United Bank, Review

United Bank, Review

Average rating based on 11 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
5
4 star:
1
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
5
Happy customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by LJanney, Jun. 09, 2014

This is my new favorite bank in the Fredericksburg area!!! It is off exit 126 or by Hood Drive. They are easy to locate, very friendly and the Branch Manager of this location is always helpful. They are now United Bank and my business and personel checking accounts I have are AWESOME with tons of perks! I would definitely recommend the bank on Courthouse Road for anyone new in the area looking for a friendly bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Courthouse Rd Branch 22 at Fredericksburg, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Happy customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by LJanney, Jun. 09, 2014

This is my new favorite bank in the Fredericksburg area!!! It is off exit 126 or by Hood Drive. They are easy to locate, very friendly and the Branch Manager of this location is always helpful. They are now United Bank and my business and personel checking accounts I have are AWESOME with tons of perks! I would definitely recommend the bank on Courthouse Road for anyone new in the area looking for a friendly bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Courthouse Rd Branch 22 at Fredericksburg, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

United Bank, Fair Lakes, Fairfax, Va.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Asma, Oct. 30, 2014

I could not ask for a more helpful, friendly staff.  I had recently moved to the area when I opened an account and have been very satisfied and pleased.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Fair Lakes Branch at Fairfax, VA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by DistressedCustomer 2015-08-12 00:57:39
It is now 1 a.m.  My granddaughter is stranded in Texas.  She is unable to use her Debit card.  A young lady employed at your branch "released" her debit card Monday because my granddaughter had not notified you of her trip so you put a hold on it.  She did not use her card until today and discovered it still had the hold on it.  I called  your online number since your bank is closed-no help, lady said I had to wait until morning. I am greatly distressed because my young granddaughter is stranded hundreds of miles from home and unable to use her card BECAUSE an employee did not release her card properly.  She has more than enough money in her account, no other reason not to be able to use it, and now she must wait another 8 hours there until your bank opens and I can try to get this card released, so she can use her own money to return home.  YOU NEED AN EMERGENCY NUMBER FOR EMERGENCIES!!!!!!  Something went terribly wrong with this situation and she is now scared, has no cash, and is unable to return home unless or until your bank can release her own money to her.  If your bank cannot rectify this in the morning, I will send her money and then close out all accounts with you.  Am I unhappy?  You bet your bank vault I am.
United Bank - Gaithersburg
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by coltspacers, Jul. 28, 2014

Don't ever bank with this bank. They charge you for checks, they charge you for printed statement reports. They nickel and dime you for everything. If your credit or debit card is stolen, you have to inconveniently go in and sign papers to get a new one. They also close at 5, making it impossible to physically go in to do these aformentioned inconveniences if you work a 9-5 job. Don't bank with these guys, there are far superior banks in every category to entrust your money.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Shady Grove Branch at Gaithersburg, MD
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

not appropriate for long term
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NewName, Apr. 24, 2014

I've been with the bank since they started in Charlottesville.  My accounts typically have $100,000 combined all earning the worst rates I have seen but convenient.  Safe deposit box has always been free - just a small one mind you.  Now they asked me for $70 for the box in spite of my huge balances.  Just moved as much as possible to an on line bank (better rates) and keep minimum balance in their bank.  THEIR LOSS.  It is now a game to see how little I can leave in my accounts at United.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Charlottesville Branch at Charlottesville, VA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Brute, Mar. 22, 2014

After the takeover of Virginia Commerce, the original staff that remained is still quite good.  The new staff members are terrible; many don't understand English and are just not good.  The interest rate took a nosedive when United Bank opened and because of all the negatives United incorporated into the branch, I am going to locate a decent bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Duke Street Branch at Alexandria, VA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

This branch is horrible!!
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Donewiththisbank, Mar. 05, 2014

The tellers and other workers are so asinine! Every time I go to this bank I always have trouble getting my check cashed or deposited! This type of service is what makes people dislike banks!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Weyers Cave Branch at Weyers Cave, VA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best Bank Ever
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by debbiebf, Nov. 30, 2012

This bank has more down-home service than I have ever seen. They know all of their customers by name, ask about your family, treat you like family, and go the extra mile. I even had to take my computer in to Skype my daughter in China in order to get something notarized and they were fine with it. My line of credit works great. The online banking is a little clunky because you have to change your password all the blooming time, but other than that it works well once you get in. They keep two dollar bills for me because they know I like them. Just a great bunch of people.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Weyers Cave Branch at Weyers Cave, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Really nice people
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RetMilitaryFamily, Sep. 30, 2011

We have been banking with the Fair Oaks branch for over 8 years and have always received the best service.  I would recommend them to anyone for their banking services.  The staff will go out of their way to take care of you.  Ret. Military family.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Fair Lakes Branch at Fairfax, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Never had a probelm
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sarene4, Sep. 14, 2011

I've been banking with UB for over 10 years and have never had a problem.  The on-line banking is excellent to pay bills and is user-friendly.  Account balances and details is ready to view with one click.  I've always encountered professional and fast service.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Fair Lakes Branch at Fairfax, VA
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

All banks can be bad but these people are the worst
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Unitedbanksucks, May. 06, 2011

I have banked with United for 10 years and put up with repeated errors and poor service. I have finally had enough of them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on United Bank, Fair Lakes Branch at Fairfax, VA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company, Breezewood Branch (0.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
10693 Courthouse Road
Fredericksburg, VA 22407
Branch Banking and Trust Company, Mine Road Branch (0.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4630 Mine Road
Fredericksburg, VA 22408
Virginia Community Bank, Breezewood Branch (0.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
10645 Courthouse Road
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
SunTrust Bank, Southpoint Branch (1.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
10000 Southpoint Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22407
Woodforest National Bank, Fredericksburg Wal-Mart Branch (1.0 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
10001 Southpoint Parkway
Fredericksburg, VA 22407

More