The Huntington National Bank, Review

The Huntington National Bank, Review

Average rating based on 47 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
18
4 star:
3
3 star:
0
2 star:
2
1 star:
24
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 3
Can't be trusted with your money
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by eastpointematt, Mar. 23, 2015

These half wits lost a large deposit  of cash  I made  and have inconvenienced me by waiting for this grievance to be filed for me to get my money. Once I   do  i'll be sure  to withdraw my money and never bank with them again. I had bills I needed to pay with the money  and now I obviously can't. They are a bank who can't be trusted to keep your money safe.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Canal-Garfield Branch at Clinton Township, MI
8 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by CherylJean 2015-04-12 17:43:35
Let me first say that I did NOT pick Huntington for my bank in Saginaw, MI. I had no choice at all. The Huntingtons were Bank of America banks and I was very pleased with everything....I inherited quite a bit of money from my Dad, and I chose '''bank of America because I wanted to separate from the only bank we and our business had ever used: Chase on Davenport. One thing I did was open large CD account, in spite of the lousy interest rates, but it had built in security in that I couldn't touch the money for 18 months; I then let it go for another 18 months. It was during this second term that Huntington Bank came along and overnight the whole banking atmosphere changed. When the 18 months was up this time, I grabbed the whole amount and ran. I also had a Money Market savings account linked to a personal checking account, with debit card.

My husband has been ill, but that's not the issue. I wanted to see how much money I had in both accounts and nearly had a heart attack when I saw that my savings was totally drained, like $0.00! And my checking was $40.00 in the whole. And because there is only a 24-hour grace period, I'm in deep doo-doo (?) and need to take a good chunk of my IRA out to keep on top of things.

I've been a victim of ID theft, *which these people were very much aware of*; they should have promptly let me know when a GOOD customer suddenly ran her account into the ground. And I'm certain of the identity of this theif: my only sister, who has also been using my medical identity for years. I have more than enough evidence to ruin her life, but I never wanted to do that. She is....has to be...a very sick person, but she also has to be held accountable.

Right now I am panicking with my husband recovering from his third critical illness (I am wondering how he can still be alive), so naturally my FIRST priority is him....I cannot sleep at night and am angry that the hospital sent him home too soon. I'm strong, but no one is THAT strong. And now I find out using my app that my bank account, all of that money my Dad worked so hard for is GONE.

Could write a book....what say...and perhaps make some money??? (grim smile). But in the meantime, I finally have reached the limit of any patience I once had.

And Huntington Bank is a huge thing. It looks so cheerless and desolate in there now.

And someone is definitely sleeping on the job. I am done with them.

BTW...for future knowing what you're getting yourself into, with bank, sevurities company, and investment advisor, do yourself a favor: go online and do a "Broker's Check" on an individual or an institution. Because I had no 'heads up' on this changing of the guard, I did not do it until I was already and unwilling member of this new bank that I had never heard of.

Thanks for reading this, if you did. ;\ Boy, an awful lot of people are going to be surprised when meek and mild me finally sticks up for herself. Several doctors will lose their licenses, and those who stole my identity (& came way too close for comfort), or helped those who did will find themselves wondering how they could have been so *stupid* to risk everything. Don't they know that the laws have gotten considerably stricter in this age of doing everything on the Web, where nothing, including what I have just written, ever, but ever goes away, no matter how *techy* and brilliant you imagine yourself to me. Ask Kevin Mitnik.

I am so worried about how we are going to survive financially. Hey, we had a *thriving* business and made really good money. Life was good!

Until the bottom fell out and the "love of money" (other people's money) became a fatal lure. And to think that in my case, my nearest & dearest, could do this to me. And they are all in Church every Sunday.

I'll never understand. The final kick in the head was becoming aware that my trusted hubby had stopped paying property taxes years ago....and worse, while paying our employees and holdingg out the whithholding, etc., he failed to give it to the IRS! I found out very late in the game....our supposed Revenue Officer deluged ou mailbos with tons s mail, full of threats to take everything I own, filing liens (both federal and state), issuing Summons for both of us as well as our bank (Chase). After 7 years of these threats, she marched into our business and took everything she thought was worth something. We were supposed to be invited, but not. This was May 2013. Earlier they tried to take Jerry's IRA, but it was protected and unattachable, so the company involved wrote to our agent and the Officer saying, "No way, Jose."

