TCF National Bank, Review

TCF National Bank, Review

Average rating based on 48 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
7
4 star:
2
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
38
| Next >     page 1 of 3
LazyBear2
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by LazyBear2, Jul. 08, 2014

Generally my wife and I have been very happy with TCF and this branch.  We have been doing business with them since they opened in the Stillwater area.  We have dealt with them with regard to a second mortgage some time ago and that person was not so easy to work with.  However, recently I had to get a signature guarantee for a brokerage account I was moving and the manager was EXTREMELY helpful and nice.  Also, we try very hard to avoid over drafts and other mistakes but occasionally it happens.  In every case they have been very willing to consider the situation and have always been fair.  I can recommend TCF and the Oak Park Heights branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Oak Park Heights Branch at Stillwater, MN
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

an inside perspective.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bluejay49, Jun. 27, 2014

This is an awful branch In a run of the mill company. I watched the most non customer friendly policies come out and be treated as normal constantly. I've watched customers that have been there for years be fee - ed over hundreds on dollars. I was trying to help a woman into a different account and she just looked up at me and said 'just take pity on me and close this account.' Regardless of the situation they won't reverse a fee. They'd rather close your account than waive this fee regardless of your banking history, the people who open accounts there rarely give the disclosure packets or explain the fees, they have a very low quality product and they don't cater much besides a basic checking and maybe a power savings with a low interest rate and a decent fee that will never outweigh the .03 interest you might make a penny off of. A few of the employees particularly will say the rudest things, hold up the line for a good while because they don't want the customers yet, just because they're rude. If a business overcharges or double charges you and the account goes negative then they tell you to go to the business and demand that 37 non refundable fee back
 Even if it was only 15 dollars in the first place. This is an awful bank. Go just about anywhere else and get a better deal. There's a reason most employees don't have accounts here

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, 6th & Chambers #7029 Branch at Aurora, CO
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Well known AWFUL employee - should have heeded the warnings. Coon Rapids TCF -Cub Foods
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Eris, May. 02, 2014

I had been warned by 3 separate people to avoid the "B----" at this location. There was only one teller present at the time of my visit, however. When I started speaking to her, her obnoxious attitude set off one or two alarm bells... ahh yes, I'm dealing with Her. Lucky me.

At first I was quite calm while she answered my questions with one word answers - this was extremely frustrating. I have worked in customer service and this woman was like the video they show you on how NOT to behave if a customer is upset.

I asked her, as one does, if her manager was there. "I am the manager" she said. I could not help but laugh as she was clearly not - a manager would NEVER behave in the way she did. The story changed though when other tellers started to come out, I asked her again a bit louder to clarify that she was indeed the manager, and now she wasn't - the manager was not there. I also could not help but notice her business card said "supervisor." This is an hourly position not even CLOSE to manager. If you are curious, check out glassdoor to see just how far a supervisor is from manager. In pay and status. Its quite a distance.

I asked to have my accounts closed - normally a manager would try to talk you out of that, and as the complaint line gentleman told me "we would hate to lose you over this." I started to get angry as this woman not only lies but treats customers like opponents in some kind of high school fight. Not one iota of politeness or basic customer service skills were shown to me.

Every single thing out of her mouth was communicated to me in the nastiest way possible. In the end I flipped her the bird and left. I told her before leaving, "Don't say you're the manager when you aren't, that's lying."

On the phone TCF apologized profusely for her behavior and I filed a formal complaint. Its customer service 101 that you never, EVER respond to a customer in such a way that will escalate any sort of irate situation. You de-escalate. This is her JOB, she seems to feel its a flame war. Mind blowing.

This woman HAS to be someone's daughter or girlfriend because she should not be employed there, if anywhere. Her name is Kayla or Caylee or something - as people warned me, I'm warning you now - if you have to go to a store branch and it has to be this one, steer clear. If you do have an experience, make a formal complaint. They are EXTREMELY understanding and helpful when you do.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A dishonest Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by UnhappyTCFCustomer, Apr. 26, 2014

I just had a very unpleasant experience with this bank.  Essentially I was lied to by an employee regarding the availability of money deposited.  When making the deposit I asked a specific question about when the money would be available and was told that it would be available today.  When I tried to access the money I was told by the branch it would not be available until Monday, I called the joke they call customer service adn was told that it would not be available until Wednesday.

The bottom line here is that I was misled by the branch employee and this joke of a bank will do nothing to fix their problem. Don't believe a word these people tell you, they will take your money and tell you lies about when you can access it.

