Fifth Third Bank, Review

Fifth Third Bank, Review

Average rating based on 138 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
42
4 star:
2
3 star:
1
2 star:
4
1 star:
89
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 7
5th 3rd Bank-Class Action Law Suit for Unjust Fees
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TracyShibla, Jan. 21, 2018

To Mr. Greg Carmichael, CEO, President, Director:

I am writing a formal complaint about 5th 3rd bank.  I was banking with BOA (personal checking) CHASE bank (business checking) until my neighbor advised me to switch 5th 3rd bank. He told me that my experience was going to be great as it is a smaller bank than CHASE. He advised me that they would help me save for a house and give me financial advice to get to obtain my short term and long-term goals. I trusted my neighbor as he has financial wealth.

I went to the 5th 3rd branch in Lake Mary Blvd in Lake Mary, FL. I spoke with Brian Panzella, the branch’s Assistant Vice President, and he set me up with a checking and savings account. After opening up this account, I opened up a 401K.  

Then, I received several personal phone calls from that branch to move my business account over to 5th 3rd from Chase. I met with Brian again. I voiced my concern about moving my business account over because 5th 3rd has higher balance requirements than Chase. During this time, I also voiced my concern that I was switching jobs and would not have the full required amount of direct deposit going into the checking account for the first month. I did not want to be charged $11.00 fee. I explained that by the 2nd month, I would have enough direct deposit. Brian assured me that I wouldn’t be charged the $11.00 fee if I moved the business over from Chase.

Well, I was charged the $11.00 fee. Additionally, 5th 3rd bank could not correctly print my business name on the debit card. This did not sit well with me. I went into the branch closest to my job and I asked to close out the account. I explained that I was closing out of my account over the $11.00 fee. The account was closed. I signed papers that the account was closed. I moved my business checking back over to CHASE because 1) they have less balance requirements 2) free checks, 3) better office hours and locations.

Several weeks later, I went into a 5th 3rd bank in Casselberry, FL to close out my personal checking account. During that time, I was informed by a banker that my business account had been reopened due to an automatic withdrawal and that I had over $400 in fees. I asked, “Why hasn’t anyone called me?” No one had called to notify me of this, but the local branch was able to call me to solicit me for business?!? She said she wasn’t sure why no one called. She did tell me that a letter was mailed to me. She printed a copy of the letter. The address was correct, but I never received it. I explained to her that I live in a condo with a very large mail kiosk and unless they certified the letter, there was no guarantee that I would get it. She told me that I should have signed online to view the account daily. I went home immediately and signed in. The business checking still showed closed. There were no e-mails or alerts that popped up when I signed in. This lady was telling me it was showing reopened on the bank side.  However, online it showed as closed. She told me that I needed to go back and talk to Brian at the Lake Mary branch to see if he could waive the fees. This lead me to the impression he could waive some of the fees.

That same Saturday before Christmas, I went and saw Brian. His desk and office were filled with boxes filled with presents from amazon. He explained he was wrapping Christmas presents for his family. He was mid-wrapping when I walked in. He advised me that it is their policy to reopen a closed account if an automatic withdrawal is attempted. They need to charge something crazy like $37 for overdraft, $8 daily fees, $11.00 daily fees. Even though it was one attempt, he explained that there are daily fees for at least 20 days following the attempt. There were all these daily charges that were occurring. Since there was a second attempt, he told me that they would continue to occur for the next 20 days. He told me that he could not stop the charges that were going to continue to occur even though he witnessed me call the company attempting the withdrawal and advised them to stop auto-payments. He was more concerned with wrapping presents than taking care of the customer.

Brian told me that they do not call patients to let them know about overdrafts. That it is “against bank policy to notify customers that they are in negative.” Last year, I worked for a physician’s private practice. I was a co-signer on the bank accounts. There was a week where the balance went negative. The bank, a competitor of 5th 3rd, called both the owner and myself to let us known that the account was in the negative on a daily basis. This was despite me telling the bank that I was aware and that a deposit would not hit until next week. They continued to give us the courtesy of calling daily.

