Fifth Third Bank, Review

Fifth Third Bank, Review

Average rating based on 116 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
29
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
82

< previous | Next >     page 2 of 6
Always Have Had A Great Experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by anthropic, Feb. 21, 2014

I rarely write reviews, but felt obligated to after my experience today versus the average reviews I've seen here.  It might be that my services and requests are 'simple', but overall, this branch has time and again represented themselves the way I'd expect a company to act.  Today, I'd noticed I was getting service charges all of a sudden for my Est. checking account.  Going over the requirements to have the fees waived, I found there'd been a mistake.  Partly on me and partly on them.  I've an auto loan through them.  My wife is also on the account, but was never 'linked' to the auto loan.  Chad, the rep I spoke with, quickly linked my wife to the account, returned the service charges to my account, made sure the fees would continue to be waived (so long as I met requirements), and was onto the next thing in a matter of minutes.  I've been to this branch too many times to keep up with, and have never had an experience like that of most of the other reviews.  I've never walked out of there thinking, "I can't wait to write a review to let others know how bad this place is."  The staff has always been accommodating, friendly, and has never brushed me off.  I really don't understand the poor ratings this branch has received, but again, my requests are usually trivial and easy to handle I'd suppose.  
tl;dr : the staff is friendly and knowledgeable.  The bad reviews this branch has is rubbish.  It's a great branch probably getting bad reviews from individuals not good with their money, but great at griping about it on the web.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Spring Hill Branch at Spring Hill, TN
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

This bank and employees are the worst
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TheAzureKnight, Feb. 20, 2014

I had set up an investment account through one of their investment advisors. When I set it up I was told if I ever needed to pull part of it out, I could. This turned out to be a total lie. When I needed to pull some out, I was told I had to close the entire account. Now this wasn't so bad. He told me it should only take a few days to have my check from the investment. I am on week three right now and can't get a straight answer on where my money is. The advisor who help me set it up apparently only works like 2 days out the week. I called the investment company to get answers and was told it should only take a few days to a week to have everything taken care of. Nobody at 5/3rd knows where my money is or why its taken this long. All I know is im never doing anything with this bank again. I'd rather trust my money to a monkey.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Woodstock Branch at Woodstock, IL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

love ,love love my fifth third bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by reginak123, Feb. 06, 2014

they are wonderful. I would never bank anywhere else . they understand my needs and go out of the way to help me . I work out of state and if I ever have  any questions about my account they are there for me ... Thank you Kelly ,and Rachelle you are great keep up the good work ....

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Nippers Corner Branch at Brentwood, TN
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Awful experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BubbaOwner, Nov. 29, 2013

They closed my account without notifying me there was no money in it. Today I had a check directly deposited, hoping to go get all the great deals for black Friday. Instead, my check was returned to where I work. I am not able to get all the great deals, and most importantly I cannot pay my house bill. I walked all the way up to the bank only to walk back empty handed, all they said was "Did what I could". You could have told me there was no longer an account open! Switching banks immediately.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, 54th & Division Banking Center at Grand Rapids, MI
5 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

terrible bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JuJuB, Oct. 31, 2013

If I could rate it zero stars I would.  I banked here for 6 years without problems, mostly because I did online transactions only.  People here are nice to you until you actually want them to do something.  Between calling here and customer service, I spent 3 months trying to get an account closed with different employees telling me to do different things to get it closed.  I have moved many times before and have never had this much problem, nor paid this much money in "service fees" in trying to get an account closed before (close to $200).  I would never bank here or bank anywhere that they are affiliated it.  If I ran my business like they did, I would have no customers.  I just don't understand how they get away with it.  I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau along with any other national business overseeing organizations.  I am even for an attorney.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Central West End Park East Tower Bra at Saint Louis, MO
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by JAZZDAZZLES 2013-11-27 14:01:42
I have banked at the Ellisville branch for over 2 years. I cannot say enough good about:Cindy, Caleb, Heather, Stacey, and Tim. I walk into the bank and am greeted by name, without even saying a word. I did not have an appointment and wanted to see Tim. A sales rep was waiting to see him but when he saw me, he kindly informed the sales rep that he would be seeing me and would see him another day. I come to the drive thru and am greeted by name, ALWAYS, mostly by Cindy. They have met my every need. I now know what royalty feels like...me, when I go to my bank.
Horrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Melisa2929, Oct. 25, 2013

