Santander Bank, N.A., Review

Santander Bank, N.A., Review

Average rating based on 50 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
6
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
0
1 star:
42
| Next >     page 1 of 5
SLOW, RUDE, AND INEFFICIENT
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by knights4u, Jul. 16, 2014

First, I waited in line for nearly half an hour, when it was my time to step up to the window I was told I needed a withdrawal form to complete my transaction.  I reached behind me to grab a form. When I turned around the clerk had stepped away from the window and was doing another task completely.  He didn't acknowledge my being at the window  until he finished this "other" work. Please also take into consideration there are other customers coming into this branch with only one (1) other window in use.  I have never had a clerk abandon his/her station with me waiting for service.  I have no idea of who trained this person but he obviously needs to be re-trained and he should have his manners checked.  My previous visits simply take too long. This branch never seems to have more than 2 windows open at a time and it appears to me that they are in no rush.  Very poor service.  Very poor attitudes.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., 125 Summer Street Branch at Boston, MA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by XYZ1, Jun. 17, 2014

They really need to learn customer service, took 3 different trips for a simple name change, my debit card was never mailed to me with my new name so I have to call it and request it. Then they canceled my old debit card before the new one arrived and left me with NO DEBIT CARD right before family event on Friday. But I think the latest takes 1 st place- they mailed me my checking account statement in UNSEALED ENVELOP. So i called and spoke to customer service THEY DIDNT CARE!!!!!!!!!!!When emailing the local rep from the branch she didnt even bother responding.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., Somerville Branch at Somerville, NJ
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by LouisDelgado 2014-06-23 13:49:05
To Whom It May Concern,
My name is Louis Delgado SS# ending with 1773 and my wife is Grace Vargas. Most recently, we had the absolute pleasure of the customer service courtesies and professionalism from both Christina Schratz and Paul Albanese at your Palisades Park Santander branch.
It started with Paul Albanese who picked up the phone and patiently gave us directions to the bank. We arrived and explained a check dilemma to Christina Schratz, Branch Manager. Ms Schratz was extremely empathetic with our situation and advised us accordingly. After a week, we needed to straighten out another issue connected to the same check and again her guidance and professionalism was exemplary.
Thank you for hiring people who are not only knowledgeable of their responsibilities but are also sensitive, caring and patient with their customers.
Louis Delgado & Grace Vargas
IMO Maintenance fee ripoff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by cmhj2000, May. 28, 2014

IMO the incompetence here is overwhelming.

Last fall it took them over 3 months to get me a debit card due to there own problems with updating my address in their files.

The latest issue is with a so called triple interest account. A branch member suggested I open this a couple years ago. Upon reviewing the paperwork it was discovered there was $5K max withdraw a month. This would not work for me so I withdrew all funds ASAP.................. A couple years later I was told this withdraw limit did not apply. I then asked if there were any other issues, fees etc. that I need to be aware of. IMO the only thing I was told was a $100 a month needed to be set up for an auto deposit to get the extra interest.......................... With this new info in hand I put money in it. 3 days later I get WACKED with a maintenance fee.................... A phone call drew the response of "I'll talk to the manager". A week passed and nothing was done. A letter drew a phone call but no explanation or fix was done..

I never had so many problems with all my other banks combined in over 45 years as I have had with Santander in 3 years.

Ironic in a way. I was considering transferring some major investments towards Santander. The few bucks that IMO they stole from me is nothing in comparison to what they could have had with the investment swing. Thank God I didn't make this mistake!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., 1224 Welsh Road Branch at North Wales, PA
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Maggie123 2014-07-21 08:10:54
I have had problems with customer service in two branches of this bank.  They seem very unprofessional and one teller was even talking on her phone while I was at her window. In another branch a teller was texting while I was at the window and also talking back and forth with another teller.  PAY ATTENTION, it's my money and I want all your attention on the transaction, not your latest date!!!
by Maggie123 2014-07-21 08:10:54
I have had problems with customer service in two branches of this bank.  They seem very unprofessional and one teller was even talking on her phone while I was at her window. In another branch a teller was texting while I was at the window and also talking back and forth with another teller.  PAY ATTENTION, it's my money and I want all your attention on the transaction, not your latest date!!!
Amazed at horrid customer service and rudeness
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by LeslieGriffin, Apr. 26, 2014

