SunTrust Bank, Review

SunTrust Bank, Review

Average rating based on 212 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
76
4 star:
8
3 star:
4
2 star:
16
1 star:
108
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 11
Incompetent Manager and VP
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sparvaiz, Oct. 02, 2016

When I use the Twin Hickory Suntrust to deposit checks with the Tellers everything is fine.  However, as soon as I noticed an issue with my account and had to speak with the VP, I got a glimpse of the incompetency of this bank.  At first the VP showed no urgency to help me with my issue.  Then when I told him I was going to call Suntrust's Customer Care, he told me to call the manager instead.  I said I was not going to call the manager and was going to call the 1-800 Customer Care number and give feedback about the Twin Hickory branch.  Once I said this he got started on helping me resolve my account issue.  I had to sign a few documents etc.  He said everything will be taken care of.  3 weeks later, nothing had changed.  I came into the branch and spoke with the manager.  Told him everything from A-Z.  He took down my number and said he will resolve the matter and call me.  Two weeks later - no change and no phone call.  I came in again and spoke to the Account Service Specialist this time as he was the only person available.  He fixed the problem and called me back to confirm.  He should be running the Twin Hickory Branch.  The Twin Hickory Suntrust bank is very incompetent.  From now on, whenever I have anything important to get done at Suntrust, I will go to the one on Pump Rd and Broad St.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Hickory Park Branch at Glen Allen, VA
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SinhTong, Aug. 26, 2016

I have been doing business with this bank since 1996. Michelle Jones, Ms. Varsha Savani and Mr. Josh are very nice. They are freindly and professional. We are happy with this SunTrust branch in Town Center.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, St. Johns Town Center Branch at Jacksonville, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst drive thru EVER!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JennyW, Jul. 12, 2016

The drive thru is run by sloths. Understaffed & only one line open at a time. Has taken up to 20min with only one car ahead of me to cash a check.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, West Bowie Branch at Bowie, MD
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by cwaynedavis 2016-10-20 19:36:35
Short version.  This bank engaged in deceptive practices with offers for a bonus for large deposits.  DO NOT TRUST THIS BANK!

My wife and I set up accounts at Suntrust in response to their offer of a $250 bonus for a large deposit for a minimum of three months.  After five months the bonus was not credited to the account so we went there to inquire.  The original bank officer who set up the accounts was no longer with the bank.  After investigation we were told that we were not eligible for the bonus because we had not set up direct deposit.  When we opened the accounts we told the officer that there would be no direct deposits so she found another offer that did not require them.

On the second visit when we stated that that was not the offer we had signed up for we were asked for proof of the offer.  We had not kept any, we assumed that the bank was competent to only make offers that we were qualified for and that they were competent in tracking their offers.  These proved to be false assumptions.  After multiple delays we were finally told that we would not be getting the bonus.  We promptly withdrew the money.  I have filed complaints with regulatory agencies.
Thank you
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Smileyrondu, Jun. 21, 2016

I have been fighting with a company about a mistake they made that caused my account to overdraft. I called you guys to get some help and the person on the phone said you guys will give me the $36 their mistake cost me. I live on a disability check so $36 is a lot of money to me. Thank you so much!!  I went on Facebook to the site called what is happening in oak Ridge and told them how great you guys are. I hope it brings you much more customers!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Oak Ridge Branch at Oak Ridge, TN
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Superior Customer Service!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SunTrustCustomer, May. 24, 2016

The staff at the Rock Creek Village branch in Rockville is awesome!!!  Abdoulie, Marsha, and Congphi, Carmen, Sharon and Camala go out of their way to be of service to me and my husband.  We are always greeted with the warmest of welcomes, and our needs are always met!!!  Marsha spent hours with me the other day helping me to make necessary changes to accounts because my wallet was stolen, and her efficiency was 5 star!!  We are just getting to know Giulio, the premier banker, and he seems very nice.!!!  We are lucky to have the relationship that we have with all of them!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Rock Creek Village Branch at Rockville, MD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Phenomenal
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cmobley, Apr. 29, 2016

I love this branch. The employees have become my friends because of their incredible customer service. Lidia and the other tellers are so helpful and kind and always know their stuff.

* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Hunter's Green Branch at Tampa, FL
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

NO ONE ANSWERS THE PHONE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by pam123, Apr. 26, 2016

No one answers the phone at this branch and I left a phone number for the manager to contact me and it is three days later and still no call.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Altamonte Crossing Branch at Altamonte Springs, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Sorely Lacking
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tinygirl, Apr. 11, 2016

I have been a client of this bank since the early 90's. I have found it is understaffed a lot of times and there are representatives in the other offices but no one to help the teller. They are friendly and professional but the wait has been longer than usual this winter (I am a snow bird). The fact they have been robbed twice in the past six weeks is also puzzling. Security cameras? After two robberies so close maybe they need a security guard.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, The Meadows Branch at Sarasota, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Business Owner
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by tamaragior, Feb. 17, 2016

I have complained and complained about the wait time at this bank.  It so unfair to have one teller behind the Window to serve lobby clients and drive thrus!  Ridiculous!  Kathy Pixler deserves an award for being the teller she is!  How can this be efficient?  I have seen people walk into the bank; and turn right around; back out the door.  I have taken some of my accounts across the highway to NBSC Bank; and if it wasn't for Kathy; I would be long gone!  The staff at this branch are all wonderful people; yet they seem to have their hands tied as to what they can do to help customers.  How can this bank be so short staffed; and the Suntrust at Bi Lo locations have more teller staff then a bank located on a busy highway?

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Sam Rittenberg Branch at Charleston, SC
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Alan V.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NODAK, Jan. 29, 2016

I chose Sun Trust when I lived in Maryland and traveled all over that state and to Hampton Roads and the Eastern Shore.  Having branches in large cities AND little hamlets in several states is very important to me.  There were several branches that I could have made my home bank but I chose Sun Trust @ Wards Corner because of the exemplary professionalism, knowledge, and customer service by Mrs  Henriqi-Nelms.  Sun Trust could not have a better management supervisor and customer advocate.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Wards Corner Branch at Norfolk, VA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

great service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by localgirl, Dec. 08, 2015

These folks are always friendly, try to help solve any problems, recognize me personally, and I don't have to wait here as long as at other bank sites.  Moved all my accounts to this bank (from 3 different banking companies) because I like that they know me by sight, and don't just read my name of a check.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Green Valley Branch at Monrovia, MD
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank. Excellent Loan Terms and Credit Lines
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by trey57735, Nov. 14, 2015

SunTrust Bank is an excellent bank to do business with. As a bank, they mostly deal with commercial lending.  This is a great benefit because they are able to fund my business needs and address my personal needs as well.  I need a bank that will grow with me and invest in me (FOB).  SunTrust allows me access to generous capital and financial products so that I stay at peak performance, both personally and with my FOB.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tina flemmons
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tibrown, Sep. 24, 2015

I like the location.2 stores from my job.service is always fast.hours r just right for ME. Friendly staff VERY helpful,and most of all they tend to block my card when transactions r abnormal but will call me QUICK to make sure it's ME useing my card.GREAT thinking given todays identity theft problems 💕💕.I love there mailing sent advising me of on line banking..GREAT..i can do fund transfers and pay bills in less then a minute. WOO!HOO! This was a PLUS for me.i give MY SUNTRUST BANK 2 thumbs up👍👍

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Pikesville Branch at Pikesville, MD
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best Suntrust Branch in Augusta!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sahminga, Aug. 11, 2015

We have banked with SunTrust for over 20 years.  During that time, we have visited almost every branch in the Augusta area. Over the past year or so, this bank has drastically changed...for the better! We now receive only superior customer service!  We will only visit this branch from now on.  Gary, Adam, Maria and Gillian are awesome!  Thank you for being the BEST!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fury's Ferry Publix Branch at Augusta, GA
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A client for 20 years
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SatisfiedHenrico, Aug. 05, 2015