horrible!horrible customer service. very rude and disrespectful manager. Before letting me to finish my thought hi asked me to shut up and let him to talk since he is a manager. Who the hell u think you are!!!! This way to treat people?!  Then treat me that he will shred my check if I won't leave. Really?  I needed to cashed my check that I did already 4times, but on 5th the last time I needed to cashed he said he won't to it since there is no my name on it, it's just written cashed. But you guys did it 4 times already.!? But he said it was an exception so I need to go back to get another. Nobody warned me that it was an exception or I wouldn't have any issues if I've been told about it at the begging. Just because that moron manager wasn't in mood he refused to cash it and then yeld at me to get out or he ll shred my check??? I have never beed disrespected and insulted like that before. I wish this location in Wheeling on Lake Cook will shut down.!!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Wheeling Banking Center at Wheeling, IL
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ken Gillespie
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Keng, Oct. 24, 2013

I have worked with many branches of 5/3 bank and the staff at the Ionia Branch are simply the best! The customer service and caring attitude is a breath of fresh air in the impersonal world that seems so common.
Keep up the great work!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Ionia Branch at Ionia, MI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

worst bank ever (besides Bank of America
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Lucille, Oct. 22, 2013

Horrendous customer service.  high turnover.  mistakes.  takes forever for a transaction….45' for a withdrawal.  Poorly trained staff.  Left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.  I can't say enough bad about this branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Murphy Road Branch at Nashville, TN
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

South Haven 5/3rd customer service is TERRIBLE!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Busschjl, Oct. 02, 2013

I have never been so frustrated with a bank.  I tried to cash a check today through the teller window.  4 lanes open, no other cars but me, yet I wait and wait and wait before I even see someone at the window.  My kids wakes up while I am waiting and I accidentally sign on the wrong Parton my check, because I am distracted.  She sends it back to me clearly annoyed and tells me to sign the back.  I sign it and send it back while she helps someone else and I wait.  She finally tells me that she can process my chck because I tried to "alter it".  I explain and she blows me off and sends it back, not responding to any further questions.  So I take it inside and the teller inside is about to hand me cash, when the same witch who "helped" me at the window, grabs the check and scolds me for trying to cash my check.  Suffice to say I am closing my accounts and never going to this bank again specifically South Haven, where clearly they have no concept of customer service or training.  Shame on you 5/3rd for allowing you employees to bully and demean your customers.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, South Haven Branch at South Haven, MI
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

the worst excuse for a bank, ever!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by FifthThirdRIPOFF, Oct. 02, 2013

this bank must make a fortune off of late fees. They are running a RACKET here because they will not accept postmarked pmts in the mail if they are received by them or processed by them after the bill due date... how is it that it takes 12-14 days for them to process my check??? I have been charged several "late payment" fees although I had mailed my check to them 10 days before it is due.  

I hope they crash and burn.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tiredof5/3
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tiredof53, Sep. 14, 2013

I've been with this bank for about a year, I originally opened my account in a different city and never had any problems and the employees were always so friendly and helpful! My husband and I just recently got married and moved 45 minutes away from my original branch. I started going to the one closer to our house and we ended up eventually joining our accounts at this time I was told anything that came out of my account automatically would come out of his account. I've recently accrued $220 in overdraft fees $110 of it I had no idea about because the first guy I talked to reversed them for me before I noticed them. But now after talking to the woman who originally did this joining of our accounts she refuses to return my other $110 and blamed ME saying the money wasnt in the account anyways!! When in fact it would have been had they not taken out $110 more out in fees!! I've gotten the number for the district manager and Palau on working my way up till I get my money back then I plan on closing every account we have with them and moving to a different bank! This bank is a scam and I've never had as many problems with one bank as I have had with this bank in the last two months... I went here because it was where my husband banked and I figured it'd be easier to join our accounts once we were married, boy was that a joke! I am half tempted to go the branch I originally opened my account at just to see I maybe they can help but I'm not sure if they would understand the situation. The first guy was so confused about what this lady did e had to talk to her first then made her call me back! I was so livid and still am! Now I see why this bank is still going, they steal people's money and lie!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Grand Ledge at Grand Ledge, MI
5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Home loan
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MadMom, Aug. 31, 2013

I have been appalled by the lack of professionalism of a particular loan officer at the Orleans In branch.  My daughter and her husband started the process of buying their first home several weeks ago. Story is WAY too long, but after asking for "updates" on banking, income, etc - they are STILL waiting. AND, instead of this guy calling to keep them updated - he sends a text instead. Last update on the whole situation didn't even come from him - it came via a phone call from the real estate agent for the sellers. We encouraged them to proceed with purchasing a their first home and it's been nothing by a nightmare.  They are now homeless and she is expecting their 2nd child any day.  They are living with us and my 9 mon. pregnant daughter has had to endure UNDUE stress just because of a lazy louse loan officer.  SHAME on YOu, S.....   

* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Orleans Branch at Orleans, IN
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible Experience
Overall Rating
by Tailgaters2, Aug. 23, 2013

I was using the Dowtown Grant Street Pittsburgh Pa Location, I used the ATM outside of the bank. I had withdrawn 200 from the ATM from another account , had my 3 yr old son in my left hand , grabbed the 200 out with my left, opened the door walked into the bank filled out a checking account deposit slip walked up to the teller!! She proceeds to tell me I was 20 Short!!! I said there is No Way!! I just withdrew the money from outside your bank! I asked them to review the cameras, they didn't have cameras!!! I then had to call corporate for them to tell me weeks later that they did their ledgers & counted all the monies from the ATM & no one was over or shorted on that day!! As a single mom I was so upset, not so much about $20 about the principal. How in the world does a huge Bank get away with ripping us off?? I was in the process of opening up my bar & grill so I let them know that they lost a Business Account with that move as well! Ps that didn't phase them either!! Poor Poor Poor business Practice

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, 66th And Cortez Branch at Bradenton, FL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by pending 2014-01-30 02:20:35
Coloma branch is horrible, Laurie Lawson wants to close my account and called me abusive. cant wait to get that on recording. Will take 5/3 to court, not only for slander but for all the fees they charge. You do a deposit one day of a payroll check, the same one that's been deposited for 6yrs there and 3days later you write a check off your account and they tell you your money is not available. There so called courtesy calls they give you to tell you they took more of your money. Casey is something else, likes to say whats on her mind and you say something back and she runs crying to her supervisor. It took 6 tries to do an address change on my daughters account. They never sent a replacement card for my husband when his expired. Had to fight with them for 4 weeks on that. I got a different story and explanation each time. 5/3 had a big law suit on them about 6 yrs ago for wrongfully charging fees. I think with all these complaints people should start another one. I might just do that. There is a paper trail for everything, I know I have my deposit slips showing when I made my deposits and how long they held it in order to charge overdraft fees. This place is a joke
Incompetent, arrogant bank leadership
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JTB1977, Jul. 21, 2013

I have a long story...
I deposited $90 into a scanner-type ATM which counts the money.
Lo and behold, the machine took my money, and asked me how much I deposited. $90. The very next day, I went to the branch, and personally spoke to the manager Scott. He went in the ATM and found my money, and assured me that all overdraft fees associated would be reversed.
Looked on my account two days later, amd found over $400 in fees due to this. I called the bank - he was not there, and nothing could be done.
I call the corporate office, I was given the same answer. Finally, I persuaded the rep to remove some of the fees; $111.
They said I had to talk to Scott about the rest.
On the following monday, I get a call. Scott, the manager, said that he was not going to refund any fees because I used my account! I had pending transactions that were initiated BEFORE I deposited the money.
So, I call the main office, and spoke to a helpful gentleman named Tom.
I explained the situation, and the arrogance of the branch manager.
We both got pen and paper, and determined that I would never have been overdrawn if the $90 was deposited. Got all my fees reversed by Tom, NOT BY THE BRANCH MANAGER!! UNACCEPTABLE!!

I thought my troubles were over until I deposited a $800 check...
The morons held my check due to numerous overdeafts! CAUSED BY THEIR ERROR! I threatened to file a claim with the bank regulators; all the funds must be available after the second banking day... They removed the hold... For the time being. Scott (same man) put the hold BACK ON my account, causing a possible overdraft bonanza. I again called the branch, explained the situation, and the understanding teller went above her boss' orders, and released the hold (again.) thank goodness bo overdraft fees...

