Truist Bank, Review

Truist Bank, Review

Average rating based on 44 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
15
4 star:
2
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
23
< Previous Page | Next Page >     Page 2 of 3
Very Unsatisfied
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Alex1977, Jan. 18, 2015

I use to do business with BOA and decided to switch to BBT(The branch on Lantana and Congress), at the beginning most things were fine,when I had a problem or wanted to have my questions clarified about my four accounts i use to call the manager directly, and that manager assisted me with no problem.( Manager Mr.Christopher who was AMAZING!!!).Once he was gone things at that branch started going down hill. I had to go into the lobby a few times , besides having to wait a long time(she was the only one in the lobby) because the person who was suppose to assist me was to busy laughing on the phone, knowing that not only me but other people were waiting to get there problems resolved, when i was finally assisted the customer service was really poor and i felt like i was one more number . besides the smell of alcohol from Lori.She was unable to resolve my problems and i decided not to deal with it and leave. Now I am trying to decide what bank to go with , BBT will no longer have my business.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Andros Isle Branch at West Palm Beach, FL
8 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:24:25
You sound really annoying. Have you ever heard of self help?
Deleted my account even though I broke no policies!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mikeshanklin, Nov. 07, 2014

I recently recommended a friend to BB&T, and when they created his account they told us the incorrect amount of time for his funds availability. We went back in to file a complaint and after speaking with Kevin Boyette, we thought our problems were solved. Little did we know that he was upset that we complained about their lack of customer service and issues, so about a week later he canceled both my bank account and my friends. I was just about to transfer tens of thousands of dollars from Suntrust and Bank of America too, glad I didn't start relying on BB&T full time or I would have been without my money for a couple weeks while the closed account check came to the house. Kevin Boyette is a snake who lies straight to your face. How anybody can trust this branch is beyond me, they certainly have lost my entire family's support as well as anybody else who will listen to me. I will be filing complaints with the BBB and BB&T national. How dare anyone deletes my account when I never broke any company policies! Kevin Boyette should be fired immediately!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Princeton Main Branch at Princeton, NC
13 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:25:59
You realize they wouldn't close your account unless they had a really GOOD reason to (like fraud and misuse). Just FYI.
BRANCH BANKING AND TRUST = CORRUPTION AND FRAUD
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by rzwhipple, Apr. 17, 2014

FIRST their people in the mortgage loan department provide lies and more lies to their clients.

SECOND: they refuse to live up to agreements made in good faith

THIRD:  their management refuse to consider the possibility that their people are providing lies and fraudulent information to their customer.  Any problems are never the banks problems and they really do not care if the screw a customer totally and destroy them.  Then have their collective heads planted where the sun never shines and they really do not give a f..... about customers.  The have proven this in spades with the handling of my account

FOURTH:   after totally screwing up my mortgage loan account which I corrected the payment issues when they informed me of their screw up and false agreement.  Then they demanded even more money because they screwed up again and so we started all over again.  The whole time they had my house in foreclosure even though I was making all the payments they demanded.

FIFTH:  Because I had in fact been able to pay their demands and not default on the loan, they then recorded with the credit score companies that I was six months late on payments and thus destroyed my credit.

SIXTH: I then wrote to them and requested that they reconsider the damage reports to my credit and they more or less told me to go screw myself.  They had provided only true and factual data to them and I could rotate on it if I didn't like what they reported.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Wilson Main Branch at Wilson, NC
19 of 21 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by Donv 2014-07-24 19:16:44
MY EXPERIENCE IS THE SAME.  THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THE CUSTOMER PERIOD.  TAKE YOUR MONEY AND BUSINESS SOMEWHERE ELSE.
by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:31:29
I can promise you no matter what bank you're with. If you're an A hole, rude, stupid, or try and take advantage of the system- no one will care about you!
by kelleydjones 2016-09-08 21:14:40
What do u guys expect from RAVENS fans!! I'm on this site bcuz Branch Banking & Trust (a financial institution I've never heard of) sent over a $1700 dollar debt in my name to a collection agency.  While looking up who these people were and how I could contact a human and I was forwarded to this page?????
 Reading these reviews I understand exactly.. I see nothing but a mountain of bullshit ahead of me if I'm goin to clear this up EVER
Customer service? What's that?
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Keywest123, Mar. 03, 2014

