Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Review

Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Review

Average rating based on 10 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
2
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
8
Mr Eugene LeFever
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by geno99, Jun. 16, 2016

problem is getting some on the phone very helpful when you do I have field a complant with federal reserve bank of san Francisco and they sent me a letter saying green dot has issued a 120 refund witch is a lie the gave me a 50 dollar credit after I couldn't use my card for about a week my account is still messed up and cant get no ones help at green dot


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
9 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Fraudulent Activity
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by msprecis, Jun. 01, 2016

If I was able to rate them lower I would. My card stopped working and after several attempts to get a new card after 2 weeks finally received it and still does not work and they still tried charging me to replace it. Trying to rectify the problem they said they would have a supervisor call back several times and still no call back. They stopped taking my phone calls, the last call they said do not call until you have replacement card, replacement card does not work and they will still not take my card. I have auto deposit, they have my money, I am unable to get my money. On a fixed income in poor health. Will be homeless without my money. How can they treat customers like this. Still waiting after a month.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MJC1959, Jan. 19, 2015

I have been using the same prepaid card through WalMart for more than five years.  After Green Dot took over the cards (previously issued by GE Capital) their service sucks.  My card was abruptly cancelled with no warning.  When I called to find out what was going on they gave me the same rote answer:  I had too many transactions.  I was never given a warning or option to find another payment method.  They are still holding my funds 15 days later (which they gladly took just two days prior to cancelling the card).  I cannot get my money refunded and I am on a limited income so this has caused me many problems.  Don't do business with this company!   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
14 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by cmcook 2015-04-03 18:20:18
I feel you. They collected $6349 and the very hour the money went on my card the locked it for "suspicious activity" I had to send a copy of my ID to them and they couldnt read 2 letters on the address and said they could not verify my identity. I had to get a new drivers license and they still haven't released my money to me. Don't ever do business with these people. At no time was I told they would need my ID to verify my identity and throughout this whole ordeal I have only received 1 email to tell me they blocked my card. I have had an awful time trying to get information. I will never use one of these cards again. There are to many good providers out there to have to deal with this awful awful awful customer service.
by daigo 2015-05-10 13:57:42
This green dot rip off card wants your social security number before you can get your money
D-I-S-H-O-N-E-S-T
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TheyRobbedMe, Aug. 01, 2014

Biggest crooks on the planet. AVOID! I opened an account, all was well...Now I want to close the account and I have to FAX my Social Security Card and my Drivers License to some FAX number somewhere, because they "Need to verify my identity"....BOLOGNA!

HORRIBLE COMPANY! 100% AVOID!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by donnamom62 2015-01-04 17:35:05
These walmart money cards suck big time put $200 on card and cannot use the dam thing told me it was compromised and they put block on it. Sending me another card for $15 fee when I get ai will take my money off and cut up card
Thieves and Liars
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by WoodlandCreature, Jun. 14, 2014

Bought a prepaid visa (debit) card at Walmart.  Loaded it up with $500.  The next day, attempted to make a charge, got a charge rejection, went and checked, the bank said it had only received $30 from Walmart.  I went to the Walmart store and the store manager called the bank, they told the manager they'd get back to me within 24 hours.  Didn't call, I called, they said they had not said anything like that to the store manager.  I have the receipts.  I am going to the police.  A customer should never be put into a situation like this.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Poorserviice 2016-02-11 07:29:04
I am not able to access my funds because they put an block on my card saying suspicious transactions but I use my card faithfully and they are making me wait 2 days to use my card when I need to pay my bills they have the worst customer service , they transfer you to a answering g system that just talks they are horrible as soon as I get my money off this card I will be closing my account they gave me the run around and I'm calling the police on them they give you no information putting notes in there system that I'm rude hell yes because I want my money and shouldn't have to wait they are the worst & then you have to enter a working card just to talk with someone , there are no Manegers or no corrpriRate numbers to call these people will ruin your life do not use them
by Wanda89 2016-04-20 23:34:21
Hi I have a similar situation to the one you discussed about green dot will u please share with me any information you may have that will be useful to me to get my money from green dot
Customer Since 2012
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ONLYBYGRACE, Apr. 11, 2014

