MUFG Union Bank, Review

MUFG Union Bank, Review

Average rating based on 40 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
11
4 star:
4
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
21
< Previous Page     Page 2 of 2
Excellent Local Bank
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by GlenGS, Jul. 26, 2012

For the past 15 years we have been doing our banking here I have always found the staff of this branch courteous, capable and helpful.

It is a real perk to have a fine financial institution right here in our Del Cerro and Allied Gardens neighborhoods.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Allied Gardens Branch at San Diego, CA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Avoid this branch
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by Walter3, Jul. 12, 2012

The Miller Ave. branch has pleasant tellers but a very rigid and inflexible bank manager (David Winters). He cites policy letter and verse even for minor matters, and exercises no personal discretion whatsoever even when good customers who are trying to make perfectly legitimate transactions are substantially inconvenienced by his actions. If you want anything out of the ordinary it's better to go to other local branches, as they have better customer service.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Mill Valley Branch at Mill Valley, CA
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by BillW 2013-10-24 14:45:23
Amazing. I've banked with this branch (and its predecessor bank at this location) for 12 years and I've always had great service. Maybe this customer was having a bad day.
by concernedcitizen 2014-03-18 14:53:10
I'm a middle-aged professional and lived locally for over 20 years. In over 35 years of dealing with various banking institutions, I've never had even close to the surreal nightmare experience and extreme lack of professionalism that I experienced at this bank, made markedly worse by the MV Miller Av branch (2012) staff. (Albeit, the teller-level staff seemed nice; the more "senior-ranked" banking officers, however, were - maybe still are - a seriously scary lot). However, I also followed up with Walnut Creek and the corporate southern CA offices, where I again encountered outrageous lack of sound reason and extreme lack of professionalism. In my experience, the only sanity I can detect at UBOC seems to reside at the Kentfield branch. (On the flip side, American Express exemplifies the UTMOST professionalism in a financial institution. I can't believe how good UBOC makes even just half-decent banks look. The tactics UBOC use are unethical - and probably downright illegal! How do they even survive?)
Rod Stewart
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by rodstewart, Jun. 19, 2012

This bank SUCKS.... they have a stupid policy that for 6 mos your on probation and you can only withdraw $1500 per day even if you have money in your account. I set this account up and deposited a cashiers check for $23,000 and then $17,000 cash.  I went on vacation and after getting to my destination I was unable to make any purchase because my room and flight exceeded my $1500 limit per day. After speaking with both customer service and my branch manager in Beverly Hills. They explained this is there policy. No matter how much money you have in your account you are not able to get out or make charges larger than that. I have now closed my account and taken my money to a bank where there rules are not so retarded.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Beverly Hills Branch at Beverly Hills, CA
15 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Charge to cash their own checks harass you to open an account
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by themoonismadeocheese, Jun. 08, 2012

They charge you to cash their own checks, and then they harass you to open an account with them. Who would want to bank with a bank that is so money hungry? Certainly not me!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Fallbrook Branch at Fallbrook, CA
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

VERY SATISFIED CUSTOMER
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dknudson18, Feb. 14, 2012

I just started my relationship with the Casa de Oro branch, and was immediately swept away by the friendly attitudes of ALL the employees, which reminded me of how banking used to be in the "good old days". I highly  recommend this specific branch office!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Casa De Oro Branch at Spring Valley, CA
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tiburon branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SunnyCal, Jan. 27, 2012

Please note someone called me from the Tiburon branch the next day offering to help.  I feel this gesture showed  they do want to be a local personable bank.

Thank you!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Tiburon/Belvedere Branch at Belvedere Tiburon, CA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Not what I had hoped....
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SunnyCal, Jan. 26, 2012

Open up the account to bank locally.
I was presented with a problem so I called the bank to fix it. I was told to call the 1. - 800  number . Customer service is NOT what they 're about .

