TCF National Bank, Review

TCF National Bank, Review

Average rating based on 48 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
7
4 star:
2
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
38
| Next >     page 1 of 5
LazyBear2
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by LazyBear2, Jul. 08, 2014

Generally my wife and I have been very happy with TCF and this branch.  We have been doing business with them since they opened in the Stillwater area.  We have dealt with them with regard to a second mortgage some time ago and that person was not so easy to work with.  However, recently I had to get a signature guarantee for a brokerage account I was moving and the manager was EXTREMELY helpful and nice.  Also, we try very hard to avoid over drafts and other mistakes but occasionally it happens.  In every case they have been very willing to consider the situation and have always been fair.  I can recommend TCF and the Oak Park Heights branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Oak Park Heights Branch at Stillwater, MN
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

an inside perspective.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bluejay49, Jun. 27, 2014

This is an awful branch In a run of the mill company. I watched the most non customer friendly policies come out and be treated as normal constantly. I've watched customers that have been there for years be fee - ed over hundreds on dollars. I was trying to help a woman into a different account and she just looked up at me and said 'just take pity on me and close this account.' Regardless of the situation they won't reverse a fee. They'd rather close your account than waive this fee regardless of your banking history, the people who open accounts there rarely give the disclosure packets or explain the fees, they have a very low quality product and they don't cater much besides a basic checking and maybe a power savings with a low interest rate and a decent fee that will never outweigh the .03 interest you might make a penny off of. A few of the employees particularly will say the rudest things, hold up the line for a good while because they don't want the customers yet, just because they're rude. If a business overcharges or double charges you and the account goes negative then they tell you to go to the business and demand that 37 non refundable fee back
 Even if it was only 15 dollars in the first place. This is an awful bank. Go just about anywhere else and get a better deal. There's a reason most employees don't have accounts here

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, 6th & Chambers #7029 Branch at Aurora, CO
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Well known AWFUL employee - should have heeded the warnings. Coon Rapids TCF -Cub Foods
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Eris, May. 02, 2014

I had been warned by 3 separate people to avoid the "B----" at this location. There was only one teller present at the time of my visit, however. When I started speaking to her, her obnoxious attitude set off one or two alarm bells... ahh yes, I'm dealing with Her. Lucky me.

At first I was quite calm while she answered my questions with one word answers - this was extremely frustrating. I have worked in customer service and this woman was like the video they show you on how NOT to behave if a customer is upset.

I asked her, as one does, if her manager was there. "I am the manager" she said. I could not help but laugh as she was clearly not - a manager would NEVER behave in the way she did. The story changed though when other tellers started to come out, I asked her again a bit louder to clarify that she was indeed the manager, and now she wasn't - the manager was not there. I also could not help but notice her business card said "supervisor." This is an hourly position not even CLOSE to manager. If you are curious, check out glassdoor to see just how far a supervisor is from manager. In pay and status. Its quite a distance.

I asked to have my accounts closed - normally a manager would try to talk you out of that, and as the complaint line gentleman told me "we would hate to lose you over this." I started to get angry as this woman not only lies but treats customers like opponents in some kind of high school fight. Not one iota of politeness or basic customer service skills were shown to me.

Every single thing out of her mouth was communicated to me in the nastiest way possible. In the end I flipped her the bird and left. I told her before leaving, "Don't say you're the manager when you aren't, that's lying."

On the phone TCF apologized profusely for her behavior and I filed a formal complaint. Its customer service 101 that you never, EVER respond to a customer in such a way that will escalate any sort of irate situation. You de-escalate. This is her JOB, she seems to feel its a flame war. Mind blowing.

