Fifth Third Bank, Review

Fifth Third Bank, Review

Average rating based on 113 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
28
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
80
< previous | Next >     page 3 of 12
Awful experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BubbaOwner, Nov. 29, 2013

They closed my account without notifying me there was no money in it. Today I had a check directly deposited, hoping to go get all the great deals for black Friday. Instead, my check was returned to where I work. I am not able to get all the great deals, and most importantly I cannot pay my house bill. I walked all the way up to the bank only to walk back empty handed, all they said was "Did what I could". You could have told me there was no longer an account open! Switching banks immediately.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, 54th & Division Banking Center at Grand Rapids, MI
5 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

terrible bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JuJuB, Oct. 31, 2013

If I could rate it zero stars I would.  I banked here for 6 years without problems, mostly because I did online transactions only.  People here are nice to you until you actually want them to do something.  Between calling here and customer service, I spent 3 months trying to get an account closed with different employees telling me to do different things to get it closed.  I have moved many times before and have never had this much problem, nor paid this much money in "service fees" in trying to get an account closed before (close to $200).  I would never bank here or bank anywhere that they are affiliated it.  If I ran my business like they did, I would have no customers.  I just don't understand how they get away with it.  I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau along with any other national business overseeing organizations.  I am even for an attorney.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Central West End Park East Tower Bra at Saint Louis, MO
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by JAZZDAZZLES 2013-11-27 14:01:42
I have banked at the Ellisville branch for over 2 years. I cannot say enough good about:Cindy, Caleb, Heather, Stacey, and Tim. I walk into the bank and am greeted by name, without even saying a word. I did not have an appointment and wanted to see Tim. A sales rep was waiting to see him but when he saw me, he kindly informed the sales rep that he would be seeing me and would see him another day. I come to the drive thru and am greeted by name, ALWAYS, mostly by Cindy. They have met my every need. I now know what royalty feels like...me, when I go to my bank.
Horrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Melisa2929, Oct. 25, 2013

horrible!horrible customer service. very rude and disrespectful manager. Before letting me to finish my thought hi asked me to shut up and let him to talk since he is a manager. Who the hell u think you are!!!! This way to treat people?!  Then treat me that he will shred my check if I won't leave. Really?  I needed to cashed my check that I did already 4times, but on 5th the last time I needed to cashed he said he won't to it since there is no my name on it, it's just written cashed. But you guys did it 4 times already.!? But he said it was an exception so I need to go back to get another. Nobody warned me that it was an exception or I wouldn't have any issues if I've been told about it at the begging. Just because that moron manager wasn't in mood he refused to cash it and then yeld at me to get out or he ll shred my check??? I have never beed disrespected and insulted like that before. I wish this location in Wheeling on Lake Cook will shut down.!!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Wheeling Banking Center at Wheeling, IL
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ken Gillespie
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Keng, Oct. 24, 2013

I have worked with many branches of 5/3 bank and the staff at the Ionia Branch are simply the best! The customer service and caring attitude is a breath of fresh air in the impersonal world that seems so common.
Keep up the great work!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Ionia Branch at Ionia, MI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

worst bank ever (besides Bank of America
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Lucille, Oct. 22, 2013

Horrendous customer service.  high turnover.  mistakes.  takes forever for a transaction….45' for a withdrawal.  Poorly trained staff.  Left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.  I can't say enough bad about this branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Murphy Road Branch at Nashville, TN
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

South Haven 5/3rd customer service is TERRIBLE!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Busschjl, Oct. 02, 2013

I have never been so frustrated with a bank.  I tried to cash a check today through the teller window.  4 lanes open, no other cars but me, yet I wait and wait and wait before I even see someone at the window.  My kids wakes up while I am waiting and I accidentally sign on the wrong Parton my check, because I am distracted.  She sends it back to me clearly annoyed and tells me to sign the back.  I sign it and send it back while she helps someone else and I wait.  She finally tells me that she can process my chck because I tried to "alter it".  I explain and she blows me off and sends it back, not responding to any further questions.  So I take it inside and the teller inside is about to hand me cash, when the same witch who "helped" me at the window, grabs the check and scolds me for trying to cash my check.  Suffice to say I am closing my accounts and never going to this bank again specifically South Haven, where clearly they have no concept of customer service or training.  Shame on you 5/3rd for allowing you employees to bully and demean your customers.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, South Haven Branch at South Haven, MI
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

the worst excuse for a bank, ever!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by FifthThirdRIPOFF, Oct. 02, 2013

this bank must make a fortune off of late fees. They are running a RACKET here because they will not accept postmarked pmts in the mail if they are received by them or processed by them after the bill due date... how is it that it takes 12-14 days for them to process my check??? I have been charged several "late payment" fees although I had mailed my check to them 10 days before it is due.  

