SunTrust Bank, Review

SunTrust Bank, Review

Average rating based on 170 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
56
4 star:
6
3 star:
2
2 star:
11
1 star:
95

| Next >     page 1 of 17
Misty was short and not helpful at all!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Hubbard7710, Sep. 15, 2014

This bank location honestly has some of the most unprofessional, ghetto tellers I have EVER seen at a banking location.  It is honestly making me want to switch my account to another bank.  I may have to do that soon.  I just called to ask a question regarding a deposit and spoke with Misty.  She seemed nice on the phone, but it was apparent that I was taking too much of her time and she rushed me to end the call and hung up very quickly!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fletcher Branch at Tampa, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank on the Planet
Overall Rating
by marilynsuntrust, Aug. 31, 2014

While traveling from my home in Texas to California, I lost my wallet on the train on Thursday. I immediately called Suntrust and agreed to pay $25 to have a new debit card overnighted to me, as I was scheduled to fly back to my home in Texas just 3 days later on Saturday evening. I was very happy to pay the $25 for overnight shipping to my hotel in California. The debit card didn't arrive on Friday though as it was supposed to. I called suntrust to see what happened and was told that they don't even offer overnight shipping on cards. Only 2 to 3 BUSINESS days. Which means that myy card was on it's way to california scheduled to arrive on Tuesday, which my flight back home to Texas is three days PRIOR on Saturday. Obviously I was livid, and demanded a refund of the $25 and to talk to a manager. I was told there were no managers there and that one would call me the next day. Of course, nobody from suntrust called me the next day. So i called back on Sunday from my home in texas and spoke to a manager finally. This manager tells me that it is going to be delivered to my hotel in California on tuesday. She refused to listen to the recorded phone call where i was lied to about the overnight shipping and she refused to give me a refund. She said I would need to call back again on Monday to talk to customer service and have them refund the fee. She also wanted to charge me $25 AGAIN to have yet another sent to me in texas at my home, since I'm back from vacation now. I told them to keep the damn card and withdrew all my money and switched financial institutions for good. This was the worst experience of my life in dealing with a bank. The people who answer their calls are like robots that could care less about the customer experience.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Suntrust Bank at Atlanta, GA
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HOPEFULLY CUSTOMER
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HOPEFULLYCUSTOMER, Aug. 29, 2014

I am having a problem with one of the TELLER who made a mistake on a transaction with me and will not make it right. I hope the management make it RIGHT.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Goodlettsville Mm 821 at Goodlettsville, TN
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Sparkplug, Aug. 20, 2014

I have been a customer since 1986 at the various banks that have been located in front of the Kroger on Byhalia Road in Collierville, TN.  I was very disappointed when Suntrust closed that branch.  Now the remaining branch in Collierville is not open on Saturdays and the ATM machine is very poorly located.  I don't know who made these decisions but it appears from comments that some customers are leaving the bank to find services elsewhere.  I am considering the same.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Schilling Farms Branch - 961 at Collierville, TN
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

In total disbelief
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by InShock, Aug. 01, 2014

Someone put in $2000 in my account, $2000 in my joint account and $2000 in my minor son's account and moved it around. These checks were bad and I was accused of depositing them yet I am the one that called the bank. Now I am being sued by Sun Trust. I would not recommend Sun Trust to anyone not even my worst enemy. If you have an account there CLOSE IT find a different bank Sun Trust rips off people and their long time customers. I couldn't believe it not I am paying the price for trusting a bank with keeping my account safe. No such thing.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Western Avenue Mm Branch 856 at Knoxville, TN
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Alexg7 2014-08-04 13:32:21
I have been banking with Suntrust for more than 15 years. I must say that I am really disappointed with the new employees at this branch. They have no customer service skills. I went to cash a check today. The teller asked me for an ID. Since she had handle my business account deposits several times,  I jokingly asked her "You don't know me? " She said "No I don't" "If I don't know the inside of your house I don't know you". I told her that she should know her customers and she repeated  "If I don't know the inside of your house, I don't know you." I thought that was a really silly and not a smart thing to say to a old customer. I told her that I was the owner of ALL STARS Performing Arts Academy around the corner and she sarcastically said " And I have a daughter that wants to dance" I took that as a bully tactic on her part. In other words, don't bother me or I won't bring my daughter to take dance lessons at your studio".