Horrible experience at the Key West BB&T location trying to start a retirement fund today! The gentlemen I spoke with in the branch suggested a money market account paying .01% with multiple fees. Never suggested I speak with a financial advisor. Then when I asked about it he said I would get a call from him in a couple weeks to set up an appointment with a financial advisor coming down from Miami. They didn't have one on staff in Key West. I left and called the 1-800 number and the financial advisor will be there in two days! Seriously, today is Monday..the financial advisor will be there this Wednesday, Thursday and Friday with an open schedule and the gentleman within this bank had no clue! The customer service is totally lacking and so is any simple helpful banking knowledge.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Key West Main Branch at Key West, FL
10 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:27:59
You need at least $250k to get an appointment with a Financial Advisor (duh!) Sounds like you only had enough funds to qualify for a .01% interest rate (LOL!)
by wrghtshrry 2016-02-26 18:51:49
Who in the world is this RUDE person "woodywood"? He sounds like he works for BB&T! If woody doesn't work for by&t, he has the perfect attitude to be part of their team! But he needs more training in facts about ACCTS.
My ckng acct was recently 'hacked' for $300! They paid someone requesting this money through PayPal! Most banks would contact the customer when such an action tries to go thru since PayPal has NEVER been tied to my acct(s)!! So, not only did bb&t pay the $300, they charged my acct 2 OD's @$36 each, they also charged me 2 'DAILY OD's @$8 for being OD! I shouldn't have to check my balance everyday, especially when I know my balance was approx $6 so that they could their $4.95 fee!
I could go on & on about THIS incident which is still not completely resolved-they only give back ONE OD CHARGE EVERY 2 YEARS!!! & they had the NERVE 2 say I had already used mine.! Yea, this is FAR from being over!!
Thanks for listening! Sry, my blood pressure goes way up at the very mention of those 3 letters!(BB&T)!!!
Premier Bank, Spencer, WV
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by youknowme, May. 31, 2013

I have been with this bank through its 3 takeovers over 10 years, on its way to becoming Premier.  Each time, it has become unbelievably worse.  Finally, I've had enough of the rude, self-righteous, greedy, godless lords of money.  Poca Valley Bank, here I come.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Ripley Branch at Ripley, WV
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Terrrible, move on, go to Chase or 100 other BETTER choices
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mimamigirl, May. 15, 2013

The first hint that this branch is bad is no private offices, just 2 open desks for business.  Thats a bad sign for high end business.  There are only 2 people working those desks, a heavyset hispanic lady and medium aged hispanic man.  Neither knew any details about the account products without having to refer to their quick reference manual!
Ok, what about low end working class?  I went in to open an account to deposit my new job (yay) checks that I'm getting since there is a fee to cash without an account.

1st I went for a checking about.  They CHARGE me to keep my money there unless I do XZY or have $1,5000 in the account. OR the salesman slyly tells me if I open a savings account (another account on top of the checking) then there are no fees...catch? of course)  I have to use their debit card 10x a month or now I get fees from both accounts.   Oh and don't forget to ask them about the overdraft 'protection' they SELL you.  Yeah, its per incident, not monthly and certainly not free.  I ran out of here and went to TD Bank.

P.S.  BB&T savings account interests are among the lowest.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Presidential Circle Branch at Hollywood, FL
7 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bad Policies.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mjblasvegas, Feb. 07, 2013

Horrible bank.  Pending items are deducted immediately from your account causing overdrafts that cascade without chance to deposit monies to covet them.  impossible to stay on top of transactions,

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Oleander Drive Branch at Wilmington, NC
10 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:30:25
Because it's SO hard to be an adult and keep track of your own transactions. Maybe you should stop spending more than you make :)
Worse Bank Ever
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by kcart, Dec. 08, 2012

I have been to many locations in Richmond and the surrounding towns outside of Richmond. I have to say only one location was ever polite and friendly. I regular got spoken to as if I was some dumb kid on a regular basis. I have never had any other bank speak to me so rudely or make me feel so small. It would take to long to go into ever major problem I have had in the past with this BB&T bank. Let's just say I banked with them 10 yrs and even my family members that banked with Branch Banking and Trust told me they would advise me to close my account and go to another bank. Right before I found out they lied to charge me a huge fee. So I went to the bank and got the charge removed at a different locations with no problems and an apology. I close out my account. I was told very sternly by the Hopewell location that closing my account with the Richmond Branch was a big mistake. I was advised that I would not open an account with any other bank. Supposedly my credit was only average but I had got all 3 of my credit reports and know it's Above average. I opened one with Wachovia now Wells Fargo and had no problems. Still have no problems not even ones with Wells Fargo today and have not looked back.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Mooresville Branch at Mooresville, NC
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Depositor
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Countmeister, Oct. 18, 2012