She turned around and took every penny of MY inherited IRA, by affixing a teeny signature in an even teenier box....that was $80,000.00. Not for one minute do I believe this was legit. No. 1....I DID NOTHING WRONG!! It appears some embezzeling was going on for no reason. Also, the IRS is supposed to give an actual, penny-for-penny, accounting to say, "OK, you're paid up so we are issuing this certificate of release".

In order to do this, we would have had to owe "$00,0000" in back taxes. They then would have had to make a formal listing of of everying, financially speaking", that they had taken from us. They had an ongoing lien with Chase as well as certain of our "Big Ticket" clients....so instead of paying us, they sent it to the IRS.

Problems:
1. Our Revenue Officer had three different Badge ID's. Uh-uh, no sir. They have one....and one only. And she didn't do anything right, and "right" is spelled out very carefully in, oh, Pub 590, 594.

2. When she gave us a list of the stuff she took from our business...well, she took the most worthless, old equipment, and left the valuable computer.
And the page where she listed the items confiscated, she HAD it list its worth. Had to. I mean, this is MATH, a very specific science, not something that depended on opionion, but cold, hard figures.

There is so much more and at least this writing some of it out in cathartic.
Just know that I will NOT give up.

And neither should you if something like a bank "loses" your $$$....this world today is nuts. Do some research. Go to someone who can help you.

I know I'm starting tomorrow after another sleepless night...I can't afford to lose any more brain cells.
by RUTHIELEE63 2015-05-03 12:35:04
I opened my account at the main office in Ashtabula, in 2010.  While banking on May 2, 2015, at a branch in Giant Eagle, the teller misspelled a name on a cashier's check, and the information was on a post note.  I am reporting this incident, because when I asked for a personal cashier's check, her reply was, "I do not know you, and you will have to wait until Tuesday, when the check clears!" Now, correct me if I am wrong, wouldn't my banking history in the database suffice?  Additionally, this particular teller has assisted me at least three times previously.  Granted, I unfortunately, reside in a town that is not aware that "ALL" people are equal, and truly felt that I was discriminated against.  I find it interesting that Huntington Bank would have this mentality representing their corporation.
Mr
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sideburns, Feb. 18, 2015

I have found the personnel at the Sault branch to be most helpful and very friendly.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Sault Ste. Marie Branch at Sault Sainte Marie, MI
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Giant Eagle Branch / Broadview Hts.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tennisgirl, Dec. 29, 2014

Most unprofessional branch of a financial institution I've ever done business with.  I think they hire only former fast food workers.  If it didn't have the Huntington name on it, I'd of thought it was run by the attorney on Breaking Bad.  Too many examples of unprofessionalism that would make your toes curl...

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Broadview Heights Giant Eagle Branch at Broadview Heights, OH
7 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sherylH, Dec. 20, 2014

Great staff, friendly and helpful. They never fail to make sure that things are settled and working for me and the wait time is minimal at worst. Usually I walk right in and out.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Griswold Street Branch at Port Huron, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Good hometown bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dukewilliam, Dec. 14, 2014

This bank has what they call 24 hour overdraft protection If a customer overdrafts his account he has 24 hours to rectify this with NO PENALTY i find their employees helpful and courteous and their telephone banking (where a customer can check balances, transactions ,or speak to a LIVE operator  every day ) is great Only thing I do not like is their lobby hours (9am-5 pm M-F and closing at 12 on Saturday) is very inconvenient

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Newcomerstown Branch at Newcomerstown, OH
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Home loan
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Brownbear2, Dec. 11, 2014

Karen Thompson ignored my calls and when I finally became angry, she dumped me. I had 3 lender agents during the home loan process. None communicated to each other so I was asked for the same information more than once. When I was told I had everything submitted to finish the process, My husband received a call stating that I need to provide more paperwork information. The worst of the 3 by far was Karen Thompson. She has no people skills.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Suncrest Branch at Morgantown, WV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank EVER!!!!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TrishC, Oct. 23, 2014

I have an auto loan with Huntington.  Worst mistake I ever made.  Get this!!  My car was repossessed yesterday over $128!!!  I called and had the customer service representative note that my account my payment was going to be late this month (I was not behind, I just needed more time this month).  I informed the customer service rep that I would make a partial payment and pay the balance on Friday.  I made the partial payment and had a balance due of $128. The following months payment wasn't even due yet.  My account reflected an amount due of $128!!  I was not months behind or anything.  I owed $128 and they came and repossessed my car!! Who repo's a car over $128??????  HUNTINGTON BANK!!  Seriously??  $128????  Unbelievable!!  There customer service is rude and unhelpful.  Their banking practices should be illegal.  I am not sure why they even give out auto loans, because if you don't make your monthly payment in full, they repo your car.  You don't even have to be behind on your payments.  THIS IS THE WORST BANK EVER!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Operations Center Branch at Columbus, OH
10 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Sarge, Oct. 22, 2014

