Bank of the West, Review

Bank of the West, Review

Average rating based on 66 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
28
4 star:
1
3 star:
2
2 star:
4
1 star:
31
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 4
Bank Of the West-Oregon City Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by KKDA, Aug. 30, 2019

This is the worst bank I have ever used, and this particularly branch in Oregon City is the worst. I have been treated incredible poorly by their employees and their branch manager, Leslie Ramsey. When opening my account, I inquired about check holds and was told it was a one day hold period with some funds released right away. However, they hold new account checks for 9 business days. While out of town for work, I had my co-worker deposit my check for me, but I didn't receive my money as I should. After calling around, it was determined that they would hold my check for those 9 business days. I spoke with Leslie Ramsey, branch manager, about this stating that this check was the only current money I had and needed it to buy groceries and fuel to get to work. Additionally, I had a very important payment I needed to make regarding my car that was already late because of this check hold. She said she would investigate it, but refused to release any of my paycheck so I could just get by. It has now been over a week since I got paid, and have received no money from it. The check cleared my employers account days ago, and so far no one can explain to me why I don't have my money. Leslie and her fellow employees at this branch showed no compassion and were brazen and rude to me. Leslie said she would get back to me in 48 hours, and I have still heard nothing from her and she hasn't returned my calls. I am infuriated by how this situation is being handled. There have been serious repercussions from not having this money available to me including late fees for bills, car getting repossessed, and being unable to feed myself this last week. Suffice it to say, I will no longer be banking at any locations, but caution anyone using the location in Oregon City. Leslie Ramsey and her team need to be mindful of how they handle situations and make sure they give out correct information. I feel they need to disclose to any new account holders about the 9 business day hold on checks regardless of someone going out of their way to ask about it. The fact that they don’t is shady and unprecedented. While I am still awaiting the release of my funds, I have been told it will be available on the 4th, the day before I get paid again. There were so many opportunities to do the right thing, yet Leslie and her team have failed. This has been a travesty for me and have sought counsel. My lawyer will ensure the parties involved are held accountable.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Oregon City Branch at Oregon City, OR
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst bank/branch manager anywhere
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Angryexecutor, Aug. 24, 2019

I’m not sure where to start! Working as an executor for an estate. . .  It took 3 trips, (live out of town 50 miles round trip) and I returned each time when THEY said to, just to get the durable power of attorney approved, (it had been approved at the two other financial institutes within 15 minutes). Upon following all Wyoming Title 2 rules we arrived to close the account and safe deposit box, 3 hours, 3 trips and still not completed. Branch Manager was rude, condisending, asked where “@#$#” was (the deceased whom we had the death certificate for AND she had looked at) when she was told we could show her the headstone her reply was, “ I know she’s dead I saw the death notice.” After looking over the documents, not calling when she said she would, walking out of the bank while we stood around waiting for her. We were told the documents (which were filed correctly by an attorney) were wrong. She handed us a stack of papers told us to refile. When she was informed that this was the third bank we had dealt with today and none of them had problems with the paperwork she replied, “well you need to go back to them now and tell them they are wrong.”
The only way they could possibly make this right is to 1) call and apologize profusely 2) follow the letter of Wyoming law and let us into the safe deposit box and let us close the account 3) reimburse us for now seven 50 mile round trips 4) reimburse any additional fees from our attorney as she will now have to call this idiot 5) reimburse our time at our hourly rate.
WORST BANK EVER! BANK MANAGER AT THE LARAMIE WYOMING BRANCH IS CONDISENDING, RUDE, AND REFUSES TO LISTEN.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Laramie Branch at Laramie, WY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Nice when you are in the bank, rude all other times
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MichaelM, Jul. 08, 2019

Just so hard to get help with anything. No one knows how to fix simple problems and they don't really seem like they want to. You can spend an hour on the phone with the customer service department and then have them hang up before you've confirmed they've fixed the problem (they hadn't) and then call the branch and have Patricia just be rude and curt to you - and you never even get to talk to them about what needs to be done. Just so very bad. More and more business are treating customers like their time is of no relavence whatsoever and "they're sorry" but <it's just too bad, get over it>.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Lockeford Branch at Lockeford, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by kmar, Jul. 14, 2018

*This is the worst bank EVER, this particular location with this staff and manager is the only branch I know about. My parents loved this bank where they lived before and insisted on maintaining their accounts at this bank when they moved here.  Aside from the first month or so we have had nothing but inconvenience and now outright trouble accessing our accounts.  My father passed away in the spring.  We spoke with bank to ensure accounts were in good shape for mom to keep using.  We asked if changes needed to be made to the account, which is a trust.  We provided death certificate and were told all was fine.   
Apparently the teller helping mom, instead of just making changes indicating dad was dead, froze all assets!  Seriously, all assets.  So mom went grocery shopping and NO money.  Called bank, back and forth THREE times on the phone and twice in person.  Each time they insisted, somewhat patronizingly, that the account was fine and mom could get to her money fine.  Well, each time she couldn't.  We talked to the manager several times and she insisted they had done nothing wrong and her account was not frozen.  Finally someone found the mistake the teller made.  It was quickly corrected 3 days later!  3 days!  Of course no apologies, didn't matter to them.  Poor mom.

