SunTrust Bank, Review

SunTrust Bank, Review

Average rating based on 175 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
58
4 star:
6
3 star:
2
2 star:
11
1 star:
98
| Next >     page 1 of 9
Thomas Farias
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by IDFraudVictim, Oct. 16, 2014

Beware of employees and management at Suntrust bank. Apparently someone at the Okeechobee branch was able to open an account with my personal info. When I received a letter congratulating me on my new overdraft account, I called the folks at the branch, and they refused to give me any information about who opened the account. It seems as though this happens all the time at their branch. They actually had the nerve to ask me for MORE of my confidential information. When I filed a complaint with Consumer Finance Protection Bureau, I received a useless response from the 'Assistant Vice President' of the
Client Advocacy Team, Thomas Farias. I'd be skeptical of his qualifications if his resume ever came across my desk.
In summary, use caution if you do any banking in Okeechobee, or at Suntrust itself, and don't bother trying to get any help from the Suntrust Corporate "Advocacy TEAM"

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Muddy Branch at Gaithersburg, MD
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Overall Very Poor
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bill0246, Oct. 04, 2014

Customer service is  poor,  they have a  condescending attitude and their asset "protection" counselling is horrific.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Orange Park Branch at Orange Park, FL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tina Kamtaprasad
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by K4KDirector, Sep. 25, 2014

As a person who has worked in the service/hospitality and most recently charitable outreach industry, one would be hard pressed to find a person more personable yet, professional,and proficient yet, detail oriented than  Business Manager Tina K. She opened a business account for us in March of this year, and although initially I was a bit skeptical as to why a banking representative would literally have people waiting for  hours simply to consult with her, it is now [for me] no  disputed reason as to why.
Her personality and professionalism should be taught to EVERY up and coming customer service financial representative.
The world (and businesses in general) need more people like her. She is TRULY amazing~!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Alafaya/50 Branch at Orlando, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tina Kamtaprasad
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by K4KDirector, Sep. 25, 2014

As a person who has worked in the service/hospitality and most recently charitable outreach industry, one would be hard pressed to find a person more personable yet, professional,and proficient yet, detail oriented than  Business Manager Tina K. She opened a business account for us in March of this year, and although initially I was a bit skeptical as to why a banking representative would literally have people waiting for  hours simply to consult with her, it is now [for me] no  disputed reason as to why.
Her personality and professionalism should be taught to EVERY up and coming customer service financial representative.
The world (and businesses in general) need more people like her. She is TRULY amazing~!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Alafaya/50 Branch at Orlando, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Poor Banking and Management
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
by anindianangel, Sep. 25, 2014

I have had a problem with an unauthorized transaction since Monday morning.The bank Suntrust called me and assured me they would take care of it and refund my money immediately. This is Thursday morning and still nothing because of this I have no access to even $20-. This is the first time I have had an overdraft ever. I am totally amazed at how they handle their customers, which we are the people who pay their salaries. I will be changing banks for sure. I do not have time to waste with such unprofessional people. I called the bank yesterday and asked to speak to the MGR I was told if she is available she will call me back. The worst customer service I have experienced in 33 years of banking.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Lakeland Highlands Branch at Lakeland, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by wetabernal 2014-09-27 13:32:20
I have had a very distasteful experience with my branch in NC,
Durham. They ""sold me"" they have insisted on ny getting a checking account, instead of having a savings, which I have had for many years now.
This teller, Crystal, finally succeeded in selling me the idea. The time t close the savings, was Tuesday, after Labor day weekend.well, first mustake. Her mistake::FORGOT!! Not o.e, not three times. Left a message with "another teller", who didnt ( so Crystal told me") I have been charged so much money, because of THEIR mistakes. I am so terribly upset!!! She had the time t call with thw overdrafts, but not t clise my SAVINGS as she had promised. I keep getting more and more charges. Unbelievable!!
I can't even close the accounts at this time, as I dont know how much mo.ey they will continue charging me. I moved t Dallas, almost a year ago, and was told, SUNTRUST is also here. Well I havw never found one. I hope someone with authority helps me resolve this very upsetting issue. I don't have any money at this time. I have kept a very clean savings ac ount all these years, and now I dont even know if I can opwn an account anywhete, because of SUNTRUST mustakes. And unprofessional "peimuses" I trusted Crystal t clise my savings, and nit havw t pay for ivwrdrafts, as she promised I would not have, opening up a checking. Constanza Warren
Misty was short and not helpful at all!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Hubbard7710, Sep. 15, 2014

