SunTrust Bank, Review

SunTrust Bank, Review

Average rating based on 164 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
56
4 star:
6
3 star:
2
2 star:
9
1 star:
91
| Next >     page 1 of 17
Furys Ferry Suntrust is Great
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Hamerdawg, Jun. 27, 2014

Whole family has been banking here for years and everyone has always been very friendly, kind, and helpful.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fury's Ferry Publix Branch at Augusta, GA
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Suntrust Mulberry is great!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EdieSJones, May. 30, 2014

They're great!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Mulberry Branch at Mulberry, FL
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Lack of service
Overall Rating
by smithca44, May. 21, 2014

I would say I received "poor" service, but actually, I did not receive ANY service.  I went to pick up a Western Union transfer and was told only one person knows how to do it, and that person was not there that day.  Inconvenient and I had to try to find another Western Union location. It might be good customer service to train a few people on how to do Western Union tasks.

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Westgate Branch at Manassas, VA
5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The simple things
Overall Rating
Other Services
by Thesimplethings, May. 05, 2014

I am not a Sun Trust customer, and now it is guaranteed I will never be one. It may seem silly but on a fundamental level I think my story is important. My young son had a roll of quarters he had saved and wanted to exchange for a ten dollar bill ("real money" according to him). While we were at the store I took his roll of quarters to do just that. The money center in the store wouldn't do it for us and pointed us in the direction of the bank. I wasn't overly surprised. The bank is that place that helps you exchange, keep, save, and borrow.... money. There was no line, the counter staff were not busy. From what I could tell they were just sitting there talking to each other. So I walked up with our humble roll of quarters and asked for a ten dollar bill. The lady behind the counter asked if I had an account with them. This took me a little off guard. I wasn't trying to take out an auto loan. I just wanted to exchange some VERY small currency. I don't have an account and she very brusquely told me I needed an account and a phone number registered with Sun Trust in case the amount wasn't correct so they had a way to contact me. I know this sounds like I'm making this up. I wish I was. At this point I am beyond bewildered. I had to pause to make sure she wasn't joking. I'm also insulted. First, I have worked in multiple jobs where I've had to count up and maintain money tills or a safe. With this you have to count rolls of change. I know technology exists that allows you to place the roll in the counter and based on weight it knows whether or not the amount is right (I know because I've used it and it takes about 1 second). Beyond that, if you don't trust the contents of the roll, I know it took me all of about 30 seconds to count up the roll in the first place BY HAND(oh the horror!). She tells me sorry there is nothing she can do.

Big bad Sun Trust bank can't count a $10 quarter roll.

I realize the loss of me ever being a customer will have zero impact on this bank. I also realize I could tell as many people as I could find not to use Sun Trust, until I was blue in the face, and Sun Trust would never even flinch. I realize this will probably never even actually be read by anyone at Sun Trust. If it is it will likely be disregarded as quickly as my little $10 quarter roll. I didn't argue. I couldn't. How stupid do you think your customers are?  I said "thank you anyways" and walked away. I was in absolute shock. Yes, I was asking for a free service, but it was a realistic free service. I was asking to exchange 40 quarters in to a bill. Something like this is a little thing you do for your customer to earn a reputation in the community. It costs you absolutely nothing and gives you a happy customer that may consider you the next time they need to buy a new car. I do believe I am in the market for such a bank.  

Now all this particular location is left with is a a couple of employees talking to each other (that you had to pay anyways), and a bad review. I'm not an expert, but it seems to me you missed out on free money. I will take my auto loan elsewhere because my son's $10 just wasn't good enough for you. I'm not drastically old fashioned, but sometimes it really IS the simple things that matter.

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Lilburn Wal-Mart Branch at Lilburn, GA
41 of 42 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

5 comments. Add a comment

by CM75 2014-05-12 22:46:05
I do not think this is a fair review on the actual services this place provides. Why did you not just take the roll to your own bank or to a coin star? I have used SunTrust for many years and have never had a problem with the way they do things.
by Bustit997 2014-05-26 20:51:42
This person is a definite looser. She could not get her $10 bill for her roll of quarters at the "MONEY STORE", and that was no problem. But she is surprised that a bank that she has no account with would not do it either. THE TRUTH IS THAT SHE OBVIOUSLY DOES NOT HAVE A BANK ACCOUNT OF HER OWN. She is a looser who probably bounced so many checks that she has to do her business at the Money Store. To say such negative things when the person was just following bank policy (which I agree with), is wrong. The people at the Wilton Manors branch are AWESOME. Extremely friendly, go out of their way to help whenever you have a problem. Ignore this bitter no bank account of her own looser.
by spiritevolution 2014-05-29 18:19:33
@ thesimplethings:From one intelligent person to another, I understand where you are coming from. I am shocked by a lot of the stupidity of the world. Thank you for your post. It was very true to the society we live. You can tell that we still have a long way to go when you read some of the ignorant and mean comments from other posts. It breaks my heart that a person can not just post a opinion that was not demeaning, but yet, you are in returned called a loser. I just wanted to post a response to let you know Thesimplethings) that there are good people left, who got some sense. Thank you again for your post that made complete sense, unfortunately a lot of people are too senseless to understand, so they just rather name call like children do. Take care and thank the universe for blessing you with common sense, because there is a lack there of in this world.
by lisanoakes 2014-06-13 09:17:40
Husband had two checks from ILA which were drawn on this bank. They cashed one but wanted to charge $7.00 to cash the second one. This is ridiculous! SunTrust you act like a fly by night check cashing company. Shame on you! I will NEVER bank with crooks!
by Judy1946 2014-07-13 09:09:18
You may not think that your comment got read, but I read it and it kept me from taking all of my banking business over to this bank.  I actually am happy with my bank, but they have closed the branches in the city I go to in upstate NY which is inconvenient for me, so I was looking for another bank that has branches in Florida and in the city I visit in NY.  Thanks for keeping me from making a mistake.
BAD, BAD
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cecilie, Apr. 25, 2014

