TrustCo Bank, Review

TrustCo Bank, Review

Average rating based on 8 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
3
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
5
Bee with this bank since they were a different name more than 25 years ago
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by elissa, Jun. 08, 2015

I am so happy with this bank that I didn't change even when moving to Texas, where there is not one branch. Never had a problem, always been treated very well, and know some of the personnel a long time - One manager, the fabulous Jim Gipe, I have known from Schenectady, NY, to Sarasota and Venice, Florida. Have received the friendly, personal, respectful and excellent service I always have no matter which branch in which state I am in.That tells me the training is a match for the "hometown" brand. Cannot imagine moving to another bank. Thanks TRUSTCO!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TrustCo Bank, Loudon Plaza Branch at Albany, NY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

experience & assistance with issues
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by pbatease, May. 09, 2015

I have tried to call my local branch due to issues with the (800) customer service, and account information. I was told Thursday night that I was overdrawn. I called again Friday, only to learn I was NOT overdrawn. I haven't overdrawn with my account in quite some time. The fees are outrageous. I tried to call my local branch today, I received an answer from their phone, but have been constantly disconnected after their phone was picked up. So I will definitely be looking for someplace else to do my banking. Trustco my @$$. I don't trust them for anything at this point, and will not continue with such absurd services with MY $. Tired of being under their screwdriver.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TrustCo Bank, Bennington Office at Bennington, VT
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Better Staff Needed
Overall Rating
by TerribleBank, Apr. 05, 2015

This bank has changed badly I am closing my account here. Always a new teller, not family friendly like it used to be. Only when the manager Don is there do we feel welcomed. He is very professional and breaks down every detail of a loan/mortgage etc so you can understand everything. With other staff/managers its like get your money and get out. Barely any eye contact (man you can feel the coldness in here). Too many times tellers have miscounted money, withdraws and deposits. Also tellers have deposited and withdrew money from wrong accounts. My sister even was given $100.00 over, good thing she has a conscience because she returned it. This experience is not just from me but from a couple of my family members and friends, co-workers. I have used numerous branches but have only had this problem with this one. Be careful of this branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TrustCo Bank, Loudon Plaza Branch at Albany, NY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst experience ever Hartsdale Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by russells01, Jan. 06, 2015

Bernice white tricked us in to opening accounts there. She promised us home equity loan but after 6 months money wasn't there. Bank did the appraisal.She got us a commitment letter and said it was guaranteed. Loan denied because of her not sending all the docs to the underwriter. cancelled all of the accounts and will write a letter about his branch BEWARE. Went to peoples bank and got approved two weeks.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TrustCo Bank, Hartsdale Branch at Hartsdale, NY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

TrustCo Bank, Stuyvesant Plaza Branch at Albany, NY.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bigassbully, Jul. 15, 2014

I don't know where other people have been banking but if they had anything less than an excellent experience they weren't at Trustco in Stuyvesant Plaza. The atmosphere is great, staff are competent and friendly. The atmosphere is business like but welcoming at the same time. The manager Joe runs a smooth ship, always a friendly hello and genuinely happy to see you. Truly a hometown bank. One can't help but feel comfortable and at ease the minute you walk through the door. I have complete confidence in this branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TrustCo Bank, Stuyvesant Plaza Branch at Albany, NY
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by oreillyc50 2016-01-05 13:49:01
I do not understand why when I ask people to post my check they look at me and say no problem, then the next day it still is not done. There is no excuse I don't want to hear an excuse because a guy that works at the trustco on madison posts it literally in 30 seconds. Why do you procrastinate so much?Most of the time I come in to the bank at stuveysant plaza its eempty.. your just lying to me telling me we will do it. Then what happens? I call every time and ask can you post it, most of the time its there laying around from days before (who knows why) then you post it for me while I'm ob the phone. Its not funny to be lazy when your working with peoples money. I depend on you guys to post it on time. I have bills that need to be paid, when you don't do your job Im late I'm payments, then it costs me more money. Please do your job. Please
by merbrook 2016-02-13 16:03:09
If you have any doubt to TrustCo's 1star service - please read customers comments to the Better Business Business Bureau.
TrustCo's is Incompetent to the point of malice.  

Since you've only been a customer for 10 years, In 2002 TrustCo was the first bank in the nation to be cited by federal regulators for violating the USA Patriot Act.
Business ownes
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BusinessOwner3, Apr. 17, 2014

Just cancelled all business, personal and savings accounts.  Staff is untrained because of high turnover. New personnel every time I walk in.  The Manager is rude, arrogant, and acts like she doesn't care about her job.  The previous manager  was wonderful.  I looked forward to seeing her everyday when I made my business deposits but now I cringe every time I have to go into this bank. I can tell business is down because there used to be 2-3 people behind the counter.  Now there is only one.  I'm obviously not the only one that has left this branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TrustCo Bank, Windermere Branch at Windermere, FL
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by bigassbully 2014-07-15 19:26:50
You should give them a chance, too bad you might have just had a bad day. The staff did change for awhile but has settled down and the old manager is back. It is a good bank.
SILVERMINE NORTH OWNER
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SILVERLGNY, Mar. 28, 2014

FRIENDLIEST AND MOST PROFESSIONAL STAFF EVER !

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on TrustCo Bank, Lake George Branch at Lake George, NY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Untrustworthy staff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BankingProfessional, Feb. 26, 2013

This bank is the most unprofessional financial institution I have ever encountered - and I have worked all over the world and had accounts with banks on many other countries.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on TrustCo Bank, Rhinehart Rd Branch at Sanford, FL
6 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

Berkshire Bank, Rotterdam Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1925 Curry Road
Schenectady, NY 12306
Pioneer Savings Bank, Rotterdam Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1828 Altamont Avenue
Schenectady, NY 12303
Citizens Bank, Rotterdam Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1725 Altamont Avenue
Schenectady, NY 12303
Bank of America, Rotterdam Branch (0.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1428 Altamount Avenue
Schenectady, NY 12303
TrustCo Bank, Altamont Avenue Branch (0.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1400 Altamont Avenue
Schenectady, NY 12303

More