Now we have a check to the trust to deposit-again, deposit, deposit into her account. So the first time mom and I went in to deposit the check I forgot the deposit slip (do banks still use these?) and didn't know the account number, or her social security number (which I finally got her to stop carrying in her purse).  Apparently a drivers license isn't adequate.  So the teller looked the check over and told me they couldn't look up the account with only a drivers license, we needed to bring back the account number and a completed deposit slip.  So we went back with a deposit slip and the account number.   Now here is the specialty of BOTW....  There is NOW a rule that they didn't mention last time....so SUDDENLY they are unable to deposit the check to the trust (the trust it is made out to, the EXACT SAME check she looked over earlier) because dad didn't sign the check... Remember, this is the trust account we discussed with them earlier, when dad died but now, months later, we are unable to deposit funds needed for mom's care because the check is to mom AND dad.  
FYI we have been able to deposit and cash checks to mom AND dad (written to both, with an and, which BOTW insists is impossible) at 2 other banks as long as we provide dad's death certificate.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Grossmont Center Branch at La Mesa, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great service!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HappyCustomer4, Jan. 18, 2018

Best customer service ever!
I live out of town and my Mom, 86, depends on the drive through. She tried for a couple days but it was not open. I called to see what was up. Sue the manager told me to have my Mom drive up, ring the bell and they would help her! My Mom cannot get inside. I was so shocked I’ve told everyone the story!! My Mom arrived, they helped her and all was well! I can’t thank them enough!! Bank of The West is the Best in Clovis! My mom thanks Sue and the staff!! So do I!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Clovis Branch at Clovis, CA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

GREAT CHOICE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by loycer, Oct. 27, 2017

Great experience with the friendly, knowledgeable staff, highly recommended

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Auburn Branch at Auburn, CA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by StuartWatkins 2018-12-24 09:58:24
I have been completely happy with the staff and service at the SaddleBrooke Branch of Bank of the West. I have multiple accounts there and have worked with a number of the staff over the years. Always top drawer!
Unhappy customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Irishfig, Oct. 19, 2017

I am not one to post about poor Biz but in this case I am.
My GrandDaughter opened her 1st bank account with $655.16 from 2 paychecks from Starbucks. She was given counter checks, she wrote a check for $100.00 as a payment on her new phone. Eight days later we get a NSF notice in the mail along with being charged a $35.00 fee. I was furious and they tried to justify it. I asked why then do you give counter checks, they said it was policy to hold funds that long.  
I said then why didn't you send a letter stating they were being held instead of bouncing it and sending a notice as if she wrote a check on an empty account.
We can't retrieve her funds to close the account until 10 business days.
I went to another bank, they said she'd have $200. of her funds available immediately and she'd be given a temp ATM card.
The asst. manager at the branch continued to not provide satisfactory customer service.
Poor poor customer service, over talking the upset customer, justification and not willing to rectify it immediately.
I have been in business for many years

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Tualatin Branch at Tualatin, OR
8 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mrs. Quinton Smith
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ibgolfer, Sep. 08, 2017

Watch out! Don't use recommendations on safe and secure securities. All about collecting a commission and when you close the account they charge you another $100.00
Watch out!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, The Dalles Branch at The Dalles, OR
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by tamaram22, May. 11, 2017

Wesley went above and beyond to help me with an issue I had with my account caused by a Third party!  I can't thank him enough!  AMAZING Customer service always from this Branch whenever I call!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Saratoga Branch at Saratoga, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Customer Service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by LoisSowa, Dec. 10, 2016

The customer service at this branch is EXCELLENT!  I recently had a very difficult transfer and I had the pleasure of working with Javier Del Toro.  Mr. Del Toro kept me updated as he had to do much consultation and his customer service was outstanding.  I also spoke with Brian, the branch manager and he was wonderful as well.  I recommend this bank, very professional and well run.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Anaheim Hills Branch at Anaheim, CA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Love the Covina Ca branch!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by njgarza2001, Dec. 06, 2016

I deposited a personal check through a ATM other than my branch and the check was placed on hold. unfortunetly for me I needed those funds to pay a bill. I made a call to my branch in Covina and they simply heard me out and lifted the hold, just like that! I really appreciate how kindly Traci spoke to me and how easy the problem was resolved.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Covina Branch at Covina, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Central and San Mateo office Great
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Abqmiss, Sep. 24, 2016

Perfect perfect. Great service. Very professional and friendly. Wonderful Management.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, East Central Branch at Albuquerque, NM
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Hours
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MS01151970, Sep. 21, 2016

