American Savings Bank, FSB, Review

American Savings Bank, FSB, Review

Average rating based on 6 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
3
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
3
RP
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RPtile, Sep. 09, 2015

This has been my bank for many years.  I think Ryan is a great manager and all the ladies that help me out behind the counter are very knowledgeable


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on American Savings Bank, FSB, Kihei Branch at Kihei, HI
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

abs service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by samg, May. 18, 2014

excellent service great people

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on American Savings Bank, FSB, Windward City Branch at Kaneohe, HI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HYFR "Best Bank Ever"
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Merp, Jun. 21, 2013

Omg, listening to these fools write their retarded reviews (well, mostly rants) made me come on here and defend my bank.  I have banked with ASB since my first savings account at 15.  I am now 16, jk.  But, for real.  These reviews are misleading because all these people complaining about check holds.  WAKE UP!  Every institution holds checks.  Why should a bank give you immediate credit only to have the check returned?!!  Simple answer...keep enough money in your account to cover the check and maybe the bank will cash that check for you.

ASB offers their customers longer banking hours, 7 day branches, and a free checking account.  I have always had good customer service when I walked in to do my transactions.  So, I dont know what these clowns are doing, but I love my bank, no homo!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
11 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

ASB Online Access
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sunflower789456, Mar. 12, 2013

I logged in to my online ASB account and sent them a message regarding about linking a joint savings account that I just opened to my online access.  Nicole, a customer rep replied saying she can't link my savings account unless I authorize her to delete one of my accounts that was closed.  Like I told her, even through the account was closed, because I am on e-statement and my last e-statement which going to show the deduction amount that was closed didn't come out yet.  I don't want the account to be deleted.  I still need to access my detail transactions history on that account.  At the same time, I also need to access my savings account that was just opened. I can't believe Nicole said she can't just link my savings account to my online access unless I authorize her to delete one of my accounts.  I also called ASB, the customer rep just told me he don't know, the only way I can get linked is to sent ASB a message after I logged in to my online access.  I even went to an ASB branch, the teller said she don't know too, she said know that I have to message someone using my online access.  But Nicole, an online customer rep from the online access messaged me and replied she won't link it unless I authorize her to delete my account.  This is insane.  I can't believe no other people can help me in this situation and the people I talked to at ASB seem that they didn't know anything except to tell you to sent a message to someone using the online access.  If Nicole, that online customer rep from the online messaging keep checking my message telling to link my account and if she keep saying she can't link it, I will switch all my accounts to First Hawaiian Bank, and is ASB's loss.  Because they can't train their employees well enough and they can't train their employees customer service.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on American Savings Bank, FSB, Mccully Branch at Honolulu, HI
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Merp 2013-06-21 04:57:47
LOL, you sound like a real peach!
Worse bank ever!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Maui808, Feb. 05, 2013

Worst bank ever!! I opened an account with u guys and deposited a large check in the account!! It's 9 days now and I still can't use my money. I called the hotline and the guy told me he can't connect me now they are busy and said I shall leave a voicemail!! Wtf!! I have bills to pay! As well your online bill pay system is sh.t!! Tried to pay my rent 4 days ago and had to call 3 times to verify! Iam with u guys 3 weeks an so disappointed! Yes the account is for free but I rather go back to my old bank where I pay 2.50 a month for my account but have awesome service! I will close my account as well! Thank u Lahaina branch for this experience!


* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on American Savings Bank, FSB, Lahaina Branch at Lahaina, HI
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Not a Good Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Ruisdael, Jun. 29, 2012

This is the worst bank ever.  I tried to cash a check and they did not want to cash it.  They gave me lame excuses. WORST customer service.  They couldn't keep up with the excuses.....TESS JACINTO and GLENN YAMADA (PEARLRIDGE BRANCH), they were rude, and disrespectful, worst manager EVER!!!!!! I contacted ARNOLD SANTAYANA to file a complain and he was not helpful and backed up the managers.  It's a shame to have so much trouble to get your money back or make a check to your employees and have them experience being discriminated from this bank. Its easy to deposit the money, but is a nightmare to get it back.  I closed my account with them, it's not worth the trip. After 45 mins they finally gave me the money, just ridiculous.....
Ruisdael L. Vallejo, MAC

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on American Savings Bank, FSB, Pearlridge Branch at Aiea, HI
6 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by Mlee 2013-06-17 17:51:41
I agree!! It's the worst bank ever!!! Every time i put large deposit and they tell me a lame excuse for holding it. The teller, Karin at Ward avenue branch told me it all depends on who helped you ... i was like huh?!! and after she said just cuz its a new account like less then 6month so she's not familiar with the account. ...huh really??!!!! And she is rude ... with an attitude. Worst experience from the bank !!
Why would i be treated like shit for putting my money into their bank!!! American Savings is worst bank with very poor employee professionalism and poor system. Im taking my money out and close it!!!
by Merp 2013-06-21 05:06:15
LOL, you need to remind yourself you got a Masters, or you trying to show off...what a douche.  Idk.... Maybe you should do your own accounting and keep enough money in your account to cover the check?!!  Checks are not as good as cash fool!
by Ruisdael 2013-09-11 16:17:31
I was cashing a 1k check I received, had plenty of money in my account, and the check was from them (ASB), there is not excuse. Finally, being a Therapist has nothing to do with bad customer service.

Banks Nearby

Territorial Savings Bank, Keeaumoku Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
735 Keeaumoku Street, Suite 108
Honolulu, HI 96814
Bank of Hawaii, Ala Moana Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1441 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
Central Pacific Bank, Kapiolani Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1538 Kapiolani Blvd Suite# 3
Honolulu, HI 96814
Ohana Pacific Bank (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1357 Kapiolani Boulevard, Suite 102
Honolulu, HI 96814
First Hawaiian Bank, Kapiolani Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1580 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814

More