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Tiburon/Belvedere Branch at Belvedere Tiburon, CA
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

redmond office
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by realdeal, Dec. 21, 2011

So far I have been very pleased with union bank. I have to admit my primary reason I am still there is the staff. I am very impressed by young male banker here. Very knowledgeable and actually makes you feel like he looks out for your best interest. To many banks these days have forgot the meaning of personal banker. good products and reward you for your relationship

* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Redmond Branch at Hobart, WA
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

redmond office
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by realdeal, Dec. 21, 2011

So far I have been very pleased with union bank. I have to admit my primary reason I am still there is the staff. I am very impressed by young male banker here. Very knowledgeable and actually makes you feel like he looks out for your best interest. To many banks these days have forgot the meaning of personal banker. good products and reward you for your relationship

* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Redmond Branch at Hobart, WA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Give me a break
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by UGetBackWhatGive, Nov. 16, 2011

For starters this site is misleading. It says Alameda-Taylor office but then you read further after the review and it talks about an office in Corta Madera, CA. I have been banking at the Alameda-Taylor Office for many years. There are some efficient long timers and some newbees just like with any business. I have my entire banking relationship there. I can say this much-As for your mortgage try going to another bank where your mortgage is sold time after time after time. Pretty soon you're so confused you don't know where to mail your payment. They maintain their portfolio of mortgages. If you've encountered the problem time and time again because they can't locate try talking to the manager to figure out the issue. Also, try going to another bank where they could care less about you. Take some time to talk to management to solve the problem instead of complaining and bad mouthing. You must be a gem to work with...

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Alameda-Taylor Branch at San Jose, CA
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

To PAY a mortgage payment i have to allow 30 min here=stupid/dumb
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sickofthem, Nov. 05, 2011

I DREAD going to Union Bank to make a monthly payment. With mortgage payment slip in hand and my check to them in hand I always have to allow 30 min there. They cant find the account number in the computer.  They have to telephone someone else. That number is wrong, they call someone else. They QUESTION ME as though I dont really have a mortage with them. PEOPLE I am not trying to GET money from you. I want to PAY you my money.
Biggest problem is their computer system obviously, but the tellers are kind of out to lunch. I have to admit some are kind of stupid, but sweet, but still if I acted this out of it in PAYING Union bank would be all over me, charging me extra fees etc. DO NOT USE UNION bank unless  you have to.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Corte Madera Branch at Corte Madera, CA
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Union Bank policies are NOT small business friendly
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tersa, Oct. 24, 2011

Union Bank ate our favorite local bank (Frontier, who had taken over our even more beloved Northstar Bank years ago), and it's been a nightmare ever since. After 4 months of ridiculousness (we're slow learners, I guess), we've moved our accounts, but Union still has some of our loans.

None of the branches can provide us with a pay-off amount. Calling California had us transferred to EIGHT different people (wish I was exaggerating). Finally ended with a different number I should call. I did finally get a local woman who was nice, and informed me that we had to submit our request for a Loan Pay-Off amount IN WRITING, and that they couldn't tell us over the phone or email, for our security. So I had to fax in a request and then they had to fax back the answer. The fax they sent listed a pay-off amount good through 2pm the same day...problem was, the fax was sent at 4pm. *facepalm*

Also, when we tried to pay off the loan the next day at the branch, we were informed that they couldn't accept the payment, we'd have to WIRE TRANSFER the money (for a fee, of course). Holy crap, it should not be this hard to GIVE THEM MONEY.

During the take-over of Frontier Bank, we had two different Union Bank employees tell us that Union Bank is NOT interested in small business accounts. Well, they've definitely proved that over this year.  

The former Frontier Bank employees who still work at this branch are lovely (Carmen is truly great), but having great people but terrible policies still makes this an impossible place to bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Seattle - Ballard Branch at Seattle, WA
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

LAUREN TELLER DUMB AND RUDE!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by CliffR22, Aug. 27, 2011

NEW TO TOWN AND TRIED TO MAKE DEPOSIT AT THIS BRANCH RATHER THEN OUR REGULAR BRANCH, BOY DID WE GET A SHOCK WHEN THE TELLER WAS OUT TO LUNCH ,  I MEAN STONED?? OR JUST PLAIN DUMB. SHE MESSED UP TWICE TOOK 20 MINUTES ON A SIMPLE TRANSACTION. WILL NOT BE BACK IN THIS BRANCH AGAIN! HIRE ALERT TELLERS UNION BANK, YOUR LOSING CUSTOMERS. I AGREE W THE ABOVE COMMENTS.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Laguna Beach Branch at Laguna Beach, CA
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Union bank teller Lauren rude dumb ,and jealous
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TimothyA, Aug. 17, 2011

my wife went in to make a deposit,this teller we had was so rude she looked my wife up and down like some sort of interview. I have never seen such a jealous teller who had shown such evny for a pretty woman who had money!! fire this ding dong lauren brunette, she is no good for laguna locals!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Laguna Beach Branch at Laguna Beach, CA
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Lauren , Union bankTeller is DUMB and rude
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Michael38laguna, Aug. 11, 2011