This bank location honestly has some of the most unprofessional, ghetto tellers I have EVER seen at a banking location.  It is honestly making me want to switch my account to another bank.  I may have to do that soon.  I just called to ask a question regarding a deposit and spoke with Misty.  She seemed nice on the phone, but it was apparent that I was taking too much of her time and she rushed me to end the call and hung up very quickly!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fletcher Branch at Tampa, FL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank on the Planet
Overall Rating
by marilynsuntrust, Aug. 31, 2014

While traveling from my home in Texas to California, I lost my wallet on the train on Thursday. I immediately called Suntrust and agreed to pay $25 to have a new debit card overnighted to me, as I was scheduled to fly back to my home in Texas just 3 days later on Saturday evening. I was very happy to pay the $25 for overnight shipping to my hotel in California. The debit card didn't arrive on Friday though as it was supposed to. I called suntrust to see what happened and was told that they don't even offer overnight shipping on cards. Only 2 to 3 BUSINESS days. Which means that myy card was on it's way to california scheduled to arrive on Tuesday, which my flight back home to Texas is three days PRIOR on Saturday. Obviously I was livid, and demanded a refund of the $25 and to talk to a manager. I was told there were no managers there and that one would call me the next day. Of course, nobody from suntrust called me the next day. So i called back on Sunday from my home in texas and spoke to a manager finally. This manager tells me that it is going to be delivered to my hotel in California on tuesday. She refused to listen to the recorded phone call where i was lied to about the overnight shipping and she refused to give me a refund. She said I would need to call back again on Monday to talk to customer service and have them refund the fee. She also wanted to charge me $25 AGAIN to have yet another sent to me in texas at my home, since I'm back from vacation now. I told them to keep the damn card and withdrew all my money and switched financial institutions for good. This was the worst experience of my life in dealing with a bank. The people who answer their calls are like robots that could care less about the customer experience.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Suntrust Bank at Atlanta, GA
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HOPEFULLY CUSTOMER
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HOPEFULLYCUSTOMER, Aug. 29, 2014

I am having a problem with one of the TELLER who made a mistake on a transaction with me and will not make it right. I hope the management make it RIGHT.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Goodlettsville Mm 821 at Goodlettsville, TN
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Sparkplug, Aug. 20, 2014

I have been a customer since 1986 at the various banks that have been located in front of the Kroger on Byhalia Road in Collierville, TN.  I was very disappointed when Suntrust closed that branch.  Now the remaining branch in Collierville is not open on Saturdays and the ATM machine is very poorly located.  I don't know who made these decisions but it appears from comments that some customers are leaving the bank to find services elsewhere.  I am considering the same.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Schilling Farms Branch - 961 at Collierville, TN
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

In total disbelief
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by InShock, Aug. 01, 2014

Someone put in $2000 in my account, $2000 in my joint account and $2000 in my minor son's account and moved it around. These checks were bad and I was accused of depositing them yet I am the one that called the bank. Now I am being sued by Sun Trust. I would not recommend Sun Trust to anyone not even my worst enemy. If you have an account there CLOSE IT find a different bank Sun Trust rips off people and their long time customers. I couldn't believe it not I am paying the price for trusting a bank with keeping my account safe. No such thing.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Western Avenue Mm Branch 856 at Knoxville, TN
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Alexg7 2014-08-04 13:32:21
I have been banking with Suntrust for more than 15 years. I must say that I am really disappointed with the new employees at this branch. They have no customer service skills. I went to cash a check today. The teller asked me for an ID. Since she had handle my business account deposits several times,  I jokingly asked her "You don't know me? " She said "No I don't" "If I don't know the inside of your house I don't know you". I told her that she should know her customers and she repeated  "If I don't know the inside of your house, I don't know you." I thought that was a really silly and not a smart thing to say to a old customer. I told her that I was the owner of ALL STARS Performing Arts Academy around the corner and she sarcastically said " And I have a daughter that wants to dance" I took that as a bully tactic on her part. In other words, don't bother me or I won't bring my daughter to take dance lessons at your studio".

