Umpqua Bank, Review

Umpqua Bank, Review

Average rating based on 27 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
16
4 star:
1
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
9
< Previous Page     Page 2 of 2
Never Again
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by AutumnBorn, Oct. 12, 2013

1.  Took more than 10 days to verify my identity to obtain a debit card.  I've never had to do more than show my ID at any other financial institution to obtain a debit card.

2.  A (now former) business partner attempted to make himself sole owner of the account and all other members signers.  When I said "no way" to the banker (a friend of now former business partner), the account was frozen until their legal department could figure it out.  I own the majority of the business, yet they felt it necessary to freeze the account.

3.  I had to freeze out my (now former) business partner in a merger.  But wait...the Umpqua Bank legal department hadn't OK'd it, so paying debts and DOR isn't yet possible.

As soon as Umpqua Bank decides they have no choice but to let my money go (I was the sole investor), I'm taking every dime out and never looking back.

The only good thing I can say is, I've never had to wait in line.  Due to lack of business?

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Bellevue Branch at Bellevue, WA
2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Do not use Umpqua bank - no business freindley
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DoNotUseUmpquaBank, Jun. 21, 2013

DO NOT USE UMPQUA BANK – They are not business friendly - DO NOT USE UMPQUA BANK –

Business have transaction needs and business need to move cash form one location to another and purchase products and pay vendors.  Typically this is done with standing wires and business debit cards

I decided to give Umpqua Bank a try, and this is what I found

1.        UMPQUA BANK is not business friendly;  Umpqua bank has no concept in handling business accounts or the needs that business that have to pay vendors with debit cards.

2.        UMPQUA BANK force business transactions to use wires on transfers over 10K

3.        UMPQUA BANK has un-realistic limits of $3,000 on debt card transactions (regardless of how much money you place in a debit card account.  

4.        UMPQUA BANK  attitude is that it is their money and they are doing you a favor (and if you write checks over $10K, watch out)

5.        UMPQUA BANK has no concept of a standing wire to pay the same business vendor multiple times.

6.        UMPQUA BANK places 5 day hold on Cashier Checks drawn from sister banks.


What a mistake!  I have other bank accounts for my other businesses at one of those big nasty banks.  I have no limits on my business debit card.  I have standing wires to pay my vendors.  So why did I create the new business at Umpqua Bank?  I wanted to try something different - Big mistake on my part.  

I’ll un-wind my business transactions from Umpqua Bank and go elsewhere – I recommend that you do the same.
Do not use Umpqua bank.  Do not make the mistake that I did.  Umpqua bank does not have their act together and I doubt that they will under the executive management in place.  Who knows, maybe the feds will shut them down in a bank audit.

DO NOT USE UMPQUA BANK – there are better banks then Umpqua - UMPQUA BANK IS A JOKE


* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Hawthorne Branch at Portland, OR
8 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SueR, Sep. 11, 2012

I was very surprised to see a negative comment regarding this branch of Umpqua, as I have only positive experiences there. For that reason I decided to leave a comment, not something I would normally take the time to do. About a year ago a nonprofit I work with transferred their money from a larger national bank to Umpqua in search of better service. They have always bent over backwards to help us, it has been great.  So impressive have the folks at this branch been, than several of our board members have moved their personal accounts to Umpqua as well.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Sellwood Branch at Portland, OR
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Umpqua Bank Sellwood
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cannitz, May. 29, 2012

They claim "The World's Greatest Bank", but in today's banking world, the bar isn't exactly set very high, so I'm not sure what that is saying. My experience is, a bank is a bank and Umpqua is just a bank.  
It may be a great place to work, the atmosphere always is friendly, and they enjoy their community events, free cookies, coffee, tea, ice cream, etc.  But I would rather have lower fees, higher interest, and less feeding junk to the community in a marketing scheme designed to polish their image.  Although I will say, I'm looking forward to stopping in and enjoying those freebies now that I am not paying for them.
I was okay with paying the fees if there is a mutual beneficial relationship. However, as with all banks, it’s very one-sided, the profit side for the bank.  My complaints with Umpqua Bank:
1.         I worked with the County, our client, and our client's bank to legally transfer over a $150 check.  Despite banking over 3 years with Umpqua, supporting their Green Street Lending program, and having $100k plus sitting in their low interest Money Market account, Umpqua "The Community" bank, the "World's Greatest Bank", refused to work with us to cash it.  When I asked the manager why the process was in place if one couldn't cash it, I was told it was done on an exceptional basis.  Which says, we can do it, but not for you, and it was the final straw for me.  Such a slap in the face.