Management team: Shows excellence in communication, customer relation, responsiveness, people rapport.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Regency Branch at Henrico, VA
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

mr
Overall Rating
by redi, Jul. 28, 2015

I pulled up to the drive thru window this morning and tried to cash out some real point. it was the direct window to the inside the bank so it was not the vacuum tube. But tell her did not want to cash out my coins even though I could easily have just let them through the window directly to her. It seemed as if she was in no mood to serve me. Bad policy.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, North Beneva Branch at Sarasota, FL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by summergal70 2015-07-30 19:51:51
Being in banking for over 27 years, I will just let you know that the drive up windows are not mechanically equipped to hold rolled coins. Maybe a couple of rolls at a time, however, most banks do not allow it because it could cause a back up in the windows. Most banks will gladly take rolled coins on the inside.
It sounds like the teller should have made more of an effort to explain the reason why rather than make you feel like they did not care. Hope this helps.
Mr Rating
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by snake, Jul. 13, 2015

Branch at Hialeah Fl West 24 av and 60st greatest mess,every time I visit the branch there are new employees and Branch Mgr

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, El Mercado Branch at Hialeah, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Observation 2015-07-15 05:16:53
At El Mercado Suntrust Bank,seems they careless if their customers walk away to a different Bank Competitor,El Mercado Suntrust Branch located at 2400 west 60st At Hialeah Fl 33016,It will be amaze that any cashier,Bank officer or The Bank Mgr will last more than a year,after reading couple of blogs of different a branches of Suntrust it seems that is not trust at Suntrust,I been a customer since this institution use to be sun Bank ,I been merging my accounts to another branch due the lack of respect and professionalism of the new Bankers at this institution which just to be on of the best,over 20 years banking with this institution.
Suntrust Bank - Dunn, NC Location
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Mac1, Jun. 19, 2015

The folks at this branch are outstanding!  I had a problem that wasn't easy to solve or fix and the branch manager (& she is an Assistant VP) and her personal banker went far beyond the call of duty and worked to help us for over 6 weeks without giving up until the problem was solved.  They and the fraud department for SunTrust Bank are awesome.  I wish that I could say the same about Capital One....  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Ccb-Dunn Branch 355 at Dunn, NC
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mrs.Doris M. Collins
Overall Rating
by sadiesue, Jun. 11, 2015

My time with Sun Trust Bank has been very good until they changed their on-line-banking service!
I don't really know how to describe the difference.
I have used on-line-banking for years and was very happy with it. All at once I opened my account and behold! a whole new system that is not even user friendly at all.
The "Powers that be" would have made a better move by having a customer survey before they suddenly decided to make a change. This change came from the head office in Atlanta,GA. with no input from their customers. I am thinking of making a banking change after I look into some different systems. This was done for "security"  Ha,Ha!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, 23rd Street Branch at Panama City, FL
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by FedFan 2015-12-16 09:49:45
I couldn't agree more.  I emailled them and got a patronizing response saying that change is always difficult but once I got used to it I would see it is better.  Arrrgg!!!   It is awful - not  user friendly at all any more.  Enough for me to look at other banks after 20+ years.
Joy To Bank Here
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by PLH1, Jun. 10, 2015

I have been with SunTrust bank in Thomasville, GA for a little over 5 years. I have always had such pleasant experiences while dealing with the staff there. They all have friendly and outgoing personalities and are very knowledgable about the services they offer. I even received a thank you / welcome note from the branch manager once I opened my account. Talk about making an impact on me. I will refer all my friends and family to this branch location.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Thomasville Branch at Thomasville, GA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Unprofessional 2016-10-18 09:02:41
I went into the downtown branch in Chattanooga and was given a hard time trying to get my own money out of the bank.  I showed my Tn Drivers license, my state id, and also give them my social security number.  They wanted to see a visa card.  This the part I did not get to see a visa card with just my name on it and I have shown you tow form of id and given you my social security number.  When I told the clerk that I need to move my money some where else he told me if that is what I want to do.  I did not feel the need to be professional at that time and really this has really upset me to yes maybe I do need to move my money.  But I felt belittle and very prejudged.  I did not like this service at all.  And the Teller and others was not being professional at all. This is not what I need to go thru I am doing work on my home and I need to get my money when it is time to pay for the work that is being completed.
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 11

Banks Nearby

Branch Banking and Trust Company, Hamilton Place Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
SunTrust Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1900 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Bank of America, Gunbarrel Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2126 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Regions Bank, Gunbarrel Rd Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2128 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
First Volunteer Bank, Gunbarrel Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1834 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421

More