Even willing to go that extra way to help out. I recall a Branch manager at Allendale years ago, when I began my career, helping me on more than one occasion balance my checkbook. The Dalton branch staff today are my best friends, as my office next door.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, Dalton Branch at Dalton, MA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank I have ever used
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by irritatedcustomer, Jan. 09, 2015

I reactivated a checking account, made a large cash deposit, and was told that the debit card would work fine immediately.  I went to get gas and the card was rejected at the pump.  I called the bank and was told that I should not have been told that the card would work, that I needed to get a new one.

I was told that due to a change in format of account numbers that my checks "might or might not" bounce and was told to order new ones at my expense (in fairness I was told - a WEEK later - that the charge would be waived).  No one told me that I could not use my existing account number to arrange for direct deposit of my social security check or other items.  I did so and was then told by the bank that the deposit would not be accepted because of the change in account number format.  Now I am going to have to deal with a delayed social security payment because of the lack of competent and complete advice from branch staff.

On to the debit card. it took around 25 minutes to get a new one issued, which I thought was absurd (I have opened accounts at other banks and the entire process, including the debit card, took 15 minutes).  The first time I went to use the card on a $130 GPS purchase it was declined; this, with a 4 figure available balance in the account.  I called and was told that "MasterCard, for security reasons, requires that all purchases over $90 be run as debit, not credit, and using the PIN is required".  I checked with another bank and was told that that was not the case.

In any case I attempted to use the card at the ATM at the branch and apparently forgot my PIN (the one thing not the fault of the branch or bank).  I called the branch and got my pin reset and was assured that the card was now 100% up and running.  I waste 20 minutes driving to Walmart, go to buy the GPS, and the card was rejected AGAIN.

I called the branch again and was told by the person that reset the PIN that she failed to clear the block placed on the account when I attempted to use the PIN that I could not remember.  Again, not the bank's fault that I forgot my pin or that the ATM locked the card; DEFINITELY the bank's fault not to have seen that on the screen when the PIN was reset.  I must say that the person was honest enough to admit it was her error.

I will review again as the horror story continues.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, Halfmoon Crossing Branch at Clifton Park, NY
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Ethan 2015-01-29 22:27:41
But they are "America's Most Exciting Bank."  Doesn't thaBanke it all better?
nice people-no clue
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Banker111, Oct. 15, 2013

I called to ask for my balance today and the phone rang 10 times before someone picked it up.  When it was answered the woman had to transfer me to her other phone and I was disconnected. I then called the Halfmoon branch.  I was put on hold for 5 minutes.  All I wanted was a balance.  Nice people but the most simplest of tasks seems to be a major ordeal for them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, Wilton Ny Branch at Gansevoort, NY
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Sit in the chair and wait ...
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by alaina1976, Aug. 07, 2013

I waited in a chair in the lobby for 15 minutes while the woman in the office chatted on the phone. When i heard the call end,I looked at her and she looked at me. i thought she would come out but she picked up the phone and started another call. I went back to the counter and asked if there was anyone else who could help, the answer was no. After spending 20 minutes, I LEFT without taking care of business. ZERO customer service skills - she should get the boot - i wont go back.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, Berkshire Bank at Pittsfield, MA
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Inept, negligent, and even dishonest
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SSimone, Apr. 05, 2013

Our credit union was bought out by Berkshire, and they sent us the WRONG account number, and never called, emailed, or tried to contact us in any way of their major screw up.    The ONLY reason I found out was because I was trying to set up a paypal account, and it was coming back as unverifiable.  
IF, they didn't know about *which I find hard to believe* it would show them to be completely incompetent.    If they did know about it, and neglected to tell us, leaves me completely dumbfounded.   Trying to get through to their customer service was a nightmare, and did not admit their fault, nor apologize, nor offer any solution to the major inconvenience that it cost us.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, Northern Blvd Branch at East Syracuse, NY
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by 389177 2014-05-05 09:09:40
Sadly, I agree with this rating.   I loved our old credit union, but now that Berkshire has bought them out, you can't even get a hold of the local branch via the phone.  I always wait on hold a MINIMUM of 6 minutes before anyone even picks up the phone.   In fact... I am on hold now as we speak.... so far 8 min 10 secs into my "holding pattern". Anyway, I digress...  Need a statement copy - there's a fee for that.. need a cancelled check copy - - there's a fee for that - - - nothing is easy!!   I am in the process of closing my accounts and moving my business elsewhere.  9 min 28 secs - just got through  :)
WORST BANK EVER!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by wreckyourcredit, Jan. 08, 2013

WATCH OUT for these guys! They have LOST two of my car payments yet my bank (BOA) has confirmation numbers of berkshire bank recieveing AND CASHING BOTH OF THEM. They are now witholding the title to a vehicle I rightfully own and are also threatening REPOSSESION! All of my attempts to speak to someone in charge have been for naught... futhermore, they are damaging my near perfect credit completely beyond my control. I had to contact a lawyer over this... DON'T LET THIS BE YOU!!!!

* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, Woburn Loan Production Office at Woburn, MA
12 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Was better when Legacy was there!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Scoop83, Apr. 01, 2012

When Legacy bank was there, everything was great! They changed to Berkshire and now there are all kinds of fees we didn't have before. We didn't choose to change banks there for we should have been able to keep the plan we had with Legacy!!!  Haven't had any major issues, but there are better places out there!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, Whitehall Branch at Whitehall, NY
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

WORST BANK
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BANK, Dec. 29, 2010

THE WORST BANK WITH VERY RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE,

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Berkshire Bank, Berkshire Bank at Pittsfield, MA
14 of 19 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

Adirondack Bank, Rome Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1709 Black River Boulevard
Rome, NY 13440
KeyBank, Rome Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1725 Black River Boulevard
Rome, NY 13440
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company, Mohawk Acres Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1746 Black River Boulevard
Rome, NY 13440
NBT Bank, Rome Black River Branch (0.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
853 Black River Boulevard
Rome, NY 13440
Community Bank, Rome Turin Road Branch (1.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
7812 Turin Road
Rome, NY 13440

More