2.         Adam White made an error on my account on a $72,000 check that required me to redeposit the check.  Not only did I lose out on an investment opportunity,  I got charged $25.00 for issuing the check. When I pointed out the error and the trouble it caused, Adam  did not have the professionalism to apologize for his huge error.  How is that for customer service.

3.         The next day when my account went NSF and I asked them to credit the $35 NSF fee, they refused because it was my error. Well, I didn't get to charge them $35 for their error.  

4.        When mentioning I was frustrated and would be closing my accounts, the response was “Sorry to hear that” and the teller walked off.  No questions asked on why.  I sure didn’t feel valued.  

5.        When closing my account, I thought all the checks cleared and was preparing to close the account, when a $1.80 charge come through which they covered, but charged me $35.00 and $7.00 a day until I discovered it.  Because by now, I was considered “a complainer” they weren’t about to give me a courtesy call, which again says more about the staff,  and their professionalism.   

6.        They claim a direct link to the bank president, Ray Davis, but I tried twice to reach him and never even received a form letter response from him.  But I did get a voicemail from someone in customer service, and the $25.00 check fee credited to my account.
We are a small, soul-based business seeking a financial institution that I thought would be supportive of small businesses. This wasn't a good fit for us.  We moved to OnPoint Credit Union, where by the way, the $35 one-time and $7.00/day fees don't exist for us.  
Are they the World’s Greatest Bank?  Perhaps, but being great isn’t what is important to me, what’s important to me is being appreciated and treated as a valued community member, without high fees and low interest paying accounts.  We found that at OnPoint Credit Union.

I am proud today to say that I no longer do business with any banks, we're now strictly credit union for personal and business banking.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Sellwood Branch at Portland, OR
19 of 26 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Don't let one bad apple spoil the whole bunch!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by imcyndi, Feb. 01, 2012

Umpqua bank has been excellent to deal with. David the manager is superior when it comes to banking. I personally dealt with Anthony when opening my account and he was friendly and professional. I have referred others to Umpqua bank and specifically this branch and all have been satisfied with their experience. I highly reccomend Umpqua and wish they had a branch in Spanish Springs as well.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Reno Main Branch at Reno, NV
5 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by 49erfan 2013-10-22 19:13:39
We have had EXCELLENT and personalized service from this branch of Umpqua.  Anthony and Sherry in particular have been terrific since we opened our two accounts with them more than two years ago. Our son manages a bank in Santa Cruz County and everything he told us we should expect from customer service has come to us and more!
Incompetence. I have zero faith that the employees of this bank know what they're doing.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Imustcreate, Dec. 01, 2011

The incompetence at this bank is shocking. My husband and I have never been so frustrated with a bank location. The employees there do not seem to know the banking policies and some of them will tell you one thing over the phone, but then others will change the story once you enter the bank. They cannot even complete simple tasks such as opening and closing accounts without major issues which require several phone calls to the manager. My husband and I have been banking with Umpqua since 2005, and we have never experienced such awful customer service. In an era where banking institutions are being so heavily scrutinized by the public, you would think they would treat their customers as if they actually cared about them. If you want good coffee go to a local coffeeshop. If you want good banking experiences, then AVOID THIS BANK.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, South Waterfront Branch at Portland, OR
9 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best Bank in Town
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by lbotsford, Oct. 13, 2011

I love using this branch of Umpqua Bank.  Everyone is SO friendly, the coffee is great and my transactions are handled quickly and efficiently.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Henderson Center Branch at Eureka, CA
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by ModHaus 2013-12-26 13:26:05
We have been very happy with the service that Umpqua Bank Esther Short Branch has provided us. The bank employees have been very helpful, efficient, friendly and supportive. If there is a problem or delay, they get right to solving it. One example; our business has had personal mail deliveries by the Umpqua Bank staff, just to make sure things keep moving. If you have a business in Vancouver, I would highly recommend this bank to you.
< Previous Page     Page 2 of 2

Banks Nearby

U.S. Bank, Myrtle Creek Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
105 North Main Street
Myrtle Creek, OR 97457
Banner Bank, Riddle Branch (6.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
315 North Main Street
Riddle, OR 97469
Umpqua Bank, Canyonville Branch (6.8 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
215 South Main Street
Canyonville, OR 97417
Banner Bank, Winston Branch (9.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
40 Northwest Glenhart
Winston, OR 97496

More