Have over $80,000 in this bank.  My credit rating is in excess of 750.  Tried to get a mortgage on a second home in the amount of $40,000.  Denied by bank

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Clark Road Branch at Sarasota, FL
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:34:07
That's impossible. If you truly had those qualifications then any bank would give you a mortgage (duh!)
best staff in any bank I have ever dealt with!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sadiewhite, Oct. 15, 2012

kind, caring, patient staff, easy to talk with and willing to explain any question/situation.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Marietta Square Branch at Marietta, GA
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mrs
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by tdown, Jun. 12, 2012

This bank puts an unspecified hold on CASHIER'S CHECKS.  I paid to have a cashier's check drawn so there would be no wait for the money.  My daughter tried to cash it and they put an indefinite hold on it.  When I called the bank to ask how long it would be and what is the point of a cashier's check (after going through an automated system for 10 minutes), a man from the bank hung up on me.  Really?  This is appropriate conduct for your bank.  Never patronize this behavior.

* this review was made on Truist Bank, Virginia Beach Pembroke Branch at Virginia Beach, VA
10 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent banking stafff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BusaBoy, Apr. 20, 2012

We frequent the bank at least once or twice a week and the entire staff knows my wife and I by name and if the tellers are busy, someone from an office will try to help us.
They are all to be commended for a job well done.  They are wonderful representatives for your bank.
J. Corby Lambert
Bowling Green

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Fountain Square Branch at Bowling Green, KY
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Personal banking in a corporate world
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by superhappybanker, Nov. 14, 2011

I am so surprised to see negative reviews of BB&T! I have had a business, personal, investment, insurance and mortgage relationship with BB&T since they first came to the Savannah Area and bought out First Liberty (I think that is what it was) and have always been very happy with their performance. On the rare occasion that something is not as it should be they are quick to repair the problem and apologetic that there was a problem. The staff is generally competent and helpful. The best part is I frequent 3 different branches and at all of them they always recognize me and know me by name!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Savannah Mall Branch at Savannah, GA
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:35:46
Agreed! BB&T seems to be among the very small list of banks that actually care about their customers! I have never been pressured into buying stuff like I am every single time I walk into Wells Fargo.
Outstanding service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 75Cleer, Jun. 27, 2011

I have done business with the Valley Hills Branch in Bridgeport for the last seven years.  All the employees are always friendly and ready to help.  Forget your account number, no problem, they look it up.  Need a loan, no problem, they find some way to loan you the cash.  I've been through their drive through with three kids in the car and I've never waited more than 5 minutes.  They address me courteously, ask if the kids need a lollipop and take care of things quickly.  If I deposit checks from out of state, I know there is a hold.  If I need the money immediately, I go inside and speak with a manager, most of the time they find a reasonable solution. I don't know why all the negative reviews.  I have been to some banks that I really wish would shut down, but this is not one of them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Bridgeport Valley Hills Branch at Bridgeport, WV
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Teller was RUDE!
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by mrsalford, May. 23, 2011

I used the drive-thru to deposit a check to my company's account and I didn't have any deposit slips on hand.  My 8 month old baby was sleeping in his car seat and I didn't want to have to wake him by parking the car, taking him out of his car seat and putting him into a stroller to walk into the branch.  I asked the teller for a blank deposit slip.  She gave me one which I filled out and returned to her with the check.  She took a long while making the deposit.  When she finally returned to give me the receipt she said "next time be prepared and have your deposit slip ready".  I explained that I didn't have any on hand and asked if she could supply me with some blank slips so I could be better prepared next time.  She rudely replied "that is not our policy.  Use your own preprinted ones next time."  She should not be in customer service!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, West Delray Branch at Delray Beach, FL
13 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

average rates and accounts great staff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Jane80, Apr. 20, 2011

I have been with this branch about 6 years now. The teller line always greats me by name with a smile and customer service always bends over backwards to help me with any issue I have. I dont keep much money in my account but I always feel special when I come in!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Fox Mill Branch at Reston, VA
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Poor Customer Service
Overall Rating
Other Services
by bluebonnet, Apr. 13, 2011