I have a car loan with Sun Trust Bank I usually go to this branch to pay it in my lunch break, the line is usually not that long but it takes forever for me to get it done, they speak in spanish with their spanish customer and really take their time. I have been given the wrong information about my account several times the assistant manager do not know what she is doing. It is really BAD.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fallsgrove Safeway Branch at Rockville, MD
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HORRIBLE BRANCH
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Maraltima, Apr. 11, 2014

I am a single father of two; I had previously been laid off work for almost 3 years; finances became very much in disarray. But SunTrust worked with me to keep my account open. I have had an account with SunTrust since 2006.

Recently my X-wife wrote two bad child support checks. Of course, I immediately replaced the funds. I watch my account very closely. I checked my account the following day to make sure my deposit posted and that everything was good as to the bad deposit.  I couldn't access my account online...Ultimately, I found out my account was closed due to "suspected fraud" ???? A local branch went WAY out of their way to help me find out the details as I explained my situation.

To make a long involved story very short...this local branch was willing to take my account and work with me to keep my account open.  The manager of the downtown Knoxville Branch (Bruce Duncan) blocked the effort.  Previously, I had gone in to ask for his help concerning fees assessed to my account. He was rude - condescending and absolutely unwilling to even listen. He is the THIRD branch manager at this downtown branch in just 2 years. The other local branch told me even though my account was not the "ideal" account, there had certainly been worse situations.  I believe the downtown branch manager purposefully and maliciously made these decisions based on his own personal agenda.  

I would not recommend EVER doing business with the downtown Knoxville branch - AT ALL.  I just hope and pray that the hard times that many people in my situation face never have to deal with this type of person - and I certainly pray that this manager never finds himself in a similar situation - needing help and needing someone to just listen.  Treat others as you would like to be treated.  Your actions have a way of coming full circle. So so sad.

Oh... and let me end by saying...at the time they closed my account - they returned two of my bills that had been set to auto-pay (and in pending status - with funds available to pay) AND also held over $1,000 of my money so that I couldn't even retrieve it for over a week to go and pay my bills.  Fortunately those bill collectors were willing to work with me when this Branch Mgr would not.

To try and end on a positive - the other staff (i.e. tellers and customer service representative) have always been so very helpful and understanding. I will miss them. I will also make mention of the staff at the East Towne Branch @ Kinzel Way. They went WAY out of their way to try and help me and to help keep my account open.  It all came back to the recommendation of Bruce Duncan - an individual who had ONLY known me and my account for a few months.

I realize there are rules and regulations.  I have spent over 20 years of my professional career in the accounting field for the federal government.  It simply would have been nice to have been offered an opportunity to explain.

This is just my story.  I hope it helps others try to avoid an embarrassing and hurtful situation brought on by this Branch Manager at the Downtown Knoxville Branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Downtown Knoxville Branch at Knoxville, TN
11 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Maraltima 2014-04-14 10:16:07
As if things couldn't get any worse.  So I was told to come back on 4/14 to find out what to do about getting my funds released, only to get there and be told that a check had already been mailed the previous week.

I will count this account closure as a blessing. To never have to deal with Mr. Duncan again will be absolute heaven.

A day will come .... something random...totally unexpected that will cause Mr. Duncan to look back and remember how disrespectful and hurtful he has been to people simply needing his help and understanding.

