First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Review

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Review

Average rating based on 21 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
11
4 star:
1
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
9
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2
T&T Vending Owner
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by thunderbolt, Jan. 13, 2017

I was told by the teller that they were not giving out coin wrapper anymore if so she would have to charge me When did this start. Ihave been banking with first citizen for about 10 year I never heard this.If i have to buy them can they give me mine back.Iwill be checking with other bank to see what they policy are.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Edgefield Branch at Edgefield, SC
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Stephen Manganaro
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mango16, Jan. 05, 2017

I have had several issues over the last couple of months with this branch.  While they confirm a stop payment will be waived, it still occurs. I have to reconcile my account to validate the charge and seek reimbursement.  A local process is not to confirm the accuracy of a deposit. If there are more than 5 items, they scan the data in several times a day.  They do this for efficiency sake. What business not not validate deposits for accuracy at the time of deposit ? If their is a variance, they do not call the customer the same day to discuss and fix it. A letter is sent stating a variance. They offer no help to figure out the problem. They don't engage customers on issues. It too easy to just send a note. Matt the branch manager and Nikki the operations supervisors were not interested in helping resolve the problem. The hid behind the local process of efficiency. Incredible !!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Preston Branch at Cary, NC
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Branch Office!
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Orchardlady, Jul. 18, 2016

I have banked at several banks and currently have relationships at three different banks. The First Citizens Bank at Cherrydale has the nicest, friendliest, and most helpful staff. It isn't an obnoxious, faux friendliness, but a genuine appreciation for their customers. I drive by many banks to do business here.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Cherrydale Branch at Greenville, SC
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very good experiences
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by gleongelpi, Oct. 03, 2015

Excellent services. I've been with them for nearly three years. They haven't charged me a penny and I have not borrowed any money from them. I have a friend who has a mortgage with them and he has recommended the institution highly.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Charges you to breath when you come in the building
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RonA, Sep. 01, 2015

One of the worse banks I have ever dealt with. They charge a fee for everything. They are the first bank I have ever seen that charges for using their ATM when you have an account. If a deposit and debit come in on the same day expect to get charged an OD fee. I will be changing banks soon

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Hartsville Branch at Hartsville, SC
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by gleongelpi 2015-10-03 11:12:04
This is just not true. I have been with this bank for several years and they have not charged me a penny for any of the services. And they are very quick in helping one out.
Never coming back
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Jojo411, Aug. 05, 2015

I have only been to this branch once so my review is based upon my one and last visit. The staff (Rita C) is a rude, uneducated boor who is completely ignorant of basic foreign exchange. Even when she has the figures in front of her, her comment to a currency that is trading at .77 is that "it isn't so bad". Seriously? Her demeanour was rude, her contant leg moving, tapping her fingers made me feel like she was saying "I wish this client would just shut up and leave".  Her half-hearted apology was pathetic. I also feel like I was discriminated against due to my ethnic background. I'ms sure FC will be interested in this. She reminded me of a high-school bully. Not going back, taking my business elsewhere thank you.  No thank you. Almost 20 yrs with FC and this is the only employee I've ever had trouble with.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Charlotte-Blakeney Branch at Charlotte, NC
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very Personal
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by debbiebf, Nov. 22, 2014

Most banks seem to have a bustle of activity going on all the time. This one is quiet and spread out. Definitely great customer service. I have one small savings account but still am treated like a super important customer. Thank you.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Harrisonburg Main Branch at Harrisonburg, VA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Herbert Rodriguez
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HerbRodriguez, Apr. 07, 2014

I can't emphasize how well their customer service is. It's a community bank they really look out for what's best for you rather than what's more beneficial for them. I've had bad experience with Bank of America and Wells Fargo I chose to bank with a less commercial bank and I made the best decision. I really like the accounts they offer and also the staff at the ballston branch are very friendly and professional.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Arlington Main Branch at Arlington, VA
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Friendly, Realistic Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Orlando703, Mar. 31, 2014

It's very hard to find a bank that doesn't have many requirements for both personal and business accounts. As a Small business owner, I like the Free products and services that First Citizens has offered me throughout the years. I live in Arlington and I'm satisfied with the service that I receive from the employees at the Arlington Office.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Arlington Main Branch at Arlington, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Fee Hungry Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by pennysonthedollar, Mar. 01, 2014

Improper ethics, poor management, and fee hungry bankers!

