First Interstate Bank, Review

First Interstate Bank, Review

Average rating based on 10 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
2
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
2
1 star:
4
NO DIFFERENT THEN THE REST JUST IN IT FOR THE BUCKS
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MissKittyKat, Sep. 08, 2017

My husband and I have been with this bank in Lander WY for almost 15 years now and other than being helpful with going through the process of getting a home loan years back they have not had any interest in helping in any other way in the least. We had our own business needed card services to be able to accept credit cards they couldn't even be bothered to give us a quote for the costs. We have our personal accounts there but it took 10 years before we could use the online banking. Prior to that every time we would try to log in we were told our codes no longer worked but when we'd call to try to get help we were told that they were way jto busy and told us we would just need to go to the site and follow the instructions, "we did that's why we we're calling you. " We went with these guys because we figured maybe being the small home town bank they would not be so cut throat like the Wells Fargo's, or B of A's out there, we were wrong. Their no worse than the others but certainly not any better either. All they care about us how much of each dollar you park with them that can keep unless of course you are wealthy and then maybe then you might get the royal treatment. Good luck otherwise!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, Lander Main Branch at Lander, WY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Poor customer service.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Jesuslovesyou, Sep. 29, 2015

This is your average bank. Not too bad, nothing outstanding. However, when an elderly customer falls in your parking lot you should probably check on them to see if they are ok.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, Hot Springs Branch at Hot Springs, SD
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

I Love My Bank
Overall Rating
by lairafonner, Aug. 11, 2015

I love my Whitefish, MT branch of First Interstate Bank.  The people have the best customer service anywhere.  They actually remember your name and greet you when you come in, they are all smiling and happy.  It must be a great place to work, because the employees of this branch just seem very happy.  As a customer, however, I have NEVER had a complaint with them and have bought two homes with their help and gotten personal loans, etc.  They have always been creative to work with me to make these transactions go smoothly and have always gone out of their way to do things for me.  When I got a job out of town, they bent over backwards to help me transfer money, and this has happened in other instances when I needed advice on how to draw larger amounts of money but wasn't sure how.  Fees are minimal, everything has been fair.  I have been with them for many years and have never, not once, had a complaint.  Like I said, I Love My Bank!!!!  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, Whitefish Branch at Whitefish, MT
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

BE VERY CAREFUL
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
by LeslieLovell, Dec. 22, 2013

Be very careful -- my uncle set up a small trust (CD's) for me--he was older and not much of a business man-- twice a year, I get a check for about $2200, and First Interstate gets $1300 for their semi-annual trustee fee. My dad, a former bank board president, asked them to readjust their fees, but they refused. (Also we've had to remind them twice to disburse the payment.)

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, First Interstate Bank at Billings, MT
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

BE VERY CAREFUL
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
by LeslieLovell, Dec. 22, 2013

Be very careful -- my uncle set up a small trust (CD's) for me--he was older and not much of a business man-- twice a year, I get a check for about $2200, and First Interstate gets $1300 for their semi-annual trustee fee. My dad, a former bank board president, asked them to readjust their fees, but they refused. (Also we've had to remind them twice to disburse the payment.)

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, First Interstate Bank at Billings, MT
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great bank, especially for seniors.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bearbob82001, Sep. 14, 2012

I have banked with them for twenty years with excellent service in all ways. My "Rewards 50" accounts are no cost with free checks and other services. Internet banking with them is so very effortless and convenient.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, Cheyenne Dell Range Branch at Cheyenne, WY
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

very bad customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by UVEE, Aug. 29, 2012

i called up today on 12.30 pm to first interstate bank ,because they are charging me overdraft fee without noticing me,clerk in first interstate bank she is so rude and mean ,she hung up on me while i was talking.
i requested her to let me talk to her manager ,she denied and say that they are short handed today.
this is not appropriate behavior to customer.
i always deposit my check in first interstate bank on every 2nd Friday,after 3 pm ,
when i remove money on Saturday or Sunday it always show me negative balance,when i inquire about it ,clerk always say they are gonna refund me back because its computer mistake ,but i never saw penny till now,
every week same story ,but this time clerk was so rude ,i wish bank manager should listen to her some time or if they have call recording ,bank manager should play some time to see how his staff treat people.
i have my account more then 1 year i never found this kind of misbehavior to me .
its just ripped of common man.
i deposit my check on Friday evening ,its not my fault that their system wont show up,
then why i should suffer $60.00 for every month overdraft fee,+ clerk misbehavior .
i just need my money back
its not at all my fault

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, Sheridan Sugarland Branch at Sheridan, WY
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

$8 a day taken out of overdrawn account
Overall Rating
Other Services
by PollyAnnaSpitz, Apr. 17, 2012

A couple of years ago I reserved a safety deposit box.  After leaving the area, I did not leave a forwarding address. So instead of closing the account and the box, they just took out $8 a day and let the amount just fee just going up. Why not just close the account.  Now I'm up to nearly $100! Wow. Makes my stomach sick that people do business like this. There was no offer to settle it to keep my business, so I guess I don't put enough money in to matter, but nickel and diming me out like this is ok? I guess us 'little guys' are supposed to just take it or move on.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, Buffalo Branch at Buffalo, WY
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Snookums
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Snookums, Apr. 08, 2012

My husband and I have always had a good experience when dealing with First Interstate.  No major problems.  We use the mail a lot for our deposits and it would be nice if they would check their P.O. box more often.  But other than that, things have worked for us.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, Hamilton Branch at Hamilton, MT
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

costumer
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by oldguy, Jun. 21, 2011

 took my ballance plus account. for no reaison. caused hard ship.ive always had good credit with them,

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First Interstate Bank, Hill City Branch at Hill City, SD
2 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment