Webster Bank, Review

Webster Bank, Review

Average rating based on 13 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
6
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
6
I Came for the Rate and Stayed for the Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by FHH0, Sep. 01, 2020

The bank offered a unique competitive rate but clearly understands service. They know me by name on the second call; provide money and slips to my car with COVID precautions; think through to solutions.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Newton Center Branch at Newton Center, MA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Feeling Robbed
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ZERAFIA, Jan. 16, 2020

This morning I checked my account to see what funds were available for my grocery shopping trip later this evening. As I logged in, I was horrified to see I had yet TWO MORE OVERDRAFT FEE's both at 37.50 each. To my dismay I called the 1.800 number to speak to a representative  because I had the funds in my savings account. The lady gave me such a ridiculous excuse, blaming me the customer for not selecting the correct account in which my funds would transfer over. After several minutes of listening to her excuse I decided to close out this account and switch banks. This IS HEARTBREAKING, I joined Webster after my father died because it was HIS BANK, I thought this was a Bank designed to help families, instead it takes $75.00 from me, a single mother for NO REASON.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Bloomfield Branch at Bloomfield, CT
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by WebsterISGreat 2020-05-27 13:15:18
All you needed to do instead of speaking with someone on their 800 number is to call the branch office and ask for the manager or assistant manager, explain the situation and the $37.00 overdraft fees would have disappeared. It would have taken less time than to write an OMG I am so disappointed message and you would have gotten satisfaction. Unless you make a habit of bouncing checks, the people at Webster Bank are very forgiving. Call the branch next time.
by JCapp 2020-11-05 15:06:21
Nice staff except one person everytime I go to make a transaction with Shannon it’s a problem. Like being in another Country. So I pulled my account out as did most of my family.
Thankful for a change in management
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cranston4Life, Oct. 06, 2015

The new branch manager and assistant manager truly understand customer service. They go above and beyond to provide excellent customer service. I wish more companies provide the service this branch does.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Pontiac Ave Branch at Cranston, RI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Good Service, Solid Staffing and Overall Professionalism
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Taquoshi, Jun. 22, 2015

I've been a Webster Customer for about 10 years now.  I have had extremely good luck dealing with this particular branch. We had a situation come up where another financial institution had a large amount of our money and gave us a stunning $2.06 in interest. No one from that institution contacted me about a better return on investment or a higher yield.  I went to Webster to put the balance of the money in a holding account prior to investing it. The manager, Kelley Hefferan, came over and showed me a high yield account that would actually give me some interest over the short term.  The staff at that branch has always been pleasant and helpful.

* this review was made on Webster Bank, Norwalk East Branch at Norwalk, CT
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Outstanding
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RickfromNC, Jan. 14, 2015

I love this bank, especially the chase avenue branch, theres this slim, brunette woman who is quite possibly the prettiest woman in the world. I would love to tell her but too scared in front of employees.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Chase Avenue Branch at Waterbury, CT
2 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Yelled at by bank manager
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by yellingatcustomers, Dec. 13, 2014

The branch manager arrogantly admits that he yells at ANYONE who yells at him either on the phone or in person.  Is this exceptional customer service?  What if this happened to an elderly person?  Is it ever okay, under any circumstances, to yell at a customer?   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Cheshire-North Branch at Cheshire, CT
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

An excellent branch and staff!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SangredeToro, Nov. 06, 2014

I went there in early October of 2014 for a bank funds letter, and was assisted by a friendly, professional and extremely lovely young lady named Chantelle.  She was both graceful and professional and helped me fully with the bank letter which I needed to have written. I would highly recommend this bank and branch of professional folks!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Bald Hill Road Branch at Warwick, RI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

phony reviews
Overall Rating
by jessies, Oct. 16, 2014

I have a few ira's with the bank and was searching for their phone number and saw the bad reviews. in defense of the bank at least three of the reviews were clearly written by the same person, perfect punctuation same cadence and even capitalizing one word in each review for EMPHASIS!!
liar liar!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Ansonia Branch at Ansonia, CT
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

rogue employee
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mauricev, Jan. 14, 2014

The particular branch in question once had a rogue employee on his own create an account in my name. Weirdly, he put a $1,000 (from an unknown source) into the account. I spent it without even knowing its was not mine. However, the account came with overdraft protection and a line of credit and ultimately the bank began charging me and even reporting me to the credit bureaus. They refused to acknowledge what happened or correct what they did.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Mamaroneck Branch at Mamaroneck, NY
3 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Webster Bank East Windsor - Avoid
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bankergal, Sep. 16, 2013

I walked in there today to make a simple deposit.  There were four tellers at four windows.  Not one even looked up to see if they could be of help.  Not one said hello.  I had a similar experience with the same branch--but different tellers last week.  Who in the world is training these people?  They have terrible customer service, aren't particularly friendly when they do finally deign to provide the needed service, and at the conclusion try to sell you a credit card.  I absolutely HATE going in there.  Getting ready to go elsewhere.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, East Windsor Branch at East Windsor, CT
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Would not give $500 at closing for military
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by dann, May. 14, 2013

I worked on a refi for my in-laws in December 2012-February 2013. It not only took forever to close, but we kept getting more paperwork to sign after the closing. The WORST part is that the rep, Kimberly Lynch, just happened to "forget" to tell us that military (active or retired) get $500 back at loan closing.  I found out a week or so after the closing while looking at Webster's website for an answer to a question I had.  When I asked her about that, she said she simply forgot to ask during the assessment since she was talking with me and not them and that they won't make good on the money back!  Oh, OK-no problem.  The bank withheld $500 from a couple of seniors, one of which is going through cancer treatment-no problem that you didn't do your job!  BIG thanks for serving our country!  Now the loan was sold to Fannie Mae a week before the first payment was to begin.  Webster Bank is not to be trusted.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Cheshire Branch at Cheshire, CT
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

this branch is CLOSED
Overall Rating
by doram, Apr. 27, 2012

First of all Grand Union closed almost a decade ago. It is now a Shop Rite
This branch closed October 2011

* this review was made on Webster Bank, Southbury Grand Union Market Branch at Southbury, CT
2 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banking in Ridgefield
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Bridge, Feb. 11, 2012

This is one of the most inept banks I have ever dealt with. Total confusion with simple processes. No communication between branches.  Inability to explain banking notices and then shirking of responsibility. I don't see how this bank can survive.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Webster Bank, Ridgefield Branch at Ridgefield, CT
4 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

Eastern Bank, Kendall Square Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
287 3rd St
Cambridge, MA 02142
Boston Private Bank & Trust Company, Kendall Square Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
265 Main Street
Cambridge, MA 02142
Bank of America, Cambridgeside Galleria Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
100 Cambridgeside Spc S203
Cambridge, MA 02141
Bank of America, Kendall Square (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
92 Ames St
Cambridge, MA 02142
Cambridge Trust Company, Kendall Square (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
326 Main Street
Cambridge, MA 02142

More