First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Review

First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Review

Average rating based on 19 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
6
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
2
1 star:
9
First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Lewisburg Drive Through
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SmilinJack, Dec. 11, 2015

To say this is a "limited service" branch is to understate the case.  This branch now (about 6 months) at Zeigler Road and US 15 was formerly located in a much more convenient location at Hospital Drive and US 15 with easy access and abundant parking.  The former had courteous staff and full service.  The latter has no inside facility for customers to discuss any banking matter at length--you have to do it from your vehicle.  The location is grotesque too.  To arrive there, you have to ascend Zeigler Road on a hill with a blind crest, then turn left and go back down the hill, then double around the building.  There is neither entrance nor exit to Rt 15.  The remote location of this building and total impersonality have led us to use the downtown branch, where traffic and parking are sometimes problematic.  This was probably a cost-cutting measure by higher (distant) management, and we are very displeased with it.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Lewisburg Drive Through at Lewisburg, PA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by RonD 2015-12-17 07:58:05
Excellent service and attention to detail.
Unhappy.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bresnj7, Dec. 09, 2015

I have had a checking account through FNB and FNB ONLY since the day i got my drivers license, so eleven years now. Living in Greenville, i've had the option between two banks, and always went to the one on hadley road. Up until about 6 months ago i've been being treated so poorly that recently it just brought me to tears. Now, i understand rules and policies change, and i know that certain tellers, if they recoginze you will do things regulary for you and not a customer tbey dont recognize and each branch will do different things. Which is completely understood.  Ive always cashed checks, from personal to payroll, wether i had money to cover it or not, which 90% of the time i have not, and its NEVER, not once, been an issue. Well a few weeks ago, my friend signed a personal check over to me, because he didnt have a license, nor an fnb acct, and the teller cashed it for me, even though i also didnt have the funds to cover it, NOR was my friend even with me. So, the next day, a different friend(with an expired license) had got his payroll check and i figured him signing it over to me shouldnt be an issue, especially considering the fact he was WITH me to approve it. And yet again, i did NOT have the funds to cover it. So when the teller asked for his license we explained it was expired and sent it through. I was RUDELY told they could not cash it as she continued to talk down on me. Mind you, i gave this lady no reason whatsoever to be rude to me. I polietly asked why just the day prior, i was able to cash a personal check that was singed over to me, NOT in my name, and tbe person who didnt have ID was NOT even with me, why that was acceptable to cash. With a defensuve attitude, The teller gave no explanation or apology, but she immedietly demanded the name of the teller who did it for me, because thats not possible(basically hinting i was lying..as she dug deeper into the cashed checks from the previous day, i gave her the name of the fellow whos check i cashed so she could determine the teller, which i typically would never throw someone who did me a favor, under the bus like that, but she needed to know i wasnt making up stories...then she preceeded to inform me that is not allowed. Which is COMPLETELY understandable, i wasnt arguing that fact by any means. After being talked down to, i thought by this time, expressing my opionion was fair. I said that it was unfair to one day do something for someone then the very next day not do it. Now, if that first day i was told just this one time they would do it for me, i wouldnt have went back and tried. The teller this time, all cocky, said just this one time mam we will never do this again. So i told her thank you i appreciate it, however as a customer that i didnt appreciate the attitude throughout the whole situation. Well that just made her mad so she told me nevermind she wasnt going to cash it and sent everything back to me. How is this acceptable? No you CANT, to you CAN this once, to you personally just dont want to?  The few ladies i dealt with were just very unprofessional, demeaning and apparantly trained backwards from eachother. Today, i had to cash a check for myself, that was from one if the largest retirement companies in the US for a measly 100.00 ...naturally it was an issue and couldnt be available untill the next day because i didnt have the funds to cover it, that i could try walmart. A customer who is clearly in tears because i needed the money asap, you send away? Well after me crying like an idiot, They decide they can. Not once in 11 years have i not been able to cash any type of check written to myself, at ANY fnb location. I think its unfair the way cusomers are treated differently and how inconsistant they are. I understand policies are policies, thats no problem. All it takes is a simple explanation.  As much as i wanted to cancel my account, im not going to just because of the workers from one branch. Not once in my life have i taken my time to give a bad review because, frankly i have better things to do than complain, i am not that person, but this situation really sparked my anxiety into a panic attack as i drove away. I dont feel the slightest bit welcome into that branch. From now on i will go inconviently out of my way, which thankfully is only three miles, to the other branch where i am treated like a customer rather than a snotty 16 year old who didnt get a car for her sweet 16. To all of you other FNB branches, keep up the good wok. Your service is much appreciated.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Hadley Road Branch at Greenville, PA
5 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by henryhill 2017-01-28 11:03:55
After reading your review, I had no choice but to respond and ask, are you kidding?  Not only do you never have the money to cover a third party check to deposit, you have exposed the tellers to discipline by stating that they do not follow bank policy all the time as you know them and they know you.  Their well intended deeds to help you are against policy putting themselves at risk and you have been conditioned to believe that is should now be commonplace for you.  Wake up, we are all subject to the same policies. Lots of people have difficulty however the onus is on them to attempt to improve their life and add to their income by taking an additional job, going back to school, and seeking better employment.
by Stradlater 2017-02-28 18:04:00
The teller was not being at all unreasonable- if they performed a check cashing courtesy for you that was actually not permitted under bank rules , there would be no obligation to continue the practice into the future merely because it had been done once in the past. And this fact is inherently obvious, and should not be cause for generating
any ill will.
Worst bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 10Coco, Nov. 12, 2015