Suntrust should send some of the employees at this branch to customer service training school. I am closing all my accounts. I am taking our business to another bank.
TELLER STOLE $100, BANK SAID NOT THEIR PROBLEM
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by dylansgoldman, Jul. 29, 2014

Yesterday, after first withdrawing $1200 from my personal account at Chase, I made a cash deposit of $950 to my landlord's account at the SunTrust Branch on Mtn. Industrial Blvd. in Tucker. Upon arriving, I filled out my deposit slip and was called up by Benjamin, one of their tellers. I handed him the deposit slip and then, for the first time since receiving it from my bank, opened the Chase envelope containing $1200, and counted out $950 and handed it to the teller. Well, I thought it was $950. I then folded up the remainder, which should have been $250 (two hundreds, two twenties and one ten), and put it in my wallet.  Benjamin began to recount the money, all hundreds with one fifty, but then stopped, the money fanned out in his hands. Quickly, his expression changed, he handed me my deposit receipt and thanked me. He still hadn't finished counting down the money in front of me, but as I was in a hurry, and didn't for a second fathom a bank teller would act with anything less than integrity, wrote off the encounter and left the bank.
Wouldn't you believe my surprise when I got home and realized that I had folded up $150, not $250. I didn't make any stops in between, and hadn't removed the money from my wallet, or my wallet from my pants since right before leaving the branch. There was no way I could have dropped a one-hundred dollar bill- my bills were still folded neatly in my wallet the way I had left them.
As I am not one to falsely accuse, I retraced my steps over and over with my girlfriend, who was with me the entire day and had waited in the car at the bank. I contacted my landlord to verify the deposit amount was $950 and not $1050- it was $950.
Unfortunately, by the time I took my wallet out of my pants at home and noticed I was short $100, the branch already was closed. So I went back today to speak with a Supervisor or the Branch Manager.
I was very calm and quiet, wanting to be discreet about this issue, as I was obviously implying that Benjamin had stolen $100. Of course, his drawer was neither over or under yesterday- and why would it be? He pocketed my money!
I explained what happened as I just did above, and told his supervisor I would like someone to review the tapes from yesterday so we could get to the bottom of this. She was very polite and seemed genuinely concerned. After briefly speaking with the Branch Manager behind closed doors, she returned to tell me that he/she said, "Once you left with the balance, there is nothing we can do," to which I replied, "And you don't record the tellers, do you?" She explained that they do not record behind the tellers at all. Still calm, I said, "Well that [guilt and bad karma] is something that he will just have to live with then," and left.

I guess I forgot to mention...I'm a published journalist in Atlanta.

Now I ask you: What is the point of having cameras behind the tellers if they aren't recording? One of your employees can STEAL $100 from a customer and GET AWAY WITH IT, SCOTT FREE? And it's MY PROBLEM? I don't think so.

DON'T BANK WITH SUNTRUST. THEY LIE, CHEAT, STEAL AND HAVE NO ETHICAL STANDARDS. And the customer is obviously NOT always right.

I plan on taking this issue as high up as I have to.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Mountain Industrial Branch at Tucker, GA
9 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by HOPEFULLYCUSTOMER 2014-08-29 20:28:31
Hello, I am having a problem just like this i hope that the SUNTRUST BANK MANAGEMENT WOULD DO THE RIGHT THING. THE TELLER TOOK $900.00 FROM ME.
Furys Ferry Suntrust is Great
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Hamerdawg, Jun. 27, 2014

Whole family has been banking here for years and everyone has always been very friendly, kind, and helpful.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fury's Ferry Publix Branch at Augusta, GA
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Suntrust Mulberry is great!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EdieSJones, May. 30, 2014

They're great!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Mulberry Branch at Mulberry, FL
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Lack of service
Overall Rating
by smithca44, May. 21, 2014

I would say I received "poor" service, but actually, I did not receive ANY service.  I went to pick up a Western Union transfer and was told only one person knows how to do it, and that person was not there that day.  Inconvenient and I had to try to find another Western Union location. It might be good customer service to train a few people on how to do Western Union tasks.

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Westgate Branch at Manassas, VA
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The simple things
Overall Rating
Other Services
by Thesimplethings, May. 05, 2014

I am not a Sun Trust customer, and now it is guaranteed I will never be one. It may seem silly but on a fundamental level I think my story is important. My young son had a roll of quarters he had saved and wanted to exchange for a ten dollar bill ("real money" according to him). While we were at the store I took his roll of quarters to do just that. The money center in the store wouldn't do it for us and pointed us in the direction of the bank. I wasn't overly surprised. The bank is that place that helps you exchange, keep, save, and borrow.... money. There was no line, the counter staff were not busy. From what I could tell they were just sitting there talking to each other. So I walked up with our humble roll of quarters and asked for a ten dollar bill. The lady behind the counter asked if I had an account with them. This took me a little off guard. I wasn't trying to take out an auto loan. I just wanted to exchange some VERY small currency. I don't have an account and she very brusquely told me I needed an account and a phone number registered with Sun Trust in case the amount wasn't correct so they had a way to contact me. I know this sounds like I'm making this up. I wish I was. At this point I am beyond bewildered. I had to pause to make sure she wasn't joking. I'm also insulted. First, I have worked in multiple jobs where I've had to count up and maintain money tills or a safe. With this you have to count rolls of change. I know technology exists that allows you to place the roll in the counter and based on weight it knows whether or not the amount is right (I know because I've used it and it takes about 1 second). Beyond that, if you don't trust the contents of the roll, I know it took me all of about 30 seconds to count up the roll in the first place BY HAND(oh the horror!). She tells me sorry there is nothing she can do.

