Truist Bank, Review

Truist Bank, Review

Average rating based on 35 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
11
4 star:
2
3 star:
0
2 star:
2
1 star:
20
< Previous Page     Page 2 of 2
best staff in any bank I have ever dealt with!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sadiewhite, Oct. 15, 2012

kind, caring, patient staff, easy to talk with and willing to explain any question/situation.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Marietta Square Branch at Marietta, GA
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mrs
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by tdown, Jun. 12, 2012

This bank puts an unspecified hold on CASHIER'S CHECKS.  I paid to have a cashier's check drawn so there would be no wait for the money.  My daughter tried to cash it and they put an indefinite hold on it.  When I called the bank to ask how long it would be and what is the point of a cashier's check (after going through an automated system for 10 minutes), a man from the bank hung up on me.  Really?  This is appropriate conduct for your bank.  Never patronize this behavior.

* this review was made on Truist Bank, Virginia Beach Pembroke Branch at Virginia Beach, VA
10 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent banking stafff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BusaBoy, Apr. 20, 2012

We frequent the bank at least once or twice a week and the entire staff knows my wife and I by name and if the tellers are busy, someone from an office will try to help us.
They are all to be commended for a job well done.  They are wonderful representatives for your bank.
J. Corby Lambert
Bowling Green

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Fountain Square Branch at Bowling Green, KY
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Personal banking in a corporate world
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by superhappybanker, Nov. 14, 2011

I am so surprised to see negative reviews of BB&T! I have had a business, personal, investment, insurance and mortgage relationship with BB&T since they first came to the Savannah Area and bought out First Liberty (I think that is what it was) and have always been very happy with their performance. On the rare occasion that something is not as it should be they are quick to repair the problem and apologetic that there was a problem. The staff is generally competent and helpful. The best part is I frequent 3 different branches and at all of them they always recognize me and know me by name!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Savannah Mall Branch at Savannah, GA
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:35:46
Agreed! BB&T seems to be among the very small list of banks that actually care about their customers! I have never been pressured into buying stuff like I am every single time I walk into Wells Fargo.
Outstanding service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 75Cleer, Jun. 27, 2011

I have done business with the Valley Hills Branch in Bridgeport for the last seven years.  All the employees are always friendly and ready to help.  Forget your account number, no problem, they look it up.  Need a loan, no problem, they find some way to loan you the cash.  I've been through their drive through with three kids in the car and I've never waited more than 5 minutes.  They address me courteously, ask if the kids need a lollipop and take care of things quickly.  If I deposit checks from out of state, I know there is a hold.  If I need the money immediately, I go inside and speak with a manager, most of the time they find a reasonable solution. I don't know why all the negative reviews.  I have been to some banks that I really wish would shut down, but this is not one of them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Bridgeport Valley Hills Branch at Bridgeport, WV
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Teller was RUDE!
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by mrsalford, May. 23, 2011

I used the drive-thru to deposit a check to my company's account and I didn't have any deposit slips on hand.  My 8 month old baby was sleeping in his car seat and I didn't want to have to wake him by parking the car, taking him out of his car seat and putting him into a stroller to walk into the branch.  I asked the teller for a blank deposit slip.  She gave me one which I filled out and returned to her with the check.  She took a long while making the deposit.  When she finally returned to give me the receipt she said "next time be prepared and have your deposit slip ready".  I explained that I didn't have any on hand and asked if she could supply me with some blank slips so I could be better prepared next time.  She rudely replied "that is not our policy.  Use your own preprinted ones next time."  She should not be in customer service!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, West Delray Branch at Delray Beach, FL
13 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

average rates and accounts great staff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Jane80, Apr. 20, 2011

I have been with this branch about 6 years now. The teller line always greats me by name with a smile and customer service always bends over backwards to help me with any issue I have. I dont keep much money in my account but I always feel special when I come in!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Fox Mill Branch at Reston, VA
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Poor Customer Service
Overall Rating
Other Services
by bluebonnet, Apr. 13, 2011

I just tried to cash a check, written on a Regions Bank account, and written to my husband, who had endorsed it.  All I should have had to do was put my endorsement on it and show my driver's license.  The teller was rude. "No, he has to come in," she said.  "But he's at work," I told her. No "I am sorry, that's our policy" or anything like that.  I told her none of my money would ever be going to her bank.  The check was only for $60.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Columbiana Financial Center Branch at Columbia, SC
4 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:41:41
If you were smart you would've deposited the check then withdrew cash in two transactions. There is not a bank out there that you can cash a check and not be the payee whether it's endoresed or not (duh!)
Terrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by nickwbrady, Apr. 09, 2011

Would post an negative review if possible. THEY TOOK $6000 FROM ME AND HELD IT 2 DAYS AFTER I DEPOSITED IT (TOOK IT BACK OUT OF MY ACCT), untill I could notify the other person on the check and have them verify their idenity. They said that they should have told me when I deposited the check but their tellers are not up on all of the rules (Not my problem). So now I can't even get the check back. Then after 3 days on the phone with them and being lied to (Said they think Wachovia was the one that had the hold). This was not the case and they knew all along. Avoid this bank at all cost. If you are looking for the Best Bank In Town, I can tell you to take your business elsewhere, because this one is far from the best.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Thompson Bridge Branch at Gainesville, GA
8 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

