Popular Bank, Review

Popular Bank, Review

Average rating based on 7 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
3
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
4
BANCO POPULAR IS RAN BY THUGS!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by plprz, Jan. 20, 2012

Aside from the deplorable assistance dished out by Yejenis Sanchez, my main complaint is with Banco's shady accounting practices. In order to steal money from their customers, under the guise of "NSF fees", Banco ALLOWS transactions to go through and then later declines them and charges overdraft fees for EVERY line item. As of 1/9/12 they illegally extracted $150 worth of fees from my account, then on 1/20/12 another $150. The behavior of Banco is beyond abusive and is downright treacherous. They are thieves and I'm in the process of hiring a lawyer to sue them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Popular Bank, 116th Street Branch at New York, NY
11 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr. Frank Mieles
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by pancho, Jan. 19, 2012

Like most people, there comes a time when we, through no
fault of our own, we deposit a check and it comes back because of insuffient funds, it happens to the best of us.
I went through that horrible experience about two weeks ago.I called the bank and every one that I spoke to were
very nice and helpful, but were unable to help, but they tried. Anthony, Katie,Ciani, just to mention a few. I
tried to explain my situation to make good on my mistake.
On January 18th I called to find out my balance and it still had not being resolved. Later on the afternoon I received a call from someone in the bank that all was well.
Relieved at last, until January 19th when things were not
as I was told on the 18th. Confused I called and spoke to
"IRIS" and it was all down hill from there. Miss "IRIS"
a customer care representative who was anything but!We were 2 minutes into our conversation and she asked me to speed it it up, for she had more customers to take care of.(unheard of)I never knew there was a time limit on a help line especially because my problem was very complex.
I notice her rush and decided to hang up. "IRIS" was making me nervous and her demeanor did not allow me to explain. I decided to report "IRIS", and on the evening of
the 19th "IRIS called me, her tone was agressive and belligerent, she began by telling me how ill informed I was. She then started to raise her voice and treating me like a hoodloom or derelict. I requested to speak to her Supervisor, who's name was MARIA ALVARADO. After waiting for exactly one hour I gave up.I proceeded to report "IRIS" to another customer care representative who's name was Gabriella and she documented my conversation. I have never been so insulted in my life.I was led to believe that customer service is to resolve issues and not to make matters worse."IRIS" should be sent back to training on how to deal with customers.She had the nerve to tell me that my problem was that I was having a bad day.A true proffessional will difuse a situation and not make it worse, I have been led to believe. so much for bthat idea.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Popular Bank, 116th Street Branch at New York, NY
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Zenjon, Dec. 27, 2017

I do most of my banking by going inside the bank.  All the time I walk into this bank I feel a very Homey vibe.  It feels welcoming I always comment to my friends how Popular feels like an old time Cowboy bank.  I like all the workers in the bank and feel like they are indeed part of my life for after all they are my bank and that is where my money is.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Popular Bank, North Miami Branch at Miami, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

customer
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by Elizabeth26, Aug. 06, 2014

I can't say enough good things about the people at this bank.  Lori Hopkins and Tricia Ramirez were of invaluable assistance when my father became the target of financial elder abuse.  There were both quick to recognize and respond swiftly and professionally to attempted questionable transactions. I am in their debt.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Popular Bank, La Mirada Branch at La Mirada, CA
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Most inconsiderate group of supposely professional
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 1virginislander, Apr. 06, 2013

Being from lakeland, the closes bank to us is at OBT location kissimmee, It takes from 45 to 1-1/2 Hr drive  depending on route and traffic to reach  this location. Immediately we realize that we were late by 1minute the manager at the door told us that he was sorry but the bank was close there still people inside conducting transaction, yet by the incredible time of under one minute we couldn't go in. no matter how much We explain the situation, let me clarified as I also told him that this was for my in-laws that they were trying to withdraw money from their saving account and they do not have a debit card. I personally have this bank since the US virgin island for more than 20 years but I will finish by saying not for long, this is not the only incident that I have with this bank. Not only I was extremely disappointed but also my father in law is taking action, We understand how business work and surely if we were late by more than 10 minutes I wouldn't even ask, but come on guys one minute and it wasn't like the bank was totally empty we saw customers inside finishing their transaction, This is for the manager that was on Duty on 04/6/13 thank you for making my decision to switch bank easier.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Popular Bank, West Vine Street Branch at Kissimmee, FL
18 of 20 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr. Eddie
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by reallyfedup, Dec. 09, 2012

The management staff here are the most unprofessional , rude , nasty. This is not a bank you are not treated as a customer in any way. Stay away from this bank. I was a long time business customer. And too busy to change for a while. I finally just closed the account and opened it up else where. And what a pleasant change.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Popular Bank, Dadeland Branch at Miami, FL
12 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ms. Joelle Garcia
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Rhora, Jul. 11, 2011

Since the moment I walked into the bank, I felt welcomed. Banco popular has to be one of the friendliest banks I've been to. I almost felt like I was part of a family, and I hardly knew anyone. I was called on right away, all of the staff members that I encountered were friendly and made sure that my needs were attended to. A specific Banker named Irma Morales had to have been the best of all of them. She welcomed me into her office with open arms, and took care of me like I was one of her own. She explained everything in detail and was highly professional without coming across as "snobbish". Banco Popular is HIGHLY recommended to anyone who wants a costumer friendly, comfortable, and efficient bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Popular Bank, Boggy Creek Branch at Kissimmee, FL
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

JPMorgan Chase Bank, East Harlem Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
179 E 116th St
New York, NY 10029
TD Bank, 117th & 3rd Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2144 Third Ave
New York, NY 10035
Citibank, One Hundred-Sixteeth Street Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2261 First Avenue
New York, NY 10035
Bank of America, Harlem East Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
157 East 125th Street
New York, NY 10035
Apple Bank for Savings, 125th Street Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
169 East 125th Street
New York, NY 10035

More