Umpqua Bank, Review

Umpqua Bank, Review

Average rating based on 25 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
14
4 star:
1
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
9
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2
Umpqua Orenco Station
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by debd, Dec. 31, 2016

Manager of this branch is exemplary.  He is  very customer friendly and extremely helpful.  They know my name (!)
  The location is easy for me to get to, and I can always find parking.

Don't much care for the parent company or the savings interest rates. They do give a free checking account. But since they took over Sterling Bank - they have been trying to increase their business by calling themselves a "STORE" which I find disingenuous.  (get ready to pay more for services, people!)

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Orenco Station Branch at Hillsboro, OR
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best banking experience in 5 decades of banking
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DonaldG, Mar. 14, 2016

I have been involved with banks in a variety of roles as an individual and as business owner for five decades.  One of those decades as a mortgage broker.  I recently came to Umpqua Bank in Newport when Bank of America was taken over by Bank of the Cascades.  I opened both personal and business accounts and savings account for my minor daughter and was impressed with the patience and professionalism of everyone I dealt with.  In almost 50 years of banking, I have never had a better banking experience.  In my opinion, their goal to be "the world's greatest bank" seems to be working well for them.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Newport Branch at Newport, OR
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ThanksUmpquah, Mar. 04, 2016

It is wonderful to go into a financial institution where I am recognized by name and helped by concerned individuals. It does not matter what I am there for, depositing funds, asking about a loan, paying a mortgage, I am treated with courtesy and respect.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Moses Lake Branch at Moses Lake, WA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Estate Account Assistance
Overall Rating
Other Services
by Delighted, Nov. 03, 2015

Once again, I was tremendously impressed with the staff at Umpqua Bank in Albany, Oregon.  My praise today goes to customer service representative Caron who helped me complete the seemingly endless tasks needed to oversee an estate account.  She's knowledgeable, helpful, and efficient. She's living proof that the bank manager is making good and sound hiring decisions. . .  The skills of each of these employees provide an efficient and pleasant experience for bank customers in Albany, Oregon.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Albany Branch at Albany, OR
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by justsomegirlyouknow, Oct. 10, 2015

It's been my bank for over ten years, I've never had a problem there and the staff are all really nice.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Cascade Branch at Cascade, ID
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

excellent staff
Overall Rating
by 4321, May. 28, 2015

They do excellent service,  and the staff are very nice. They go out of their way for their local customers.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Coquille Branch at Coquille, OR
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

My Umpqua Bank experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 6425, Nov. 14, 2014

You've got to experience what I did.  The staff greeted me with a smile and superior customer service, Whitney made me feel "at home" in the beautifully decorated and designed lobby of the downtown branch.  We completed most of the paper work for my husband and my newly formed business account, but asked if she could help by meeting us later to fill out other needed forms.  Subsequently, Whitney showed up at our home with freshly baked donuts and balloons to finish the process and offer congratulations.  We couldn't be happier with our newly found friend and business!  A win, win.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, San Jose Downtown Branch at San Jose, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Disgusted
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by fairlyfree, Sep. 06, 2014

Went through the drive-thru to cash an Umpqua check. The teller insisted on charging a fee for not having an account, I detested. The only reason for me going to the bank the check was drawn from was to prevent a fee for cashing. After a few minutes expressing my distaste she waived the fee and started to process my check.

Taking my local oregon id she went on to say something to the nature of we do not normally do this at the drive-thru but since we have already started; while holding up an ink pad. I was a bit confused at first then realized she now wanted my fingerprint. "Unless you have a problem with that?", she said.

I was dumbfounded. With few words I explained the only place that takes fingerprints are jails and I am not a criminal for not having an account. I asked for my id and check back and immediately drove across the street to the First Community credit union.

The Credit Union experience was much, much better. Instead of just cashing the check I decided to to open a checking & saving account. After running through the paperwork and credit checks they were happy to open an account for me (and did NOT require biometrics).  It was a really smooth process.

* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Cave Junction Branch at Cave Junction, OR
5 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by VivaLala 2015-04-15 17:10:38
This is not only every teller's, but every customer service personel's nightmare. From your review, it sounds as though this teller was simply doing his or her job, and there was no way around that.  I didn't work for Umpqua, but I worked for Keybank as a teller for a while. Fortunately, the customers who demand negligence in regards to both federal regulations and bank policy (either of which can EASILY get a teller fired)in order to make themselves happy somehow, are few and far between. If you have issues with a corporation, please take it up with the higher ups, and not with mere customer service reps. We have VERY limited power, and we take a heck of a lot of abuse for policies sometimes WE don't even like.
Avoid this branch!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Velvet, Sep. 03, 2014

The Martinazzi branch is the worse bank I've ever been to. The manager is never there, the tellers unhelpful. They messed up my Health Savings Account which cost me hours of wasted time getting corrected. It is amazing how this branch stays in business! They are proud of their community service. Why not start good service in their own bank?