We went into this branch to do a simple transfer, got a teller named Lauren who was so rude and off in space, took her 20 min to do the transaction. This girl is dumb, she couldnt figure out what account to trasfer to after we told her 3times! who hires these homely girls who act so dumb when your dealing with thousands of our dollars! she starred my wife up and down like a jealous miserbale woman, we will never return and be closing our account.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Laguna Beach Branch at Laguna Beach, CA
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by rrbgary, Jun. 26, 2011

I have had accounts with this bank for 16 years. I have multiple checking, savings and mortgage accounts. This is by far the best bank that I have ever dealt with!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Rancho Mirage Branch at Rancho Mirage, CA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

mind your own business
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by notgoingback, Jun. 08, 2011

I use this branch to pay my rent.  Every month, I am practically harassed on why don't I want to open an account.  The tellers NEVER accept "No thank you," and I am asked several times in several ways within the few minutes I am at the window.  The teller even told me that she felt I paid too much for rent and asked me how big was the house and where was it located!  I'm now going to go to another branch near my work to pay instead.  Mind your own business tellers!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Phelan Branch at Phelan, CA
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

PASS on Union Bank
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by donotbankUnionBank, Apr. 21, 2011

TRUE STORY that just happened yesterday (4/20/11): I walked into the branch in the afternoon because I had to update my account. I married in January and changed my name. I went in to the branch with an updated version of my OR drivers license and a certified copy of my marriage license. All they had to do was pull up a change of name form, fill it out and we were done. Basic stuff isn't it? Well the girl that was "helping" me out spent about 10 minutes trying to find the form and did not. She tried calling another branch and they did not answer. She tried asking her co-worker and he whipped out a 4" thick manual and after about another 15 minutes we were back at square one.

Trust a bank like that with my money? No thank you.

I politely asked that they close my account instead. I immediately went to Umpqua Bank down the street and within 15 minutes I had a new checking and savings, thorough clarity on the terms and a complimentary pound of coffee beans! Umpqua impressed the heck out me, frankly while Union Bank floored me with their vulgar lack of BASIC knowledge!!! How did that girl get hired?!?!?!?!?!?! HOW???

I DO NOT trust banks with my money that don't have their crap together.





* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Bank Of Portland Branch at Portland, OR
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Consumer Advocate
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by consumerprotection, Feb. 24, 2011

The strong reputation of Union Bank stands on its own. Of all the other banks found locally the Union Bank, West Hollywood office, rises above them all as it relates to personal service. It is found that the employees have a genuine concern for their customers. It is not only impressive but reassuring when an employee refers to clients as “their client”. This simple statement of ownership provides comfort that clients are important.  Be prepared to have a brief interview prior to establishing a relationship with the bank. The interview is to provide the employee with enough information to ensure proper product placement. As a relationship driven company the employees’ performance is based on building and maintaining strong client relations and not selling products and services that are not in the best interest of a client.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, West Hollywood Branch at Los Angeles, CA
2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very poor service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by slfs1324, Dec. 10, 2010

Employees act likes they are all training. Very limited Service and the manager is no help at all. Worse service ever.  Heavy staff turnover.  This review is Dated December 10, 2010

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
16 of 27 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

< Previous Page     Page 2 of 2

Banks Nearby

KeyBank, Monroe Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
214 East Main St.
Monroe, WA 98272
Coastal Community Bank, Monroe Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
19351 Hwy 2
Monroe, WA 98272
U.S. Bank, Monroe Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
19387 State Route 2
Monroe, WA 98272
Wells Fargo Bank, Monroe Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
19501 State Rte 2
Monroe, WA 98272
Columbia State Bank, Monroe Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
19500 Highway 2
Monroe, WA 98272

More