SunTrust Bank, Review

SunTrust Bank, Review

Average rating based on 175 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
58
4 star:
6
3 star:
2
2 star:
11
1 star:
98

| Next >     page 1 of 18
Thomas Farias
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by IDFraudVictim, Oct. 16, 2014

Beware of employees and management at Suntrust bank. Apparently someone at the Okeechobee branch was able to open an account with my personal info. When I received a letter congratulating me on my new overdraft account, I called the folks at the branch, and they refused to give me any information about who opened the account. It seems as though this happens all the time at their branch. They actually had the nerve to ask me for MORE of my confidential information. When I filed a complaint with Consumer Finance Protection Bureau, I received a useless response from the 'Assistant Vice President' of the
Client Advocacy Team, Thomas Farias. I'd be skeptical of his qualifications if his resume ever came across my desk.
In summary, use caution if you do any banking in Okeechobee, or at Suntrust itself, and don't bother trying to get any help from the Suntrust Corporate "Advocacy TEAM"

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Muddy Branch at Gaithersburg, MD
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Overall Very Poor
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bill0246, Oct. 04, 2014

Customer service is  poor,  they have a  condescending attitude and their asset "protection" counselling is horrific.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Orange Park Branch at Orange Park, FL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tina Kamtaprasad
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by K4KDirector, Sep. 25, 2014

As a person who has worked in the service/hospitality and most recently charitable outreach industry, one would be hard pressed to find a person more personable yet, professional,and proficient yet, detail oriented than  Business Manager Tina K. She opened a business account for us in March of this year, and although initially I was a bit skeptical as to why a banking representative would literally have people waiting for  hours simply to consult with her, it is now [for me] no  disputed reason as to why.
Her personality and professionalism should be taught to EVERY up and coming customer service financial representative.
The world (and businesses in general) need more people like her. She is TRULY amazing~!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Alafaya/50 Branch at Orlando, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tina Kamtaprasad
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by K4KDirector, Sep. 25, 2014

As a person who has worked in the service/hospitality and most recently charitable outreach industry, one would be hard pressed to find a person more personable yet, professional,and proficient yet, detail oriented than  Business Manager Tina K. She opened a business account for us in March of this year, and although initially I was a bit skeptical as to why a banking representative would literally have people waiting for  hours simply to consult with her, it is now [for me] no  disputed reason as to why.
Her personality and professionalism should be taught to EVERY up and coming customer service financial representative.
The world (and businesses in general) need more people like her. She is TRULY amazing~!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Alafaya/50 Branch at Orlando, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Poor Banking and Management
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
by anindianangel, Sep. 25, 2014

I have had a problem with an unauthorized transaction since Monday morning.The bank Suntrust called me and assured me they would take care of it and refund my money immediately. This is Thursday morning and still nothing because of this I have no access to even $20-. This is the first time I have had an overdraft ever. I am totally amazed at how they handle their customers, which we are the people who pay their salaries. I will be changing banks for sure. I do not have time to waste with such unprofessional people. I called the bank yesterday and asked to speak to the MGR I was told if she is available she will call me back. The worst customer service I have experienced in 33 years of banking.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Lakeland Highlands Branch at Lakeland, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by wetabernal 2014-09-27 13:32:20
I have had a very distasteful experience with my branch in NC,
Durham. They ""sold me"" they have insisted on ny getting a checking account, instead of having a savings, which I have had for many years now.
This teller, Crystal, finally succeeded in selling me the idea. The time t close the savings, was Tuesday, after Labor day weekend.well, first mustake. Her mistake::FORGOT!! Not o.e, not three times. Left a message with "another teller", who didnt ( so Crystal told me") I have been charged so much money, because of THEIR mistakes. I am so terribly upset!!! She had the time t call with thw overdrafts, but not t clise my SAVINGS as she had promised. I keep getting more and more charges. Unbelievable!!
I can't even close the accounts at this time, as I dont know how much mo.ey they will continue charging me. I moved t Dallas, almost a year ago, and was told, SUNTRUST is also here. Well I havw never found one. I hope someone with authority helps me resolve this very upsetting issue. I don't have any money at this time. I have kept a very clean savings ac ount all these years, and now I dont even know if I can opwn an account anywhete, because of SUNTRUST mustakes. And unprofessional "peimuses" I trusted Crystal t clise my savings, and nit havw t pay for ivwrdrafts, as she promised I would not have, opening up a checking. Constanza Warren
Misty was short and not helpful at all!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Hubbard7710, Sep. 15, 2014

