SunTrust Bank, Review

SunTrust Bank, Review

Average rating based on 182 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
60
4 star:
7
3 star:
2
2 star:
11
1 star:
102
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 10
Gabby
Overall Rating
by gabhoover, Jan. 28, 2015

I have been with Suntrust for 5 years & have had the worst experiences. This year alone, my card has been compromised 3 times!  My husband recommended me to you saying he had great experiences.  Mine has been anything but.  If I leave he will obviously want to leave.  In addition, I have been dismayed with the response time to replace my card each time.  It has left me with 3 weeks in the past year with no debt card.  They make it almost impossible with a 9-5 job to bank because they close at 4:30.   

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, North Beneva Branch at Sarasota, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer account holder
Overall Rating
by Surprised, Jan. 03, 2015

This evening is the first time I've seen such behavior at Suntrust Bank. I was rushing to get to the bank at 2900 Peachtree Rd Atlanta Ga The Peach shopping center. It was raining, foggy and very messy. I got inside the Publix and to the bank. The bank lights were out. I had just missed it. I smiled at the man and woman in the bank. The woman said We're closed we close at 6:00. I'm standing there catching my breath and I hear the woman say "They've had all day to get here and we close at 6:00".  I said "Excuse me".  She replyed "Oh I was talking to the man here with me".  Then a guy walked up and ask if they were closed. The comment from the woman in the bank was uncalled for. As I walked I checked the time it was 6:05. My rating is for this experience.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, The Peach Branch at Atlanta, GA
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unprofessional Child-like Branch Manager
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HowSad, Dec. 23, 2014

I went into Thomasville, GA location bc I had a question about the internet banking, as I waited the Branch Manager who I thought maybe was just a young talkative teller, openly spoke negatively about several of her staff members to a few waiting customers. I mean very crude and personal details. I was disgusted!!! I asked who was the Branch Manager's direct boss and I was informed that the President (her boss) is her actual boyfriend so her customer complaints are overlooked or disregarded. Seriously how tacky but believable! I will never go into this "Made for TV" location again unless mature and professional management is put into play or my business accounts will be shifted to BofA in 2015.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Thomasville Branch at Thomasville, GA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Card Services
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Jrwilliam, Dec. 08, 2014

This Bank assigned my new credit card to another person with the same name. They did not check my social or birthday. When I took the card to the bank they said they would fix the problem, get me a replacement, and to keep using my old card. When I tried to use my old card I found that they had changed it over to the user who had been errantly issued my new card. Now I am without a card until they send a new one...if it works. It is a personal and financial burden to have to repeatedly go to the bank to have them fix their mistakes. This is the worst security I have ever seen in a bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Chattanooga Branch at Chattanooga, TN
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Millhopper Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by WPadmin, Nov. 25, 2014

Biggest problems, need more staff behind the counter to reduce wait times, and second, closing at  5:00 - both lobby and drive up is inconvenient on weekdays. It would be really helpful if lobby closed at 5:00 and drive-up at 5:30.

Branch manager is very friendly and helpful. The other banker position has changed frequently, sometimes a great person, sometimes somebody who doesn't seem to get things. A bit more consistency and long-term position would be good. Even people behind the counter have changed. Maybe that's a company policy to shift people around, but as a customer, its better to have someone who knows you and visa versa.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Millhopper Branch at Gainesville, FL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great People to Bank with
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Subnut97, Nov. 17, 2014

I travel overseas a lot and for extended periods of time.  If i have any issues it just takes one email and it is taken care of.  You only get that with good costumer care. They know how to look after their customers.  Great service and it gives a comfort level know if i have any problem while at home or away it is dealt with professionally and in a timely manner.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, East St. Cloud Branch at Saint Cloud, FL
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

SunTrust Bele Meade 5-Stars Across The Board
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TheWino, Nov. 03, 2014

The SunTrust Bank, Belle Meade Branch earns 5-Stars across the board for being extremely professional and courteous. The personnel take their time and are extremely thorough. I have had my share of banking relationships and the SunTrust Bank Belle Meade Branch is superior to any other bank. I highly recommend this location for your banking services.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Belle Meade Branch at Nashville, TN
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Thomas Farias
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by IDFraudVictim, Oct. 16, 2014

