SunTrust Bank, Review

SunTrust Bank, Review

Average rating based on 203 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
72
4 star:
8
3 star:
3
2 star:
13
1 star:
107
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 11
Alan V.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NODAK, Jan. 29, 2016

I chose Sun Trust when I lived in Maryland and traveled all over that state and to Hampton Roads and the Eastern Shore.  Having branches in large cities AND little hamlets in several states is very important to me.  There were several branches that I could have made my home bank but I chose Sun Trust @ Wards Corner because of the exemplary professionalism, knowledge, and customer service by Mrs  Henriqi-Nelms.  Sun Trust could not have a better management supervisor and customer advocate.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Wards Corner Branch at Norfolk, VA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

great service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by localgirl, Dec. 08, 2015

These folks are always friendly, try to help solve any problems, recognize me personally, and I don't have to wait here as long as at other bank sites.  Moved all my accounts to this bank (from 3 different banking companies) because I like that they know me by sight, and don't just read my name of a check.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Green Valley Branch at Monrovia, MD
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank. Excellent Loan Terms and Credit Lines
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by trey57735, Nov. 14, 2015

SunTrust Bank is an excellent bank to do business with. As a bank, they mostly deal with commercial lending.  This is a great benefit because they are able to fund my business needs and address my personal needs as well.  I need a bank that will grow with me and invest in me (FOB).  SunTrust allows me access to generous capital and financial products so that I stay at peak performance, both personally and with my FOB.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tina flemmons
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tibrown, Sep. 24, 2015

I like the location.2 stores from my job.service is always fast.hours r just right for ME. Friendly staff VERY helpful,and most of all they tend to block my card when transactions r abnormal but will call me QUICK to make sure it's ME useing my card.GREAT thinking given todays identity theft problems πŸ’•πŸ’•.I love there mailing sent advising me of on line banking..GREAT..i can do fund transfers and pay bills in less then a minute. WOO!HOO! This was a PLUS for me.i give MY SUNTRUST BANK 2 thumbs upπŸ‘πŸ‘

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Pikesville Branch at Pikesville, MD
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best Suntrust Branch in Augusta!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sahminga, Aug. 11, 2015

We have banked with SunTrust for over 20 years.  During that time, we have visited almost every branch in the Augusta area. Over the past year or so, this bank has drastically changed...for the better! We now receive only superior customer service!  We will only visit this branch from now on.  Gary, Adam, Maria and Gillian are awesome!  Thank you for being the BEST!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Fury's Ferry Publix Branch at Augusta, GA
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A client for 20 years
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SatisfiedHenrico, Aug. 05, 2015

Management team: Shows excellence in communication, customer relation, responsiveness, people rapport.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Regency Branch at Henrico, VA
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

mr
Overall Rating
by redi, Jul. 28, 2015

I pulled up to the drive thru window this morning and tried to cash out some real point. it was the direct window to the inside the bank so it was not the vacuum tube. But tell her did not want to cash out my coins even though I could easily have just let them through the window directly to her. It seemed as if she was in no mood to serve me. Bad policy.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, North Beneva Branch at Sarasota, FL
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by summergal70 2015-07-30 19:51:51
Being in banking for over 27 years, I will just let you know that the drive up windows are not mechanically equipped to hold rolled coins. Maybe a couple of rolls at a time, however, most banks do not allow it because it could cause a back up in the windows. Most banks will gladly take rolled coins on the inside.
It sounds like the teller should have made more of an effort to explain the reason why rather than make you feel like they did not care. Hope this helps.
Mr Rating
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by snake, Jul. 13, 2015

Branch at Hialeah Fl West 24 av and 60st greatest mess,every time I visit the branch there are new employees and Branch Mgr

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, El Mercado Branch at Hialeah, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Observation 2015-07-15 05:16:53
At El Mercado Suntrust Bank,seems they careless if their customers walk away to a different Bank Competitor,El Mercado Suntrust Branch located at 2400 west 60st At Hialeah Fl 33016,It will be amaze that any cashier,Bank officer or The Bank Mgr will last more than a year,after reading couple of blogs of different a branches of Suntrust it seems that is not trust at Suntrust,I been a customer since this institution use to be sun Bank ,I been merging my accounts to another branch due the lack of respect and professionalism of the new Bankers at this institution which just to be on of the best,over 20 years banking with this institution.
Suntrust Bank - Dunn, NC Location
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Mac1, Jun. 19, 2015

The folks at this branch are outstanding!  I had a problem that wasn't easy to solve or fix and the branch manager (& she is an Assistant VP) and her personal banker went far beyond the call of duty and worked to help us for over 6 weeks without giving up until the problem was solved.  They and the fraud department for SunTrust Bank are awesome.  I wish that I could say the same about Capital One....  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Ccb-Dunn Branch 355 at Dunn, NC
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mrs.Doris M. Collins
Overall Rating
by sadiesue, Jun. 11, 2015

My time with Sun Trust Bank has been very good until they changed their on-line-banking service!
I don't really know how to describe the difference.
I have used on-line-banking for years and was very happy with it. All at once I opened my account and behold! a whole new system that is not even user friendly at all.
The "Powers that be" would have made a better move by having a customer survey before they suddenly decided to make a change. This change came from the head office in Atlanta,GA. with no input from their customers. I am thinking of making a banking change after I look into some different systems. This was done for "security"  Ha,Ha!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, 23rd Street Branch at Panama City, FL
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by FedFan 2015-12-16 09:49:45
I couldn't agree more.  I emailled them and got a patronizing response saying that change is always difficult but once I got used to it I would see it is better.  Arrrgg!!!   It is awful - not  user friendly at all any more.  Enough for me to look at other banks after 20+ years.
Joy To Bank Here
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by PLH1, Jun. 10, 2015

I have been with SunTrust bank in Thomasville, GA for a little over 5 years. I have always had such pleasant experiences while dealing with the staff there. They all have friendly and outgoing personalities and are very knowledgable about the services they offer. I even received a thank you / welcome note from the branch manager once I opened my account. Talk about making an impact on me. I will refer all my friends and family to this branch location.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Thomasville Branch at Thomasville, GA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Off to a rocky start
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NaJM, May. 29, 2015

We just retired from NY to Mount Dora, FL, so went to SunTrust last week to open a checking account.  My husband and I sat with the customer service person a long time, talked about NY, and explained to her what we wanted/needed in a new bank.