I visited to cash a check drawn from a Santander Bank account.  While waiting, I witnessed three in-lobby interactions, all of which were unsettling: An elderly lady almost in tears because her recent deposit of approx. $8,000 somehow was missing (teller seemed completely disinterested or incompetent in helping her); A person who came in and asked to use the restroom and was rudely told "NO"; Another woman who had questions and the employee kept repeating "I Don't Know".  The teller that waited on me informed me there was a $6 fee for cashing the  check.  I responded "Are you serious?"  She said "Yes, unless you want to open an account."  I told her "There's no way I would open an account here- you're not friendly or helpful."  The teller finished my transaction by only counting back my money; with not even a pleasantry, let alone asking me why I expressed a negative view of the bank.  It seemed she was either completely apathetic, or  that customer dissatisfaction was a routine thing.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., Townsend Branch at Townsend, MA
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Banking Location !
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TopBanker, Apr. 24, 2014

Have been visiting the Ipswich location for years now and have always been treated very personally, they really take the time to know you, the staff is great.. I really think everybody should give this branch a try, you may be pleasantly surprised !

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., Ipswich Branch at Ipswich, MA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

ms
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dee18, Apr. 05, 2014

Santander is the WORST excuse for a bank I have seen.  EVERYTIME I call them they cut me off.  The have the atm shut down a lunchtime everyday.  They are all extremely rude and careless.  I went to the branch in Randolph yesterday at 2:00 and there was a CLOSED sign in the atm and bank.  Don't believe their claim that they will give you $20. in your saving each month, it is a big lie, you have to jump thru hoops to get that.  I called today and they cannot find my deposit I made on 4/1 even though I have the slips right in front of me. I called again, they lost my deposit and stated they need to find it and call me back.   STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK !!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., Randolph Shaw's Supermarket Branch at Randolph, MA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ms.
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dee18, Apr. 05, 2014

Santander Banks are the WORST excuse for a bank that I have ever encountered.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., Randolph Shaw's Supermarket Branch at Randolph, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Terrible Customer Service!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by OJCSO, Apr. 04, 2014

Apathetic, unfriendly, terrible customer service.

Dropped by the bank this afternoon to cash a small expense check as my company doesn't process direct deposit for expenses, this is the only reason I've physically visited the bank over the past few years.  I was the only person in line with three tellers behind the counter.  One of them made eye contact but the three of them continued to chat about bank gossip for the next 1 to 2 minutes.  I realize that doesn't sound like a long time but when there is literally a single person waiting for service and three tellers, it's completely unacceptable and disrespectful.  

I was finally called up by a miserable woman named Sandra or something similar who didn't acknowledge me with a smile, a hello, nothing.  I handed over my check and ID and she began to process the transaction.  The only interaction she was "forced" to have with me was "do you have an account here?" and she completed her work.  She then handed me my cash and turned back to continue to gossip, no goodbye, no thank you, no nothing.

Seriously, get out of the customer service business completely if that's how you approach your job.  Unreal.

I'll be working diligently to transition to a new bank as quickly as possible.  Good luck to anyone that keeps this sh!tter of a bank in business.

Wow.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., East Greenwich Branch at East Greenwich, RI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Nicky444 2014-04-19 09:09:23
I went to the Eltingville Branch, in Staten Island ,NY, to make a deposit for the company I work for, while there, I asked the woman at the window, about my opening up a checking and Savings for myself personally. The woman went on a tirade, and started screaming at me with a British accent which she didn't have when I first spoke to her, she was saying crazy stuff, that I couldn't understand, I got my receipt and left, but not before I asked another teller what the other teller's name was. Martha Ruiz was the crazy woman's name, but why do you have crazy people working for you, I will not open an account of any kind with Santander as long as she is there, and I will ask my place of business to change to another bank until she is fired!
Worst Bank Ever!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MarkMark, Feb. 08, 2014

