People's United Bank, Review

People's United Bank, Review

Average rating based on 20 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
9
4 star:
0
3 star:
1
2 star:
0
1 star:
10
Discrimonatory stale check policy!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by customerxyz, Sep. 04, 2015

I've been with this bank for about 25 years and have always told friends how I really like this bank. But, that all changes today. Yesterday they cashed a check against my account that was nearly one year old! When asked how old a check needed to be not to get cashed they told me six months. When I reported the almost one year old check they cashed and that I wanted my money refunded, the story changed, to "there is no date".."it depends" So, apparently it depends on WHO cashes the check!  A very DISCRIMINATORY policy. I am very disappointed with this bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Huntington Center Branch at Shelton, CT
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by robert8288 2018-08-04 10:01:29
Deposited 300 said 150$ when I got home big mistake said no need to fill out deposit slip
New City Branch is GREAT
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SavyShopper001, Aug. 23, 2015

Every time I go to that store the guys in the front are always smiling and friendly and well dressed. The manager was very nice and talks to every body.  I definitely tell all my friends to go there.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, New City S&S Branch at New City, NY
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Good Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by loganpie01, Jun. 14, 2015

I have been with Peoples for over 20 years and never once had a problem. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I am really surprised at what I read as I have never experienced any problems. I will continue to do banking with Peoples until I have a problem with them. But I honestly do not expect there to be one.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Reidville Stop And Shop Branch at Waterbury, CT
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very helpful - and convenient
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EnglishK, Mar. 24, 2015

I came in after hours on a Sunday.  The staff was closing up.
However, once they saw I needed to do some transactions, they stopped what they were doing and assisted me.
I was grateful.
Rent was going through the next day!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Riverhead Stop & Shop Branch at Riverhead, NY
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

abused customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by REALLY2many, Nov. 05, 2014

IF I COULD RATE NEGATIVE STAR(S)  I WOULD
$185.00 IN OVERDRAFT FEES FOR $37.00 OF OVERDRAFTS

1) THERE SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ANY OVERDRAFT, CONSIDERING MY DEBIT CARD SHOUD HAVE BEEN DECLINED FOR ANY OF THOSE PURCHASES. MY CARD HAS A BLOCK (OR SO I THOUGHT) THEY TURNED ME DOWN FOR AN OVERDRAFT PROTECTION OF $100 SO WHY WOULD THEY NOT BLOCK MY ACCOUNT FROM OVERDRAFT ???    THE REASON IS SIMPLE... SO THEY COULD CHARGE THE FEE'S  

2) I HAVE REQUESTED A CALL  FROM A HIGHER AUTHORITY MANAGER ( FOR MORE THAN 11 MONTHS)     N O T H I N G !!!!!!
  I CAN NOT GET ANY HIGHER THAN THE BRANCH MANAGER, WHICH I MIGHT ADD NEVER CALLED ME. I HAD TO CONTINUE TO CALL THEM AT LEAST TWICE A MONTH. I FINALLY GOT A CALLBACK... YOU GUESSED IT, THE BRANCH MANAGER
A R E   Y O U    K I D D I N G   ME ?????????

 3) WHEN I ASKED ORIGINALLY IF THEY COULD HELP ME OUT IN ANY WAY, MY ANSWER WAS I SHOULD HAVE BEEN MORE OBSERVANT TO MY ACCOUNT AND IF I WANED TO, I COULD CLOSE MY ACCOUNT

4) I CORRECTED THE ACCOUNT THE NEXT DAY WITHIN 24 HOURS. BY TRANSFERRING FUNDS FROM MY SAVINGS ACCOUNT, BUT BECAUSE SATURDAY IS NOT A BUSINESS DAY, THE 24 HOUR RULE DOES NOT APPLY

FOR THE QUESTIONS BELOW
HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN WITH THIS BANK ?     T  O  O   L  O  N  G  !!!
HOW MANY BANKS HAVE YOU HAD BEFORE ?     IN OTHER WORDS... DO YOU CHANGE BANKS A LOT .... I'M 53 YEARS OLD AND ONLY HAD 2 OTHER BANKS
THE FIRST BANK WAS WHEN I MOVED TO A DIFFERENT STATE AND SECOND  BANK CLOSED SEVERAL BRANCHES IN MY AREA




* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Saugus Branch at Saugus, MA
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Cassandra321 2014-11-11 12:48:35
53 years old? Shame how childish and angry you are for a man of your age
by tophyk 2015-04-04 23:49:19
Sir you need to get a grip. You made the case for the Bank. Your spending money you don't have. I'm a 53 year old man and I've never have been charged an overdraft fee. I've never in my entire life have bounced a check. Your coming across badly,you need to take stock in yourself.
Rude and Disrespectful Manager
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by WendyW, Sep. 22, 2014

The manager was incredibly rude and disrespectful. She continuously interrupted me and said there was nothing she could do about it and did not even attempt to help me. There no other people waiting at the time yet she did not even look at the documents that I had given her, which was very unprofessional. She said they don't often have such cases. Well it is part of your professional responsibility to learn throughout your career, since there may be others in the future. The employee that I went to previously was much more helpful and knowledgable. I will not be banking with them in the future.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Hauppage Branch at Hauppauge, NY
5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by annienoydperson 2014-11-11 12:29:02
hi what is name of branch manager? i am having no luck contacting her.
Hunter Ridge
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by hunterridge, Mar. 04, 2014

love this bank

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Stonington S & S Branch at Pawcatuck, CT
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

WORST BANK I HAVE EVER VISITED
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by liilmissbrea, Dec. 30, 2013

This branch, located at 716 Broad Street in Waterford, Connecticut, is BY FAR the WORST bank that I have EVER visited! Everything was horrible - especially the Customer Service. Not only did the branch DENY ME ACCESS TO MY OWN MONEY (I had to provide proof of address - which I did - but because it was a Saturday they said that they were NOT COMFORTABLE approving it, and told me to come back on Monday). Keep in mind, I went to another branch 20 minutes later, and that branch approved it with no problems, and advised that I report the one that I am currently reviewing. I told the teller at Broad Street that I needed gas and that is why I was doing the withdrawal, and she literally told me to ask someone at a gas station for $5. I am a retail manager, and if one of my employee's EVER told a customer to ask a stranger for money, they would be fired on the spot. But instead, the teller got a pat on the back. THAT is how messed up this branch is. And the manager? Absolutely the RUDEST individual I could imagine. The words "I could approve this, but I dont want to" were actually spoken from her lips. Imagine that, a bank manager COULD have given ME MY OWN MONEY but DIDN'T WANT TO!!! SERIOUSLY?! Dont visit this branch unless you specifically want your day to be ruined. Honestly. It should be closed immidiately. Because of them, I am closing my account with People's Bank entirely. They couldn't pay me to stay with them after that experience. (yes, it was THAT bad)

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Broad Street Branch at Waterford, CT
13 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

SKF AUTOMOTIVE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BANKSNG, Nov. 20, 2013

i OWN AN AUTO SHOP, I USED MY PEOPLES CARD TO BUY AN ENGINE ONLINE, I ORDERED A USED ENGINE, THEY SENT A ENGINE WITH A DIRTY PAINT JOB AND PARTS MISSING, I CONTACTED VENDOR THEY SAID THEY WOULD PICK UP ENGINE AND REFUND MY MONEY, PEOPLED WAS INVOLVED IN GETTING THIS DONE FOR ME, NOW THE ENGINE IS RETURNED AND MY MONEY HAS NOT BEEN REFUNDED, I NOW HAVE NO ENGINE AND NO MONEY AND PEOPLES SAYS ITS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. I AM GOING TO MOVE MY BUSINESS AND PERSONAL ACCOUNTS TO ANOTHER BANK......STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK THEY WILL NOT STAND WITH YOU IF THERES A PROBLEM....BUYER BEWARE!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Savin Rock Branch at West Haven, CT
6 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Chaos 2014-04-29 14:49:39
How exactly is it the bank's fault that the company you did business with didn't give you the refund?
SherryH
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TWINE, Jul. 16, 2013

I had been with a credit union for years that i wasn't happy with at all.  I switched to Peoples Bank and love it!  My experience is that this is a customer friendly bank and MUCH better than the credit union we were with!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Waterford Stop & Shop Branch at Waterford, CT
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

One of the WORST banks ever!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Payback, Apr. 11, 2013

I do not have one good thing to write about People's Bank because the man who helped us open our account lied to us from the beginning.