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Tualatin Branch at Tualatin, OR
3 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Tenlooks 2015-03-21 16:39:00
Joined Umpqua after they took over Sterling Bank in Washington state. Was never a Sterling member, however, I am always referred to the toll-free number for any help. This means NO local service and long waits. They also mis-placed deposits when I made a deposit, of cash, at an Umpqua branch in Oregon.
It should not be the customers job to chase down deposits because computer systems are not connected. I will close this account asap.
The Martinazzi branch will unequivocally exceed your wildest expectations!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by hardchimes, Aug. 14, 2014

The manager and employees sincerely go over, above and beyond the call of duty regarding customer service, kindness, integrity and sincerity. I could not have been more impressed with the people behind the desk such as Gabe and Katie to name a few. The ambiance and aesthetics of the structure are definitely one to be admired. I feel extraordinary comfortable ensuring my security with them. I'd bet my life that you'd be much happier with Umpqua Bank vs any other banking institution.

Sincerely,

Nathan Starr

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Tualatin Branch at Tualatin, OR
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Avoid this branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Annemarie, Apr. 10, 2014

This branch is the worst for customer service. I was just there. No tellers were working! There was 1 person on the phone in the manager's cubicle, one person behind a desk at new accounts, one person in the merchandiser cubicle, and one person at the drive up window. I stood there for 5 minutes. No one acknowledged my presence. I finally asked one person (who was with a customer) if they had any tellers today. The reply was: We only have 4 people working today and we're really busy.
Avoid this branch and just take your business elsewhere!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Lakeport Branch at Lakeport, CA
5 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by bricknercj 2014-06-12 16:06:58
This branch is inside a retirement community.   There is no drive up teller.  My mother banks at this branch. They have two employees that work there, both of whom are great.   Either this comment is just here to spam Umpqua Bank, or the commenter is talking about another branch.
Business Manager
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by rephonedan, Mar. 26, 2014

Over 20 years of doing business with Umpqua. I am called by name and treated with respect. I highly recommend Umpqua.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Sonora Junction Branch at Sonora, CA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Favorite bank and branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by yoda, Feb. 17, 2014

This is the only bank I have ever dealt with that will call my home or office to personally let me know if there is any problem with my account or let me know the answer to a question I asked while in the branch that they could not answer  immediately. To me that is able an beyond customer service in this day and age of banking. Always great staff no matter which branch I go to. Although where I bank is my favorite branch. There is never a hold on any check from any client no matter the size of the check or where it is from, unlike B of A.

There credit card rates are high for a business and the website for the credit card is at least a decade old in design and functionality.

Although their interest rate on our business loan is excellent.

I find that the personal accounts are a better value than the business account, but for the little extra it cost for a business account compared to some of the competitors it is well worth it when it comes to customer service.

In the 10 years I have banked with Umpqua I have never once considered moving my account. Not that I have not had a few problems, but I consider two issues in ten years for three accounts is not a bad track record.

I was trying to get a home mortgage through Umpqua and the experience was the worst of any home loan since the 80's with Washington Mutual. A pleasant person and an easy application. But follow through was non-existent. It is a good thing we backed out of buying the home because it took a year to get a follow up call to see if we still wanted the loan.

The other issue we had was an auto payment to a business loan that got messed up on renewal of the loan. It took several months to get that working correctly. Any fees, bad credit reporting etc. were always taken care of without even asking though. So it was painless, just frustrating that one department could not communicate with another department.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Esther Short Commons Branch at Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by yoda, Feb. 17, 2014

Great bank in Vancouver, WA I will write a review for that branch

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Springfield Branch at Springfield, OR
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Umpqua bank, Natomas Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by JohnB4588, Feb. 03, 2014

Very helpful and friendly tellers. This is a great bank!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Natomas Branch at Sacramento, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by customer9, Jan. 26, 2014

Extremely unhelpful and demeaning staff memebers.  I simply wanted to start a savings account for my children and felt insulted and stupid for not having the correct paper work for opening such account.  I was left with such a bad impression that I personally will never return or recommend. Hoping that a new bank moves into the neighborhood soon. :)

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Progress Ridge Branch at Beaverton, OR
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank for Customer Service
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
Other Services
by CustomerReview, Dec. 30, 2013

Umpqua Bank

This has got to be the worst bank in the world, for website AND customer service.

Bank declined our credit card payment because they "didn't like the looks" of the company I was buying from.

We have ordered from this company many times without a problem...It is for medication.

The money was in the account, but this Bank declined the transaction without even contacting us!

(I heard about the decline from the company we were ordering from.)