First Citizens Rules and Regulations
"We may pay items drawn on your account in any order we determine, including paying certain categories of items (for example, electronic DEBITS) prior to processing other items (for example, DEPOSITS), even if paying a particular item results in an insufficient balance in your account to pay one or more other items that otherwise could have been paid out of your account"

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Greenville Downtown Branch at Greenville, NC
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

We encountered deceitful business practices, contradictory actions, unprofessionalism, and outdated banking systems.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by raleighbusinessowner, Feb. 13, 2014

The employees and management of First Citizens Bank, particularly the Olde Raleigh Village branch, have been deceptive, patronizing, and outright insulting. We transferred our multi million-dollar business bank account to First Citizens (FC) from a larger institution anticipating a friendly, “local” atmosphere with attention to detail and a personable staff. Unfortunately, we encountered a bank that cannot complete basic banking needs. FC repeatedly frustrated our company and our customers with its archaic banking structure and rude, offensive employees.
            There is a lack of transparency and communication, from the tellers, to the Operations Manager (a teller with too much power), to the Branch Manager (newly transferred with no understanding of how FC works), to the apparently non-existent Regional Operations Manager.
            We struggled with some of the Olde Raleigh Village branch employees for weeks even though we always approached them professionally. Therefore, I visited other branches for help. I was promised at the main branch on Fayetteville Rd. that the Regional Operations Manager would contact me to assist in resolving the issues with personnel at Olde Raleigh. After repeated attempts to follow up, I never received a call or email. They refused to provide her contact information so I could not reach out directly.
            When reviewing our proposal before opening the account, we were told that their outdated (circa 1998) business web portal, would be updated in a month or two; however, this never occurred. There is no live account updating so it is always a day behind. There is no way to see who sent a wire without paying a $5.00 “research” fee PER wire, which can only be requested at the branch where the account was created. There is no way to see to whom a wire was sent. There are no check images on statements. One can pay $30+ per month for a CD with check images, but it's unreasonable to expect customers to pay $360 a year for what is a standard service at other banks. If one didn't sign up for this initially, FC will not provide the images if requested later. Additionally, their form of fraud prevention is to put a hard hold on the account, which prevents any use of the account without visiting the branch where the account was opened.
            After approximately three months with FC, we received a letter from the Operations Manager (OM) stating they were going to close our account in 10 business days. No explanation or reason was given. They would not explain further other than stating the “back office” deemed it as such. They would not supply contact information for the “back office”. The OM immediately became impossible to interact with and went out of her way to cause us excessive trouble.
         The OM arbitrarily denied checks and charges on our debit card resulting in expensive returned check and chargeback fees. As the account closure approached, she became increasingly hostile and irrational. She threatened to close the account early for no reason, held her hand up in my face and refused to speak with me, and enjoyed abusing her authority by taking liberties to personally cause our business to suffer.
The last day the account was open, the OM and the Branch Manager promised that any outstanding checks or debits would clear our account, but we were lied to. They closed the account permanently without notifying us and refused to let several items clear, again resulting in fees and unhappy vendors.
         It is difficult to understand how First Citizens can successfully exist with this lack of infrastructure, technology, professionalism, integrity, and honesty. No manager seemed to be interested in our business. This consistent poor performance contrasts greatly with our new bank. I strongly discourage anyone from opening any account here due to the horrific experiences we had and the deceitful nature of some employees.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Olde Raleigh Branch at Raleigh, NC
10 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by pissed12 2014-05-12 12:44:55
I agree this bank is horrible and does not care about customers.  They are trying to extort over $500 of past statement fees on several accounts.  I was banking with Mountain First and they took over last week.  They never notified any customers that they need to print or download their forms right away.  They didn't even post it on their website.  They said "we sent a booklet a couple of weeks ago" - great!  That really helped me since I wasn't even home.  This was intentional, as they knew lots of people would not get the mail in time if they were out of town.  They could have began to notify people in January of this year but they decided they would wait till the very last minute.  If you don't open and read your mail on a daily basis you are screwed.  It's funny how none of the tellers ever warned customers in person for the last 5 months.
by Sincerely 2015-02-14 23:48:23
I went in to open an account. The person who was behind the desk was nosy and borderline rude.
the best
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by psychdoc, Jul. 30, 2013

