Fifth Third Bank, Review

Fifth Third Bank, Review

Average rating based on 116 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
29
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
82
< previous | Next >     page 3 of 12
Always Have Had A Great Experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by anthropic, Feb. 21, 2014

I rarely write reviews, but felt obligated to after my experience today versus the average reviews I've seen here.  It might be that my services and requests are 'simple', but overall, this branch has time and again represented themselves the way I'd expect a company to act.  Today, I'd noticed I was getting service charges all of a sudden for my Est. checking account.  Going over the requirements to have the fees waived, I found there'd been a mistake.  Partly on me and partly on them.  I've an auto loan through them.  My wife is also on the account, but was never 'linked' to the auto loan.  Chad, the rep I spoke with, quickly linked my wife to the account, returned the service charges to my account, made sure the fees would continue to be waived (so long as I met requirements), and was onto the next thing in a matter of minutes.  I've been to this branch too many times to keep up with, and have never had an experience like that of most of the other reviews.  I've never walked out of there thinking, "I can't wait to write a review to let others know how bad this place is."  The staff has always been accommodating, friendly, and has never brushed me off.  I really don't understand the poor ratings this branch has received, but again, my requests are usually trivial and easy to handle I'd suppose.  
tl;dr : the staff is friendly and knowledgeable.  The bad reviews this branch has is rubbish.  It's a great branch probably getting bad reviews from individuals not good with their money, but great at griping about it on the web.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Spring Hill Branch at Spring Hill, TN
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

This bank and employees are the worst
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TheAzureKnight, Feb. 20, 2014

I had set up an investment account through one of their investment advisors. When I set it up I was told if I ever needed to pull part of it out, I could. This turned out to be a total lie. When I needed to pull some out, I was told I had to close the entire account. Now this wasn't so bad. He told me it should only take a few days to have my check from the investment. I am on week three right now and can't get a straight answer on where my money is. The advisor who help me set it up apparently only works like 2 days out the week. I called the investment company to get answers and was told it should only take a few days to a week to have everything taken care of. Nobody at 5/3rd knows where my money is or why its taken this long. All I know is im never doing anything with this bank again. I'd rather trust my money to a monkey.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Woodstock Branch at Woodstock, IL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

love ,love love my fifth third bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by reginak123, Feb. 06, 2014

they are wonderful. I would never bank anywhere else . they understand my needs and go out of the way to help me . I work out of state and if I ever have  any questions about my account they are there for me ... Thank you Kelly ,and Rachelle you are great keep up the good work ....

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Nippers Corner Branch at Brentwood, TN
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Awful experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BubbaOwner, Nov. 29, 2013

They closed my account without notifying me there was no money in it. Today I had a check directly deposited, hoping to go get all the great deals for black Friday. Instead, my check was returned to where I work. I am not able to get all the great deals, and most importantly I cannot pay my house bill. I walked all the way up to the bank only to walk back empty handed, all they said was "Did what I could". You could have told me there was no longer an account open! Switching banks immediately.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, 54th & Division Banking Center at Grand Rapids, MI
5 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

terrible bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JuJuB, Oct. 31, 2013

If I could rate it zero stars I would.  I banked here for 6 years without problems, mostly because I did online transactions only.  People here are nice to you until you actually want them to do something.  Between calling here and customer service, I spent 3 months trying to get an account closed with different employees telling me to do different things to get it closed.  I have moved many times before and have never had this much problem, nor paid this much money in "service fees" in trying to get an account closed before (close to $200).  I would never bank here or bank anywhere that they are affiliated it.  If I ran my business like they did, I would have no customers.  I just don't understand how they get away with it.  I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau along with any other national business overseeing organizations.  I am even for an attorney.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Central West End Park East Tower Bra at Saint Louis, MO
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by JAZZDAZZLES 2013-11-27 14:01:42
I have banked at the Ellisville branch for over 2 years. I cannot say enough good about:Cindy, Caleb, Heather, Stacey, and Tim. I walk into the bank and am greeted by name, without even saying a word. I did not have an appointment and wanted to see Tim. A sales rep was waiting to see him but when he saw me, he kindly informed the sales rep that he would be seeing me and would see him another day. I come to the drive thru and am greeted by name, ALWAYS, mostly by Cindy. They have met my every need. I now know what royalty feels like...me, when I go to my bank.
Horrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Melisa2929, Oct. 25, 2013

horrible!horrible customer service. very rude and disrespectful manager. Before letting me to finish my thought hi asked me to shut up and let him to talk since he is a manager. Who the hell u think you are!!!! This way to treat people?!  Then treat me that he will shred my check if I won't leave. Really?  I needed to cashed my check that I did already 4times, but on 5th the last time I needed to cashed he said he won't to it since there is no my name on it, it's just written cashed. But you guys did it 4 times already.!? But he said it was an exception so I need to go back to get another. Nobody warned me that it was an exception or I wouldn't have any issues if I've been told about it at the begging. Just because that moron manager wasn't in mood he refused to cash it and then yeld at me to get out or he ll shred my check??? I have never beed disrespected and insulted like that before. I wish this location in Wheeling on Lake Cook will shut down.!!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Wheeling Banking Center at Wheeling, IL
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ken Gillespie
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Keng, Oct. 24, 2013

I have worked with many branches of 5/3 bank and the staff at the Ionia Branch are simply the best! The customer service and caring attitude is a breath of fresh air in the impersonal world that seems so common.
Keep up the great work!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Ionia Branch at Ionia, MI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

worst bank ever (besides Bank of America
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Lucille, Oct. 22, 2013

Horrendous customer service.  high turnover.  mistakes.  takes forever for a transaction….45' for a withdrawal.  Poorly trained staff.  Left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.  I can't say enough bad about this branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Murphy Road Branch at Nashville, TN
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

South Haven 5/3rd customer service is TERRIBLE!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Busschjl, Oct. 02, 2013

I have never been so frustrated with a bank.  I tried to cash a check today through the teller window.  4 lanes open, no other cars but me, yet I wait and wait and wait before I even see someone at the window.  My kids wakes up while I am waiting and I accidentally sign on the wrong Parton my check, because I am distracted.  She sends it back to me clearly annoyed and tells me to sign the back.  I sign it and send it back while she helps someone else and I wait.  She finally tells me that she can process my chck because I tried to "alter it".  I explain and she blows me off and sends it back, not responding to any further questions.  So I take it inside and the teller inside is about to hand me cash, when the same witch who "helped" me at the window, grabs the check and scolds me for trying to cash my check.  Suffice to say I am closing my accounts and never going to this bank again specifically South Haven, where clearly they have no concept of customer service or training.  Shame on you 5/3rd for allowing you employees to bully and demean your customers.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, South Haven Branch at South Haven, MI
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

the worst excuse for a bank, ever!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by FifthThirdRIPOFF, Oct. 02, 2013

this bank must make a fortune off of late fees. They are running a RACKET here because they will not accept postmarked pmts in the mail if they are received by them or processed by them after the bill due date... how is it that it takes 12-14 days for them to process my check??? I have been charged several "late payment" fees although I had mailed my check to them 10 days before it is due.  

I hope they crash and burn.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

< previous | Next >     page 3 of 12

Banks Nearby

Wells Fargo Bank, Tyvola Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
712 Tyvola Road
Charlotte, NC 28217
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, South Boulevard Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5400 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
SunTrust Bank, South Boulevard Branch 253 (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5301 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Bank of America, Starmount Branch (0.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5801 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Wells Fargo Bank, Starmount Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6101 S Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217

More