The northport branch is the friendliest and most helpful branch I've ever banked at.  The Branch in Leland is also great...Huntingtion is a super bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Northport Branch at Northport, MI
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

no associate banks in California and ridiculous customer service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by irishlass, Oct. 03, 2014

The customer service was rude and unhelpful. When escalated to a supervisor I was told that there are no affiliate banks in California to cash the National Mortgage Settlement Checks and there was no personal way to cash this check without using a 3rd party Cash checking facility. It is a National Mortgage Settlement but not a national bank? And, when investigating the branches it appears it affiliates with more offshore than on shore!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

4 comments. Add a comment

by Frank0920 2014-10-16 19:36:00
I would be guessing that you do not have an account at the Huntington. It is not a matter of what entity the paper was drawn on, but one of validity of the transaction.  First, if unknown or not a customer of the bank, they have no obligation whatsoever to do business with you. If the paper could not be verified with the drawn on institution as a current obligation that would also be a problem. Above all, why would you be attempting to cash an instrument like that?  I think you are probably inept financially and don't understand the risk of ANY entity, casually processing that type of request.
by Frank0920 2014-10-16 19:39:15
I would be guessing that you do not have an account at the Huntington. It is not a matter of what entity the paper was drawn on, but one of validity of the transaction.  First, if unknown or not a customer of the bank, they have no obligation whatsoever to do business with you. If the paper could not be verified with the drawn on institution as a current obligation that would also be a problem. Above all, why would you be attempting to cash an instrument like that?  I think you are probably inept financially and don't understand the risk of ANY entity, casually processing that type of request.
by Frank0920 2014-10-16 19:39:31
I would be guessing that you do not have an account at the Huntington. It is not a matter of what entity the paper was drawn on, but one of validity of the transaction.  First, if unknown or not a customer of the bank, they have no obligation whatsoever to do business with you. If the paper could not be verified with the drawn on institution as a current obligation that would also be a problem. Above all, why would you be attempting to cash an instrument like that?  I think you are probably inept financially and don't understand the risk of ANY entity, casually processing that type of request.
by Frank0920 2014-10-16 19:40:43
I would be guessing that you do not have an account at the Huntington. It is not a matter of what entity the paper was drawn on, but one of validity of the transaction.  First, if unknown or not a customer of the bank, they have no obligation whatsoever to do business with you. If the paper could not be verified with the drawn on institution as a current obligation that would also be a problem. Above all, why would you be attempting to cash an instrument like that?  I think you are probably inept financially and don't understand the risk of ANY entity, casually processing that type of request.
horrible service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by clark0920, Jul. 01, 2014

The huntington banks in noblesville and westfield are the worst banks i have ever had to deal with. I have been having problems with someone taking money out of my account for a month now and they still have not stopped it or even looked into it.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Noblesville Branch at Noblesville, IN
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by irishlass 2014-10-03 14:27:19
The Huntington National Bank is the name of the institution on the National Mortgage Settlement checks seen. Calling the bank to find out where a sister branch in the area to cash it has lead to a very strange answer. The customer service representative at 800-480-2265 says he does not have that information and the check can be taken into any bank such as BofA, Chase, Citi and it is up to them to cash it or not. When Spencer was further pressed to ask if they were sister branches he said he did not have that information. After escalation of the request for a bank to cash it at the man got rude and said it was not a priority to know that answer and the managers were busy with other more important calls. (how does he know what the calls are about?) now comes Winston, the supervisor, and we are told there is no associate branch and he said that even if I took it into a Huntington branch the branch may make an account be opened to deposit it first to make sure it can clear?? What the heck? Clear? It would be your darn bank cashing it! You don't trust yourself?  So, without a bank account he suggested a third party/friend do it. So, let's get this straight, no account and no branch less than 2000 miles away and a third party check cashing place will charge 10%...hmmmm...sounds like a scam again.
by Bob1973 2014-10-11 04:29:21
Out of all the Huntington banks this one is by far the worst I have attended. There is a lady named Connie there is extremely rude and unwelcoming. I just felt extremely mistreated and am just glad the other Huntington banks don't have people like her working there or I would have to change banks.
Mrs. Patricia Ann Jackson
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Moorman14, May. 12, 2014

I first learned about Huntington Bank through a brochure sent in the mail I called to see if I qualified to open an account and I was accepted open a checking and saving account I am a very very very Happy customer.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Jackson-Airport Road Meijer Branch at Jackson, MI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Huntington Bank Farmington Michigan 12 mile
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Coca, Apr. 21, 2014

I love Huntington Bank.  Been with them for over 10 years.  All the staff are great, Sashi, Lisa and Rob.  Never had any problem with any of the employees or the bank.  I would definitely refer anyone to this bank...