Reminds me of 1929 when the banks were failing, they would not give the money back to the depositors then either.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Maplewood Cub Branch at Saint Paul, MN
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

WORST BRANCH (2297
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ABCDEFG, Apr. 03, 2014

Anything you ask this branch they can't help you with.  I asked it somebody can help me set up online banking, they told me they don't do it there and I have enroll at home, even though it lacked me out!!!
I asked for another favor, they told me they can't do it!!!! I read different reviews, same think other people are complaining off.  I don't understand why this branch is open in Hickory Hills Jewel--2297.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Hickory Hills Jewel Branch #2297 at Hickory Hills, IL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Close this bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Lilytear77, Mar. 29, 2014

Tcf bank closed my savings account, without any notification.  I will never entrust my money with them again. The customer service is horrible and unprofessional. This banks needs to be closed permanently. I was told a check would be mail to my home.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Colorado Administrative Office at Englewood, CO
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

watch out for
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by nobull, Feb. 20, 2014

branch supervisor is very .. does not try to help you in any way very mean lady I feel sorry for the bank im switching banks because of her very stubborn only cares about herself

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, 60th & Nicollet Cub Branch at Minneapolis, MN
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Eris 2014-05-02 19:12:59
She is well known, you aren't alone - trust me.
excellent bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BenjaminBoy, Jan. 28, 2014

Everyone so great. Excellent service.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Oak Creek Branch at Oak Creek, WI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Really?????
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Allison1, Oct. 24, 2013

I went in to cash some bonds and was told their Internet was down and could I come back in a few hours!!  Really???  I was on my lunch break!  I took my bonds to Wells Fargo and they were very pleasant and helped me with a smile!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Brooklyn Park North Cub Branch at Minneapolis, MN
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by AKSBR 2014-03-04 01:32:54
WHAT'S THE  'SWIFT CODE' OF THIS BANK
Customer Service....ha....Munster IN
Overall Rating
by annabridge, Oct. 20, 2013

This staff should unanimously be nominated for the exceptionally horrible customer service award of the century!! A CSR by the name of Treasure (more like trash) prompted me to get off of my phone. Once I asked her why she responded that the machinery was sensitive to cellular reception. Funny I saw her cell phone on the counter. I suggested that they put a sign up if that was an official rule. She then called her supervisor and said as I stood there, "Shantell, there's a customer who wants us to put a sign up saying no phone use is allowed". Shantell responded by rolling her eyes. When I told Treasure that they have the best customer service around (sarcastically of course) the idiot responded you do too. Hmmmm. When have you ever witnessed my customer service? I walked away and stood out of their sight as I reviwed my receipt for accuracy and literally heard these poor excuse for Bankers talking about me in front of another customer!!! These women (using the term loosly) need to get a job that they can actually do and quit abusing customers!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Munster, In Jewel Branch #2329 at Munster, IN
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Hiring off the streets
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by annabridge, Oct. 11, 2013

This is the most ignorant group of people that I ever made the mistake of semi trusting with my money. Not only do they have a new employee almost every time I go there but they have yet to fully train their seasoned employees. I get hassled by these morons every time I go to the bank. I had this incompetent teller tell me that I couldn't get my balance without showing an id plus entering my pin. When I told her to cancel my transaction and show me where it states two forms of id required for a balance on the rules and regulations...she wasn't even sure where the pamplets were located!!! Upon calling s different bank manager to ask where she could print them out,she then handed me a print out and called the next customer. Finally when I showed her that no id was needed since I wasn't getting any cash back and I'd entered my pin; she decided that I was being rude to her and refused to wait on me!!! I don't think I was ever greeted once at that bank. The best decision I ever made concerning TCF Bank was closing my account!  If you're not into dealing with under trained ,ignorant, minimal banking experience, poor customer service giving, terrible attitude tellers....DO NOT OPEN ANY ACCOUNTS AT TCF BANK IN MUNSTER!!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Munster, In Jewel Branch #2329 at Munster, IN
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by maryelston1 2013-12-03 03:25:52
I agree I had a teller named Stacy Succa steal $9000 out of my B of A acct back in 1999. This started my life on a downward spiral when it was supposed to be on an upstroke. I want these funds replaced with infinate interest! Please advise.I also left $10 in a B of A Acct in Portland, Ore on Williams St NE in 1972 it was a savings acct. I would also like to retreive it with compounded interest as well. My name at the time of that deposit was Mary E Gariti-Johnson
TCF = Total Customer Fees
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Anokaflyer, Aug. 29, 2013

Total customer Fees is the more appropriate name for this bank. I am stuck with the bank because we have a mortgage with them. They will stick with fees any way they can. The only way the reverse fees is by taking then to the BBB. Then they act like a normal civil bank.

Also they sent me a new card three times to an address I haven't been at for 10 years!!!! I have other accounts with my normal address and they send me mail at my normal address. This type thing is common with TCF.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

NSF Charge ripoff
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by parentofuiucstudent, Apr. 21, 2013

My son was charged $37 insufficient funds fee 5 times (total $185) despite deposting funds exceeding the negative balance prior to at least three of the transactions for which he was penalized. The tellers he talked to acknowledge this - they gave him receipts showing +ve balance, but maintain that transactions prior to clearing of checks still incur the $37 penalty regardles of what is showing as his account balance. They would not let my son, a freshman away from home, see the Bank manger or anyone else who may have the discretion to waive these ridiculous fees. I know the fine print he signed stipulated this fee, but should they not have warned him that he will be charged if he makes use of the money he deposited which was showing as positive balance? Paying $185 for withdrwals totaling less than $30 seems total ripoff .. does he have any recourse?

