Union Savings Bank, Review

Union Savings Bank, Review

Average rating based on 11 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
4
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
7
Terrible Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Bradsmom, Apr. 09, 2015

Please do your homework before you start working with this bank. They offer a low closing cost but there are several stipulations to their loans.
 

* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Columbus In Branch at Columbus, IN
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Happy Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Happy67583, Nov. 24, 2014

I have had my house mortgage through these folks for around 14 or so years.  This includes 2 homes and several (4+) refinances, the most recent in about 2011.   All of my interactions have been positive, professional, timely and organized.  I've also referred a minimum of 8-10 people to them for home refinances, and they have all expressed they experienced great service, and they have referred others to them as well.  I'm rather shocked reading the negative reviews, as all of my personal experience has been fantastic!   I would highly recommend them!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Columbus In Branch at Columbus, IN
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by kappagirl, Sep. 29, 2014

My husband and I used this bank to purchase our first home as well as refinance it when the rates dropped. They were efficient and friendly all around. We had NO PROBLEMS with anyone at this bank. We even decided to move all our banking to USB. I have read all the reviews on this site and it seems obvious that those with poor ratings either didn’t read the loan application as it clearly states the application is NON REFUNDABLE or are just looking for an excuse to complain. I always recommend this bank to anyone looking for a loan or a good place to bank. Don’t let the negativity sway you. This is a great place to bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Dublin Branch at Columbus, OH
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Experience
Overall Rating
by Cheerleader, Aug. 20, 2014

We have worked with Rick Diso at Union Savings Bank on 3 different property loans and he has done an excellent job for us. He left for a while but is back. He knows his stuff and has done this for years. There is no other bank that allows you to refinance for $250 which we did several times when the rates dropped. Saved a lot of money. I highly recomment Rick Diso as a mortgage officer. Lori D.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Westerville Branch at Westerville, OH
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Service was terrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by susanwiniger, Jun. 14, 2013

My fiancé and I recently applied for a home through Union Savings Bank. We were referred through our real estate agent. We typically bank with Chase.
  I have never been so disappointed in my life. We have been working with a loan officer (david p). After our credit was pulled and we were approved, we could not get ahold of David. We would call and leave voice mails, no response. His bank tellers would transfer me to voice mail after stating he is in his office today. Finally he would communicate through texting and he would state "been out of office, call you tomorrow".  "Out with sick kids, be in contact soon". No calls the next day. After finding a home, David would email us loan documents and sate "fax back asap". Never a phone call. His loan officer Rebecca B. was just as bad. When we did speak, very rude. After asking questions, she acted like we were a problem and she was too busy to talk. My fiancé and I are half way through the loan process at this time do not want another bank to start over and pull our credit again. We are just very ready for it to be over. We love our soon to be home, but this Bank truly made our home buying process a stressful and not fun time. I will stick with Chase for my personal banking. They are always very polite, caring and they make sure you as a customer are taken care of. I warn all of my friends, co-workers, and patients that they will LOVE LOVE my realtor, but what ever they do, DO NOT USE US SAVINGS BANK. We were  not an importance as a customer. The loan officers, and tellerS were all very rude.

 

* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Columbus Branch at Columbus, OH
14 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Not Retiree Friendly - No loyalty to customers
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by btiger, Jun. 06, 2013

As a current Union Savings customer I embarked on what was to be a routine refinance.  Not to be - as a retiree with an 800+ credit rating I was treated as a fifth class citizen; note I had been with this institution for 15-20 years.  Never got an answer - had to go to the BBB just to find out where I stood.
Thank twice about using Union Savings.  We paid off our mortgage and left; never to return.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Union Savings Bank at Cincinnati, OH
12 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

D. Christian
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Dougedoug, Feb. 10, 2013

My wife and I have been very happy with all our banking needs at Union Savings Bank!  If we could pick tellers that were the most efficient, most knowledgable, most courteous and friendly, it would be at Union Savings Bank! From mortgages,equity loans,savings and checking, this plac is the best!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Englewood Branch at Englewood, OH
0 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

TWone
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TWone, Sep. 04, 2012

Tried to refinance with them recently. After divulging bank statements, investment statements and a blood sample was ready for appraisal. Oh wait we have a 47 question document for your property manager to fill out (Condo). Property manager said it was by far the most detailed report she had ever filled out. Go into the office to drop off paperwork, notice a cluster of papers on loan officers desk including a credit report with social security numbers for another customer for me to check out while I wait. Get the appraisal back and it was a deal killer, 7% less value than one I had done less than a month ago at another bank. Didn't bother to call, emailed the appraisal with no comments. Save your time and money and go somewhere else.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Westerville Branch at Westerville, OH
9 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Still in shock
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by IndyResident, Aug. 01, 2012

I recently found a house we liked and applied for a mortgage.  My wife and I have great credit and we were approved.  The appraisal valued the house for more than our offer and we had plenty of money for a down payment.  I also kept contact with the bank almost every day to find out if there were any problems.  There never were.

We were packed, had the kids enrolled in school and had utilities lined up to be connected.  Here comes the good part.  I got an email (yes an EMAIL!) 24 hours before the closing saying the loan was denied due to the property condition and they wouldn't discuss it.

Naturally they won't give me back my money for the appraisal, inspection or anything I have into it.  I also lost 1k earnest money on the house.  Needless to say I wouldn't recommend them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Indianapolis Branch at Indianapolis, IN
14 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Don't EVER consider using this bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by teenytinykat, Jul. 20, 2011

Had 3 siblings and myself attempt to refinance our house with union savings. They stated that we qualified for the refinancing, but they just had to do the appraisal to finalize the loan. After getting an appraisal that was for the amount we needed to get the loan, they denied the loan to us for unknown reason, but still insisted on keeping their "appraisal money." The law will be involved in getting this bank to stop stealing their customers money.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Englewood Branch at Englewood, OH
11 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Most corrupt bank around
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by teenytinykat, Jul. 20, 2011

This bank is literally the most corrupt money-stealing bank around. They take your appraisal money and run without giving you a loan. If you go to them plan on wasting $300 down the drain, because they are all uneducated loan officers and are only out to get money for themselves, not for the customer.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Union Savings Bank, Englewood Branch at Englewood, OH
11 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by DavidPadoven 2014-08-09 16:28:57
A lady that works at this bank recently hit my sons truck in a parking lot causing $1800 in damage, her insurance was expired and now she refuses to pay, I have tried to call several times and she will not return my calls. A bank that employs like this can not be very reputable. Her name is Audra Strehle.
by Bradsmom 2015-04-13 10:45:51
I am sorry I did not read this review before I went there.
They did the same thing to me.

Banks Nearby

LCNB National Bank, Loveland Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
500 Loveland Madeira Road
Loveland, OH 45140
JPMorgan Chase Bank, Loveland Madeira Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
513 Loveland-Madeira Road
Loveland, OH 45140
Fifth Third Bank, Loveland Bank Mart Branch (0.7 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
800 Loveland-Madeira Road
Loveland, OH 45140
Fifth Third Bank, Loveland Banking Center Branch (1.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
10708 Loveland Madeira Rd
Loveland, OH 45140
PNC Bank, Loveland Branch (2.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
10600 Loveland-Madeira Road
Loveland, OH 45140

More