I take no joy in knowing that.
by Izzie 2014-07-22 16:43:54
I am going through something similar now. I mobile deposited a convenience check from credit union Visa to pay off some bills. Suntrust called the next day and said there would be a hold on it, because the credit union didn't verify funds by phone. My husband and I had to go to Kentucky  that weekend, due to a death in family, during the hold time of 7 days. Suntrust had blocked our debit cards and mobile banking, so we had to cash husband's work check at another bank to have cash. I called Suntrust on 6th day to see balance and see if check was still on hold. They said there were 2 holds and 1 was mistake, and I held on phone while they took them off. The person on phone also told me that Suntrust was in process of closing our account, due to fraud investigation. (Re:credit union check) I told girl that I have social security disability check direct deposited in two days, Wednesday. She said to go to branch and tell them I need account balance paid to me. I went to branch, Wed.  and talked to Jared. This is Cordova, Tn branch. He looked at notes from account on screen and said they that were closing account and that he couldn't tell what reason was and went to ask David, branch manager, for the ok to give me money from account, but said it would be Thursday, after social security cleared.I saw Jared go talk to David and about 2 minutes later came back and said David said call Suntrust rules  and regs. I sat there forever.,while Jared was on hold..then Jared said they were closing account in 5 days and remainder of money in account would be mailed within 30 days.  I said I can't wait 30 days and that I was on disability and had 5 prescriptions to pick up. Jared said there was nothing else I could do. I called Suntrust Customer Service on Friday and told them everything and the guy, Homer, said it showed account open and I should be able to go to branch and withdraw money, but my debit cards wouldn't work. He gave me another number to call, that was the fraud department. When I spoke with them, man said my account was frozen (or a no debit status) and started asking about the check from credit union that had been deposited. I verified all the information and he called fraud manager and apparently told her situation, and if the frozen status could be lifted. She said that I would have to go back to Cordova Branch and speak with branch manager, David, and that he would have to call area manager and then, David could reactivate account.  The fraud investigation was closed. I went back, talked to David at the Cordova Branch. He looked at account this time, didn't bother 2 days before.  He said it was closed and they would be sending funds to me, that the check had already been cut!  I hated to call him a right out liar, but he was. I had just been told that it was still open. He said it was closed due to overdrafts. There were 6 OD on account. (Due to held check) I told him he made $36.00 x 6 off them and asked why would that matter and also explained that I could not wait for money, that I had prescriptions to pick up. I have life threatening medical issues and he acted like he could have cared less. David told me I should receive monies $940+ in a few days because again that check had been processed. He had told me earlier they it would be mailed in 10-14 days, after they were sure there was nothing outstanding.
That's where I am now. My husbands and I cell phones will probably be cut off soon. Some things on mine have already been canceled. MLGW gave us till July 28 to pay $300 bill. I have to pay my hairdresser back, because it didn't realize account was frozen and check didn't go through. My husband will get paid July 24th, but  most of check will go for rent. We had to use cash we had on our prescriptions, groceries and gas and there is over $900 sitting at Suntrust, that who knows when I will get it. I have run out of answers to solution.
I would not advise anyone to deal with Suntrust or put a dollar in that bank. I am thinking about calling lawyer and ask for advise. Another thing, I have never got one thing in writing that account is being closed.
Who opened the account? We didn't.
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by Floored, Apr. 05, 2014

Someone opened a bank account in my name. Not even my legal name on the bank card. A debit card, overdraft protection authorization AND paper checks, which I haven't used in 10 years! Then a statement. And finally, you closed it, too. Did I mention that my wife's name wasn't included in all of this? Need I say what she thought and how she felt? Need I say you haven't heard the last of me? Need I say I read your Sun Trust Policy and feel that you may not have read mine? It would have simply stated that I did NOT authorize an account to be opened. I simply cashed a check as a guest.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Oak Ridge Branch at Oak Ridge, TN
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Change routing numbers for direct deposit without notifying anyone!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by amyd, Apr. 03, 2014

They changed my direct deposit routing number without notifying me or my retirement company, so my pension deposit was delayed for a week.  I spent countless hours trying to figure out where my money went.  The bank had no idea where my money was or why it was not deposited.  I finally figured it out with my retirement company when the deposit finally bounced back to them.  Get your act together Suntrust!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Westgate Branch at Manassas, VA
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude treatment of customers
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by regular1, Apr. 02, 2014

I witnessed a woman walking out in TEARS, saying to the manager that he "didn't need to speak like that to her."  My son closed his account at this bank because the rude and condescending manner in which the manager dealt with him.  It's as though being a young person - or a woman - does not garner respect.  VERY rude manager - I forget his name - but he needs training in customer service and respect for people in general.  No, he needs a different job.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Goshen Oaks Safeway Branch at Gaithersburg, MD
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A Pleasure!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EmmyK, Mar. 24, 2014

I absolutely love this branch! Everytime I go in everyone is always super helpful and inviting. The man that helped me, Andrew, was a pleasure to work with. He was to the extreme nice and knew exactly what he was doing. I will suggest to all my friends and family to go over to this bank.
Keep up the good work guys! Much appreciated!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Keith Bridge Branch at Cumming, GA
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 17
SunTrust Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1900 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Bank of America, Gunbarrel Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2126 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
First Bank, Firstbank Mortgage Partners
Limited Service Loan Production Office
6131 Shallowford Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Branch Banking and Trust Company, Hamilton Place Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Regions Bank, East Brainerd Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
7951 East Brainerd Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Regions Bank, Perimeter Place Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6238 Lee Highway
Chattanooga, TN 37421

View All