Community Bank, Review

Community Bank, Review

Average rating based on 11 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
5
4 star:
0
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
2
Scott Cardinali
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Scottyytttooohottyyy, Aug. 31, 2020

The girls that work at the Hannibal, NY branch are amazing. When i go to the bank i always feel welcomed and when i leave i feel accomplished... They are understanding and they will also help you if you need it.. I have 4 accounts here and look forward to many more yrs to come with The Community Bank protecting my money.Thank you all for giving me a great banking experience..

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Hannibal Branch at Hannibal, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dependable, Friendly, Helpful
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by daytonny, Jul. 06, 2016

I've been using this branch in Gowanda, NY way back when it was Marine Midland. The only bank in this area with a drive thru window. Staff is always friendly and eager to help whether it be in person or by phone. Living now in Oregon, I still keep my Community Bank Account because of the trust I have in them. I recommend them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Gowanda Branch at Gowanda, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

LOVE BANKING HERE!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by munchee, Mar. 25, 2015

I find this bank and its employees so easy to work with! From simple deposits to special accommodations, they really have gone above and beyond to assist me. From the beginning to some online choices on my end that lead to a near wipe-out of my account balance, they were fast, thorough and got my money back for me. I've had a very easy time here. Thank you.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Avon Branch at Avon, NY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

surcered loan
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by asaffamily, Nov. 19, 2013

How is it your approved for a secured loan, and have to then have a co signer? A co signer isn't the easiest to find. We have asked 3 different family members. This loan lady Erin has made our co signers feel down right stupid. Erin even went has far in her mean rude way of making one co signer explain what it was to be a co signer. The last co sign had credit and at the same job for years, has no dependents and Erin still denied the loan.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Jamestown Brooklyn Square Branch at Jamestown, NY
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

No ACCURATE ONLINE SYSTEM
Overall Rating
by vrina, Sep. 21, 2013

Community Bank claims to have an online banking system.  Unfortunately it is really NOT an accurate online banking system.  They put dates on transactions when they are paid, then two days later they have reworked everything, changed dates items are paid, it is ridiculous.  When I called the bank I was told you should always keep a register.  This was quite insulting as I do this, yet I check balance everyday and reconcile everything.  I am making a switch to Key Bank as I they have a much more accurate online banking system.  The clerks at bank are friendly enough, but that is not why I use bank.  I want an accurate online system because I cannot bank during banking hours.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Clayton Branch at Clayton, NY
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Uneducated teller(s)
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by perith66, Jan. 05, 2013

I am making this review based on a teller that I came into contact with that did not seem to know the policies of Community Bank. That is also what my ratings are based off of. I will start off by saying that I initially went into this branch of Community Bank on a Friday. This branch is not the branch of Community Bank that I normally go to, as I was visiting my parents. I deposited some money, which I had no trouble doing. I then tried to cash a check that was given to me to go towards paying for my college. This check was from Bank of America. The teller immediately told me that they could not cash a check like this because I did not have the same amount of funds or more in my account and beyond this, it was a check connected to a credit card, not even a bank account.

At the branch I normally go to, this is never a problem. I have even spoken to the manager from the branch I normally go to and he said the tellers should give me no problems in cashing these checks (because I had run into problems with this before). He told me that I should have no problem with this because the funds are coming from someone else's account and not mine. (This was misinformation from him but I did not know this at the time of this transaction at West Cartage.)

The teller checked with her manager after hearing me tell her about this, came back and said they cannot cash the check. At that point I was getting a little frustrated because all she could say to me is that maybe the manager had said it was fine to do that at the branch I normally go to but it was not okay at this one. After hearing this I said to her, "Can you tell me why I could do this at the branch I normally go to but not at this branch? It doesn't make sense to me because they are both Community Bank." I simply wanted her to answer my question but she could not. She kept repeating the same thing and I kept asking her the same question. I don't feel that it is too much to ask of her for her to be able to inform me of whether or not policies vary for the same bank at different branches or if she just is not sure.

It ended up that she decided she would call the manager of the Community Bank that I normally cashed checks at. During this conversation, I could only hear bits and parts of what she was saying but it seemed as if she already had formed an opinion that I did not know what I was talking about or trying to do in the first place. The manager ended up telling her that he would not feel comfortable cashing the check and that she should not either. This was not right on his part because I had spoken with him on the phone and he led me to believe that the policy was much different than it really was.

I continued the transaction by agreeing that I would deposit the check. Throughout this she had been encouraging that I deposit the check anyways, because that was the only thing they could do for me, and that the money would be available tomorrow (Saturday). She was adamant on this and besides the small-talk she tried to make, she kept reminding me that if I need the money right away, I can come back to this branch tomorrow morning and get the money out by writing myself a personal check. She continued to say that if I was traveling back to college or where I live that I could go to a Community Bank and get the money there too.

Saturday comes around and because I was unsatisfied with my experience at that branch, I went to another local branch in this general area that is about 15 miles from the West Cartage branch. I was on a time schedule and soon found out that the Community Bank I had driven to was closed on Saturday's. I found this very upsetting because she assured me I could to go any Community Bank, whether in this area or traveling and be able to take out the money. I don't feel that it is okay for her to make statements about the Community Bank's being open on Saturday and not tell me that not all of them are. If I had known this, I would have specifically looked up which branch's I could go to.