This place is the best - the most attentive and responsive staff I've ever encountered.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Santa Fe Branch at Santa Fe, NM
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Lots of Experience with First Citizens and very pleased
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MedOfficeMgr, Jul. 19, 2013

I have banked with this bank for many years.  Although disappointed that they chose to remove my branch here in Cape Coral, I have continued to do business with them.  The branch manager, Cindy Cedeno, and her entire staff are very friendly and helpful.  I have both personal and commercial loans, and find their interest rates competitive.  When the interest on their commercial mortgages dropped Brian offered us a lower rate without having to go through the hassle of another appraisal. Their CD rates are about standard for the community.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Fort Myers Bell Tower Branch at Fort Myers, FL
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

First Citizens Bank Peacehaven Branch, Winston Salem NC
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Sararae, Jun. 19, 2013

Una Broady Davis is a capable and service oriented bank manager. The staff maintains a personal relationship with their customers. In general, excellent bank and superior customer service!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Peace Haven Branch at Winston Salem, NC
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best Bank in Raliegh
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Pattie, Feb. 19, 2013

This is by far the best bank in Raleigh.  The staff are wonderful.  They bend over backwards to help you with anything you need them for.  I've worked with other banks - I'm staying with First Citizens.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Stonehenge Branch at Raleigh, NC
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

I Do NOT LIKE First Citizens Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Bankssuck76, Jan. 17, 2013

Talk about SCREWING you over, EVERY chance they can squeeze a little money out of you. Andrew Bennett is my name.. I hope someone somewhere sees this at First citizens because it is time for them to change. This is rediculous. I feel like they are stealing my money. Not better than Wells Fargo, Bank of America, or BB&T. All of them suck too, but I'd rather go back to them. Marine Federal Here I come!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Cape Carteret Branch at Swansboro, NC
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Not a good experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by nothappy2, May. 17, 2012

I transferred my accounts from Wells Fargo b/c they were so bad and this was worse.  I had issues with Wells Fargo in leaving they were trying to charge me fees I did not owe.  I told First Citizens this when I opened my accounts. Wells Fargo decided to report us to Check Systems (after we had reached a settlement and they agreed NOT to do this).  It was reported this was resolved.  First Citizens called us and told us we had 30 days to find another bank b/c they had reported us...we were not delinquent, just in a dispute...and  the fact that is was resolved to the total satisfaction of both us and Wells Fargo did not matter to them.  After going through the hassle of moving everything, they closed our accounts for absolutely NO REASON. Their policies are ridiculous.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Alpharetta Commons Branch at Alpharetta, GA
7 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bandler, Mar. 22, 2012

Great bank, no complaints on my side.  They handle a lot of our accounts...Ashley is a fantastic bank manager!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, North Scottsdale Branch at Paradise Valley, AZ
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by GAmom, Feb. 16, 2012

The only reason the waiting time is excellent is because no one is ever in there (for obvious reasons). They also recently closed a branch near my home, which also does not surprise me. This bank's policies are overly favorable to the bank and not the customer. I thought I was going to a bank that valued relationships but clearly they do not. I've relocated several times for work so I've banked with a few different banks and this is clearly the worst I've ever encountered.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Brookhaven Branch at Atlanta, GA
7 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank ever
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by workerbee, Jan. 27, 2012

This is the worst bank I have ever dealt with. They do not value relationships.  You are a dollar sign to them and they will do anything they can to take your money.  They say tey are pro small business but they are absolutely not. Most stressful bank.  They create more problems then they help you fix.  Run...run away fast.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Kansas City Branch at Kansas City, MO
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2

Banks Nearby

SunTrust Bank, South Boulevard Branch 253 (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5301 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Wells Fargo Bank, Tyvola Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
712 Tyvola Road
Charlotte, NC 28217
Bank of America, Starmount Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5801 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Fifth Third Bank, Tyvola Banking Center Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5605 77 Center Drive
Charlotte, NC 28217
Wells Fargo Bank, Starmount Branch (0.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6101 S Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217

More