I have to say I am surprised, but Green Dot is a great way to bank if you dont want or cant get a regular bank account.
I have gotten my tax refunds, direct deposits as well as regular MoneyPak Deposits & have never had any problem.
The end of March 2014 my account was hacked (due to the Target security breach, & I immediately filed a claim hours after it happened & I noticed it. They credited my account back every single dime & sooner than the date they gave me.
Customer service is fairly quick to answer and always friendly.
I do wish they would offer other online services from the website though.
Definitely would give them a 9/10.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

dr.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by stevejolinski, Apr. 01, 2014

Piss poor financial institution ! Money was defrauded out of my account,Greendot Bonneville Bank GoBank are all fraudulent banks, they keep different sets of books,the juggel and/or manipulate other customer's accounts with each other to crunch numbers(or try to),transactions including dates and amounts don't match,missing transactions,website access and ATM access down for days,no access to your own money,unable to understand the Philippine language when calling Manilla,people in Manilla have no idea how to answer your questions and no little to nothing about banking practices as they are uneducated,compromised security and privavcy of all your personnal information with people over in India and Philippines,the people in the Philippines and India and China and Mexico are not under jurisdiction of laws from the USA, bad nightmare really. To late to stop direct deposit and will have to call police and file fraud report on Green Dot/Bonneville Bank/GoBank. The use different aliases to escape liability for fraud. I am out maybe a $1000. I have to beg my family to do a wire transfer as I have no money for food and basic needs.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

4017 Dollars Lost They dont know where the funds are
Overall Rating
by urdaa002, Feb. 11, 2014

2 Employer direct deposits Lost  

1 Refund from target Lost

Total 417 Dollars and they even hang up the phone in the Philippines where they keep their call center. when I asked them for a US phone number after 15 calls and no resolution.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by BKING 2015-01-31 10:07:48
I HAD 2 DEPOSITS PAYABLE ON THE 1ST OF THE MONTH PUT ON THIS CARD AND THEY SAY THEY DONT HAVE EITHER OF THEM AND NOW ALL I AM GETTING IS CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENTS ALL TELLING A DIFFERENT STORY .  I AM A SENIOR CITIZEN  AND I AM SO UPSET AND DISSAPOINTED THAT IDID NOT READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE I GOT THIS CARD. THIS IS MY MONTHLY EARNINGS AND I DONT KNOW WHERE TO GO FROM HERE.
Best Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SavyShopper, Jul. 31, 2013

Personable, Honest and Reliable. They know your name, get you in and out quickly, and don't charge you as much as others for their services. This is one of the few banks that deduct your check amount from your account when it is presented instead of when it is written--honest business dealing.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by windygail 2014-03-02 20:31:48
for you to have made a comment like this you must work for these crooks
REFUND!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating
by laylay08, Feb. 15, 2013

I've been waiting for my refund for too long. Green Dot says you'll have your refund quicker than most but that's not true IRS tells me my money been deposited since Feburary 13 and it haven't been deposited to my card yet and its the 15. I advise you guys to go with other options!!!!!!!!!!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this review was made on Green Dot Bank DBA Bonneville Bank, Green Dot Bank Dba Bonneville Bank at Provo, UT
8 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by LIONS 2013-12-07 15:52:16
Refunds takes too long, customer service cant provide you with the answers your looking for.
by Loribelle5125 2015-03-20 23:40:26
did you ever get your refund because the same thing is happening to me?
by moish 2016-12-30 11:27:59
Purchased one of your Visa prepaid cards at CVS for my daughter. Value $100.00 Nowhere on the packaging does it inform the customer that the first purchase incurs a $10.00 fee. Now there is only $90.00 left? This is outrageous and false advertising. Who would buy a card with $100.00 and receive only $90.00. That's crazy and dishonest. Would like my money back. Have to inform the Better Business Bureau. Just find it dishonest. Would never consider Green Dot again.

Banks Nearby

JPMorgan Chase Bank, East Bay Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1177 South University Avenue
Provo, UT 84601
Central Bank (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
75 North University Avenue
Provo, UT 84601
Central Bank, Provo Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
75 North University Avenue
Provo, UT 84601
Altabank, Provo Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
201 East Center
Provo, UT 84606
Wells Fargo Bank, Provo Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
86 North University Avenue
Provo, UT 84601

More