Your hours of business are very inconvenient.  What happened to the "bankers hours" 9-6 mentality?  I can't even go inside on a Saturday morning to conduct business. I work until 5pm Mon-Fri, so getting to the bank during the work week isn't happening either since your drive-thru and inside closes at 5pm.  It's frustrating and I am thinking about switching banks due to the inconvenience.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Derby Branch at Derby, KS
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

DXP HYDRAULIC HOSE SHOP TECH
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JimC24, Sep. 20, 2016

Just wanted to make sure that the management at this bank knows they have a great team of people.  I always get great service and friendly  smiles!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, 96th & L Branch at Omaha, NE
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ownere bookkeeper
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by concerned1, Aug. 19, 2016

Ive been with this bank for many years.  So far they have had their issues but no problem.  The employees were always very nice and helpful.  Lately in this Nampa Branch I don't even want to go in anymore or when I go in I hope I get one of the older people.  Suddenly there have been a large turnover of employees.  The new ones are not personable, sometimes rude and matter of factly.  I miss the nicer people and am thinking seriously of changing banks as this is the only one in the area.  I have tried to make conversation but the one lady is very stoic and the other wouldn't let me do a transaction Ive done forever was not polite about it and matter of factly changed the deposit, said nope cant do it.  geez rude

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Nampa Branch at Nampa, ID
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ripped Off For Mortage Ap, It Was Fraud by BofW
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by cashrichkid, Jun. 20, 2016

Was told I could get a Refi from the lone Tree Branch if I deposited up to 250K into a Interest Account as my income was down but they had a new High Net Worth program. They took my money from a CD I had to pay a penalty for and then Immediatey denied the loan. After paying the $300 Appraisal, a penalty of $1500 and then they denied the loan? Of course none of this was noticed by their High Net Worth Staff but just ignored. They had my money and I was stuck. No Refi, Fees and Penalties accessed to me. Very Poor Staff and could not understand why this was a big deal.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Lone Tree Branch at Lone Tree, CO
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible Customer Service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by GloSpa, Jan. 25, 2016

I work for a local small business here in Cheyenne, WY. In September 2015 my predecessor started the process of setting up direct deposit for our employees. My predecessor left the beginning of October. After numerous emails to the lady who was suppose to be assisting in the matter I was referred to the Branch Manager who said she was personally going to follow this through. The last week of December 2015 the Branch Manager called me to state that she was going on a mandatory vacation and she would call me again on January 11, 2016 to set up a time for me to come into the bank and FINALLY get this all taken care of. As of today, January 25, 2016, I have still not heard back regarding and give up. This is a perfect example of the customer service Bank of the West offers their customers and I would not refer ANYONE to them for their business OR personal needs.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Cheyenne North Branch at Cheyenne, WY
3 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Excellent
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by johng16, Dec. 05, 2015

What can I say Phenominal Service. Great Staff. Love them ALL.... they use names they remember everybody they give great service from the teller side to the desk areas I have used every one of them perfect branch to go to highly recommend

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, East Central Branch at Albuquerque, NM
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NnnyJean, Sep. 23, 2015

Moved to the area 3 years ago. Every time we need to visit the branch we are met with excellent service. They remembered our names after the second visit.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Carson City Branch at Carson City, NV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Arrogant, inconsiderate and self sufficient branch manager!
Overall Rating
by Sabrina23, May. 13, 2015

I am a Bank of the West customer for a long time now. I never had an issue until last week when I went to make a name change on my account, I was faced with the most uncooperative Branch Manager ever!!
I had all the evidence for my name change but she kept asking for more papers which I provided afterwards. Unfortunately, she was still finding other absurd excuses to make the matter impossible!! She even refused to use my full last name under the pretext that in the US we don't allow a composed last name?!?!? She mentioned something related to a law here in the US! I asked her to show me a written close for this purpose, she said she will not show me anything as she is the highest power in that branch and she can do whatever pleases her...
I left the branch without changing my name, and she even encouraged me to close my account...
I am so disappointed with this customer service...

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Fruitvale Station Branch at Oakland, CA
16 of 19 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by JstOLiver733 2015-09-07 10:36:06
The Branch Manager should be  corrected by the Bank President for poor representation of the Bank as a whole. One Manager does not make the reputation for the establishment,but can ruin it for the banks good reputation. I suggest you go above his head and report the manager, I hate arrogance when we are the customer and for someone who has banked there for more than 5 yrs. You are due respect; even if you were only there for 1 week.
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 4

Banks Nearby

RiverWood Bank, 1329 Pacific Ave Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1329 Pacific Avenue
Benson, MN 56215
First Security Bank - Sleepy Eye, Benson Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
215 13th Street, South
Benson, MN 56215
State Bank of Danvers, State Bank Of Danvers (0.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2010 Minnesota Ave
Benson, MN 56215

More