Beware of employees and management at Suntrust bank. Apparently someone at the Okeechobee branch was able to open an account with my personal info. When I received a letter congratulating me on my new overdraft account, I called the folks at the branch, and they refused to give me any information about who opened the account. It seems as though this happens all the time at their branch. They actually had the nerve to ask me for MORE of my confidential information. When I filed a complaint with Consumer Finance Protection Bureau, I received a useless response from the 'Assistant Vice President' of the
Client Advocacy Team, Thomas Farias. I'd be skeptical of his qualifications if his resume ever came across my desk.
In summary, use caution if you do any banking in Okeechobee, or at Suntrust itself, and don't bother trying to get any help from the Suntrust Corporate "Advocacy TEAM"

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Muddy Branch at Gaithersburg, MD
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Overall Very Poor
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bill0246, Oct. 04, 2014

Customer service is  poor,  they have a  condescending attitude and their asset "protection" counselling is horrific.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Orange Park Branch at Orange Park, FL
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tina Kamtaprasad
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by K4KDirector, Sep. 25, 2014

As a person who has worked in the service/hospitality and most recently charitable outreach industry, one would be hard pressed to find a person more personable yet, professional,and proficient yet, detail oriented than  Business Manager Tina K. She opened a business account for us in March of this year, and although initially I was a bit skeptical as to why a banking representative would literally have people waiting for  hours simply to consult with her, it is now [for me] no  disputed reason as to why.
Her personality and professionalism should be taught to EVERY up and coming customer service financial representative.
The world (and businesses in general) need more people like her. She is TRULY amazing~!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Alafaya/50 Branch at Orlando, FL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tina Kamtaprasad
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by K4KDirector, Sep. 25, 2014

As a person who has worked in the service/hospitality and most recently charitable outreach industry, one would be hard pressed to find a person more personable yet, professional,and proficient yet, detail oriented than  Business Manager Tina K. She opened a business account for us in March of this year, and although initially I was a bit skeptical as to why a banking representative would literally have people waiting for  hours simply to consult with her, it is now [for me] no  disputed reason as to why.
Her personality and professionalism should be taught to EVERY up and coming customer service financial representative.
The world (and businesses in general) need more people like her. She is TRULY amazing~!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Alafaya/50 Branch at Orlando, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Poor Banking and Management
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
by anindianangel, Sep. 25, 2014

I have had a problem with an unauthorized transaction since Monday morning.The bank Suntrust called me and assured me they would take care of it and refund my money immediately. This is Thursday morning and still nothing because of this I have no access to even $20-. This is the first time I have had an overdraft ever. I am totally amazed at how they handle their customers, which we are the people who pay their salaries. I will be changing banks for sure. I do not have time to waste with such unprofessional people. I called the bank yesterday and asked to speak to the MGR I was told if she is available she will call me back. The worst customer service I have experienced in 33 years of banking.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Lakeland Highlands Branch at Lakeland, FL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by wetabernal 2014-09-27 13:32:20
I have had a very distasteful experience with my branch in NC,
Durham. They ""sold me"" they have insisted on ny getting a checking account, instead of having a savings, which I have had for many years now.
This teller, Crystal, finally succeeded in selling me the idea. The time t close the savings, was Tuesday, after Labor day weekend.well, first mustake. Her mistake::FORGOT!! Not o.e, not three times. Left a message with "another teller", who didnt ( so Crystal told me") I have been charged so much money, because of THEIR mistakes. I am so terribly upset!!! She had the time t call with thw overdrafts, but not t clise my SAVINGS as she had promised. I keep getting more and more charges. Unbelievable!!
I can't even close the accounts at this time, as I dont know how much mo.ey they will continue charging me. I moved t Dallas, almost a year ago, and was told, SUNTRUST is also here. Well I havw never found one. I hope someone with authority helps me resolve this very upsetting issue. I don't have any money at this time. I have kept a very clean savings ac ount all these years, and now I dont even know if I can opwn an account anywhete, because of SUNTRUST mustakes. And unprofessional "peimuses" I trusted Crystal t clise my savings, and nit havw t pay for ivwrdrafts, as she promised I would not have, opening up a checking. Constanza Warren
Misty was short and not helpful at all!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Hubbard7710, Sep. 15, 2014