The bank is so outdated, the ATM machine is the worst in Pittsburgh. Half the time it isn't even working. There is a 15 sec pause between each operation. Still uses envelopes for deposits and takes forever to get cash from it

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Crafton Branch at Pittsburgh, PA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by jrw121663 2017-02-28 09:41:33
I have been a bank member for 30yrs.  I made a mistake on my account and needed to add money on  Monday morning.  I received an urgent phone call in regard to my daughters health.  As a result I did not get to the bank.  I was charged 6 overdraft fee's.  My acoount is current now.  DUSTY at Fox chapel would not meet me half way on the fee's nor would she take my call.  Very poor customer service!!!!  Some one with compassion please contact me.  Thanks!
FNB bought a fabulous small bank and ruined it!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Pointpleasant23, Oct. 09, 2015

FNB knows exactly how to take a wonderful, small, high performing bank in Maryland and bring it to rock bottom service and create unhappiness within the ranks of the staff. In fact, they know how to take great staff and replace them with incompetent, poorly trained staff. It's heartbreaking.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Bethesda Branch at Bethesda, MD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by FGMS 2015-12-08 13:30:36
I agree completely with the previous comment. A fabulous small bank was bought by the FNB. I am so glad I was able to get out of it before too long.
One charge  appeared in our checking account - never explained and promised that  it would be refunded ( $17.00 it was not refunded).
Impossible to reach any customer service person in Pennsylvania. Imconpetent
staff brought by the new bank and so on....
Run away from this place the fastest you can...
I am very much satisfied. :-)
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Mamadee, Aug. 14, 2015

I'm just going to keep this short and sweet. I haven't been a member of this bank very long, but I feel as though I have. The staff knows me by name.  Every time that I walk into the bank, or call with a question I am quickly taken care of.  The staff makes me feel as though I truly do matter.  I love all of the staff there, and have officially adopted them into my heart and family.  This is the best bank branch that I have EVER belonged to. Tell everyone there that Dee loves them all.  :-)

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Lakewood-Clifton Branch at Cleveland, OH
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Closing Account Very Soon
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 44413, Aug. 12, 2015

Had two different experiences at FNB. one with Canfield - Poland Branch and one with the Market Street branch. First one I went into to get cash from my account because my fiancĂ© had both the checkbook and the debit card plus I had a few questions about my account.  As if it was bad enough that the teller barely spoke to me then when she couldn't answer my question she called the Branch manager over to help her. Then instead of speaking to me they spoke at me in the 3rd person . He this and He that. So I got my money and left without my question being answered. Now today, 8/12, my fiancĂ© went to cash a check for $20.00 just so he could have some extra cash on him. Went to cash and was informed for the first time that non members are charge $10.00 cashing fee. He said a few choice words and them left. I called right away when he told me what happened. I have been with FNB for over 6 years and I  all that time I have never or whoever I wrote the check to had never been charged this fee. Assistant Manager said well this has been a policy since day one. I informed her that I'd never been charged at any of the banks and she said well sorry nothing I can do about it. I said that's fine I will be closing my account and taking my banking elsewhere.  She said and I quote " that is fine " and I kid not she literally hung up on me in mid sentence.  I am sorry but I'm in customer service for one of the biggest Company worldwide and I would never treat a customer the way that I have been treated by First National Bank of Pennsylvania.  So over all... Service and friendliness FREAKING SUCKS!!!!! And just for the record email address listed is my home address. My listed email is Rogue832@comcast.net