Scott at the Shorewood, IL branch is an arrogant little man; he has no business working in any industry where manners and courtesy are necessary.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Shorewood Banking Center Branch at Joliet, IL
13 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by randypaq 2013-09-12 08:50:47
Recently refinanced a home mortgage.  Interest rate was competitive.  It took nearly 2 months to complete the effort.  Original application and fee paid was based on 5/3's indication a home appraisal was unnecessary.  (Mortgage value only about 60% of current home value).  Subsequently, bank now required an appraisal, which confirmed loan to value proportion.  After all that, the closing went well.  5/3 has a title company of their own who scheduled closing at our house in the evening.  A plus because we didn't have to take time off work.  This was somewhat frustrating, but the end result was satisfactory.
The best I can say about this is OK, not stellar performance by 5/3.
Ms Marci
Overall Rating
by madriff, Jun. 26, 2013

terrible slow service when compared to avon branch

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Plainfield Branch at Plainfield, IN
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bad!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bank1236, Jun. 12, 2013

Bad services sorry

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Roswell Bank Mart Branch at Marietta, GA
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Communication and Service Lacking
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by pattees, Apr. 26, 2013

The personnel completely mishandled my request for a home equity loan.  After several weeks of poor communication, misinformation, and a lack of timely returns to my phone calls, it was finally determined that I was not qualified for a home equity loan because I had owned the house for less than a year.  This should have been disclosed to me within the first five minutes of day ONE.  Completely and totally mishandled.  I have been a customer for many, many years and this is NOT acceptable.  Additionally, I have a large savings account with this bank, but that did not seem to matter.  This defies all reason and logic.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Broad Ripple Branch at Indianapolis, IN
10 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Banking Experience Ever
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by illuminate72, Apr. 23, 2013

I have been with this bank for over 10 years and have visited many of their branches around Illinois and around the United States, but this has got to be the worst branch in regards to customer service and caring for the customer in general in the entire country. First, it takes the staff an unusually long amount of time to finish simple transactions and often they are running around doing other things at the expense of the customer's time, extremely unprofessional. In addition, I have had numerous issues with transactions not going through when they should have and when I take it up to the branch manager, Jesena Hernandez, she tells me she will attempt to call corporate and follow up with me, but she never does and then later tells me that she got caught up with other stuff or gives me any number of other excuses, which has gotten so bad that I now have come to expect it. Finally, it seems like every week, there are new staff members at that branch. I understand that tellers typically don't spend a good amount of their life in that same positions, but it seems like every week, they have new people on their main line. Either this branch just sucks at picking the right people or even their employees don't want to stick around. While I support Fifth Third Bank and always have, this is one branch I will never visit again.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Evanston Main Branch at Evanston, IL
8 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by albemarle 2013-07-29 17:50:55
Not only does your bank in Ill suck but also the one in Concord NC and all around the country I have been trying to close out my checkng account after doing business with this bank for over 10 yrs now they tell I have to come into the bank personally close the account I now live 300 mi from NC, Fifth Third has charged me $62.00 for fee's  and turned me over to the credit bureau for collection because I no longer use their acc I have tried several times to close this account but that is like trying to deal with a bunch of uneducated monkeys.
Lost my banker
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ToddCofCC, Apr. 13, 2013

The branch manager R.M. was the best thing this branch had going for them and now he is gone. My family and I are so depressed over this. He connected with everyone he was in contact with. The staff said he decided to leave the bank but we believe he was fired because he gave no notice to us and I spoke with him the day before he left. We are taking our business and personal accounts somewhere else, I wish we could find where he is, we would follow. He always told us, "we have accounts at 5/3rd, but you bank with me." The office environment & staff rating was 5 star with him but lacks brightness without. Find R.M.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Madison Branch at Madison, TN
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

ATM Deposit---big inconvenience
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Stressed, Apr. 11, 2013

I had been with Fifth Third for over 10 years and had been fairly happy. However, I was greatly upset a couple of months ago after depositing my paycheck into the so called convenient ATM machine after hours.  I had to wait nearly two weeks for my check to clear.  I called customer service and spoke to numerous people/managers (including unfriendly ones in person) and they didn't know if the hold was based on a problem on their end or mine.  Overall, they claimed that it was my fault and that it was held due to insufficient funds.  I had not had ANY insufficient funds for nearly 5 months (wow what a way to reach back and find an excuse!) Oh and I must add Fifth Third has no control over their ATM machines...it is ran through an outside company. My suggestion to you is NEVER USE THE ATM MACHINE TO DEPOSIT A CHECK. It took over two months to get all of my accounts switched over...happy I'm gone just wanted to warn you!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Mallard Creek Branch at Charlotte, NC
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

< previous | Next >     page 2 of 6

Banks Nearby

Wells Fargo Bank, Tyvola Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
712 Tyvola Road
Charlotte, NC 28217
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, South Boulevard Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5400 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
SunTrust Bank, South Boulevard Branch 253 (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5301 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Bank of America, Starmount Branch (0.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5801 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Wells Fargo Bank, Starmount Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6101 S Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217

More