Suntrust should send some of the employees at this branch to customer service training school. I am closing all my accounts. I am taking our business to another bank.
TELLER STOLE $100, BANK SAID NOT THEIR PROBLEM
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by dylansgoldman, Jul. 29, 2014

Yesterday, after first withdrawing $1200 from my personal account at Chase, I made a cash deposit of $950 to my landlord's account at the SunTrust Branch on Mtn. Industrial Blvd. in Tucker. Upon arriving, I filled out my deposit slip and was called up by Benjamin, one of their tellers. I handed him the deposit slip and then, for the first time since receiving it from my bank, opened the Chase envelope containing $1200, and counted out $950 and handed it to the teller. Well, I thought it was $950. I then folded up the remainder, which should have been $250 (two hundreds, two twenties and one ten), and put it in my wallet.  Benjamin began to recount the money, all hundreds with one fifty, but then stopped, the money fanned out in his hands. Quickly, his expression changed, he handed me my deposit receipt and thanked me. He still hadn't finished counting down the money in front of me, but as I was in a hurry, and didn't for a second fathom a bank teller would act with anything less than integrity, wrote off the encounter and left the bank.
Wouldn't you believe my surprise when I got home and realized that I had folded up $150, not $250. I didn't make any stops in between, and hadn't removed the money from my wallet, or my wallet from my pants since right before leaving the branch. There was no way I could have dropped a one-hundred dollar bill- my bills were still folded neatly in my wallet the way I had left them.
As I am not one to falsely accuse, I retraced my steps over and over with my girlfriend, who was with me the entire day and had waited in the car at the bank. I contacted my landlord to verify the deposit amount was $950 and not $1050- it was $950.
Unfortunately, by the time I took my wallet out of my pants at home and noticed I was short $100, the branch already was closed. So I went back today to speak with a Supervisor or the Branch Manager.
I was very calm and quiet, wanting to be discreet about this issue, as I was obviously implying that Benjamin had stolen $100. Of course, his drawer was neither over or under yesterday- and why would it be? He pocketed my money!
I explained what happened as I just did above, and told his supervisor I would like someone to review the tapes from yesterday so we could get to the bottom of this. She was very polite and seemed genuinely concerned. After briefly speaking with the Branch Manager behind closed doors, she returned to tell me that he/she said, "Once you left with the balance, there is nothing we can do," to which I replied, "And you don't record the tellers, do you?" She explained that they do not record behind the tellers at all. Still calm, I said, "Well that [guilt and bad karma] is something that he will just have to live with then," and left.

I guess I forgot to mention...I'm a published journalist in Atlanta.

Now I ask you: What is the point of having cameras behind the tellers if they aren't recording? One of your employees can STEAL $100 from a customer and GET AWAY WITH IT, SCOTT FREE? And it's MY PROBLEM? I don't think so.

DON'T BANK WITH SUNTRUST. THEY LIE, CHEAT, STEAL AND HAVE NO ETHICAL STANDARDS. And the customer is obviously NOT always right.

I plan on taking this issue as high up as I have to.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Mountain Industrial Branch at Tucker, GA
9 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by HOPEFULLYCUSTOMER 2014-08-29 20:28:31
Hello, I am having a problem just like this i hope that the SUNTRUST BANK MANAGEMENT WOULD DO THE RIGHT THING. THE TELLER TOOK $900.00 FROM ME.
Furys Ferry Suntrust is Great
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Hamerdawg, Jun. 27, 2014

Whole family has been banking here for years and everyone has always been very friendly, kind, and helpful.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fury's Ferry Publix Branch at Augusta, GA
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Suntrust Mulberry is great!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EdieSJones, May. 30, 2014

They're great!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Mulberry Branch at Mulberry, FL
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Lack of service
Overall Rating
by smithca44, May. 21, 2014

I would say I received "poor" service, but actually, I did not receive ANY service.  I went to pick up a Western Union transfer and was told only one person knows how to do it, and that person was not there that day.  Inconvenient and I had to try to find another Western Union location. It might be good customer service to train a few people on how to do Western Union tasks.