This bank location honestly has some of the most unprofessional, ghetto tellers I have EVER seen at a banking location.  It is honestly making me want to switch my account to another bank.  I may have to do that soon.  I just called to ask a question regarding a deposit and spoke with Misty.  She seemed nice on the phone, but it was apparent that I was taking too much of her time and she rushed me to end the call and hung up very quickly!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fletcher Branch at Tampa, FL
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank on the Planet
Overall Rating
by marilynsuntrust, Aug. 31, 2014

While traveling from my home in Texas to California, I lost my wallet on the train on Thursday. I immediately called Suntrust and agreed to pay $25 to have a new debit card overnighted to me, as I was scheduled to fly back to my home in Texas just 3 days later on Saturday evening. I was very happy to pay the $25 for overnight shipping to my hotel in California. The debit card didn't arrive on Friday though as it was supposed to. I called suntrust to see what happened and was told that they don't even offer overnight shipping on cards. Only 2 to 3 BUSINESS days. Which means that myy card was on it's way to california scheduled to arrive on Tuesday, which my flight back home to Texas is three days PRIOR on Saturday. Obviously I was livid, and demanded a refund of the $25 and to talk to a manager. I was told there were no managers there and that one would call me the next day. Of course, nobody from suntrust called me the next day. So i called back on Sunday from my home in texas and spoke to a manager finally. This manager tells me that it is going to be delivered to my hotel in California on tuesday. She refused to listen to the recorded phone call where i was lied to about the overnight shipping and she refused to give me a refund. She said I would need to call back again on Monday to talk to customer service and have them refund the fee. She also wanted to charge me $25 AGAIN to have yet another sent to me in texas at my home, since I'm back from vacation now. I told them to keep the damn card and withdrew all my money and switched financial institutions for good. This was the worst experience of my life in dealing with a bank. The people who answer their calls are like robots that could care less about the customer experience.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Suntrust Bank at Atlanta, GA
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HOPEFULLY CUSTOMER
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HOPEFULLYCUSTOMER, Aug. 29, 2014

I am having a problem with one of the TELLER who made a mistake on a transaction with me and will not make it right. I hope the management make it RIGHT.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Goodlettsville Mm 821 at Goodlettsville, TN
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Sparkplug, Aug. 20, 2014

I have been a customer since 1986 at the various banks that have been located in front of the Kroger on Byhalia Road in Collierville, TN.  I was very disappointed when Suntrust closed that branch.  Now the remaining branch in Collierville is not open on Saturdays and the ATM machine is very poorly located.  I don't know who made these decisions but it appears from comments that some customers are leaving the bank to find services elsewhere.  I am considering the same.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Schilling Farms Branch - 961 at Collierville, TN
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

In total disbelief
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by InShock, Aug. 01, 2014

Someone put in $2000 in my account, $2000 in my joint account and $2000 in my minor son's account and moved it around. These checks were bad and I was accused of depositing them yet I am the one that called the bank. Now I am being sued by Sun Trust. I would not recommend Sun Trust to anyone not even my worst enemy. If you have an account there CLOSE IT find a different bank Sun Trust rips off people and their long time customers. I couldn't believe it not I am paying the price for trusting a bank with keeping my account safe. No such thing.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Western Avenue Mm Branch 856 at Knoxville, TN
9 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Alexg7 2014-08-04 13:32:21
I have been banking with Suntrust for more than 15 years. I must say that I am really disappointed with the new employees at this branch. They have no customer service skills. I went to cash a check today. The teller asked me for an ID. Since she had handle my business account deposits several times,  I jokingly asked her "You don't know me? " She said "No I don't" "If I don't know the inside of your house I don't know you". I told her that she should know her customers and she repeated  "If I don't know the inside of your house, I don't know you." I thought that was a really silly and not a smart thing to say to a old customer. I told her that I was the owner of ALL STARS Performing Arts Academy around the corner and she sarcastically said " And I have a daughter that wants to dance" I took that as a bully tactic on her part. In other words, don't bother me or I won't bring my daughter to take dance lessons at your studio".