We both remember her saying there was NO DEBIT CARD available with the checking account - which surprised us.  She went on and 'talked us into' a SunTrust CHARGE CARD - which we did not want/need but what were we supposed to do without a debit card for everyday purchases?  She explained that we could see the balance online and subtract that from our checking balance when I said how different that would be from the debit card I am used to.

Come to find out there IS a debit card with our checking account.  We feel she was just trying to sell us the credit card.

We wrote a check for $1000s from our NY bank and deposited it into our new SunTrust account.  She said the money would be available the next day.  Well, one week later and the money is still not available and won't be for another 3 days.  Of course, the $1000s was taken from our NY account immediately.

We hope this type of service isn't normal.  If it is, we will switch banks again.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Mount Dora Branch at Mount Dora, FL
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Shabbir Shah
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by adeel1234, May. 20, 2015

Often time, those of us in customer service here suggestions to improve and general unhappiness, but is important to recognize the good things as well.
I went  to Wheaton  branch today and Observed  Tina working with a very 'tough" customer, she was utmost professional and respectful. She maintained a smile and remained professional, not only Tina deserved to be recognized, she should be given a raise!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Wheaton University Branch at Silver Spring, MD
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Stealing money
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by notahappymoma, May. 14, 2015

My son had an account with this bank. he deposited a sizeable check into his account. They said it was fraudulent. However they pulled money out of the check writers account. Then they proceeded to close my sons account without giving him his money. It has been over a month of him waiting for his money to no avail. They have the money somewhere. They never returned the money to the original check writer, the have yet to give my son his money. Bills are backing up and I am having to pay his bills. This is very disappointing. He needs his money. It is stealing.

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Jonesville Branch at Newberry, FL
12 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Can't put my trust in this bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jewl, Apr. 25, 2015

This bank started charging my account stating that I had to have $5000.00 at all times or I would get fees. I never signed up for that kind of account. It's been one thing after another. I have tried 3 different times to get my savings and checking set up properly and they still never get it right.They give me the impression that they really don't know what they are doing. They just bumble along.And my money is nothing to be screwing with! Also,they are so nosey and ask you lots of personal questions now-claiming that they are "trying to serve their customers better"-very suspicious. I really question their business practices. They have stolen money from me by setting up accounts that charge me hidden fees with me unaware over and over.

 I feel there is nothing to do now but to pull all of my money out, close the accounts, and take my business to where it is appreciated, and they know how to get things right-the first time. I have given this bank too many chances to make things right, but I feel that they have blown trust. I want to feel confident that my money is safe- not fearful that they are messing around with my money.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Amelia Island Branch at Fernandina Beach, FL
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ross2, Mar. 26, 2015

We've dealt with this bank for many years and have very good experiences here.
The people couldn't any nicer or friendlier , from the cashiers to the branch managers

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, New Market Branch at New Market, VA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

D.S. Rice Ph.D.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DSRice, Mar. 12, 2015

This branch has been a banking home for more than a decade. Jennifer Norris and all of the staff treats us like family.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Pershing Point Branch at Atlanta, GA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unbelievable
Overall Rating
by ShockedDisappointed, Mar. 11, 2015

After many years with Suntrust I get 2 certified letters saying that they no longer wanted our business and that we must immediately start closing all of our deposit accounts (no reason at all).
There is a phone # so I can and the terse lady on the other end says that is all of the information I can get and that she can tell me no more. I go in to the branch to close the accounts and the branch manager is shocked when she sees the letter. She calls and can also get no information. I close 4 accounts including my kids college funds with about 100K and walk across the street and reopen at a very friendly bank. What is up with this? We have zero debt and these were all cash and payroll accounts.

What a hassle but if they don’t want our business someone else is happy to take it

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, The Avenue Forsyth Branch at Cumming, GA
16 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

SunTrust Bank Southwood Tallahassee FL
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by birthnurse, Feb. 25, 2015

I have had nothing but excellent service since I moved to Tallahassee from the Southwood branch staff and management. They have done more than was necessary to help me on several occasions. The staff has been friendly and cooperative. I would recommend this branch without reservation.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Southwood Plantation Branch at Tallahassee, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

WORST BANK EVER
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by cgodinez2275, Feb. 19, 2015

They are totally and absolutely inefficient, they have no control over anything, their online banking records are very inaccurate. Their Customer Service is absolutely lousy!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Port Charlotte Branch at Port Charlotte, FL
7 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by galwaygal 2015-03-04 07:07:53
More than 6 weeks since I submitted a written order to transfer my ROTH IRA to DB for much better interest. Money has now vanished. No accounting from ST
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 11

Banks Nearby

Branch Banking and Trust Company, Hamilton Place Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
SunTrust Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1900 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Bank of America, Gunbarrel Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2126 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Regions Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2128 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
First Volunteer Bank, Gunbarrel Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1834 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421

More