Big bad Sun Trust bank can't count a $10 quarter roll.

I realize the loss of me ever being a customer will have zero impact on this bank. I also realize I could tell as many people as I could find not to use Sun Trust, until I was blue in the face, and Sun Trust would never even flinch. I realize this will probably never even actually be read by anyone at Sun Trust. If it is it will likely be disregarded as quickly as my little $10 quarter roll. I didn't argue. I couldn't. How stupid do you think your customers are?  I said "thank you anyways" and walked away. I was in absolute shock. Yes, I was asking for a free service, but it was a realistic free service. I was asking to exchange 40 quarters in to a bill. Something like this is a little thing you do for your customer to earn a reputation in the community. It costs you absolutely nothing and gives you a happy customer that may consider you the next time they need to buy a new car. I do believe I am in the market for such a bank.  

Now all this particular location is left with is a a couple of employees talking to each other (that you had to pay anyways), and a bad review. I'm not an expert, but it seems to me you missed out on free money. I will take my auto loan elsewhere because my son's $10 just wasn't good enough for you. I'm not drastically old fashioned, but sometimes it really IS the simple things that matter.

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Lilburn Wal-Mart Branch at Lilburn, GA
45 of 46 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

5 comments. Add a comment

by CM75 2014-05-12 22:46:05
I do not think this is a fair review on the actual services this place provides. Why did you not just take the roll to your own bank or to a coin star? I have used SunTrust for many years and have never had a problem with the way they do things.
by Bustit997 2014-05-26 20:51:42
This person is a definite looser. She could not get her $10 bill for her roll of quarters at the "MONEY STORE", and that was no problem. But she is surprised that a bank that she has no account with would not do it either. THE TRUTH IS THAT SHE OBVIOUSLY DOES NOT HAVE A BANK ACCOUNT OF HER OWN. She is a looser who probably bounced so many checks that she has to do her business at the Money Store. To say such negative things when the person was just following bank policy (which I agree with), is wrong. The people at the Wilton Manors branch are AWESOME. Extremely friendly, go out of their way to help whenever you have a problem. Ignore this bitter no bank account of her own looser.
by spiritevolution 2014-05-29 18:19:33
@ thesimplethings:From one intelligent person to another, I understand where you are coming from. I am shocked by a lot of the stupidity of the world. Thank you for your post. It was very true to the society we live. You can tell that we still have a long way to go when you read some of the ignorant and mean comments from other posts. It breaks my heart that a person can not just post a opinion that was not demeaning, but yet, you are in returned called a loser. I just wanted to post a response to let you know Thesimplethings) that there are good people left, who got some sense. Thank you again for your post that made complete sense, unfortunately a lot of people are too senseless to understand, so they just rather name call like children do. Take care and thank the universe for blessing you with common sense, because there is a lack there of in this world.
by lisanoakes 2014-06-13 09:17:40
Husband had two checks from ILA which were drawn on this bank. They cashed one but wanted to charge $7.00 to cash the second one. This is ridiculous! SunTrust you act like a fly by night check cashing company. Shame on you! I will NEVER bank with crooks!
by Judy1946 2014-07-13 09:09:18
You may not think that your comment got read, but I read it and it kept me from taking all of my banking business over to this bank.  I actually am happy with my bank, but they have closed the branches in the city I go to in upstate NY which is inconvenient for me, so I was looking for another bank that has branches in Florida and in the city I visit in NY.  Thanks for keeping me from making a mistake.
| Next >     page 1 of 17
SunTrust Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1900 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
SunTrust Bank, Lee Highway Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
7001 Lee Highway
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Synovus Bank, Gunbarrel Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1821 Gunbarrell Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
First Tennessee Bank, Hamilton Place Mall Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2221 Hamilton Place Boulevard
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Northwest Georgia Bank, Hamilton Place Office
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
7442 Shallowford Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
First Volunteer Bank, Gunbarrel Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1834 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Community Trust & Banking Company, East Brainered Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8041 East Brainerd Road
Chattanooga, TN 37411

View All