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Boardman-Poland Branch at Youngstown, OH
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very Satisfied
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Brenda530, May. 27, 2015

Very pleased with the staff and location.  I have never had any problems with my transactions.  Banking long enough they know me by name.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Wintersville Branch at Steubenville, OH
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

It's the customer's fault!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by K20a2eg, Oct. 14, 2014

I recently got married and opened a joint checking account with my wife. We put $100 in it for starters. Went in to the Cherry tree branch to transfer $800 from my old account to the new joint checking account. I still have the transaction receipt that shows it was FROM my old account TO the new joint account.  Instead, they transferred $800 from the new account to my old account. How is that even possible considering there was only $100 in the account? The teller had the accounts up on her computer screen. To make a long story short, my wife made a bunch of online payments a couple days later.  All of the payments but one(a CC payment) went through along with almost $300 in overdraft fees. Called the bank to figure out what the heck was going on. They said they would fix it. No apology. No updates. FNB started reversing all of the payments that had originally went through(I guess u can't just remove the overdraft fee?), so now the payments that we paid on time were now reversed and late. And on top of that, some CC companies were charging us fees for reversing payments. I tried getting reimbursed for one of the fees. Someone in charge named Bill told me they weren't going to reimburse me the $25 and that he "was actually upset/disappointed that they took off the overdraft fees."  He said this was all my fault because when they made me sign the cash check(the teller filled it out for me) to transfer money, I should've noticed that my name and my wife's name was on top of the check which meant that I was taking $800 out of our new account. I lost it.  I am not a banker. I signed where she told me to sign. The teller managed to fill out the cash check wrong but still managed to give me the correct transaction receipt?! Bill could not give me an explanation as to why there were no security features in place to prevent $800 from being transferred from an account with a $100 balance.  But we all know they got holds out the ying yang when u try to deposit a non-FNB check.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Cherry Tree Branch at Uniontown, PA
11 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

UnHappy EX Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BettyKendrick, May. 05, 2014

I was a customer and was happy till I had a terrible thing in my families life and my husband was laid off. I had to close my children's savings accounts and had to move to another state to start over again. I did not close my checking account right away. I was not sure where I was going. I left my account in GOOD standing. SEVERAL months go past and a yearly fee came out from a agency my husband forgot about. Unfortunately it threw my account in the neg. The bank continued to take money out of my account every couple of weeks, BEING OUT OF STATE and set up for email statements(THAT I NEVER RECEIVED) I had NO CLUE. Several months and over 200 in neg because of fees a outside agency contacts me in New York to collect the money. NOT ONE TIME did the bank try to contact me. I call them as soon as I found out, the manager called me back several times then stopped calling me. I finally called her back and she said there is nothing she could do for us. In fact there is nothing she would do for me EVEN with us being good customers. I understand we Oops and forgot about a direct debit. But I feel as a person, and a former employee of another bank THERE IS something they could of done to help someone out that were good customers, we were not trying to take advantage of the system and we had a hard thing happen to us with being laid off. I would not choose this bank to do your banking w/ if you want a bank to look out for your best interest.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Moon Township Branch at Coraopolis, PA
14 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

TERRIBLE SERVICE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NoNoAndNo, Dec. 31, 2013

I found it comical that other people have had the same experience as I have, glad I'm not the only one! Chippewa's branch is RUDE accept for the young blonde. I am switching banks!! Had misunderstandings about deposits and overdraft fees and they refused to refund ANY money... this is just one story of many. I have never had issues with any of the other branches but I DO NOT recommend this bank if youll be using Chippewa's branch frequently!! Oh, and may I add, THE ONE LADY LIKES TO COMMENT WHEN YOUR BANK ACCOUNT IS GETTING LOW!! I'm a college student, hence, mind your own business!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Chippewa Branch at Beaver Falls, PA
17 of 21 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

First National Bank of Corry
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Dottie70, Sep. 25, 2013