I hope they crash and burn.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tiredof5/3
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tiredof53, Sep. 14, 2013

I've been with this bank for about a year, I originally opened my account in a different city and never had any problems and the employees were always so friendly and helpful! My husband and I just recently got married and moved 45 minutes away from my original branch. I started going to the one closer to our house and we ended up eventually joining our accounts at this time I was told anything that came out of my account automatically would come out of his account. I've recently accrued $220 in overdraft fees $110 of it I had no idea about because the first guy I talked to reversed them for me before I noticed them. But now after talking to the woman who originally did this joining of our accounts she refuses to return my other $110 and blamed ME saying the money wasnt in the account anyways!! When in fact it would have been had they not taken out $110 more out in fees!! I've gotten the number for the district manager and Palau on working my way up till I get my money back then I plan on closing every account we have with them and moving to a different bank! This bank is a scam and I've never had as many problems with one bank as I have had with this bank in the last two months... I went here because it was where my husband banked and I figured it'd be easier to join our accounts once we were married, boy was that a joke! I am half tempted to go the branch I originally opened my account at just to see I maybe they can help but I'm not sure if they would understand the situation. The first guy was so confused about what this lady did e had to talk to her first then made her call me back! I was so livid and still am! Now I see why this bank is still going, they steal people's money and lie!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Grand Ledge at Grand Ledge, MI
5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Home loan
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MadMom, Aug. 31, 2013

I have been appalled by the lack of professionalism of a particular loan officer at the Orleans In branch.  My daughter and her husband started the process of buying their first home several weeks ago. Story is WAY too long, but after asking for "updates" on banking, income, etc - they are STILL waiting. AND, instead of this guy calling to keep them updated - he sends a text instead. Last update on the whole situation didn't even come from him - it came via a phone call from the real estate agent for the sellers. We encouraged them to proceed with purchasing a their first home and it's been nothing by a nightmare.  They are now homeless and she is expecting their 2nd child any day.  They are living with us and my 9 mon. pregnant daughter has had to endure UNDUE stress just because of a lazy louse loan officer.  SHAME on YOu, S.....   

* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Orleans Branch at Orleans, IN
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible Experience
Overall Rating
by Tailgaters2, Aug. 23, 2013

I was using the Dowtown Grant Street Pittsburgh Pa Location, I used the ATM outside of the bank. I had withdrawn 200 from the ATM from another account , had my 3 yr old son in my left hand , grabbed the 200 out with my left, opened the door walked into the bank filled out a checking account deposit slip walked up to the teller!! She proceeds to tell me I was 20 Short!!! I said there is No Way!! I just withdrew the money from outside your bank! I asked them to review the cameras, they didn't have cameras!!! I then had to call corporate for them to tell me weeks later that they did their ledgers & counted all the monies from the ATM & no one was over or shorted on that day!! As a single mom I was so upset, not so much about $20 about the principal. How in the world does a huge Bank get away with ripping us off?? I was in the process of opening up my bar & grill so I let them know that they lost a Business Account with that move as well! Ps that didn't phase them either!! Poor Poor Poor business Practice

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, 66th And Cortez Branch at Bradenton, FL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by pending 2014-01-30 02:20:35
Coloma branch is horrible, Laurie Lawson wants to close my account and called me abusive. cant wait to get that on recording. Will take 5/3 to court, not only for slander but for all the fees they charge. You do a deposit one day of a payroll check, the same one that's been deposited for 6yrs there and 3days later you write a check off your account and they tell you your money is not available. There so called courtesy calls they give you to tell you they took more of your money. Casey is something else, likes to say whats on her mind and you say something back and she runs crying to her supervisor. It took 6 tries to do an address change on my daughters account. They never sent a replacement card for my husband when his expired. Had to fight with them for 4 weeks on that. I got a different story and explanation each time. 5/3 had a big law suit on them about 6 yrs ago for wrongfully charging fees. I think with all these complaints people should start another one. I might just do that. There is a paper trail for everything, I know I have my deposit slips showing when I made my deposits and how long they held it in order to charge overdraft fees. This place is a joke
< previous | Next >     page 3 of 12
SunTrust Bank, Park Road Branch 257
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4011 Park Road
Charlotte, NC 28209
SunTrust Bank, South Boulevard Branch 253
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5301 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Bank of America, Starmount Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5801 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Wells Fargo Bank, Starmount Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6101 S Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Peoples Bank, Banco De Le Gente
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6300 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
NewBridge Bank, Southpark Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5925 Carnegie Boulevard, Suite 100
Charlotte, NC 28209

View All