BB&T are sheisters!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by misty, Mar. 01, 2011

i had an account with them a few years back anbd it lasted maybe 1 year. yes they have alot of locations but their fees were crazy and they were very deceptive about tacking on compounded ATM fees (non BB&T). they reported me to the credit bureau until i paid these jerks $300 in fees i felt were not justified just to clear my name. i gave the branch manager in inwood, WV a piece of my mind and i never once stepped in another BB&T ever since.

i have a friend who told me afterwards he had similar experiences at a branch in vienna, va. the branch just wants to suck as much $ as they can and are extremely rude.

ANY bank is better than they are!!
AVOID BB&T LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Winchester Va Main Branch at Winchester, VA
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by KMFC 2016-02-12 15:59:16
Used to be happy with them - not so much anymore.

Vacation Property. Joint account to cover the bills on siad vacation property.  Walked in the door with a USD Bank Draft for $3,000 payable to both parties on the account and tried to deposit it.

No.  They want the signature of BOTH people on the back.  S'cuse me?  What do you do when we mail the deposit in as we usually do?  No-one in their right mind would endorse the BACK of a cheque and THEN drop it in the mail.  What new brand of stupidity is this please?
Deceiving and discriminating treatment from a client specialist. WTH!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by newtoyou, Jan. 27, 2011

I have been a checking account holder at BB&T for quite sometime now. One day I applied for a credit card. All my pertinent documents were copied by the client specialist at Williamston, NC. Then she told me to wait for her call before 4pm of that same day. It failed to happen. After 17 (seventeen) days of waiting, I appeared directly to the branch. The client specialist did not meet me face to face. The employee who approached me said that they need a credit verification. She once again got a copy of my ssn card. Nothing happened after that until the 3rd month! A letter from the Williamston, NC branch (signed by that same client rep) was sent to me stating that my application was declined. Then after a week I received a phone call from BB&T asking me to avail of their other service. I felt like I was slapped left and right and up and down. I felt like I was shaking uncontrollably because of too much intimidation that I received from this bank.

If you were in my place, would you still bank with BB&T?   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Williamston Main Branch at Williamston, NC
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bad Experiences with BBT in Summerville
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by graybear41, Jan. 20, 2011

I am co-owner of a bank account with BBT in Summerville.  I have never had a good experience with this bank.  The arrogance of the staff is unmatched.  I have placed 3 phone calls about an error charging us for a safety deposit box which was closed at the Trion branch last year.  Not one response has been received.  My last in person visit, I waited to speak to a rep for over 30 minutes, and finally was able to see another woman who I flagged down in the lobby.
Stay away from this branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Summerville Main Branch at Summerville, GA
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

BB&T is not a good bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 1kungfumom, Dec. 13, 2010

I had banked with BB&T for 17 years, but when an issue arose, they made mistake after mistake and kept charging me for services that I had either already paid, or were supposed to be free with my account. When I asked to close all my accounts there, they retaliated by reporting me to Equifax in an attempt to ruin my credit. All they care about is sucking as much money out of the little guy that they can get away with.DO NOT BANK WITH BB&T - THEY ARE NO GOOD!!!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Twinbrooke Branch BB&T Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sumoneymanager, Nov. 11, 2010

I oversee several Girl Scout troops that have accounts at BB&T and the Twinbrook staff has been extremely helpful.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Gouges student bankers-left this bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NC Student, Aug. 07, 2010

High school student opened debit card and bought CD. After about a year, he ran out of money on his debit card and did not realize it (wasn't using online banking then.) Within 2 days, he overdrafted his debit card 6 times before the notice came by mail. This was his first offense. BB&T charged $35 per occurrance ($210!) They would not negotiate one bit even when parents went in and politely placed reasonable request. We will never bank here again. Advise your students not to as well.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Hollyd321 2015-10-28 07:29:41
Doesn't surprise me.  I am looking for another bank as we speak. I deposited a cashiers check drawn on another local bank on Saturday. It is Wednesday morning and the funds are just now available to me. In the mean time I was charged $36 4 times for overdraft fees even though they are supposed to move money from my credit line to cover overdrafts.  I guess they decided more profitable to pay them themselves.  Funny three of those overdraft charges show the same date as my large cashiers check deposit.  If the money was available why did I overdraft?  I've only banked with bbt a little over a year and I'm done with them as of today
< Previous Page     Page 2 of 2

Banks Nearby

JPMorgan Chase Bank, Desoto Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
900 North Polk Street, Suite #100
Desoto, TX 75115
BBVA USA, De Soto Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
225 N Hampton Road
Desoto, TX 75115
Comerica Bank, Hampton-Wintergreen Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1483 N Hampton
Desoto, TX 75115
PlainsCapital Bank, Desoto (1.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1701 N. Hampton Rd.
Desoto, TX 75115
Inwood National Bank, De Soto Branch (1.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1801 North Hampton Street
Desoto, TX 75115

More