Took us 2 days to get a 1 minute answer from the bank (and still waiting for this transaction to be fixed!):

Unanswered emails, long waits on the phone line with obnoxious music & ads designed to drive you away from Customer Service Help as quickly as possible.

Website has been very bad from the start; Multiple re-works without any improvement in functionality.

A high-school kid writes could write software programs better than this:

Out-dated from the outset.

Help Page has NO active links.

Random extended down-times for maintenance.

Slow updates to transactions.

Transactions that come and go, and then come back again.

It's crazy.

I recommend a different bank.

ANY bank has got to be better than this.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Touchmark Retirement Branch at Bend, OR
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

UMPQUA in Phoenix. Unprofessionally Stinks.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by cordobes, Nov. 14, 2013

Cordobe's - Talent,OR
2013-11-148 minutes ago 1 51 They say Umpqua Bank is making money;you would never tell by visiting the Phoenix branch. Here you can see the tellers and staff ,often times standing around waiting for something to do. Well, I don\'t pay their salaries but what sometimes happens ,they take their insecurities and frustrations out on some of their clients. Other customers pick up on it and often feel free to verbally abuse others who may be waiting for services. It becomes a joke and the store manager is more interested in doing lunch than seeing that the office runs smoothley. Part of the problem is the location .  I've never seen a bigger bunch of cowboy pickup truckers and assorted backwoods types in one central location . I guess this is why they enjoy visiting this particular store. They like the snide remarks , the jokes , the ugly stares and backbiting rudeness  I've at times witnessed and experienced. Will they cash your check? Well, If they like you!


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Phoenix Branch at Phoenix, OR
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Never Again
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by AutumnBorn, Oct. 12, 2013

1.  Took more than 10 days to verify my identity to obtain a debit card.  I've never had to do more than show my ID at any other financial institution to obtain a debit card.

2.  A (now former) business partner attempted to make himself sole owner of the account and all other members signers.  When I said "no way" to the banker (a friend of now former business partner), the account was frozen until their legal department could figure it out.  I own the majority of the business, yet they felt it necessary to freeze the account.

3.  I had to freeze out my (now former) business partner in a merger.  But wait...the Umpqua Bank legal department hadn't OK'd it, so paying debts and DOR isn't yet possible.

As soon as Umpqua Bank decides they have no choice but to let my money go (I was the sole investor), I'm taking every dime out and never looking back.

The only good thing I can say is, I've never had to wait in line.  Due to lack of business?

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Bellevue Branch at Bellevue, WA
2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Do not use Umpqua bank - no business freindley
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DoNotUseUmpquaBank, Jun. 21, 2013

DO NOT USE UMPQUA BANK – They are not business friendly - DO NOT USE UMPQUA BANK –

Business have transaction needs and business need to move cash form one location to another and purchase products and pay vendors.  Typically this is done with standing wires and business debit cards

I decided to give Umpqua Bank a try, and this is what I found

1.        UMPQUA BANK is not business friendly;  Umpqua bank has no concept in handling business accounts or the needs that business that have to pay vendors with debit cards.

2.        UMPQUA BANK force business transactions to use wires on transfers over 10K

3.        UMPQUA BANK has un-realistic limits of $3,000 on debt card transactions (regardless of how much money you place in a debit card account.  

4.        UMPQUA BANK  attitude is that it is their money and they are doing you a favor (and if you write checks over $10K, watch out)

5.        UMPQUA BANK has no concept of a standing wire to pay the same business vendor multiple times.

6.        UMPQUA BANK places 5 day hold on Cashier Checks drawn from sister banks.


What a mistake!  I have other bank accounts for my other businesses at one of those big nasty banks.  I have no limits on my business debit card.  I have standing wires to pay my vendors.  So why did I create the new business at Umpqua Bank?  I wanted to try something different - Big mistake on my part.  

I’ll un-wind my business transactions from Umpqua Bank and go elsewhere – I recommend that you do the same.
Do not use Umpqua bank.  Do not make the mistake that I did.  Umpqua bank does not have their act together and I doubt that they will under the executive management in place.  Who knows, maybe the feds will shut them down in a bank audit.

DO NOT USE UMPQUA BANK – there are better banks then Umpqua - UMPQUA BANK IS A JOKE


* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Umpqua Bank, Hawthorne Branch at Portland, OR
8 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2

Banks Nearby

U.S. Bank, Myrtle Creek Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
105 North Main Street
Myrtle Creek, OR 97457
Banner Bank, Riddle Branch (6.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
315 North Main Street
Riddle, OR 97469
Umpqua Bank, Canyonville Branch (6.8 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
215 South Main Street
Canyonville, OR 97417
Banner Bank, Winston Branch (9.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
40 Northwest Glenhart
Winston, OR 97496

More