This woman HAS to be someone's daughter or girlfriend because she should not be employed there, if anywhere. Her name is Kayla or Caylee or something - as people warned me, I'm warning you now - if you have to go to a store branch and it has to be this one, steer clear. If you do have an experience, make a formal complaint. They are EXTREMELY understanding and helpful when you do.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A dishonest Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by UnhappyTCFCustomer, Apr. 26, 2014

I just had a very unpleasant experience with this bank.  Essentially I was lied to by an employee regarding the availability of money deposited.  When making the deposit I asked a specific question about when the money would be available and was told that it would be available today.  When I tried to access the money I was told by the branch it would not be available until Monday, I called the joke they call customer service adn was told that it would not be available until Wednesday.

The bottom line here is that I was misled by the branch employee and this joke of a bank will do nothing to fix their problem. Don't believe a word these people tell you, they will take your money and tell you lies about when you can access it.

Reminds me of 1929 when the banks were failing, they would not give the money back to the depositors then either.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Maplewood Cub Branch at Saint Paul, MN
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

WORST BRANCH (2297
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ABCDEFG, Apr. 03, 2014

Anything you ask this branch they can't help you with.  I asked it somebody can help me set up online banking, they told me they don't do it there and I have enroll at home, even though it lacked me out!!!
I asked for another favor, they told me they can't do it!!!! I read different reviews, same think other people are complaining off.  I don't understand why this branch is open in Hickory Hills Jewel--2297.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Hickory Hills Jewel Branch #2297 at Hickory Hills, IL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Close this bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Lilytear77, Mar. 29, 2014

Tcf bank closed my savings account, without any notification.  I will never entrust my money with them again. The customer service is horrible and unprofessional. This banks needs to be closed permanently. I was told a check would be mail to my home.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Colorado Administrative Office at Englewood, CO
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

watch out for
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by nobull, Feb. 20, 2014

branch supervisor is very .. does not try to help you in any way very mean lady I feel sorry for the bank im switching banks because of her very stubborn only cares about herself

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, 60th & Nicollet Cub Branch at Minneapolis, MN
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Eris 2014-05-02 19:12:59
She is well known, you aren't alone - trust me.
excellent bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BenjaminBoy, Jan. 28, 2014

Everyone so great. Excellent service.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Oak Creek Branch at Oak Creek, WI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Really?????
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Allison1, Oct. 24, 2013

I went in to cash some bonds and was told their Internet was down and could I come back in a few hours!!  Really???  I was on my lunch break!  I took my bonds to Wells Fargo and they were very pleasant and helped me with a smile!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Brooklyn Park North Cub Branch at Minneapolis, MN
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by AKSBR 2014-03-04 01:32:54
WHAT'S THE  'SWIFT CODE' OF THIS BANK
Customer Service....ha....Munster IN
Overall Rating
by annabridge, Oct. 20, 2013

This staff should unanimously be nominated for the exceptionally horrible customer service award of the century!! A CSR by the name of Treasure (more like trash) prompted me to get off of my phone. Once I asked her why she responded that the machinery was sensitive to cellular reception. Funny I saw her cell phone on the counter. I suggested that they put a sign up if that was an official rule. She then called her supervisor and said as I stood there, "Shantell, there's a customer who wants us to put a sign up saying no phone use is allowed". Shantell responded by rolling her eyes. When I told Treasure that they have the best customer service around (sarcastically of course) the idiot responded you do too. Hmmmm. When have you ever witnessed my customer service? I walked away and stood out of their sight as I reviwed my receipt for accuracy and literally heard these poor excuse for Bankers talking about me in front of another customer!!! These women (using the term loosly) need to get a job that they can actually do and quit abusing customers!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Munster, In Jewel Branch #2329 at Munster, IN
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 5
Wells Fargo Bank, Marion Road Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5300 West 41st Street
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Great Western Bank, Sioux Falls Wal-Mart
Full Service Retail Office
3209 South Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Home Federal Bank, 4901 West 41st St Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4901 W. 41st St.
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
TCF National Bank, Twin Cities Messenger Service Branch
Limited Service Messenger Office
2508 South Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
TCF National Bank, Mankato Messenger Service Branch
Limited Service Messenger Office
2508 South Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Liberty National Bank, Sioux Falls Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3520 S Louise Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57106

View All