Fifth Third Bank, Review

Fifth Third Bank, Review

Average rating based on 125 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
33
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
4
1 star:
86
< Previous Page | Next Page >     Page 2 of 7
Bunch of inept staff look for the easy way to get rid of a dificulty
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bullshitbuster, May. 31, 2014

No professionalism they don't recognize a customer to busy w their own personal life mingle between staff ignored new potential clients a whole day waiting on a phone call back never got it I called 3 times during that day the last call I made to find out they couldn't help and the phone call to inform was never made just a bunch of crapy people and no service skills

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Southchase at Orlando, FL
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bunch of inept staff look for the easy way to get rid of a dificulty
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bullshitbuster, May. 31, 2014

No professionalism they don't recognize a customer to busy w their own personal life mingle between staff ignored new potential clients a whole day waiting on a phone call back never got it I called 3 times during that day the last call I made to find out they couldn't help and the phone call to inform was never made just a bunch of crapy people and no service skills

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Southchase at Orlando, FL
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

the worst experienceever!
Overall Rating
by chita, Apr. 29, 2014

I never bank at 5/3 before and never will!!! There was 4 employees and no customers when I walk in to the branch located at 345 W Dundee Rd. in Buffalo Grove IL. I just want to send money by Western Union to other country.
The service I received by one of the cashiers was absolutely unprofessional. The manager was not helpful ether. Worst experience ever!  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Buffalo Grove Banking Center Branch at Buffalo Grove, IL
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

5th Third Bank, Richmond Road, Lexington, KY
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ClaudiaR, Apr. 26, 2014

I have banked with the 5th Third Bank on Richmond Road since the day they opened.  I LOVE this bank!  They are highly efficient and very friendly.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Richmond Road Branch at Lexington, KY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by ClaudiaR 2014-04-26 08:10:28
Love this bank!  Have banked there since it opened.  The employees treat me like family.   They are efficient and very helpful.  I not only bank with them, I also chose them to refinance my home!
horrible incompetent service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by charlottebanking, Mar. 21, 2014

Incompetent staff focused on product sales rather than service.  If I had a nickel for every time they changed my accounts, I'd be rich.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Noda Banking Center Branch at Charlotte, NC
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

SMALL BUSINESS OWNER
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by copperjohncook, Mar. 16, 2014

I had the worst possible banking experience with Amanda Julien a personal banker at the Loveland, Ohio branch. I refuse to do business with an organization that would allow itself to be represented in this manner.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Loveland Bank Mart Branch at Loveland, OH
3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mount Pleasant, MI branch
Overall Rating
by Heather94, Mar. 12, 2014

I have had nothing but problems with this bank. At least once a month there is an issue with where my money is, they change their deposit cut off times every few months without any notice, and I've been charged for overdrafts I've never even made. The tellers at this bank are nearly completely incompetent when it comes to banking, informing clients of any new policies, and answering any questions about how they messed up and it's somehow the clients fault. Not impressed and I will never recommend anyone to use this awful branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Mt. Pleasant Banking Center Branch at Mount Pleasant, MI
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

CEO, entreprener, business owner
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by clear, Mar. 12, 2014

30 years of banking with Fifth Third/Old Kent/ Peoples Bank, regional bank, never had issues that were not resolved quickly and effectively.  I have business with several other financial institutions and am I in process to move all operations to Fifth Third.  I do not receive mis-information at Fifth Third, but when working with some other institutions I have become in the habit of taking precise notes, asking for names and titles along with departments.  Fifth Third is always my bank of choice, I have six branches I visit approximately 4 times per week.  Hope this helps anyone looking.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Flat Rock Branch at Flat Rock, MI
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude and Incompetent employees
Overall Rating
by scarymary, Feb. 28, 2014

I started an account with this bank several months ago. Apparently, I had a "second chance" account, but was not informed of this, until about a week before I closed my account. I called a different branch to get help with an issue with my account because no one would help me at this branch. That's when a very nice man informed me that I have a second chance account and proceeded to inform me of everything that comes with having such an account. First, I deposited my check from work. I was told that $100 would be available to me and that the rest would post at midnight. The next day, I drove from the Southside of Indianapolis to the Northside of Indianapolis, to take my daughter to daycare. I work up there, so its easier to take her to daycare close to work. Then I drove downtown to get my last name changed to my husband's last name, only to have my card declined at the parking meter. I called the bank to see what was going on, and I was told that there was a problem with the machines and that I would have to drive all the way back up to the Northside, to that branch, in order to have access to cash. I needed cash in order to eat before class that day, which is downtown. This was a huge inconvenience. The following week, I was double charged for checkbooks. I wasn't supposed to be charged at all since it was my first one. The following week, I was charged a $50 overdraft fee. I figured that I had miscalculated the amount of money that I had in my account and overspent. So I called the bank to see if they could reverse it. They said that they would take the $25 from my savings account (which was mandatory for me to even open the acct) and they would reverse the other $25. Later I received a statement in the mail showing that I had been charged two overdraft fees from the day when there was a problem with the machines. So I called and they corrected it. Since this is a second chance acct, I had no access to the atm. I could neither deposit, nor withdraw. One of the tellers, the only one who was consistently helpful and took the time to remember me (and my sister from when she worked at PNC,) changed my acct so that I would be able to used the atm. After about 2 weeks, it had been changed back. There was one instance in the last month that I had my acct, that I overdrew, and it was actually my fault. I asked them if they could reverse it, since I had had so many problems. They refused. This was the last straw. I was done. With the exception of the teller who I mentioned, who is consistently helpful, and a young foreign guy, everyone there is so rude, uninformative, and disrespectful. I have made sure to discourage my coworkers from banking there.


* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, North Michigan Road Branch at Indianapolis, IN
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

No Wonder Stock Still is in the Tank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 58799, Feb. 27, 2014

Be careful of any credit card product you have with 5/3 bank. I have had a business line of credit that they sold me 10 years ago. I have handled the account as agreed and revolved the line as required. Due to a bill payment issue on my end I made a payment 13 days late. NOW they have increased my interest rate from 8.99% to 30%. They are not willing to work with me after several failed attempts at correcting. I am not surprised to see that this bank continues to struggle!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Mount Vernon Il Downtown Branch at Mount Vernon, IL
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by DoctorDick 2014-11-23 21:04:52
I bank in Brecksville,Ohio and have been with 5th 3rd for twenty years. I have been treated fairly and honestly at every branch I have used. I will continue to use 5th 3rd and highly recommend it to others.
Always Have Had A Great Experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by anthropic, Feb. 21, 2014

I rarely write reviews, but felt obligated to after my experience today versus the average reviews I've seen here.  It might be that my services and requests are 'simple', but overall, this branch has time and again represented themselves the way I'd expect a company to act.  Today, I'd noticed I was getting service charges all of a sudden for my Est. checking account.  Going over the requirements to have the fees waived, I found there'd been a mistake.  Partly on me and partly on them.  I've an auto loan through them.  My wife is also on the account, but was never 'linked' to the auto loan.  Chad, the rep I spoke with, quickly linked my wife to the account, returned the service charges to my account, made sure the fees would continue to be waived (so long as I met requirements), and was onto the next thing in a matter of minutes.  I've been to this branch too many times to keep up with, and have never had an experience like that of most of the other reviews.  I've never walked out of there thinking, "I can't wait to write a review to let others know how bad this place is."  The staff has always been accommodating, friendly, and has never brushed me off.  I really don't understand the poor ratings this branch has received, but again, my requests are usually trivial and easy to handle I'd suppose.  
tl;dr : the staff is friendly and knowledgeable.  The bad reviews this branch has is rubbish.  It's a great branch probably getting bad reviews from individuals not good with their money, but great at griping about it on the web.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Spring Hill Branch at Spring Hill, TN
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

This bank and employees are the worst
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TheAzureKnight, Feb. 20, 2014

I had set up an investment account through one of their investment advisors. When I set it up I was told if I ever needed to pull part of it out, I could. This turned out to be a total lie. When I needed to pull some out, I was told I had to close the entire account. Now this wasn't so bad. He told me it should only take a few days to have my check from the investment. I am on week three right now and can't get a straight answer on where my money is. The advisor who help me set it up apparently only works like 2 days out the week. I called the investment company to get answers and was told it should only take a few days to a week to have everything taken care of. Nobody at 5/3rd knows where my money is or why its taken this long. All I know is im never doing anything with this bank again. I'd rather trust my money to a monkey.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Woodstock Branch at Woodstock, IL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

love ,love love my fifth third bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by reginak123, Feb. 06, 2014

they are wonderful. I would never bank anywhere else . they understand my needs and go out of the way to help me . I work out of state and if I ever have  any questions about my account they are there for me ... Thank you Kelly ,and Rachelle you are great keep up the good work ....

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Nippers Corner Branch at Brentwood, TN
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Awful experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BubbaOwner, Nov. 29, 2013

They closed my account without notifying me there was no money in it. Today I had a check directly deposited, hoping to go get all the great deals for black Friday. Instead, my check was returned to where I work. I am not able to get all the great deals, and most importantly I cannot pay my house bill. I walked all the way up to the bank only to walk back empty handed, all they said was "Did what I could". You could have told me there was no longer an account open! Switching banks immediately.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, 54th & Division Banking Center at Grand Rapids, MI
5 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

terrible bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JuJuB, Oct. 31, 2013

