Sterling Savings Bank, Review

Sterling Savings Bank, Review

Average rating based on 11 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
5
4 star:
1
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
5
| Next >     page 1 of 2
They will not protect you or your money
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cross, Mar. 17, 2014

My bank account  was stolen drained and ran negative 1000$. The person who stole my card has already confessed and served jail time, I have been fighting this for three months now and the bank won't do anything. Chris. Has done nothing but give me the run around  even though they have the police report and now is saying there is nothing I can do to get my money back they closed the account and sent it to collections. They have treated the victim like the criminal!! I will be changing banks immediately

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Sterling Savings Bank, Battle Ground Branch at Battle Ground, WA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Beans 2014-03-17 14:35:00
Hahahahahaha
Sterling is just what we like in a bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SmallTownBusiness, Feb. 08, 2014

We used to be with Chase (started with Rainier who was bought by WA Mutual, then bought by Chase). Amidst successive issues, we stayed. Then one day we went into Chase and nobody in there was over 22 and none could answer our questions or resolve a simple bank issue, that was our last day at Chase. We wanted to deposit and transfer a cashier's check and Chase's kid-staff insisted we'd have to deposit it and wait five business days for it to be available. Isn't immediate cashing why we have cashier's checks?

We shopped around for a Battle Ground bank and finally settled on Sterling four years ago. We have been very happy with our choice. The cashiers often know us by name which is always a surprise. The management staff has been very helpful with more complex transactions and has given us good advice when needed. Our whole experience with Sterling is that they are friendly and professional and just right for a business of our size. We don't hold a mortgage with them so we couldn't really rate interest costs but everything else they do is excellent.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Sterling Savings Bank, Battle Ground Branch at Battle Ground, WA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Sterling Bank not so Sterling
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Kenilworth, Feb. 19, 2013

Living in Russia when Sterling bought out our former bank, !st Independent, we found ourselves totally helpless to do long distance banking.  Newly issued debit cards could not be activated because they required information about last account activity.  To get account activity information it requires access to new savings account.  OK, international call to get new account number but their website access is blocked to Russia internet location.  So, no account information at all until return to country?  But expatrates or long term overseas workers or even tourists better beware.

It is impossible to get international wire routing number on line.  They are a "home town" bank; good only if you never leave home.  They do not touch reverse mortgages, nor many other specialized services.  For nearly $10 billion assets bank they are bare bone.  They have 10% of loan capability unused, which might be good compared to the big NY banksters who borrow at 0% interest and charge 8.5-32% interest on loans and credit card balances.  But that is the corporate welfare that keeps the middle class paying to bail out the deregulated (Glass-Stiegal death) international bank cartel.  So, maybe, all in all, the hassle of Sterling at least does not infringe upon human rights the way GoldmanSachs, Citi Bank, Chase grand larcenists do.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dishonest excessive overdarft fees
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jenni4hays, Jan. 05, 2013