I just tried to cash a check, written on a Regions Bank account, and written to my husband, who had endorsed it.  All I should have had to do was put my endorsement on it and show my driver's license.  The teller was rude. "No, he has to come in," she said.  "But he's at work," I told her. No "I am sorry, that's our policy" or anything like that.  I told her none of my money would ever be going to her bank.  The check was only for $60.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Columbiana Financial Center Branch at Columbia, SC
4 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by woodywood 2015-03-25 13:41:41
If you were smart you would've deposited the check then withdrew cash in two transactions. There is not a bank out there that you can cash a check and not be the payee whether it's endoresed or not (duh!)
Terrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by nickwbrady, Apr. 09, 2011

Would post an negative review if possible. THEY TOOK $6000 FROM ME AND HELD IT 2 DAYS AFTER I DEPOSITED IT (TOOK IT BACK OUT OF MY ACCT), untill I could notify the other person on the check and have them verify their idenity. They said that they should have told me when I deposited the check but their tellers are not up on all of the rules (Not my problem). So now I can't even get the check back. Then after 3 days on the phone with them and being lied to (Said they think Wachovia was the one that had the hold). This was not the case and they knew all along. Avoid this bank at all cost. If you are looking for the Best Bank In Town, I can tell you to take your business elsewhere, because this one is far from the best.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Thompson Bridge Branch at Gainesville, GA
8 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

BB&T are sheisters!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by misty, Mar. 01, 2011

i had an account with them a few years back anbd it lasted maybe 1 year. yes they have alot of locations but their fees were crazy and they were very deceptive about tacking on compounded ATM fees (non BB&T). they reported me to the credit bureau until i paid these jerks $300 in fees i felt were not justified just to clear my name. i gave the branch manager in inwood, WV a piece of my mind and i never once stepped in another BB&T ever since.

i have a friend who told me afterwards he had similar experiences at a branch in vienna, va. the branch just wants to suck as much $ as they can and are extremely rude.

ANY bank is better than they are!!
AVOID BB&T LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Winchester Va Main Branch at Winchester, VA
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by KMFC 2016-02-12 15:59:16
Used to be happy with them - not so much anymore.

Vacation Property. Joint account to cover the bills on siad vacation property.  Walked in the door with a USD Bank Draft for $3,000 payable to both parties on the account and tried to deposit it.

No.  They want the signature of BOTH people on the back.  S'cuse me?  What do you do when we mail the deposit in as we usually do?  No-one in their right mind would endorse the BACK of a cheque and THEN drop it in the mail.  What new brand of stupidity is this please?
Deceiving and discriminating treatment from a client specialist. WTH!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by newtoyou, Jan. 27, 2011

I have been a checking account holder at BB&T for quite sometime now. One day I applied for a credit card. All my pertinent documents were copied by the client specialist at Williamston, NC. Then she told me to wait for her call before 4pm of that same day. It failed to happen. After 17 (seventeen) days of waiting, I appeared directly to the branch. The client specialist did not meet me face to face. The employee who approached me said that they need a credit verification. She once again got a copy of my ssn card. Nothing happened after that until the 3rd month! A letter from the Williamston, NC branch (signed by that same client rep) was sent to me stating that my application was declined. Then after a week I received a phone call from BB&T asking me to avail of their other service. I felt like I was slapped left and right and up and down. I felt like I was shaking uncontrollably because of too much intimidation that I received from this bank.

If you were in my place, would you still bank with BB&T?   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Truist Bank, Williamston Main Branch at Williamston, NC
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

< Previous Page | Next Page >     Page 2 of 3

Banks Nearby

Woodforest National Bank, Tarboro Wal-Mart Branch (1.1 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
110 River Oaks Drive
Tarboro, NC 27886
PNC Bank, Tarboro Branch (1.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
600 Main Street
Tarboro, NC 27886
Tarboro Savings Bank, SSB, Tarboro Savings Bank, Ssb (1.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
501 Main St.
Tarboro, NC 27886
Southern Bank and Trust Company, Tarboro Branch (8.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
422 Main Street
Tarboro, NC 27886
Providence Bank, Tarboro Branch (8.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
325 Main Street
Tarboro, NC 27886

More