Very friendly employees

 Yola

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Farmington Hills Branch at Farmington, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Zionsville branch is excellent
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by retirees, Mar. 24, 2014

Everyone who works at the Zionsville, Indiana branch is wonderful to help with all sorts of needs.  They have gone above and beyond what I ever expected when my mother passed away (she did not bank with them, I did) and the branch manager spent a long time on my problems related to her savings bonds and other things.  The tellers are always friendly and eager to help.  Sometimes they seem to be a bit understaffed at the drive thru window, and a line forms at the door on occassion, but I love them and appreciate them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Zionsville Branch at Zionsville, IN
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

michelle montanez
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by montanez, Mar. 13, 2014

excellen t over the phone review when i travel

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, S Center Road Meijer Road at Burton, MI
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Sux 2014
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HL1221, Feb. 22, 2014

Wow...I don't even know what to say about the very poor customer service from this company. Weeks upon weeks to refi in to a personal credit line. They had all the paperwork, but lost it several times. Unauthorized withdraws by mistake, then complicated process to get MY money back. It's a nightmare..i'm going with Chase.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Olde Sawmill Branch at Dublin, OH
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very lazy staff!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 12comp, Feb. 22, 2014

This branch seems to have an extremely lazy bunch of individuals in the offices!! I'm waiting on my lunch break to see someone, but you have to finish your 64 ounce soft drink. Nothing g more annoying!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Fishers East 96th St. Branch at Fishers, IN
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very lazy staff!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 12comp, Feb. 22, 2014

This branch seems to have an extremely lazy bunch of individuals in the offices!! I'm waiting on my lunch break to see someone, but you have to finish your 64 ounce soft drink. annoying!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Fishers East 96th St. Branch at Fishers, IN
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Happy with Huntington Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dollhouselady, Feb. 17, 2014

You cant beat Huntington Bank  the staff is friendly and professional - the hours are fantastic and I got paid a bonus of $100.00 just to open my account!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Legacy Village Giant Eagle Branch at Cleveland, OH
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible manager
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Watchout, Jan. 19, 2014

This branch manager is not fit to do his job, he has no customer skills at all. I made a deposit, the next day they withdrew $1500 out of my account. Without any explanation, after 8 days I get a letter in the mail calculation error. The deposit slip showed no error and assumed it's my fault. The stupid manager (Vince) tells me there's nothing he can do and I should call customer service and fight my own battles. After arguing with him for six weeks back and forth nothing got done. He came up with all sorts of excuses and treated me like crap, I gave him hell in return.  I complained to corporate, to his manager. Spoke with her and she said she will investigate and get back to me in a few days, it's going on 10 days and no word from her. In a few days I'll have to go up the ladder.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Broadview Heights Giant Eagle Branch at Broadview Heights, OH
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Amanda31 2014-02-26 10:41:54
I'm having the same issues with them! The "manager" said she'll get back with me by Friday. Right!
HUNTINGTON BANK SUCKS
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by cindyhauff, Nov. 26, 2013

I have more than plenty of money in my checking account and in the last 3 weeks my Huntington MasterCard debit card has been denied 4 times! Once in a restaurant for $26, luckily I had cash to cover it. Twice for online purchases. And once at a store checkout where the clerk looked at me like I was a dead beat. THIS IS EMBARRASING! I have spoken to the corporate phone number each time and got nothing but a bunch of Sorry-Nothing We Can Do-BULLSHIT! Tomorrow I am going to the bank and remove ALL my money and go elsewhere!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Huntington National Bank, Rossford Branch at Rossford, OH
14 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 3

Banks Nearby

Woodforest National Bank, Holland Walmart Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
1355 S Mccord Road
Holland, OH 43528
KeyBank, Airport Highway & Mccord Road Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6811 Airport Highway
Holland, OH 43528
Fifth Third Bank, Spring Meadows Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6600 Airport Highway
Holland, OH 43528
First Federal Savings and Loan Association, 6910 Airport Highway Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6910 Airport Highway
Holland, OH 43528
PNC Bank, Spring Meadows Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
7015 Spring Meadows West Drive
Holland, OH 43528

More