Suntrust should send some of the employees at this branch to customer service training school. I am closing all my accounts. I am taking our business to another bank.
TELLER STOLE $100, BANK SAID NOT THEIR PROBLEM
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by dylansgoldman, Jul. 29, 2014

Yesterday, after first withdrawing $1200 from my personal account at Chase, I made a cash deposit of $950 to my landlord's account at the SunTrust Branch on Mtn. Industrial Blvd. in Tucker. Upon arriving, I filled out my deposit slip and was called up by Benjamin, one of their tellers. I handed him the deposit slip and then, for the first time since receiving it from my bank, opened the Chase envelope containing $1200, and counted out $950 and handed it to the teller. Well, I thought it was $950. I then folded up the remainder, which should have been $250 (two hundreds, two twenties and one ten), and put it in my wallet.  Benjamin began to recount the money, all hundreds with one fifty, but then stopped, the money fanned out in his hands. Quickly, his expression changed, he handed me my deposit receipt and thanked me. He still hadn't finished counting down the money in front of me, but as I was in a hurry, and didn't for a second fathom a bank teller would act with anything less than integrity, wrote off the encounter and left the bank.
Wouldn't you believe my surprise when I got home and realized that I had folded up $150, not $250. I didn't make any stops in between, and hadn't removed the money from my wallet, or my wallet from my pants since right before leaving the branch. There was no way I could have dropped a one-hundred dollar bill- my bills were still folded neatly in my wallet the way I had left them.
As I am not one to falsely accuse, I retraced my steps over and over with my girlfriend, who was with me the entire day and had waited in the car at the bank. I contacted my landlord to verify the deposit amount was $950 and not $1050- it was $950.
Unfortunately, by the time I took my wallet out of my pants at home and noticed I was short $100, the branch already was closed. So I went back today to speak with a Supervisor or the Branch Manager.
I was very calm and quiet, wanting to be discreet about this issue, as I was obviously implying that Benjamin had stolen $100. Of course, his drawer was neither over or under yesterday- and why would it be? He pocketed my money!
I explained what happened as I just did above, and told his supervisor I would like someone to review the tapes from yesterday so we could get to the bottom of this. She was very polite and seemed genuinely concerned. After briefly speaking with the Branch Manager behind closed doors, she returned to tell me that he/she said, "Once you left with the balance, there is nothing we can do," to which I replied, "And you don't record the tellers, do you?" She explained that they do not record behind the tellers at all. Still calm, I said, "Well that [guilt and bad karma] is something that he will just have to live with then," and left.

I guess I forgot to mention...I'm a published journalist in Atlanta.

Now I ask you: What is the point of having cameras behind the tellers if they aren't recording? One of your employees can STEAL $100 from a customer and GET AWAY WITH IT, SCOTT FREE? And it's MY PROBLEM? I don't think so.

DON'T BANK WITH SUNTRUST. THEY LIE, CHEAT, STEAL AND HAVE NO ETHICAL STANDARDS. And the customer is obviously NOT always right.

I plan on taking this issue as high up as I have to.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Mountain Industrial Branch at Tucker, GA
11 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by HOPEFULLYCUSTOMER 2014-08-29 20:28:31
Hello, I am having a problem just like this i hope that the SUNTRUST BANK MANAGEMENT WOULD DO THE RIGHT THING. THE TELLER TOOK $900.00 FROM ME.
Furys Ferry Suntrust is Great
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Hamerdawg, Jun. 27, 2014

Whole family has been banking here for years and everyone has always been very friendly, kind, and helpful.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fury's Ferry Publix Branch at Augusta, GA
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Suntrust Mulberry is great!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EdieSJones, May. 30, 2014

They're great!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Mulberry Branch at Mulberry, FL
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 10

Banks Nearby

Branch Banking and Trust Company, Hamilton Place Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Regions Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
SunTrust Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1900 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Bank of America, Gunbarrel Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2126 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Synovus Bank, Gunbarrel Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1821 Gunbarrell Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421

More