This bank location honestly has some of the most unprofessional, ghetto tellers I have EVER seen at a banking location.  It is honestly making me want to switch my account to another bank.  I may have to do that soon.  I just called to ask a question regarding a deposit and spoke with Misty.  She seemed nice on the phone, but it was apparent that I was taking too much of her time and she rushed me to end the call and hung up very quickly!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fletcher Branch at Tampa, FL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank on the Planet
Overall Rating
by marilynsuntrust, Aug. 31, 2014

While traveling from my home in Texas to California, I lost my wallet on the train on Thursday. I immediately called Suntrust and agreed to pay $25 to have a new debit card overnighted to me, as I was scheduled to fly back to my home in Texas just 3 days later on Saturday evening. I was very happy to pay the $25 for overnight shipping to my hotel in California. The debit card didn't arrive on Friday though as it was supposed to. I called suntrust to see what happened and was told that they don't even offer overnight shipping on cards. Only 2 to 3 BUSINESS days. Which means that myy card was on it's way to california scheduled to arrive on Tuesday, which my flight back home to Texas is three days PRIOR on Saturday. Obviously I was livid, and demanded a refund of the $25 and to talk to a manager. I was told there were no managers there and that one would call me the next day. Of course, nobody from suntrust called me the next day. So i called back on Sunday from my home in texas and spoke to a manager finally. This manager tells me that it is going to be delivered to my hotel in California on tuesday. She refused to listen to the recorded phone call where i was lied to about the overnight shipping and she refused to give me a refund. She said I would need to call back again on Monday to talk to customer service and have them refund the fee. She also wanted to charge me $25 AGAIN to have yet another sent to me in texas at my home, since I'm back from vacation now. I told them to keep the damn card and withdrew all my money and switched financial institutions for good. This was the worst experience of my life in dealing with a bank. The people who answer their calls are like robots that could care less about the customer experience.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Suntrust Bank at Atlanta, GA
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HOPEFULLY CUSTOMER
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HOPEFULLYCUSTOMER, Aug. 29, 2014

I am having a problem with one of the TELLER who made a mistake on a transaction with me and will not make it right. I hope the management make it RIGHT.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Goodlettsville Mm 821 at Goodlettsville, TN
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Sparkplug, Aug. 20, 2014

I have been a customer since 1986 at the various banks that have been located in front of the Kroger on Byhalia Road in Collierville, TN.  I was very disappointed when Suntrust closed that branch.  Now the remaining branch in Collierville is not open on Saturdays and the ATM machine is very poorly located.  I don't know who made these decisions but it appears from comments that some customers are leaving the bank to find services elsewhere.  I am considering the same.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Schilling Farms Branch - 961 at Collierville, TN
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

In total disbelief
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by InShock, Aug. 01, 2014

Someone put in $2000 in my account, $2000 in my joint account and $2000 in my minor son's account and moved it around. These checks were bad and I was accused of depositing them yet I am the one that called the bank. Now I am being sued by Sun Trust. I would not recommend Sun Trust to anyone not even my worst enemy. If you have an account there CLOSE IT find a different bank Sun Trust rips off people and their long time customers. I couldn't believe it not I am paying the price for trusting a bank with keeping my account safe. No such thing.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Western Avenue Mm Branch 856 at Knoxville, TN
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Alexg7 2014-08-04 13:32:21
I have been banking with Suntrust for more than 15 years. I must say that I am really disappointed with the new employees at this branch. They have no customer service skills. I went to cash a check today. The teller asked me for an ID. Since she had handle my business account deposits several times,  I jokingly asked her "You don't know me? " She said "No I don't" "If I don't know the inside of your house I don't know you". I told her that she should know her customers and she repeated  "If I don't know the inside of your house, I don't know you." I thought that was a really silly and not a smart thing to say to a old customer. I told her that I was the owner of ALL STARS Performing Arts Academy around the corner and she sarcastically said " And I have a daughter that wants to dance" I took that as a bully tactic on her part. In other words, don't bother me or I won't bring my daughter to take dance lessons at your studio".

Suntrust should send some of the employees at this branch to customer service training school. I am closing all my accounts. I am taking our business to another bank.
| Next >     page 1 of 18
SunTrust Bank, East Brainerd East Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8171 East Brainerd Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
First Tennessee Bank, Eastgate Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
5526 Brainerd Road
Chattanooga, TN 37411
Regions Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Cornerstone Community Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2280 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
FSGBANK, Gunbarrel Road Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1740 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421

View All