Brian told me that there was nothing he could do. I asked for the regional manager’s phone number. He told me that her name was Fallon Shields, but advised me that she would be unable to return any calls until after January 2, 2018 as she was on vacation. My father, who was with me, asked him if anyone was covering for Fallon. He advised us that no one would be covering for her while she was on vacation. So as my father pointed out, I basically had to continue to incur additional fees because no regional manager was available.

I went home after leaving Brian’s office. I immediately left a voicemail for Fallon. Additionally, I called customer service. They advised me that there is a standard amount of fee forgiveness. They applied it to my account. I asked why Brian didn’t offer me this standard fee forgiveness. Customer service could not answer me. They agreed that this was not right and told me that I could discuss this with Fallon. I asked customer service for another regional manager’s contact information. Customer service transferred me to an Oviedo branch. I spoke with a Steve at Oviedo. He advised me that he could not give me the name or contact information of the regional manager over that branch. He told me to wait for Fallon to call me back.

The day after Christmas, I went back in to Lake Mary branch to close out my personal account and savings account. At that time, I asked Brian why he didn’t offer me the standard fee forgiveness that customer service gave me. He told me that he did not want to offer it to me since I was closing out my account and that I was no longer a customer. I responded that I was still a customer as I had a personal checking, savings, and 401K at the bank. He just shrugged and told me that he didn’t want to help since I closed out the one account. Was this the excellent service my neighbor was speaking of?!?

After January 2, 2018, I left multiple messages for Fallon.  I finally received a call back and from her on January 17, 2017 after all possible charges could hit (remember 20 days-worth of charges). She actually left me a voicemail stating, “I got your voicemails. I did not call you back right away because I saw your account is closed and I’m assuming everything is resolved. If you still need something, you can call me back.”  It took the regional manager over 2 weeks to return my phone calls. Is this the excellent customer service that my neighbor was speaking of?

Of course, I went back to my neighbor and shared my experience with him. He went down to the Deltona 5th 3rd branch and immediately pulled out over $1 million dollars on December 26, 2018. He explained to the branch manager that he recommended a friend and that I got treated like shit.  He advised me that he will continue to pull out the rest of his investments from 5th 3rd. Of course, the day I went to close my account out, I shared this with Brian; that by him not crediting me the standard allowed amount cost him my neighbor’s account, which was more than $1 million. Brian and Fallon need to learn that customer service is important. Word of mouth travels and just because my account may not be worth $1 million, my friend’s account may be. Therefore, all customers should be treated with respect and fairness.

Additionally, after searching about 5th 3rd bank online, I found several class action lawsuits were filed against 5th 3rd Bank for unjust bank fees. 5th 3rd Bank has been making money by charging fees to accounts that have already been closed and the previous customers have no knowledge of this. There are thousands of complaints online by people that had very similar situations to mine. I have been mistreated by 5th 3rd bank.

I am asking that as the President of 5th 3rd Bank to please revoke all account fees that have been charged to me. Additionally, I’d like a written apology from both Brian and Fallon as I have been mistreated and ignored.  I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Tracy Shibla



* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Lake Mary Office at Lake Mary, FL
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Amazing Staff!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by starone, Jan. 09, 2018

The staff is so friendly at this branch! I don't bank anywhere else!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Norwood Branch at Cincinnati, OH
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Thank you!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Itbmalon, Mar. 06, 2017

Today Amy from this branch took the time to help my daughter who was trying to get her 5/3rd prepaid Db card managed by a 3rd party setup for intl travel. My daughter was not having success and Amy called them to get it worked out, when it she didn't have to. My daughter and I truly appreciated her assistance. As my daughter said "Amy got me taken care of, bless her!"

