The Provident Bank, Review

The Provident Bank, Review

Average rating based on 8 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
2
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
6

Don't use their ATMs!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by nyctechie14, Mar. 06, 2014

I made the mistake of trying to use their ATM this morning (my bank is Chase, but this bank is located across the street from my Apt). The ATM was VERY slow and timed out on my withdrawal. Okay --- So, I tried again, VERY slow then went offline and didn't dispense my cash. I spoke to the tellers - totally clueless. Their answer - "I don't know...we don't service the ATMs, that's separate. I guess they were cycling". WTF? However, when I checked my bank account - the funds are pending withdrawal. In dispute now. Will gladly walk over to Christopher Columbus Dr. to avoid using this ghetto bank. Never again!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Provident Bank, 30 Hudson Street at Jersey City, NJ
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

We love Provident Bank in Parsippany, NJ!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SOlgun, Feb. 20, 2013

We own a small business and have banked at your usual suspects, i.e. TD Bank, Chase, Capital One, etc.  We moved to Provident when they opened up right down the block from our house for sheer convenience.  The entire staff from the branch manager down to the tellers treat us really great. We have two business accounts & one personal and could not be happier.

And by the way, most negative comments below are not for the Parsippany branch. People are posting under the wrong location.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on The Provident Bank, Parsippany Branch at Parsippany, NJ
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Poor Service and Callous Attitude
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Joseph1976, Nov. 14, 2012

I have business and personal accounts at this bank and am moving them to another bank. The bank recently lost a payroll check that I gave them for deposit. They failed to follow-up with me and caused a significant problem with their ineptitude.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Provident Bank, Hazlet Branch at Hazlet, NJ
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

review-Provident bank Heights Branch NJ
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Ophelia, Oct. 16, 2012

I was treated rudely by one of the cashiers. Never experienced such rudeness with other banks.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on The Provident Bank, Heights Branch at Jersey City, NJ
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by gwennd322, Feb. 21, 2012

Customer service of the branch staff is excellent. They are courteous and finish transactions in a timely manner. The staff there kow me by name, and allways greet me, and handle my transaction with the utmost professionalism. I reccomend this bank and would never leave.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on The Provident Bank, Milltown at Milltown, NJ
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

They will make you loose your mobey
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by vlad, Sep. 23, 2010

The bank put a hold on my checking account to verify my identity because they had wrong information on file. I had to stop by the local branch
to show them my id twice and they made a copy of it  when I came in the third time.but they will not release my account on the grounds that my cousin has an
account with them as well (which I am managing for him) and they suspect that I am using his account illegally which I am not. My
cousin provided them with a copy of his passport and credit cards to confirm his identity but still both accounts remain on hold. My
cousin is in China right now and cannot come to the country right now. Bank representatives refuse to call him in China
and discus the situation. They stated that they will not call or accept calls from him. We pay our bills and buy food and all the
necessities using our accounts but the bank refuses to cooperate with us.
No clear explanation was given to us by the bank as to the reason, law or regulation under which they are holding our accounts. No proof, no cause, no court order, no investigation, no litigation
We filed complaints with NJ Dep of Banking and FDIC and I am sure it will take some weeks to get to the bottom of this but in the meanwhile we don't have any (our own money) to even buy food, let alone to pay bills.
Does this sound like our rights as citizens protected by law?


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Don't Bank Here!..........The people in the branch are nice!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by GregP, Aug. 10, 2010

This Bank has the worst customer service. Account issues t become the customers fault for not bringing it to THEIR attention.....forget about trying to call the main number which continually disconnects you......
The folks at branch are really nice and helpful.....but they cannot help how poor the back/main office really is.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

VERY BAD EXPERINCE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TomS, May. 14, 2010

VERY RUDE TELLERS, AND MANAGEMENT. VERY SLOW SERVICE. TREAT YOU LIKE TRASH .... THEY STICK THEIR NOISES IN YOUR BUSINESS.
I HAVE BEEN WITH THE BANK FROM LONG TIME BUT THIS BRANCH IS THE WORSE BRANCH EVER !!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Wells Fargo Bank, East Brunswick Mid-State Mall
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
300 State Route 18
East Brunswick, NJ 08816
PNC Bank, East Brunswick Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
647 New Jersey 18
East Brunswick, NJ 08816
PNC Bank, South River Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
55 Main Street
South River, NJ 08882
Northfield Bank, Brunswick Square Mall Rte 18 Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
755 State Highway 18
East Brunswick, NJ 08816
Columbia Bank, Sayreville Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
270 Main Street
Sayreville, NJ 08872
Santander Bank, N.A., Old Bridge Turnpike Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
455 Old Bridge Turnpike
East Brunswick, NJ 08816

View All