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Westgate Branch at Manassas, VA
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The simple things
Overall Rating
Other Services
by Thesimplethings, May. 05, 2014

I am not a Sun Trust customer, and now it is guaranteed I will never be one. It may seem silly but on a fundamental level I think my story is important. My young son had a roll of quarters he had saved and wanted to exchange for a ten dollar bill ("real money" according to him). While we were at the store I took his roll of quarters to do just that. The money center in the store wouldn't do it for us and pointed us in the direction of the bank. I wasn't overly surprised. The bank is that place that helps you exchange, keep, save, and borrow.... money. There was no line, the counter staff were not busy. From what I could tell they were just sitting there talking to each other. So I walked up with our humble roll of quarters and asked for a ten dollar bill. The lady behind the counter asked if I had an account with them. This took me a little off guard. I wasn't trying to take out an auto loan. I just wanted to exchange some VERY small currency. I don't have an account and she very brusquely told me I needed an account and a phone number registered with Sun Trust in case the amount wasn't correct so they had a way to contact me. I know this sounds like I'm making this up. I wish I was. At this point I am beyond bewildered. I had to pause to make sure she wasn't joking. I'm also insulted. First, I have worked in multiple jobs where I've had to count up and maintain money tills or a safe. With this you have to count rolls of change. I know technology exists that allows you to place the roll in the counter and based on weight it knows whether or not the amount is right (I know because I've used it and it takes about 1 second). Beyond that, if you don't trust the contents of the roll, I know it took me all of about 30 seconds to count up the roll in the first place BY HAND(oh the horror!). She tells me sorry there is nothing she can do.

Big bad Sun Trust bank can't count a $10 quarter roll.

I realize the loss of me ever being a customer will have zero impact on this bank. I also realize I could tell as many people as I could find not to use Sun Trust, until I was blue in the face, and Sun Trust would never even flinch. I realize this will probably never even actually be read by anyone at Sun Trust. If it is it will likely be disregarded as quickly as my little $10 quarter roll. I didn't argue. I couldn't. How stupid do you think your customers are?  I said "thank you anyways" and walked away. I was in absolute shock. Yes, I was asking for a free service, but it was a realistic free service. I was asking to exchange 40 quarters in to a bill. Something like this is a little thing you do for your customer to earn a reputation in the community. It costs you absolutely nothing and gives you a happy customer that may consider you the next time they need to buy a new car. I do believe I am in the market for such a bank.  

Now all this particular location is left with is a a couple of employees talking to each other (that you had to pay anyways), and a bad review. I'm not an expert, but it seems to me you missed out on free money. I will take my auto loan elsewhere because my son's $10 just wasn't good enough for you. I'm not drastically old fashioned, but sometimes it really IS the simple things that matter.

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Lilburn Wal-Mart Branch at Lilburn, GA
45 of 46 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

5 comments. Add a comment

by CM75 2014-05-12 22:46:05
I do not think this is a fair review on the actual services this place provides. Why did you not just take the roll to your own bank or to a coin star? I have used SunTrust for many years and have never had a problem with the way they do things.
by Bustit997 2014-05-26 20:51:42
This person is a definite looser. She could not get her $10 bill for her roll of quarters at the "MONEY STORE", and that was no problem. But she is surprised that a bank that she has no account with would not do it either. THE TRUTH IS THAT SHE OBVIOUSLY DOES NOT HAVE A BANK ACCOUNT OF HER OWN. She is a looser who probably bounced so many checks that she has to do her business at the Money Store. To say such negative things when the person was just following bank policy (which I agree with), is wrong. The people at the Wilton Manors branch are AWESOME. Extremely friendly, go out of their way to help whenever you have a problem. Ignore this bitter no bank account of her own looser.
by spiritevolution 2014-05-29 18:19:33
@ thesimplethings:From one intelligent person to another, I understand where you are coming from. I am shocked by a lot of the stupidity of the world. Thank you for your post. It was very true to the society we live. You can tell that we still have a long way to go when you read some of the ignorant and mean comments from other posts. It breaks my heart that a person can not just post a opinion that was not demeaning, but yet, you are in returned called a loser. I just wanted to post a response to let you know Thesimplethings) that there are good people left, who got some sense. Thank you again for your post that made complete sense, unfortunately a lot of people are too senseless to understand, so they just rather name call like children do. Take care and thank the universe for blessing you with common sense, because there is a lack there of in this world.
by lisanoakes 2014-06-13 09:17:40
Husband had two checks from ILA which were drawn on this bank. They cashed one but wanted to charge $7.00 to cash the second one. This is ridiculous! SunTrust you act like a fly by night check cashing company. Shame on you! I will NEVER bank with crooks!
by Judy1946 2014-07-13 09:09:18
You may not think that your comment got read, but I read it and it kept me from taking all of my banking business over to this bank.  I actually am happy with my bank, but they have closed the branches in the city I go to in upstate NY which is inconvenient for me, so I was looking for another bank that has branches in Florida and in the city I visit in NY.  Thanks for keeping me from making a mistake.
BAD, BAD
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cecilie, Apr. 25, 2014

