UMB Bank, Review

UMB Bank, Review

Average rating based on 8 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
4
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
3
UMB bank in Overland Park
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by CGerg, Jul. 06, 2015

I have called the 87th street location 3 times asking an officer of the bank to call me back.  Each time they took my number and told me she would call me back. No one has ever called back.  The answer system as of July 6 doesn't even identify that you have reached the bank or tell you the bank hours of operation.  Pathetic! I've been a customer for over 40 years, started when they were City National Bank on 10th and Grand.  This lousy service has got me thinking about finding a new bank if they continue to treat customers this way.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on UMB Bank, Roe at Overland Park, KS
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The worst customer service ever
Overall Rating
by Nothappyatall, Dec. 16, 2014

My deceased mother had an account there and while I was trying to handle her final business the employees there at the Gladstone branch were the most rude and un-compassionate people I have ever came across. I would NEVER bank at UMB or recommend anyone to do so.

* this review was made on UMB Bank, North Antioch Branch at Kansas City, MO
7 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by ebenezer0000 2015-06-27 22:42:37
I have never had an account with a bank that has polite and jovial clerks as the UMB branch at 703 Colorado Boulevard in Denver,C O. These ladies know their work and are a joy to experience their customer service. I will stay a long time at this bank and I highly recommend it to all.
DriveThruDisdain
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DriveThruDisdain, Dec. 07, 2014

I hope that this is taken to be constructive criticism so that my experience helps to improve customer service.  I was at the drive thru on 12/06/14 and asked for a pen.  Apparently, the first teller could not hear me.  I repeated "pen" a few times when he asked if I needed a deposit slip. Then, a different teller, (older, bald with glasses)immediately appeared on the screen.  He asked what I needed and I said "May I have a pen?"  He said deposit slip.  Then, he repeated, "Deposit slip?"  I said "Pen..P-E-N..."  Well, he became rather defensive and condescending in addition to cutting me off by "closing" the monitor when I was trying to speak.  I was trying to say, "Thank you for being so accommodating.." or something like this and he heard me and then immediately reappeared. At this point, I repeated what I said, and said, "Thank you..."  I perceived that he was even more defensive and I felt uncomfortable and drove to another branch.    My issues are the following:  1)  I don't like the fact that the teller has control over the visual monitor and communication.  I felt belittled and dismissed as the teller could come and go as he/she pleased.  2)  If NEITHER teller could understand me, and, there was a problem with the speaker/audio system.  They could have politely said, "We are having a hard time hearing you...would you mind coming to the lobby?"  3) I have had a UMB account since high school and I've never encountered such rude and insulting service.  I hope that the branch manager and this particular (older, bald) teller understands my point of view.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on UMB Bank, Deer Creek Banking Center Branch at Overland Park, KS
9 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

ebenezer0000
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ebenezer0000, Oct. 11, 2014

Excellent work by the staff of this branch.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

James N jukes
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Jamesn, May. 24, 2014

Great

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on UMB Bank, Scottsdale Branch at Scottsdale, AZ
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by ebenezer0000 2014-10-11 16:39:44
This is the best bank I have had an account in. The staff are so people friendly and quick in their service.
by ebenezer0000 2014-10-11 16:41:30
This branch is the best bank I have ever had an account in. The staff are so friendly and fast. It is a joy for me to be at this branch.
M. Collier
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by mcollier, Sep. 09, 2013

In the last 2 months,customer service has gone down hill

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on UMB Bank, Dorsett Road Branch at Maryland Heights, MO
4 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Review for Brandon McBride
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EricODell, Mar. 01, 2013

I'm writing in regards to my meeting with your banking representative Brandon McBride.  Brandon was not only quick and accurate with his work abilities, but he was also very friendly and took time to know me.  He showed a higher than normal intelligence and his problem solving skills are top notch.  My wife and I have many options for banking in the Kansas City area but employees like Brandon McBride are the reason we stick with UMB bank.  Thank you for all your help Brandon and it was a pleasure meeting with you.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on UMB Bank, 119th Street Banking Center Branch at Overland Park, KS
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Marieange 2014-01-28 06:04:23
Writing from the MUSEO NACIONAL DEL PRADO in Madrid, Spain. I am trying to get in touch with the UMB bank in Kansas that has a drawing by THOMAS HART BENTON, belonging to The Thomas Hart and Rita.P. Benton Trust.
i would be very grateful if someone could send me information about it.
Northside UMB Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by saferriss, May. 30, 2010

I have lived in other areas around the nation until I came to Missouri and the first banks that I banked with were very impersonal and some even haughty.  It seemed as though they didn't value my business....then I found UMB.  I signed up for a checking account at the south-end of town and got the cold shoulder there on Battlefield, but when I started with the North-side UMB, I've come to find them extremely kind, honest, and easy to work with when looking for loans or other banking needs.  I have now been with them since 2001 and see myself continuing on for as long as they keep this location.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
22 of 26 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

Security Bank of Kansas City, Security Bank Of Kansas City (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
701 Minnesota Avenue
Kansas City, KS 66101
First Federal Bank of Kansas City, Minnesota Ave Br (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
711 Minnesota Avenue
Kansas City, KS 66101
Bank of Labor, Center City Branch (0.3 miles)
Limited Service Facility Office
800 State Avenue
Kansas City, KS 66101
Bank of Labor, Bank Of Labor (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
756 Minnesota Avenue
Kansas City, KS 66101
Liberty Bank and Trust Company, 1314 North 5th Street Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1314 North 5th Street
Kansas City, KS 66101

More