SunTrust Bank, Review

SunTrust Bank, Review

Average rating based on 159 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
54
4 star:
6
3 star:
2
2 star:
9
1 star:
88
| Next >     page 1 of 16
HORRIBLE BRANCH
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Maraltima, Apr. 11, 2014

I am a single father of two; I had previously been laid off work for almost 3 years; finances became very much in disarray. But SunTrust worked with me to keep my account open. I have had an account with SunTrust since 2006.

Recently my X-wife wrote two bad child support checks. Of course, I immediately replaced the funds. I watch my account very closely. I checked my account the following day to make sure my deposit posted and that everything was good as to the bad deposit.  I couldn't access my account online...Ultimately, I found out my account was closed due to "suspected fraud" ???? A local branch went WAY out of their way to help me find out the details as I explained my situation.

To make a long involved story very short...this local branch was willing to take my account and work with me to keep my account open.  The manager of the downtown Knoxville Branch (Bruce Duncan) blocked the effort.  Previously, I had gone in to ask for his help concerning fees assessed to my account. He was rude - condescending and absolutely unwilling to even listen. He is the THIRD branch manager at this downtown branch in just 2 years. The other local branch told me even though my account was not the "ideal" account, there had certainly been worse situations.  I believe the downtown branch manager purposefully and maliciously made these decisions based on his own personal agenda.  

I would not recommend EVER doing business with the downtown Knoxville branch - AT ALL.  I just hope and pray that the hard times that many people in my situation face never have to deal with this type of person - and I certainly pray that this manager never finds himself in a similar situation - needing help and needing someone to just listen.  Treat others as you would like to be treated.  Your actions have a way of coming full circle. So so sad.

Oh... and let me end by saying...at the time they closed my account - they returned two of my bills that had been set to auto-pay (and in pending status - with funds available to pay) AND also held over $1,000 of my money so that I couldn't even retrieve it for over a week to go and pay my bills.  Fortunately those bill collectors were willing to work with me when this Branch Mgr would not.

To try and end on a positive - the other staff (i.e. tellers and customer service representative) have always been so very helpful and understanding. I will miss them. I will also make mention of the staff at the East Towne Branch @ Kinzel Way. They went WAY out of their way to try and help me and to help keep my account open.  It all came back to the recommendation of Bruce Duncan - an individual who had ONLY known me and my account for a few months.

I realize there are rules and regulations.  I have spent over 20 years of my professional career in the accounting field for the federal government.  It simply would have been nice to have been offered an opportunity to explain.

This is just my story.  I hope it helps others try to avoid an embarrassing and hurtful situation brought on by this Branch Manager at the Downtown Knoxville Branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Downtown Knoxville Branch at Knoxville, TN
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Maraltima 2014-04-14 10:16:07
As if things couldn't get any worse.  So I was told to come back on 4/14 to find out what to do about getting my funds released, only to get there and be told that a check had already been mailed the previous week.

I will count this account closure as a blessing. To never have to deal with Mr. Duncan again will be absolute heaven.

A day will come .... something random...totally unexpected that will cause Mr. Duncan to look back and remember how disrespectful and hurtful he has been to people simply needing his help and understanding.

I take no joy in knowing that.
Who opened the account? We didn't.
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by Floored, Apr. 05, 2014

Someone opened a bank account in my name. Not even my legal name on the bank card. A debit card, overdraft protection authorization AND paper checks, which I haven't used in 10 years! Then a statement. And finally, you closed it, too. Did I mention that my wife's name wasn't included in all of this? Need I say what she thought and how she felt? Need I say you haven't heard the last of me? Need I say I read your Sun Trust Policy and feel that you may not have read mine? It would have simply stated that I did NOT authorize an account to be opened. I simply cashed a check as a guest.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Oak Ridge Branch at Oak Ridge, TN
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Change routing numbers for direct deposit without notifying anyone!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by amyd, Apr. 03, 2014