Ultimately our account was only open for 5 months and in that time, People's United Bank robbed us of over $150 for various fees and finally for an overdraft.  Keep in mind that we purchased overdraft protection that conveniently was not applied to our account.  Working with them to try to rectify the situation was torture and like working with a bunch of idiots.

I strongly advise everyone to stay far away from People's United Bank and if you care about your money and not being ripped off, then you should consider using a Credit Union instead.  

My husband and I switched to Connex Credit Union and we LOVE them.  They offer all of the same banking options as Peoples but there are no ridiculous fees and the staff there is actually helpful.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Ansonia Stop And Shop Branch at Ansonia, CT
10 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

College Student
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MAR1, Sep. 18, 2012

The only reason i rate people's bank not good is because of there waiting time. The people's bank in the Ansonia, CT Stop and shop is so slow, no matter what time of day.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Ansonia Stop And Shop Branch at Ansonia, CT
5 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Chaos 2014-04-29 14:53:23
The "only reason" you rated the bank poorly is because of the waiting time and then you rated everything else the poorest possible score? Seriously?
Stay away
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RobertA68, Aug. 16, 2012

I just need to tell the public to NEVER do business with Peoples United. I have a LONG story, but will try to keep it short. I had a commercial loan since 2010 with this bank at 6.7%. 8 months ago I started a refinance process with them. I paid $400 for an appraisal. I was told NOT to talk to the appraiser. When they came to my property the gentleman stated he was told not to include an 800 sf building, which is on my property as well as a house and lg storage shed. I was confused by his comment and walked away. It’s my understanding that an Appraiser can NOT be influenced. Well I can assure you, this one was. When the appraisal came back it was way off, 50k off. I know this because I had another one done that included the building. I wasted 8 months only to have Peoples United tell me they can’t do anything for me, so I looked elsewhere. Within 4 weeks I had a deal done with another bank. 3.5% 20 year loan. When I called Peoples United to get a Payoff for my closing, they would not give me one. It took about 20 phone calls and about a total of three hours in three day. Absolutely crazy. After finally getting to the right person I was told I had an early termination fee of $5400. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. The loan manager whom I was speaking to was extremely rude and talked to me like I was an idiot. I asked him to wave the fee or cut it down for me. He said "listen guy, it ain’t happening, business is business". He said why should he? He said, how does this help HIS bank. I tried telling him I tried for 8 months to get a deal done with them FIRST. IN GOOD FAITH. That literally cost me thousands. They offered me NOTHING. I mean NOTHING. Then I mentioned the appraisal coming in at 25% in their favor and how it seemed just a bit fishy knowing I had an early termination fee attached to my contract. WHY WOULD they refinance with me. It only benefited them 100% NOT to do it. How is that ethically right? It’s not, and people need to know about it. They kept telling me I got a "sweet deal" and then proceeded to do the math for me stating I would have their fee paid off in ten months. NONE of their business and NOT the point. So, I paid the fee, and I am dedicating all my free time letting people know what happened. Just to be clear, this is the Peoples United home office located at 850 Main St, Bridgeport, CT. I own a successful business which I grew on word of mouth. One aspect Peoples United does NOT care about. So Peoples United...."business is business".......

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, The Bank Of Western Massachusetts Br at Springfield, MA
33 of 40 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

exceptional service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by cons123, Aug. 04, 2012

I have never received such pleasant and professional service as at this bank branch.

Bravo People's!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Scarsdale Branch at Scarsdale, NY
3 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by longbrk2 2014-11-24 03:27:56
Peoples has been my bank for nearly 45 years. I had once been employed in the personel office of this bank in the 1980's, so I always took grear pride in this institution, that is until a recent issue that arose which ultimately cost me $$ for an unwarranted error on the banks part.

I was recently on business in Boston  and used my debit card from Peoples at a Bank of America ATM. I needed to withdraw close to my checking balance but had more than an ample amount in my associated savings accout.

Upon my return home from my business trip, I was met with an idiotic letter from Peoples United stating that my checking account was overdrawn twice due to inquiries of my balance at a cost of $3.00 each, causing my accout for checking to be charged twice for the fee, thus incurred overdraft fees of nearly $80.00.

PROBLEM 1. I Never checked my balance at the BoA ATM since I had accessed my account on my tablet earlier that morning and knew what the available balance was allowed.