I have a car loan with Sun Trust Bank I usually go to this branch to pay it in my lunch break, the line is usually not that long but it takes forever for me to get it done, they speak in spanish with their spanish customer and really take their time. I have been given the wrong information about my account several times the assistant manager do not know what she is doing. It is really BAD.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fallsgrove Safeway Branch at Rockville, MD
8 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HORRIBLE BRANCH
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Maraltima, Apr. 11, 2014

I am a single father of two; I had previously been laid off work for almost 3 years; finances became very much in disarray. But SunTrust worked with me to keep my account open. I have had an account with SunTrust since 2006.

Recently my X-wife wrote two bad child support checks. Of course, I immediately replaced the funds. I watch my account very closely. I checked my account the following day to make sure my deposit posted and that everything was good as to the bad deposit.  I couldn't access my account online...Ultimately, I found out my account was closed due to "suspected fraud" ???? A local branch went WAY out of their way to help me find out the details as I explained my situation.

To make a long involved story very short...this local branch was willing to take my account and work with me to keep my account open.  The manager of the downtown Knoxville Branch (Bruce Duncan) blocked the effort.  Previously, I had gone in to ask for his help concerning fees assessed to my account. He was rude - condescending and absolutely unwilling to even listen. He is the THIRD branch manager at this downtown branch in just 2 years. The other local branch told me even though my account was not the "ideal" account, there had certainly been worse situations.  I believe the downtown branch manager purposefully and maliciously made these decisions based on his own personal agenda.  

I would not recommend EVER doing business with the downtown Knoxville branch - AT ALL.  I just hope and pray that the hard times that many people in my situation face never have to deal with this type of person - and I certainly pray that this manager never finds himself in a similar situation - needing help and needing someone to just listen.  Treat others as you would like to be treated.  Your actions have a way of coming full circle. So so sad.

Oh... and let me end by saying...at the time they closed my account - they returned two of my bills that had been set to auto-pay (and in pending status - with funds available to pay) AND also held over $1,000 of my money so that I couldn't even retrieve it for over a week to go and pay my bills.  Fortunately those bill collectors were willing to work with me when this Branch Mgr would not.

To try and end on a positive - the other staff (i.e. tellers and customer service representative) have always been so very helpful and understanding. I will miss them. I will also make mention of the staff at the East Towne Branch @ Kinzel Way. They went WAY out of their way to try and help me and to help keep my account open.  It all came back to the recommendation of Bruce Duncan - an individual who had ONLY known me and my account for a few months.

I realize there are rules and regulations.  I have spent over 20 years of my professional career in the accounting field for the federal government.  It simply would have been nice to have been offered an opportunity to explain.

This is just my story.  I hope it helps others try to avoid an embarrassing and hurtful situation brought on by this Branch Manager at the Downtown Knoxville Branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Downtown Knoxville Branch at Knoxville, TN
14 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Maraltima 2014-04-14 10:16:07
As if things couldn't get any worse.  So I was told to come back on 4/14 to find out what to do about getting my funds released, only to get there and be told that a check had already been mailed the previous week.

I will count this account closure as a blessing. To never have to deal with Mr. Duncan again will be absolute heaven.

A day will come .... something random...totally unexpected that will cause Mr. Duncan to look back and remember how disrespectful and hurtful he has been to people simply needing his help and understanding.

