Bank of Hawaii, Review

Bank of Hawaii, Review

Average rating based on 13 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
3
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
1
1 star:
7
Great BOH Team
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Sandykt, Jan. 23, 2021

This group of people in  This bank I Hawaii O always positive fast efficient and thank you for being there!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Moiliili Branch at Honolulu, HI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Trikim, Nov. 05, 2018

Staff always say thank you for banking at Bank of Hawaii except Sylvia she must be tired today so shejut did not say anything to me after the transaction is completed. I was wondering saying thank you is BoH'policy or just a personal choice.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Waialae-Kahala Branch at Honolulu, HI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Thanks Bank of Hawaii Kamuela Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bobborbeck, Mar. 11, 2017

We are from the main land and opened our account with the Bank of Hawaii years ago. Robert Ragasa at the Kamuela Branch back in Nov 2016 was and helpful and professional. We stopped in the Branch with no appointment vs the Kona Branch to find him very responsive to our needs. Extremely knowledgeable about the banks services and helped us correct our account to reduce some fees and better improve our experience of services from the Bank of Hawaii. Robert is the perfect example of customer service. Thanks Robert!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Kamuela Branch at Kamuela, HI
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

poor service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Rinana, Nov. 20, 2014

I've been with bank of Hawaii for almost 4 years now and i haven't experienced any problems before. The service was great except waiting in line for to long. When I'm in a hurry I just ask the tellers if they can fill out my paper for withdrawal or deposit and they always do it. They're really nice. U dont remember my account so they always tell me no problem I will look it up for you . But last week I experience a really service at the bank of Hawaii at kamehameha shopping center. I notice they have new workers. U waited in line and when it was my turn I ask the if she can deposit my money into my two accounts . She gave me this dirty look telling "do me a favor and write it out yourself" yes that's what she said . And then I ask her if she can deposit my mom check. U didn't remember her account but I have the card that she wanted me to deposit it into. So the teller, her name is Chantel aks me what's my moms account with her dirty look again. I told her I don't know that's why I give you her card so you can look it. I told her that because everytime I go to the bank they always do it for me . And I ask for change she just ignored me , didn't even bother looking me in the eye or smile . She look like she was frustrated by me ! I don't even know why would you hire someone with no great personality. Remember you get paid by your customers. If everyone just decided not to go there you would loose money . Please fix this problem! I dont want to face it again !

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Isb Times Kamehameha Shopping Center at Honolulu, HI
15 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Mochi 2016-12-13 18:30:32
Our company has been with banking for the longest time-  howvere whatever changes they made to the pearl city branch doesn't work for us- today was shortage of tellers - no coomercial teller- teller had to track down a supervisor for my deposit auwe!  And on top of all that no parking!!
WORST BANK EVER
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 12345808, Nov. 03, 2014

Worst bank to go to. Long wait time. They take forever to do everything. A really bad example for Bank of Hawaii. Efficiency! That's all I ask! This is the worst bank on the island!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Moiliili Branch at Honolulu, HI
10 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The Absolute Worst
Overall Rating
by paddlepete, Jul. 15, 2014

They charge fees for EVERYTHING!  .50 per check to use the mobile deposit app.  They tell you funds will be available "after 4 days" and crush you for overdraft fees in the meantime while your money is just sitting there waiting for them to decide it's available.  Not helpful customer service.  Only concerned with getting you to sign up for more credit cards.  Greedy, lazy people who get away with it because mainland banks aren't allowed.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Maui Marketplace at Kahului, HI
16 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

This is what a Bank used to be
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sexybanker, Mar. 06, 2014

This location(Moloka'i) is all about the employees. Starting with the manager you could not ask for better service. The attitude and friendliness is everywhere. Remember, this is a Bank and the Bank is not your friend. However, the people in this office do a great job of helping you.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Kaunakakai Branch at Kaunakakai, HI
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bankohana Still waiting 30 minutes for a notary
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Miket100, Jun. 01, 2013

Figured I'd save time getting a notary as a bank ohana member.
They have a bankohana line but notary is a cattle car line with only 2 names on the list 30 minutes later I'm still waiting.
Manager smirked and said " Saturdays are
Busy" and walked away. Will not be coming back to Bank of Hawaii Pearlridge anytime soon or ever.

Upset BOH customer and former employee,
Mike

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Kapahulu Branch at Honolulu, HI
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Trust accounts
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by kapohocat, Feb. 01, 2013

We recently suffered a loss of a family member. Joyce at BOH Hilo said the next trustee needed to appear in person and she proceeded to freeze the trust. (He lives on the East Coast!!) and when he came out and we went to BOH, we found out we needed 1 piece of paper signed and notarized. Does BOH think there are no notaries on the East Coast???? We had to stop many autopays etc while the account was frozen for 16 days. They are thoughtless and old fashioned. We will never bank there again. And this is not the 1st time BOH has been stupid. Just for me, it will be the last time.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Kaiko'o Branch at Hilo, HI
18 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bank of Hawai'i Mo'ili'ili
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Lopaka001, Dec. 08, 2012

Worst service this morning at the mo'ili'ili branch. I was racially profiled and treated as if I were a potential thief. I had actually come in this morning to open a business account but I will take my business elsewhere.

* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Moiliili Branch at Honolulu, HI
9 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

BOH fails in almost every way
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by alohajuju, Oct. 23, 2012

BOH needs a complete overhaul. My husband and I waited for more than 2 months for our credit cards because they made so many mistakes like sending the cards to a branch they closed 3 years ago, wrote the wrong address, and didn't apply the correct postage. Almost everything takes them so long to do and when we complain or ask them to correct their mistake, we are treated even worse. We will probably change banks within the next few months because we are so tired of their complete lack of professionalism.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Lihue Branch at Lihue, HI
8 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst customer service and management!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Respect808, Aug. 17, 2012

This bank of Hawaii branch is the worst bank I have ever dealt with! I went to the ATM to withdraw $120 out of my account.... The transaction worked as usual except for my cash didn't come out! It gave me my balance and that $12O was deducted from my account! Yet I didn't get the cash! I go inside the bank and explain my issue to a teller.... She informs that the ATM is out of money and to call customer service because there is nothing she can do to help me! WTF!?!? I then speak to the manager who is also rude and unhelpful and tell her that their should be a sign on the ATM if it's outta cash! She replies with "we don't put signs up on our ATMs". This place is the WORST service I have ever received in my life!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Kihei Branch at Kihei, HI
12 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Still waiting for my wire transfer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Waiting Time
Other Services
by christina, Feb. 16, 2012


Waiting for a wire transfer from Allianz from 2-13-12 they
provided them with tracer ID- but seems like they are not
able to find it! irritating that you have to provide the same information 3x in order for someone to give me something? information? where is the $? does it take  4 days when funds is just coming from the mainland -not
international.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of Hawaii, Waimalu Branch at Aiea, HI
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

First Hawaiian Bank, Manoa Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2733 East Manoa Road
Honolulu, HI 96822
Central Pacific Bank, Manoa Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2851 East Manoa Road, Suite 1-100
Honolulu, HI 96822
American Savings Bank, FSB, Manoa Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2851 East Manoa Rd
Honolulu, HI 96822
Territorial Savings Bank, Manoa Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2752 Woodlawn Drive No. 5-110
Honolulu, HI 96822
Finance Factors, Ltd., Manoa Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2955 East Manoa Road, Suite A
Honolulu, HI 96822

More