Ever since opening an account with this excuse of a bank we have received constant harassing phone calls and letters using slimy and sneaky techniques trying to sell us more of their products. No matter how many times we have asked to placed on a do not call list the calls keep coming and in fact the more we ask not to be called the more they call. Thick headed and stupid bank STAY AWAY at all costs

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., Pleasant Street Branch at Worcester, MA
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by MEL101 2014-02-09 08:00:42
MEL from Kent,Ct.
after 1 month research ...I chose Telebouncer TB1000 it is 100% EFFECTIVE!/ Works!
   To end 100% .."ALL RObo-calls"... Buy a Telebouncer (Tb 1000) made by Dasym Co. (a defunct technology company...2 geniuses ..of course went to higher grounds. Telebouncer about $120 dollars can be bought through Amazon & they sub purchase it through iNET Co. from Chicago,IL. ( He is hoarding like a few left...hurry!!).  He will NOT have any more manufactured initial costs ARE astronomically HIGH (since young people use fancy cell phone. I got mine shipped in priority in 2 DAYS!! Got it hoked it up in my 1 bedroom, 1 land line phone line , + a fast phone line internet AT &T internet line (="SAME PHONE LINE ENTERING THE APT. in the 2nd room"..the first room= the living room has my land line phone where my Telebouncer is...by the way)apt. in Brooklyn, NYC. & BEHOLD ....!! SILENCE !! NO Robo-calls X 24/7! Alas ! Telebouncer Tb 1000 = Sleep !! I used to get calls from all hours of the day & EVENING & VERY LATE EVENINGS & EARLY a.m. HOURS & VERY, VERY  early a.m. hours!! Now no more... It is our bestest purchase in our lifetime! I heard that it is "HARD TO GET ONE " OR NEXT TO IMPOSSIBLE!!  Through iNET (a nice hardworking  man, i spoke with)sales VIA Amazon it is the AUTHENTIC stuff. Purchased it in early January 2014...& it is still working ( works easily with 1 phone line...& any fancy phone line systems put the telebouncer on the 1st line & any fancier system contact a PROFESSIONAL electrician to do it for you).
    I would have paid much, much, much more for this!  Because we have a 1 800 toll free business number attached to the same phone line (= 2 phone numbers...private + business number..that I want to keep...in addition the last 4 numbers of my private apt. home number SOUNDS like a business number already!! It almost ends in 0000!! Already! )but I want to keep both.
This all started when I got the 1- 800 number & i set up a web site etc. & I got to be on the top rankings of google ( YES! That is possible! To do by yourself! I am NOT a computer wiz or no where near it... I am in the bottom dweller of the medical field...just buy a web site through go daddy & " SET IT UP SOMEWHERE ELSE"Like through a company in Massachusetts... or more brilliant places!! ---A WARNING !!! They will try & sell you stuff, do all sorts of WEIRD THINGS! That you know came from them & you "NOT LETTING THEM """MAINTAIN """" & """MAKE YOUR WEB SITE """" !!!).
by MEL101 2014-02-09 08:08:58
MEL from Kent,Ct.
Late entry..Oh, I almost forgot... I will also back it (Telebouncer Tb 1000) up with the new (it came out in late 2013 ) Panasonic 250 NUMBER BLOCK ... tee hee... I currently only have a 30 phone number blocker on my land line phone (= that 30 number blocker BLOCKS the computer generated phone numbers ...endless numbers). The do NOT call National registry ONLY works with private phone numbers. & I have a 1 800 number attached to the same ringing phone line...as of this second month ..NOT A SINGLE ROBO CALL =)))
be away, Horrible
Overall Rating
by AshrafFam, Jan. 31, 2014

be away Don't try it otherwise you will regret.If you don't believe me, go ahead and try.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Santander Bank, N.A., New Holland Branch at New Holland, PA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 5
Fulton Bank, Cape Horn Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3191 Cape Horn Road
Red Lion, PA 17356
Fulton Bank, South York Plaza Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
201 Pauline Dr
York, PA 17402
Susquehanna Bank, Red Lion Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3199 Cape Horn Road
Red Lion, PA 17356
Susquehanna Bank, Queen Street Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2685 S. Queen Street
York, PA 17402

View All