Excellent bank. I have never had an trouble with them. Very courteous staff, know everyone by name when you walk in. They have done everything in their power to keep me happy and make my experiences pleasant.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Corry Branch at Corry, PA
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

TERRIBlE CUSTOMER SERVICE
Overall Rating
by SomethingClever, Jul. 23, 2013

The tellers at this bank are extremely rude, and their hours are terrible. I would not recommend this bank to anybody

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Chippewa Branch at Beaver Falls, PA
9 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Finance Manager
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by beaver, Mar. 27, 2013

There has never been a time I have driven away from the Beaver PA branch of FNB that I haven't felt it was really time well spent.  I have always been treated as if I were their only customer no matter what the request. They are always upfront with whether or not they can fulfill a request after exploring every avenue of their services.  We have accounts at other banks but FNB clearly ranks No 1 in service, products and their online service is very customer friendly. The Branch Manager always has time to investigate requests no matter the time of the day. Each teller's first name could be "Friendly" or "Cheerfull"   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Beaver Branch at Beaver, PA
3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Network admin
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mmiller, Mar. 21, 2013

Have had nothing but bad service

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Moon Township Branch at Coraopolis, PA
6 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

service level
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by JimK, Feb. 02, 2013

My experience over the years has been very good. I never have to wait and they make an effort to accomodate my needs. I enjoy working with the South Park Branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, South Park Office at South Park, PA
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Deceptive Practices
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by aek57, Sep. 18, 2012

My mom & dad were old Parkvale customers; I had gone to the Sq Hill Branch for some advice on easy access to the CD's that were now housed with them . I was advised to change to a savings account and could access as needed. Well on my next trip to bank I was told every transaction would cost me $10. The teller who set this up was in ear shot of this entire conversation with the teller and myself and said NOTHING. I emailed the manager "Steve" and he has yet to reply back to my complaint. I had hoped for better treatment; but suppose moving aoubt $30,000 in CD's may make them take notice.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Squirrel Hill Branch at Pittsburgh, PA
8 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very moody tellers
Overall Rating
by ael247, Aug. 29, 2012

I recently moved and the Heidelberg branch happens to be closest to my house. I have been to the bank about four times and i won't being going back. The Tellers are not very pleasent, you can tell they do not want to be there. They actually make me feel very uncomfortable for making large deposites.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Heidelberg Branch at Carnegie, PA
7 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by haleo15106 2015-10-14 10:31:04
That just dont get that they are representing that bank period.  Its all about customer service.  I dont blame you.
Excellent Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Angeleyes, Aug. 05, 2012

I have been with First National for just about a year and have used four of the numerous branches in our area at one time or another. Each time, my wait time is minimal, the tellers are knowledgeable and friendly, and the service is top notch. I switched from PNC because of the high merchant account rates and what seemed like arbitrary and unexpected fees.

I would recommend First National to anyone looking for superior service and multiple easily accessible branches.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Tyrone Branch at Tyrone, PA
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

money order
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by cindyzz, Aug. 03, 2012

after beiing a customer for over 4 years I stopped in to cash a money order that my dad sent me from Myrtle beach ,S.C---It was a United States postal money order. After taking it at the drive in window i wated a few minutes,then was asked for ID. I gave my drivers license and waited again at least 5 minutes. I was then told I had to deposit the entire money order which was for 200.00 and wait for 7 buisness days before iI could recieve any of it. I told them I would take it to another bank. Then they said "well all of our banks have the same policy"----I then said "I have another bank--and will try there"--theygave the money order back and I then drove to First Commonwealth bank. I again went through the drive through window. The money order was cashed with no questions asked. I live just down the street--from 1st national bank--on the same street as the bank,yet I had to drive on the other side of town to cash the money order. I had told my daughter just weeks earlier to open an account there because she moved to the area---she now will close her account and I will do the same. Thank you First Commonwealth for being the best bank in our area and for treating every customer with respect.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Morrellville Branch at Johnstown, PA
4 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

PNC Bank, Aurora Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
251 West Garfield Road
Aurora, OH 44202
Fifth Third Bank, Aurora Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
353 West Garfield Road
Aurora, OH 44202
JPMorgan Chase Bank, Aurora Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
250 West Garfield Road
Aurora, OH 44202
U.S. Bank, Barrington Heinen's Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
115 North Chillicothe Road
Aurora, OH 44202
The Huntington National Bank, Aurora Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
95 North Chillicothe
Aurora, OH 44202

More