When I contacted the manager of my People United Paradise Green, I was met by the most belligerent, ignorant, rude person I have ever had the misfortune to have been met with.

Needless to say, my full knowledge of what occurred was argued and ignored by the horrible excuse for customer service that Peoples United has to offer at this branch.

To add insult to injury, this woman had the nerve to ask me the following week if I might wish to transfer my accounts from another finacial instituion to theirs. I would not give this woman the time of day let alone my money.

I am in the process of researching a more responsible financial institution due to this egregious action against me.
Would Bank here again!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ChrisTidwell, May. 16, 2012

My wife and I have never experienced any problems or difficulties at People's United Bank. We have banked here for 15 years & it was our bank prior to moving to Deerfield. The only reason we will be leaving the bank is a move out of the region. Beverly and the staff have been more than helpful to both of us. Thank you for your service!
Chris Tidwell

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Raymond-Nh Branch at Raymond, NH
2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Do not bank here
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by customerbeware, Apr. 18, 2012

This bank has the most antiquated policies and procedures. Exhorbitant fees charged, under policies that make no sense. People's Bank (formerly Flagship) is not a consumer-friendly bank! All they care about is the assurance of  usurious rates money use through exhorbitant fees.  By making a customer's money "unavailable" even though that money is being held in an account at People's Bank, the bank then justifies charging fees of $40 when money is arbitrarily held as "unavailable" for days and days (even though it is right there...at the bank). This is not a good bank, in particular if you happen to be a small businesses.
The people who work there are helpful, but they have actually agreed with me that the bank's policies and procedures are not consumer-friendly.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Westborough Branch at Westborough, MA
7 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Seems ok
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by KRUDY, Apr. 07, 2012

The people in the Needham MA branch are friendly and helpful.  They have a great rate on their rewards checking account.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Needham Branch at Needham Heights, MA
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very Bad Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Rach, Nov. 14, 2011

There is a reason why the waiting times are not there..Who would go with such bad customer service?

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Milk Street Branch at Boston, MA
3 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by busyonlongisland, Nov. 03, 2011

I have been banking with People's United Bank for several years and they are fantastic.  It is such a pleasure to be able to speak to someone about any of my banking questions and get a prompt repsose asap..   So much better than calling a 800 number..   I really feel like a customer not a number..

Thanks Peoples your great!!!  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, Smithtown Branch at Smithtown, NY
4 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

This Bank is a Joke
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by UtOhTime2SwitchBanks, Oct. 08, 2011

I have been doing banking with the Bank of Smithtown for over 20 years, recently People's United Bank acquired the Bank. I have used the branches in Fort Salonga, Smithtown, St James, Miller Place and Port Jefferson quite often. The St James branch is the worst of the bunch. There is never anyone at the drive up window to service you. When they finally come it takes them 10-15 minutes to do a simple transaction. Two times they took my deposits and never came back, I had to park the car and go into the bank and complain. No apologies were made they just told me, Oh we forgot about you!...A couple of things really bother me about most of their branches...They have wide open viewed windows, and anyone with a telescope can see the people at work on the computers and access account information. Secondly when I make a deposit, they take it from me and disappear with it and do their work on the transaction in a totally different room without me being able to observe teller at work...this makes me very uncomfortable, especially, when making a cash deposit. Not that they have made any mistakes or money has gone missing or anything like that,I just don't know of any other bank with such a ridiculous procedure. The bank employees at the St James branch from the manager on down are rude, impatience, and have a non caring attitude about servicing their customers....and if you say anything to them they treat you like you are some sort of crazy person. If you ask me everyone there needs to be fired and replaced. I don't find the personnel at the other branches to have such an attitude. I'm not switching banks, but I am thinking about it, for now I'll just refuse to use the St James branch...if that was the only branch this bank had, I would have switch banks already...     

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on People's United Bank, St. James Branch at Saint James, NY
8 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

Kennebunk Savings Bank, Lower Village Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
10 Western Avenue
Kennebunk, ME 04043
Kennebunk Savings Bank (3.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
104 Main Street
Kennebunk, ME 04043
KeyBank, Kennebunk Branch (3.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1 Post Office Square
Kennebunk, ME 04043
People's United Bank, Kennebunk Branch (3.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
100 Main Street
Kennebunk, ME 04043
The Camden National Bank, Kennebunk Branch (3.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
36 Portland Road
Kennebunk, ME 04043

More