City National Bank of West Virginia, Review

City National Bank of West Virginia, Review

Average rating based on 9 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
3
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
5
Don’t use
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Frustrated1, May. 31, 2018

Not clear in communication between departments or with clients. Longest time i have ever waited to close a home loan in 30 years. Condescending if you ask a question for clarification.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on City National Bank of West Virginia, Teays Valley Branch at Scott Depot, WV
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Friendly and Helpful.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TCash66, Mar. 06, 2017

I have been with this bank since 2000 when it was known as Community Bank.  I enjoy seeing the bank tellers at the Verona, VA branch.  They remember me and are friendly and helpful whenever I go through the drive through or into the bank. I have my personal and our business checking accounts and a credit card with City National Bank. We use Elavon, a company they partner with, for our credit card services at our business and have enjoyed working with their representative. Would not change a thing.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on City National Bank of West Virginia, Staunton Branch at Staunton, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The Ripley branches are wonderful.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RetiredNavy, Sep. 30, 2016

I mostly frequent the Ripley Walmart branch but occasionally use the main Ripley branch.  I have received nothing but excellent customer service in both branches.  I have only used the Drive Thru branch on S. Church street a few times (but great service there also).  They are always friendly and helpful.  If I ever have a problem, I can just call and they are willing to try to resolve it.  I love the fact that most of the time, I can walk in and they remember me, my parents (who also bank there) and my children and always ask how everyone is doing.  When I walk into the local branches of City National Bank of West Virginia, I feel that they truly care about me and I am getting personalized service from the wonderful employees.  THANK YOU!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on City National Bank of West Virginia, Ripley Wal-Mart Branch at Ripley, WV
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Just opening an account ( online)
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ALCarson066, Aug. 31, 2016

I went online to open a checking account with their online service, went through all the steps, started the process on Aug. 24, got a confirmation email saying I would receive 2 small deposits into the account I wanted to transfer money out of into my new account I was opening to verify it was a good account etc, once I did that they could send me the documents I needed to sign with Docu sign and I would be done, upon reviewing my application I noticed it looked like it hadn't checked I wanted a debit card, so there was a online messaging option you could use during this process if you needed to send them any questions, so I sent a message asking them to check about the debit card, 8/24.

The next day I received the small deposits and I went to the online application and entered them to verify the account, that passed. got an email saying I would be receiving the Docu Sign documents. 8/25.

The morning of 8/29 I still had not received my Docu sign documents to finish everything to open the new checking account, there was a phone number in the emails should you need help call.. so I did, for their online banking, I called talked to the women, she said of course she could not see anything to do with my online application, but I explained to her what the problems were and she said she would send an email to that department, and hopefully they would get back to me on the problem, I had explained to her I had messaged them on the online message center on 8/24 about the debit card No answer, and that morning about he docu sign documents, and still no answer. so she said she'd email them. later that afternoon I FINALLY heard from them. they Finally sent the documents to sign.

Today 8/31 I had to message them because then they ask how much I wanted transferred from one account to the new account I specified, $150.00 and that was what was approved, etc. When I checked the new account through online banking this AM, it says only $25.00 was deposited. I am beginning to wonder if I made a huge mistake going with this bank...So I sent another message, just waiting on a reply.

Very disappointed in their lack of customer support, and poor, quality of service, and I haven't even started banking with them.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on City National Bank of West Virginia, Ripley Wal-Mart Branch at Ripley, WV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The Customer Service (previously fair) has Deteriorated!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by FairConsumer, Dec. 31, 2014

I am surprised that tellers at this branch and City Bank in general are allowed to treat customers the way I have been treated. In addition, the Branch Manager at this Hilltop Branch, possibly out of character for her, demonstrated very poor judgment by ignoring a customer's (my) request to speak with her in an attempt to bring resolution to a situation. Then she continued to be evasive to phone call etc. (two days and counting), with tellers promising that calls will be returned. The bank's decision to advance disputed charges, paying out overdrawn amounts to prioritized vendors while extending penalties to the customer is representative of how much the bank cares about protecting it's clients. Albeit, these debits (in question) are unauthorized by me, in fact the debits are amounts previously and independently paid to the merchant responsible for generating the unauthorized transactions.  Then the unauthorized amounts are reversed by merchant, but the bank overdraft charges remains. I have held accounts with this bank (Formerly Community Bank) for over four (4) years, and I am treated with impunity and discourtesy.. which shows that I am simply a number, not an important client/customer. My experience may be unique and untypical, however.. it is a representation of how one person may experience dealings with this bank or branch. I may choose to make an update to these comments once I get an opportunity to voice my dissatisfaction to the branch manager (regarding treatment and delay to resolution), if she finds time to return my call. I am very much inclined to close my accounts here, and take my “little business” to another bank where my patronage may be viewed favorably. Last but not least, the teller that I spoke with initially, misrepresented bank policy (I checked the website after the fact), and she lied about the facts surrounding the transactions in question. In her defense, maybe she was unaware of how certain transactions are undertaken and managed by the bank. For general reference, when one is unsure of how something works, the last thing one should do is give information that proves to be inaccurate upon review or investigation. Better to ask a colleague for clarity before passing out wrong information!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on City National Bank of West Virginia, Hilltop Branch at Virginia Beach, VA
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by truthmatters 2015-09-30 20:57:47
I had the same experience at the Hilltop branch.  Community Bank was the best.  Since City National acquired CB it's been a disaster all the way around.
Sandra Johnson
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DeWire, Aug. 18, 2014

The bank is not service oriented.  It actually is awful in all categories. Had my debit card privilege taken away with no notice or written.  Can no access balance.  Password supposedly expired with no notice.  I do not go inside banks. I stopped going inside when 5 minutes after I left a bank in Richmond a guard was shot and killed.  Also unfriendly people in main branch. You have violated my freedom to have access to my balance.  I have 2 direct deposits going to city and as soon as I have them changed to a good VA bank City can take a giant leap!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on City National Bank of West Virginia, Lewisburg Branch at Lewisburg, WV
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Online Banking
Overall Rating
by fgmiller, Feb. 11, 2013

Everytime I try to check my acount on line it is never available.  They need to get this problem fixed or I am switching.  I check my account daily and have not been able to do that for the past few days.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on City National Bank of West Virginia, 1723 Harper Road Branch at Beckley, WV
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Looking for City National Bank that I have an account with
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by joy4u, Oct. 10, 2012

I have an account with City National Bank and have been with them since 1996.  They hold a second mortgage on my home.  I am trying to get intouch with that City National Bank located in West Virginia, address on my payment book is P. O. Box 7899 zip code  25356.  I need a phone number to that branch.  Can you assist me?

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Thank God!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by babyjay13, May. 20, 2010

After our troubles with Chase,City bankis a blessing. Super friendley staff, no waiting time,only complaint is that it takes a couple of days to have access to checks and for withdraws to show onthe blance slips.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

United Bank, Premier Bank Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
24 District Way
Martinsburg, WV 25404
Summit Community Bank, Inc, Old Courthouse Square Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1321 Edwin Miller Blvd.
Martinsburg, WV 25401
First United Bank & Trust, Edwin Miller Blvd Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1286 Edwin Miller Blvd
Martinsburg, WV 25404
Jefferson Security Bank, Edwin Miller Boulevard Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1487 Edwin Miller Boulevard
Martinsburg, WV 25402
Branch Banking and Trust Company, North Side Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1815 Edwin Miller Boulevard
Martinsburg, WV 25404

More