WEX Bank, Review

WEX Bank, Review

Average rating based on 5 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
2
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
3
Overall a Great Banking opportunity
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Strscrm, Jul. 03, 2014

I'm not so sure why these students are so upset. All I see is irresponsible people handling their finances, as well as not having a clear understanding for banking security. I have two accounts, on with WEX Premier and one with another very popular giant in the banking industry. There was a big debit card scare, I had more problems using MY money with the other bank than I did with WEX.
I am completely happy with the security WEX has provided, I was a little unnerved by having to wait for my initial identity verification, but completely understood why this was necessary. So, I had to send physical documents instead of uploading documents, no big deal.
It is a little difficult to make deposits, unless you have direct deposit, you actually have to send the money to a processing center in CT?! (Never had to deposit cash/MO as of yet, but I am sure the technology will come.
Their fees are awesome, especially for someone paying off student loans, $3.95 a month cannot be beat!!! The nice big banks at every corner charge anywhere from $11 to $14 a month!!! And, as long as I have direct deposit, I need not worry about having a minimum balance, you CANNOT say that about my other most popular bank, yup, minumum balance or you get slammed with fees, and for us "older" students, we don't get the luxury of a mommy/daddy/student account, so WEX does that for us older folks. (I just have to say thanks, because , there is NO other bank that does that unless you are 25/26 y/o college student)
For those who lost their card for MONTHS on end, you have no complaints, because you did not respond immediately, YES, because of FDIC laws and banking security after 9/11, you will run into problems, I mean seriously, who forgets their money for MONTHS!
For those having security issues, don't blame the bank, blame the government for placing and imposing stiffer banking securities and regulations. If people didn't break laws or "hack" computers, we would all still have pass books and have to goto a bank, in person, during banking hours!These laws are to protect you, not to inconvenience you and keep your money. (And to the person who had to pay all these fees, because your card was stolen, there is a process, but not for like 10 months, you could have called the bank, I wouldn't believe you either after that amount of time, you should be charged an ignorance fee!)
Just remember, WEX is still up and coming, it's not your bank on the corner. Cash Deposits may be difficult to make, but,who handles cash really?  


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on WEX Bank, Wex Bank at Midvale, UT
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

sammyboy
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sammyboy, Jan. 20, 2014

I dont know about all the poor reviews i see.  Higher ones security is a tough one but we can all thank 911 for that..  seriously great security makes me feel safe...also my card was deemed stolen several months ago...i was NOT charged a fee and was treated respectfully..higher one rectified my prob .   Immediately.......
Kudos higher one

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on WEX Bank, Wex Bank at Midvale, UT
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Kimm 2014-07-02 17:57:50
My wallet was stolen with my higher one card in it.  I have had no positive accommodations and have been without any money going on 4 weeks now because of the security lock placed on my account.  Higher one refuses to take the hold off until I provide a notarized statement verifying who I am.  Being without money I did however find a bank who will notarized for free with a valid ID.  My ID was in my wallet.  I had financial aid today print out a copy of ID stored in my phone and fax it with a Los Angeles HARBOR letterhead cover sheet to Higher One.  I called to see if they received the fax, however, they can't seem to direct me to the right dept. To check on it.  I was told within 24 hours it would post.  This is ridiculous.  Summer semester has started and this so called "bank" can careless about me as they are so concerned about my securing my account, my money.  They seem to be getting a kick out of controlling me with this situation.  Me, the student and customer has done everything they have asked for plus they expect me to do the rest of their job as well.  All they need to do is lift the hold on my account during their investigation so I can continue my life before becoming a victim to identity theft.  A new card was issued, old one closed. I changed email and pass code and put a security pass code on so isn't this enough?  They still will not take lock off and I am more than pissed the f--k off.  UN called for, disrespectful, UN  knowledgeable in what they can and can't do,  making rules up along as we go with this.  I heard today they have a class action suit filed against them. Good.  They take students money by charging us everything we use our card.  How low can ya go?   We are students.
by Strscrm 2014-07-03 08:39:55
I never get charges a fee for using my card, you must use it as a debit card, most banks and institutions charge a fee for using the debit feature, unless you have a certain type of account (which you can discuss with your bank)
The security features are in place to protect you and your bank. I love uneducated students who get mad at a bank for following FDIC rules. Obviously, your attitude got you into a pickle with the representative, wasn't the bank.
Terrible Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by IHATETHISBANK, Dec. 11, 2013