They changed my direct deposit routing number without notifying me or my retirement company, so my pension deposit was delayed for a week.  I spent countless hours trying to figure out where my money went.  The bank had no idea where my money was or why it was not deposited.  I finally figured it out with my retirement company when the deposit finally bounced back to them.  Get your act together Suntrust!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Westgate Branch at Manassas, VA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude treatment of customers
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by regular1, Apr. 02, 2014

I witnessed a woman walking out in TEARS, saying to the manager that he "didn't need to speak like that to her."  My son closed his account at this bank because the rude and condescending manner in which the manager dealt with him.  It's as though being a young person - or a woman - does not garner respect.  VERY rude manager - I forget his name - but he needs training in customer service and respect for people in general.  No, he needs a different job.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Goshen Oaks Safeway Branch at Gaithersburg, MD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A Pleasure!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EmmyK, Mar. 24, 2014

I absolutely love this branch! Everytime I go in everyone is always super helpful and inviting. The man that helped me, Andrew, was a pleasure to work with. He was to the extreme nice and knew exactly what he was doing. I will suggest to all my friends and family to go over to this bank.
Keep up the good work guys! Much appreciated!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Keith Bridge Branch at Cumming, GA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

They can't get my car payment right
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by busy, Mar. 18, 2014

After waiting in line for more than an hour to see someone and set up an automatic car payment, they have failed to actually get it straight 3 months later!  It is a huge waste of time and frustrating that one branch just points the finger at another instead of fixing the problem.  I am glad I don't have any other accounts with suntrust if this is how poorly they keep records.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Riverside Park Branch at Alexandria, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dr. Roderick Gilkey
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RGilkey, Mar. 17, 2014

I have used the Emory branch of SunTrust for several and have been consistently impressed with their service.  I have been impressed with their ability to help me with a variety of often complex issues (international transfers, tax issues, multiple accounts etc.) in a clear, consistent and competent manner.  When I have an issue I am directed to the proper individual quickly and they take ownership of the issue and resolve it quickly and effectively.  Our whole uses SunTrust (and this branch) because of this history of excellent friendly service.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Emory Branch at Atlanta, GA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by KHO01, Mar. 14, 2014

I am extremely satisfied with the Suntrust branch located inside Walmart in Canton Ga.  The managers have been so helpful and knowledgable with my banking needs. I also love the fact that I can leave the hospital at odd hours and still do my banking.  Thank you Suntrust for such a wonderful experience!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Canton Wal-Mart Branch at Canton, GA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

sage hill branch Atlanta ga
Overall Rating
by angelface, Mar. 14, 2014

This branch has the worst customer service I have ever experienced!  No one calls you back. No manager on duty. Always "on vacation". Been in numerous times and staff is horrible. I can't believe I have an account here. Time to switch back to Wells Fargo. Didn't realize how good I had it there. This bank is slow to process anything but overdraft charges!!!


* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Sage Hill Branch at Atlanta, GA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by busy 2014-03-18 12:24:43
This bank branch has messed up my auto payment for my car loan AGAIN!   It is the most frustrating place and I only have my car payment here because Hyundai put me here.  I would not recommend this branch to anyone.  In fact, after dealing with them for a few months, I'm glad I don't have an actual account with Suntrust at all!
sage hill branch Atlanta ga
Overall Rating
by angelface, Mar. 14, 2014

This branch has the worst customer service I have ever experienced!  No one calls you back. No manager on duty. Always "on vacation". Been in numerous times and staff is horrible. I can't believe I have an account here. Time to switch back to Wells Fargo. Didn't realize how good I had it there. This bank is slow to process anything but overdraft charges!!!


* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Sage Hill Branch at Atlanta, GA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 16
SunTrust Bank, East Brainerd East Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8171 East Brainerd Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Bank of America, Gunbarrel Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2126 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
First Tennessee Bank, East Brainerd Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
7820 East Brainerd Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
First Bank, Firstbank Mortgage Partners
Limited Service Loan Production Office
6131 Shallowford Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Regions Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421

View All