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, University Of Illinois-Bookstore Bra at Champaign, IL
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Harassment of Jewel customers
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by halcyon, Apr. 08, 2013

I will NEVER get an account with TCF.  I am a frequent Jewel customer and almost every time I come in I get harassed by these people.  They actually roam the aisles soliciting for business.  How's that workin' for ya?  Hard to believe they get any accounts this way.  I also don't understand why Jewel doesn't mind their own customers being driven away from the store.  What are they getting out of it?  Complaints do nothing and sadly I see by other webpages that this has been going on for years.  Grocery  stores are for groceries.  Banks are for banking. What's so hard to understand?  Leave me alone!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Broadway/Foster Jewel Branch #2235 at Chicago, IL
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by cheryl54 2013-09-20 10:34:36
this is the worst bank possible customer service doesn't stroll in till almost 9 15 and then really not even ready to run to close to 930 staff is arrogant and rude. TCF needs to clean house at this bank from the top down.
Caution!!!!!
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by Cashonly, Mar. 23, 2013

Banker or Bank robber? After 5 years with TCF, TCF suspended our banks accounts worth $10,000's for no reason what so ever except to say they were doing an audit of the accounts. This suspension went on for 3 months with no explanation after which they released the funds without so much as an apology. If you think your money is safe with this bank....think again. When someone deprives you of the use of your bank funds for 3 months without just cause, this makes you a BANK ROBBER.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Lakeville Branch at Lakeville, MN
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by goldfish000, Jan. 31, 2013

This bank reeked of smoke.  Someone was definitely smoking in there.  Employees did not know how to do the simplest tasks and have no idea how to do anything basic.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Highlands Ranch Branch at Littleton, CO
4 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rip Off
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by msmac417, Jan. 05, 2013

I have only been with this bank for 2 1/2 months and I have already been charged over 200 dollars in overdraft fees. They are really trouble. I make deposits so that I won't be overdrawn and then after I make the deposit I find that they charge an overdraft fee. They are setting up accounts and posting charges to get extra money. I am so fed up already with them, that I am going to have to close my accounts after only such a short time. Do not use this bank if you want to save money.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Homewood Jewel Branch #2307 at Homewood, IL
5 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Only out to make a sale or lure one in to create account,no concern about the customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by currter, Dec. 19, 2012

I was yet again lured to create an account and only did so
because I knew the person asking me to open an account.
I usually avoid these solicitations but I was given an
apology by the person asking this time and so I decided
to open an account and have my mom benefit getting the $25
credit.

I opened my checking account with the minimum $25 only to find out that I was required to pay about $18 to order checks when I told them I can make my own checks or get them cheaper online for about $6.  I was then strongly encouraged to open a savings account to earn interest.
I was asked to provided another $25 but only had my Chase
debit card. I asked the agent if I could step away to
make a purchase and get cash back in the Jewel store
so I was not assessed a network transaction fee on either
end (TCF or Chase). I was assured strongly that nothing
would happen it was okay and I would not be assessed any
fees if she swiped my debit card to get the additional $25.
I believed her and allowed her to swipe the card.

Just today I saw I was assessed a $5 out of network
out of ATM fee from Chase an I am very upset.
I called TCF Bank today and TCF bank promised to call me
and I have not gotten a call yet.

I do not trust this bank and I am thinking of cancelling
my account early and I hope I can do it in time to
not be charged for the checks they are sending.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Ashland/95th St Jewel Branch #2201 at Chicago, IL
3 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

rude employee
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by michellea, Nov. 12, 2012

terrible, rude, iill-mannered employee Nicholas Swenson. Doesn't fit in on this job . Need to go back enroll on customer service training. Treat customers like they owed a favor to him just because he wok in bank. How dumb a person not thinkin without customers he does'nt have a job at all. if you're not happy at your job then quit and not just be there to get paid!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Southdale Cub Branch at Minneapolis, MN
5 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

CUSTOMER SERVICE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by UnknownMarchBaby, Nov. 10, 2012

TCF is the worst. They Don't know how to help people at all. If I need assitance your suppose to help. Instead you constanly take money out my account which is horrible service. Thid bank sucks and it's time for me to find one that benefits me.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on TCF National Bank, Jewel - S. Marshfield Branch at Chicago, IL
7 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 3

Banks Nearby

TCF National Bank, Tcf National Bank (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2508 South Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
TCF National Bank, Twin Cities Messenger Service Branch (0.0 miles)
Limited Service Messenger Office
2508 South Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
TCF National Bank, Duluth Messager Service Branch (0.0 miles)
Limited Service Messenger Office
2508 South Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
TCF National Bank, Mankato Messenger Service Branch (0.0 miles)
Limited Service Messenger Office
2508 South Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
First Dakota National Bank, Sioux Falls South Louise Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2400 South Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106

More