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Worthington Banking Center Branch at Columbus, OH
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Bill80, Nov. 13, 2016

Moved here about a yr go, bank was recommend by family, Spent the last 30yrs doing business with Banks,  This bqnk is old school.  They excel with customer service. Every one there treats you like family,  Very rare in this day and age. Some of the banks in NorthPort might try and learn from them.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, North Port Branch at North Port, FL
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

SATISIFIED CUSTOMER
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bepate, Sep. 23, 2016

I came to this bank to open new account for the $200 special. I was pleasantly surprised to find I only had to wait approximately 5 minutes prior to being waited on by the loan officer, Jeff. In addition to Jeff being so personable and knowledgeable, professional and efficient, I have also found the tellers to be very available and helpful. Jeff was very thorough and explained every detail I needed to open a new account, along with several features which were unique to a checking account. It is very refreshing to find the MANY benefits provided by a back, as well as being treated as a valued customer, not taking money for every little decision. I am very impressed and hope others will take advantage of their wonderful benefits and services.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Heartland Crossing Branch at Camby, IN
1 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Overall Services
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cinkat1222, Jul. 12, 2016

We have several checking, savings, car loan and a flex line of credit. This branch is super! They are professional, always friendly, go above and beyond to help you with any problem. I can't say enough good things about all the staff at this branch!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Hurstbourne Branch at Louisville, KY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Helpful to a full family of six
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bhiros, Jun. 01, 2016

  We have gotten to know all the tellers and staff. They are beyond helpful toward everyone.  Especially helping the kids understand money and encouraging their saving for their future.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Parma Heights at Cleveland, OH
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Busines owner
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Unhappywithservice, Jan. 27, 2016

Staff is ok, the policys stink major, I have been with 53rd over 20 yrs and I'm leaving. Fees are high, transaction do not hit your account 3-5 business day and they INVENTMENT division is lacking major customer service. NOT helpful at all. Very rude, not supportive or engaged to help customer.

BYE BYE......

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Cuyahoga Falls Branch at Cuyahoga Falls, OH
8 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bank review
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Suzannezaprincess, Dec. 25, 2015

 This bank makes us feel like family they do a great job they're very friendly very organized and I've been there six years now.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Big Bend Branch at Riverview, FL
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Satisfied in Pittsburgh
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Imbatman, Sep. 18, 2015

I've been using the branch in Robinson Twp, PA for 6 years.  I can say that out of all the banks that I have dealt with for my personal accounts and my business accounts over the past 22 years, 5th 3rd has been fantastic.  The staff are friendly and know my accounts.  Even new staff members get to know my accounts within the first couple visits.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Robinson Township Branch at Pittsburgh, PA
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bad Experiences at Lake Forest, Sanford FL Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ChangingBanks, Aug. 20, 2015

Less than a year ago I made a large deposit into my existing account. The teller loudly stated so the entire bank could hear, this can take 12 days to clear because you don't have enough to cover it. So much for privacy. I also have a mastercard with this bank. I have an 812 credit score so you know I pay on time all the time. I was two days late with payment and then paid the entire balance in full. They still charged me late fees. I called and they were rude and hung up on me. I'm a long term customer with an stellar credit record and I paid the balance in full. Now, I received a large monetary gift from a relative. I opened a third account with it. I was told it would 12 days  of days to clear but they could on Monday, have the manager release the funds. Then it's Wednesday, the funds are not released. I call after being transferred several times and was told it would clear Thursday. Guess what? Hasn't cleared. It's been almost two weeks now. On top of this the rep who opened my account gave me the third degree as if I stole the money or something. Where did it come from? Is it a loan? What are your plans for it? None of your business, just open the account. Been a customer for 5 years and giving you more business. Now I am still without access to my funds and when I called last I was told some excuse about no one was there who could release the funds. Are you a bank? Ridiculous. Do not bank here. They treat you poorly, almost like a criminal, they are inept and lazy and don't keep their promises. I plan to remove my accounts from here and go with another bank when I have the time to deal with all the hassles that involves. In the meantime, it is too late for me, save yourselves!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Lake Forest Branch at Sanford, FL
9 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

26 year former bank employee now disabled
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SadiePanama, Jul. 06, 2015

I'm rather new to you as an account holder but II've had a mortgage with you for many years. Even did a refi with you some years back. I know banking like the back of my hand so I know what goes on. You do need more customer service people to wait on customers in the lobby area, at least there needs to be 2 of them. I'm referring to the Lakeland, Fl. South Combee Road Branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Combee at Lakeland, FL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Nice bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Blkpanther, Jun. 22, 2015