I take no joy in knowing that.
by Izzie 2014-07-22 16:43:54
I am going through something similar now. I mobile deposited a convenience check from credit union Visa to pay off some bills. Suntrust called the next day and said there would be a hold on it, because the credit union didn't verify funds by phone. My husband and I had to go to Kentucky  that weekend, due to a death in family, during the hold time of 7 days. Suntrust had blocked our debit cards and mobile banking, so we had to cash husband's work check at another bank to have cash. I called Suntrust on 6th day to see balance and see if check was still on hold. They said there were 2 holds and 1 was mistake, and I held on phone while they took them off. The person on phone also told me that Suntrust was in process of closing our account, due to fraud investigation. (Re:credit union check) I told girl that I have social security disability check direct deposited in two days, Wednesday. She said to go to branch and tell them I need account balance paid to me. I went to branch, Wed.  and talked to Jared. This is Cordova, Tn branch. He looked at notes from account on screen and said they that were closing account and that he couldn't tell what reason was and went to ask David, branch manager, for the ok to give me money from account, but said it would be Thursday, after social security cleared.I saw Jared go talk to David and about 2 minutes later came back and said David said call Suntrust rules  and regs. I sat there forever.,while Jared was on hold..then Jared said they were closing account in 5 days and remainder of money in account would be mailed within 30 days.  I said I can't wait 30 days and that I was on disability and had 5 prescriptions to pick up. Jared said there was nothing else I could do. I called Suntrust Customer Service on Friday and told them everything and the guy, Homer, said it showed account open and I should be able to go to branch and withdraw money, but my debit cards wouldn't work. He gave me another number to call, that was the fraud department. When I spoke with them, man said my account was frozen (or a no debit status) and started asking about the check from credit union that had been deposited. I verified all the information and he called fraud manager and apparently told her situation, and if the frozen status could be lifted. She said that I would have to go back to Cordova Branch and speak with branch manager, David, and that he would have to call area manager and then, David could reactivate account.  The fraud investigation was closed. I went back, talked to David at the Cordova Branch. He looked at account this time, didn't bother 2 days before.  He said it was closed and they would be sending funds to me, that the check had already been cut!  I hated to call him a right out liar, but he was. I had just been told that it was still open. He said it was closed due to overdrafts. There were 6 OD on account. (Due to held check) I told him he made $36.00 x 6 off them and asked why would that matter and also explained that I could not wait for money, that I had prescriptions to pick up. I have life threatening medical issues and he acted like he could have cared less. David told me I should receive monies $940+ in a few days because again that check had been processed. He had told me earlier they it would be mailed in 10-14 days, after they were sure there was nothing outstanding.
That's where I am now. My husbands and I cell phones will probably be cut off soon. Some things on mine have already been canceled. MLGW gave us till July 28 to pay $300 bill. I have to pay my hairdresser back, because it didn't realize account was frozen and check didn't go through. My husband will get paid July 24th, but  most of check will go for rent. We had to use cash we had on our prescriptions, groceries and gas and there is over $900 sitting at Suntrust, that who knows when I will get it. I have run out of answers to solution.
I would not advise anyone to deal with Suntrust or put a dollar in that bank. I am thinking about calling lawyer and ask for advise. Another thing, I have never got one thing in writing that account is being closed.
Who opened the account? We didn't.
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by Floored, Apr. 05, 2014

Someone opened a bank account in my name. Not even my legal name on the bank card. A debit card, overdraft protection authorization AND paper checks, which I haven't used in 10 years! Then a statement. And finally, you closed it, too. Did I mention that my wife's name wasn't included in all of this? Need I say what she thought and how she felt? Need I say you haven't heard the last of me? Need I say I read your Sun Trust Policy and feel that you may not have read mine? It would have simply stated that I did NOT authorize an account to be opened. I simply cashed a check as a guest.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Oak Ridge Branch at Oak Ridge, TN
9 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Change routing numbers for direct deposit without notifying anyone!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by amyd, Apr. 03, 2014

They changed my direct deposit routing number without notifying me or my retirement company, so my pension deposit was delayed for a week.  I spent countless hours trying to figure out where my money went.  The bank had no idea where my money was or why it was not deposited.  I finally figured it out with my retirement company when the deposit finally bounced back to them.  Get your act together Suntrust!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Westgate Branch at Manassas, VA
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude treatment of customers
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by regular1, Apr. 02, 2014

I witnessed a woman walking out in TEARS, saying to the manager that he "didn't need to speak like that to her."  My son closed his account at this bank because the rude and condescending manner in which the manager dealt with him.  It's as though being a young person - or a woman - does not garner respect.  VERY rude manager - I forget his name - but he needs training in customer service and respect for people in general.  No, he needs a different job.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Goshen Oaks Safeway Branch at Gaithersburg, MD
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 9

Banks Nearby

Branch Banking and Trust Company, Hamilton Place Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Regions Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
SunTrust Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1900 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Bank of America, Gunbarrel Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2126 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Synovus Bank, Gunbarrel Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1821 Gunbarrell Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421

More