I have been completely ripped off and have been charged over $2,000.00 in overdraft fees since Sept 2012,5 months!  I had NO idea I was even negative in the bank for over a month!  I had gone in and deposited paychecks and while doing so took some cash out of the checks for spending...did a bank teller say a word about my being negative? NO.  Not once.  And when I figured out that there was something going on, and went to the bank asking for a print out of my account activity, I got a confusing print out with no names or information of where payments, or POS's were coming from..not helpful.  When I finally had to take time off work to go to the branch and get help to resolve the $800 dollars of overdraft fees I was charged in 1 month due to NO communication and deceitful practices, I was told no. I was curtious and kind until I was told they were not going to adjust outragious charges occured from them not being honest. I was left with no money to pay any bills, and to caution others, the overdraft fee is NOT $34 dollars as they claim, it actually $102 for ATMs, and $34 for POS purchases. I was with 1st Independent, who was bought by Sterling, an aweful move on 1st Indy's part.  I know of 5 other people who had my same experience in the last couple months as well.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Sterling Savings Bank, Stevenson Branch at Stevenson, WA
11 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by sensibilityplease 2013-06-10 14:28:20
I have trouble with a reviewer ripping on Sterling Bank in this manner.  Have you ever balanced a checkbook?  How about some personal responsibility.  I have been a customer of Sterling for several years and have never had a bad experience.  They are friendly and helpful.  They nearly always ask me if I'd like my current balance when I go in to make a transaction.  I always say no thank you, because I actually track my account and know my balance day to day.  With online banking and/ or monthly statements available to you, it really shows your character to go an extended time without knowing you had an issue.
by Sterlingsatisfied 2014-03-13 13:32:26
I've had my share of problems with my account , but it is always my fault, Sterling always sends out notices or is very helpful with setting up your online account . In this day and age of fraud I can not imagine an account holder not checking their account at least  once a week. When I make a deposit my balance is ALWAYS printed on my receipt ! And $102 for ATM overdraft ? They do charge for foreign ATM transactions , maybe $2  per transaction , but I don't know a bank that doesn't
mookie
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mookie, Dec. 18, 2012

I have been very happy with Sterling in Tillamook in the past.  With the closing of the other branch I noticed sevearal changes, and it was not for the betterment of the branch.  I do want to commend two workers that I have done a lot of business with in the past.  Maureen and Bing.  Both have been very helpful.  Lately the customer service has been slower, less friendly and frankly not a place that I'm interested in going.  The young male teller (Dillion) at the window was unprofessional in verbal skills and service.  

That along with approximately 3 notices I recieved in the mail claiming to start charges for varioius reasons has caused me to make a change.  

I'm going to close my account and move to TLC.  Even if the charges are the same as Sterling I know that they will be putting money back into our community.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Sterling Savings Bank, Tillamook Branch at Tillamook, OR
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst customer service I have ever had
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Shana027, Dec. 11, 2012

This used to be my favorite bank. I knew all the people in there and it was a pleasure to do my banking. As of recent they got rid of everyone and replaced them with horribly rude people. I am utterly in shock. I have never felt so disrespected in my life. I have had my account with that bank when it was the key bank then sterling. I stayed with them because of the people who were working there and the outstanding customer service. I will not use this bank anymore. I am going to see those horrible people and close my account.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Sterling Savings Bank, Cle Elum Branch at Cle Elum, WA
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by chukar, Dec. 10, 2012

I'm very picky about the service I get at a bank.  I went to the other banks and did not get the personal service I was looking for.  Sterling doesn't have the pressure to force items on you but have always answered my question. I am very pleased with Sterling Saving Bank

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Sterling Savings Bank, Grangeville Branch at Grangeville, ID
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Sterling Bank Stanwood
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Birds6, Aug. 10, 2012

Great little bank.  Only problems are lack of N Snohomish county branches and lack of phone app

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Sterling Savings Bank, Stanwood at Stanwood, WA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Overall Experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by horsfvr, Jul. 02, 2012

Tellers are always friendly, and looking for ways to make your experince good.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Sterling Savings Bank, Coeur D'alene Branch at Coeur D Alene, ID
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Banking Exerience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Chelseaml91, Apr. 27, 2012

This bank is awesome! I have no complaints and they knew answers to all my questions when making a decision to switch banks.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Sterling Savings Bank, Moses Lake Branch at Moses Lake, WA
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 2
Wells Fargo Bank, La Grande Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1320 Adams Avenue
La Grande, OR 97850
U.S. Bank, La Grande Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1402 Adams
La Grande, OR 97850
Community Bank, La Grande Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
904 Adams Avenue
La Grande, OR 97850
Community Bank, Valley Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2313 Adams Ave
La Grande, OR 97850
Washington Federal, La Grande Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1503 Washington Avenue
La Grande, OR 97850
Banner Bank, La Grande Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2720 Island Ave
La Grande, OR 97850
Sterling Savings Bank, La Grande Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1215 Adams Avenue
La Grande, OR 97850

View All