Currently sitting on hold to cancel my account. I went to the local University for one year and they forced this One card on me with no consent given. They used it to refund what was left of my refund to the account. However little did I know that if I didn't use my card, they would charge me a fee of 10 dollars a month until it dropped below 100. Now they take 3.75 every month for no reason. I've lost my card for months and they've taken over 100 dollars from me for no reason. I didn't ask for this service, I didn't agree to this. I feel very cheated and have fair reason to believe this whole banking system is a scam.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on WEX Bank, Wex Bank at Midvale, UT
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Strscrm 2014-07-03 08:51:47
By law, if you do NOT provide your school with your financial banking institution information and fill out the appropriate paperwork, the school must use an authorized FDIC student refund account. ALL Students receive a student refund account. It is part of a higher regulation that you, the school, nor the bank have control over. If you borrow government money, or receive ANY type of financial aid, it must be processed through the school and placed in an approved account. You obviously didn't receive the "memo".
Horrible Facility
Overall Rating
Other Services
by angry352, Sep. 11, 2013

I have been dealing with Higher One, for the purpose of receiving financial aid, I tried unsuccessfully for 1 month to get my identity verified, and even though I had uploaded all the necessary documents Higher one still would not release the hold and I had to contact the college that I attend to get this problem resolved, if this was not the company that my school uses, there is no way I would ever use this company, they are not organized, they do not do things in a timely manner and they are unprofessional.  Hopefully with enough complaints our college will use someone different next year. Keeping my fingers crossed.

* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on WEX Bank, Wex Bank at Midvale, UT
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Student bank ... We r students why isn't our banking free..?
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Brittstudent, Feb. 20, 2013

I feel like the Wex Banks are trying to find every way to tact on new costs when ever they can. This bank is linked with the school district and instead of the school releseing us our fund to our own bank or closet for that matter. Many students were fourst to stick with The Wex banks Higher one accounts. They just released a price rack up on those who have been banking with them forever but are no longer are enrolled. Along with the 2dollars a 50 cents I get charged every time I use my card any way except at their ATMs where there is only one on campas with a long line and even if ur card is stole you get charged 20.00 for a replacement. I can't never reach the bank when I need to and their account higher one is worth reading the fine print.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on WEX Bank, Wex Bank at Midvale, UT
17 of 19 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by angry352 2013-09-11 10:57:18
I am a college student, when I first signed up I did not put in my driver license number Higher one put a ID hold on my account and I have tried unsuccessfully for 1 month to get this resolved, the money is on the card but I can't access it, Higher one is the worse company ever you can't get anyone who will help you and when you talk to a supervisor who should be able to get the information from you and verify your identity they still are no help, unfortunately as a student you are stuck with this company.
by AHARDA01 2013-09-12 22:16:22
THE WORST SERVICE AND HELP EVER.  THEY ARCHIVE STATEMENTS AFTER 12 MOS., WHICH ISNT EVEN A CALENDAR YEAR - THEN THEY WANT TO CHARGE YOU FOR THE STATEMENTS THAT WERE FREE, AND THEY CHOSE TO ARCHIVE TOO SOON.  THEY DONT GIVE A TINKERS DAMN YOU'RE A STUDENT. THEY HAVE BEEN GIVING ME THE RUNAROUND FOR WEEKS AS I HAVE BEEN TRYING VERY UNSUCCESSFULLY TO GET STATEMENT COPIES FOR TAX PURPOSES.  ABSOLUTE JERKS. HOW DOES A BUSINESS LIKE THIS SURVIVE IN TODAYS BUSINESS WORLD!!??
Zions First National Bank, Cottonwood Heights Branch
Full Service Retail Office
7015 South Highland Drive
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
Zions First National Bank, Http://www.Zionsbank.com
Full Service Cyber Office
7730 S Union Park Ave, Suite 120
Midvale, UT 84047
Wells Fargo Bank, Fort Union Boulevard Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
995 Fort Union Boulevard
Midvale, UT 84047
U.S. Bank, 70th South Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6940 South Highland Drive
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
Brighton Bank
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
7101 Highland Drive
Salt Lake City, UT 84121

View All