I ended up driving back to the West Cartage branch to do the transaction and get the money. I put my check in the box for the teller to take. Immediately after this I noticed a sign on the window saying that on Saturday's the bank will not distribute amounts of money greater than $1000.00. I was able to get my $1,500.00 out of the bank but I was also made aware by the teller that they cannot do that. Because it was so close to closing, apparently they knew they had that amount of money to give and did so anyways.

 This is what really led me to write this review. The teller from Friday obviously did not know the policies of Community Bank in general or for the branch that she works at. After the problem that I ran into on Friday, for her to give me complete misinformation regarding what to do on Saturday when the bank is opened for limited time is just uncalled for. Beyond this, I have found that Community Bank employee's continually will do things that are against their policy. This has been misleading to me in the case of the branch I normally go to but also with this branch. They have a sign posted that they cannot distribute more than $1,000.00 but went ahead and did it anyways. Is that not suppose to lead me to believe that I could continually try to do so? What if this happens to 5 other people and they go and tell friends or relatives the same thing. If they have a policy, as a bank or branch, all employees should be aware of all those policies and they should enforce them all the time.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, West Carthage Branch at Carthage, NY
3 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude tellers, bad customer service
Overall Rating
by rhd35, Dec. 27, 2012

I have had an account with Community for the past seven years, and have never had a bad experience with the different branches throughout the area.  I have been to the Geneseo branch twice and both times, had two different tellers who were very rude.  The most recent experience I had was with Linda Muscarella.  (I took a peak at her business cards to get her name.) From the second I walked up to the counter, she seemed miserable.  She gave me a few dirty looks and seemed inconvenienced.  She didn't speak to me at all during the multiple transactions, and was just overall rude.  I refuse to go to the Geneseo branch again due to the poor customer service and tellers who treat customers poorly.  I am contemplating going to the manager about Linda, as she was so visibly rude.  I understand that everyone has a bad day, but being in an occupation where customer service is extremely important, you think she could have put her emotions/problems aside and/or at least faked being nice and friendly.  I hope other customers do not have to endure her, and the other tellers' poor attitudes.  Unacceptable.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Geneseo Branch at Geneseo, NY
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unbelievable charge
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by klesoine, Jun. 23, 2012

When someone completes work for me at my small farm, I give them a check that they can cash at my local bank in Montrose, PA.  The bank now charges $10 to anyone cashing a check from MY account that does not have an account at that bank.  Does that make sense at all?  So now either Penn Star or People's Bank will have my account.  I'll make that decision today.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Montrose Branch at Montrose, PA
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Amazing friendly
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by spydermomma, May. 02, 2012

The women at this branch are BY farbest of the best i left HSBC to be with these wonderful courteous staff who actually remember their clients names and accomodate accordingly..... WELL DONE and WELcome surprise.... :-) Jillian James-Alessi


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Orchard Park Branch at Orchard Park, NY
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

One Happy Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by vryhappycustomer, Mar. 19, 2012

Absolutely LOVE this bank, this branch, Kelly and the staff!! I've been with BOA for 20 years and they are AWFUL!!  Community Bank is hands down the best bank I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Keep up the great work.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Hammondsport Branch at Hammondsport, NY
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

First National Bank ( was Community BANK AND TRUST)
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by KGeerts, Jul. 26, 2011

I have been a customer of Community Bank and Trust for about 30 years...recently this bank has been taken over by First National Bank.  In May 2010 I had an appraisal done for the Community Bank, the appraisal was done by Van Fleet appraisal in Clarks Summit..I remortgaged and took out a small home equity loan..  This year in May I decided to redo three bathrooms, got a contractor and an estimate and went to now First National..They would not accept Community Bank's appraisal and hired Evans Appraisal Service of Clarks Summit. Note from the last home equity my husband and I put on a new roof and also a new gas heating system. Expecting my appraisal to go up or at least stay around the same, we told the contractors end of July there were no changes to our credit report ..thought things  would go well as they always had with Community Bank..Evans Appraisal came in with an appraisal of almost $100,000. under last years. I called the mortgage dept.  and told them of at least 8 discrepansies in the appraisal.. I didn't think it was my appraisal but the picture matched. First National said can't do anything, they were told by another manager that last years appraisals and prior ones were higher. When the Clarks Summit mortgage officer did not give me satisfaction, I asked for his boss's e- mail and mailed him out everything plus the e-mails to Clarks Summit and Nicholson office.. asked him to look over and refund my appraisal fee since this was not my appraisal. To this day I do not have an answer. I did go to customer service in Clarks Summit and complained about the Appraisal Service...Still no answer or change. Also contacted  the appraisal service  with no satisfaction.  We were left no alternative but went to another bank and will switch all my accounts to them as they have satisfied our needs.  I am also reporting this to the BBB.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Community Bank, Clarks Summitt - S. State Street Bra at Clarks Summit, PA
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

Landmark Community Bank (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2 South Main Street
Pittston, PA 18640
Wells Fargo Bank, Pittston Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1 South Main Street
Pittston, PA 18640
The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank, Pittston Office (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
225 Kennedy Blvd.
Pittston, PA 18640
The Luzerne Bank, Luzerne Bank - Pittston (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
285 South Main Street
Pittston, PA 18640
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company, Pittston By-Pass Branch (1.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2 Rachael Drive
Pittston, PA 18640

More