Nice bank with Nice people'

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Singleton Square Branch at Norcross, GA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Russ Ramey owner RNR Group
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RussRamey6, Apr. 14, 2015

I have dealt with this branch for 15 years and had nothing but great service. Fess, deposits, cards, loan initiation. Nothing but very good service. They referred me to a loan office down town who completely turned me off. But the associates at this branch have always taken care of my personal and business account needs. I have had most of my children start 5th 3rd accounts for this very reason.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Lima Cable Road Banking Center at Lima, OH
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bad service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Suzie2, Apr. 08, 2015

I have waited one month after refinancing my home and I still don't have access to my equity line of credit. The closer had no idea about the forms I was signing and couldn't answer all of my questions. I wasn't told up front that I would have to set up escrow myself which I can't do until they set up the mortage payments and I have an account number.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Sarasota/Cattlemen Branch at Sarasota, FL
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Nice Staff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by AnyTimeGreatness, Mar. 31, 2015

Let me tell you a story, about a lovely lady. Katie Merrick, has helped me with nothing but the up most respect and great customer service, every time I've ever been to this branch. She was very helpful answered all my questions with a smile and up beat attitude. She rocked my socks! Keep up the fantastic work Katie.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Nippers Corner Branch at Brentwood, TN
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

WASTE OF TIME & MONEY
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by BNKSK, Mar. 28, 2015

I have a mortgage here.  I have a good amount of equity in my home.  I wanted to get a very small home equity loan.  Along with the all the paperwork the bank requires, I need to get this homeowners form from my association that costs $150.  BEFORE I paid that, I made it CRYSTAL CLEAR, I thought, to the person handling my "case", make sure everything will go through okay because I don't want to have to go through all this and then hear a sorry, we can't.  I thought that was done, as it should be for every applicant!  So I paid $150 for nothing because the request was denied due to my credit not being where they want it to be.  I could have been told this WAY BEFORE I wasted my time & money.  Just ridiculous!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Rolling Meadows Branch at Rolling Meadows, IL
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unhappy customer today March 19th 2015
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bevb, Mar. 19, 2015

Today your teller I had made me feel like I was taking her own money out of MY PERSONAL account. She threw the slip at me and said fill this out, then left to ask whoever about whatever of my own money. You need to train them on better customer service and what happened to handing out money all facing 1 way, not folded in half or ends folded over. We have been customer to your bank way before those girls were born and I am not happy with the way I was treated today. You need to bring Renee and MaryAnn back to train those girls on good old customer service and manners.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Vermilion at Vermilion, OH
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank Ever
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Madd, Feb. 27, 2015

I have a car loan through this bank.  I am so mad at the dealership.  I asked if I can pay my bill online. You CAN NOT pay online unless you have a checking/savings account.  I mailed in a check for my payments 7 days before the due date.  3 weeks after the due date still not cashed.  I then ask for autobill payer.  I was told I only needed to fax back a paper authorizing them to take the funds.  2 weeks later, I received several forms  requiring my signature and a voided check (and the other check still not cashed nor returned).  Truly outdated bank so not worth the hassle. STAY AWAY... AVOID AT ALL COST

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, College Plaza Branch at Hollywood, FL
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Fifth Third Bank, Telegraph / Maple Banking Center
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by RP3650, Dec. 30, 2014

The entire staff at the bloomfied 5/3 is hands down the frndliest and most courtious i have ever banked with. I find myself driving out of my way just to bank at that specific location. its nice to walk into the bank and the entire staff greets you by name

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Telegraph / Maple Banking Center Bra at Bloomfield Hills, MI
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 7

Banks Nearby

Woodforest National Bank, 0470 Amelia Walmart Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
1815 State Route 125
Amelia, OH 45102
RiverHills Bank, Amelia Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1719 Ohio Pike
Amelia, OH 45102
U.S. Bank, Ohio Pike Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1259 West Ohio Pike
Amelia, OH 45102
The Park National Bank, 2418 Amelia Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1187 Ohio Pike
Amelia, OH 45102
JPMorgan Chase Bank, Amelia Branch (1.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2 West Main Street
Amelia, OH 45102

More