If I could rate it zero stars I would.  I banked here for 6 years without problems, mostly because I did online transactions only.  People here are nice to you until you actually want them to do something.  Between calling here and customer service, I spent 3 months trying to get an account closed with different employees telling me to do different things to get it closed.  I have moved many times before and have never had this much problem, nor paid this much money in "service fees" in trying to get an account closed before (close to $200).  I would never bank here or bank anywhere that they are affiliated it.  If I ran my business like they did, I would have no customers.  I just don't understand how they get away with it.  I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau along with any other national business overseeing organizations.  I am even for an attorney.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Central West End Park East Tower Bra at Saint Louis, MO
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by JAZZDAZZLES 2013-11-27 14:01:42
I have banked at the Ellisville branch for over 2 years. I cannot say enough good about:Cindy, Caleb, Heather, Stacey, and Tim. I walk into the bank and am greeted by name, without even saying a word. I did not have an appointment and wanted to see Tim. A sales rep was waiting to see him but when he saw me, he kindly informed the sales rep that he would be seeing me and would see him another day. I come to the drive thru and am greeted by name, ALWAYS, mostly by Cindy. They have met my every need. I now know what royalty feels like...me, when I go to my bank.
Ken Gillespie
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Keng, Oct. 24, 2013

I have worked with many branches of 5/3 bank and the staff at the Ionia Branch are simply the best! The customer service and caring attitude is a breath of fresh air in the impersonal world that seems so common.
Keep up the great work!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Ionia Branch at Ionia, MI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

worst bank ever (besides Bank of America
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Lucille, Oct. 22, 2013

Horrendous customer service.  high turnover.  mistakes.  takes forever for a transaction….45' for a withdrawal.  Poorly trained staff.  Left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.  I can't say enough bad about this branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Murphy Road Branch at Nashville, TN
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

South Haven 5/3rd customer service is TERRIBLE!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Busschjl, Oct. 02, 2013

I have never been so frustrated with a bank.  I tried to cash a check today through the teller window.  4 lanes open, no other cars but me, yet I wait and wait and wait before I even see someone at the window.  My kids wakes up while I am waiting and I accidentally sign on the wrong Parton my check, because I am distracted.  She sends it back to me clearly annoyed and tells me to sign the back.  I sign it and send it back while she helps someone else and I wait.  She finally tells me that she can process my chck because I tried to "alter it".  I explain and she blows me off and sends it back, not responding to any further questions.  So I take it inside and the teller inside is about to hand me cash, when the same witch who "helped" me at the window, grabs the check and scolds me for trying to cash my check.  Suffice to say I am closing my accounts and never going to this bank again specifically South Haven, where clearly they have no concept of customer service or training.  Shame on you 5/3rd for allowing you employees to bully and demean your customers.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, South Haven Branch at South Haven, MI
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

the worst excuse for a bank, ever!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by FifthThirdRIPOFF, Oct. 02, 2013

this bank must make a fortune off of late fees. They are running a RACKET here because they will not accept postmarked pmts in the mail if they are received by them or processed by them after the bill due date... how is it that it takes 12-14 days for them to process my check??? I have been charged several "late payment" fees although I had mailed my check to them 10 days before it is due.  

I hope they crash and burn.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tiredof5/3
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tiredof53, Sep. 14, 2013

I've been with this bank for about a year, I originally opened my account in a different city and never had any problems and the employees were always so friendly and helpful! My husband and I just recently got married and moved 45 minutes away from my original branch. I started going to the one closer to our house and we ended up eventually joining our accounts at this time I was told anything that came out of my account automatically would come out of his account. I've recently accrued $220 in overdraft fees $110 of it I had no idea about because the first guy I talked to reversed them for me before I noticed them. But now after talking to the woman who originally did this joining of our accounts she refuses to return my other $110 and blamed ME saying the money wasnt in the account anyways!! When in fact it would have been had they not taken out $110 more out in fees!! I've gotten the number for the district manager and Palau on working my way up till I get my money back then I plan on closing every account we have with them and moving to a different bank! This bank is a scam and I've never had as many problems with one bank as I have had with this bank in the last two months... I went here because it was where my husband banked and I figured it'd be easier to join our accounts once we were married, boy was that a joke! I am half tempted to go the branch I originally opened my account at just to see I maybe they can help but I'm not sure if they would understand the situation. The first guy was so confused about what this lady did e had to talk to her first then made her call me back! I was so livid and still am! Now I see why this bank is still going, they steal people's money and lie!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Grand Ledge at Grand Ledge, MI
5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

< Previous Page | Next Page >     Page 2 of 7

Banks Nearby

Wells Fargo Bank, Tyvola Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
712 Tyvola Road
Charlotte, NC 28217
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, South Boulevard Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5400 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
SunTrust Bank, South Boulevard Branch 253 (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5301 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Bank of America, Starmount Branch (0.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5801 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Wells Fargo Bank, Starmount Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6101 S Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217

More