SunTrust Bank, Review

SunTrust Bank, Review

Average rating based on 192 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
64
4 star:
8
3 star:
2
2 star:
11
1 star:
107
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 10
Shabbir Shah
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by adeel1234, May. 20, 2015

Often time, those of us in customer service here suggestions to improve and general unhappiness, but is important to recognize the good things as well.
I went  to Wheaton  branch today and Observed  Tina working with a very 'tough" customer, she was utmost professional and respectful. She maintained a smile and remained professional, not only Tina deserved to be recognized, she should be given a raise!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Wheaton University Branch at Silver Spring, MD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Stealing money
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by notahappymoma, May. 14, 2015

My son had an account with this bank. he deposited a sizeable check into his account. They said it was fraudulent. However they pulled money out of the check writers account. Then they proceeded to close my sons account without giving him his money. It has been over a month of him waiting for his money to no avail. They have the money somewhere. They never returned the money to the original check writer, the have yet to give my son his money. Bills are backing up and I am having to pay his bills. This is very disappointing. He needs his money. It is stealing.

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Jonesville Branch at Newberry, FL
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Can't put my trust in this bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jewl, Apr. 25, 2015

This bank started charging my account stating that I had to have $5000.00 at all times or I would get fees. I never signed up for that kind of account. It's been one thing after another. I have tried 3 different times to get my savings and checking set up properly and they still never get it right.They give me the impression that they really don't know what they are doing. They just bumble along.And my money is nothing to be screwing with! Also,they are so nosey and ask you lots of personal questions now-claiming that they are "trying to serve their customers better"-very suspicious. I really question their business practices. They have stolen money from me by setting up accounts that charge me hidden fees with me unaware over and over.

 I feel there is nothing to do now but to pull all of my money out, close the accounts, and take my business to where it is appreciated, and they know how to get things right-the first time. I have given this bank too many chances to make things right, but I feel that they have blown trust. I want to feel confident that my money is safe- not fearful that they are messing around with my money.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Amelia Island Branch at Fernandina Beach, FL
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Bank Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ross2, Mar. 26, 2015

We've dealt with this bank for many years and have very good experiences here.
The people couldn't any nicer or friendlier , from the cashiers to the branch managers

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, New Market Branch at New Market, VA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

D.S. Rice Ph.D.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DSRice, Mar. 12, 2015

This branch has been a banking home for more than a decade. Jennifer Norris and all of the staff treats us like family.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Pershing Point Branch at Atlanta, GA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unbelievable
Overall Rating
by ShockedDisappointed, Mar. 11, 2015

After many years with Suntrust I get 2 certified letters saying that they no longer wanted our business and that we must immediately start closing all of our deposit accounts (no reason at all).
There is a phone # so I can and the terse lady on the other end says that is all of the information I can get and that she can tell me no more. I go in to the branch to close the accounts and the branch manager is shocked when she sees the letter. She calls and can also get no information. I close 4 accounts including my kids college funds with about 100K and walk across the street and reopen at a very friendly bank. What is up with this? We have zero debt and these were all cash and payroll accounts.

What a hassle but if they don’t want our business someone else is happy to take it

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, The Avenue Forsyth Branch at Cumming, GA
10 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

SunTrust Bank Southwood Tallahassee FL
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by birthnurse, Feb. 25, 2015

I have had nothing but excellent service since I moved to Tallahassee from the Southwood branch staff and management. They have done more than was necessary to help me on several occasions. The staff has been friendly and cooperative. I would recommend this branch without reservation.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Southwood Plantation Branch at Tallahassee, FL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

WORST BANK EVER
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by cgodinez2275, Feb. 19, 2015

They are totally and absolutely inefficient, they have no control over anything, their online banking records are very inaccurate. Their Customer Service is absolutely lousy!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Port Charlotte Branch at Port Charlotte, FL
3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by galwaygal 2015-03-04 07:07:53
More than 6 weeks since I submitted a written order to transfer my ROTH IRA to DB for much better interest. Money has now vanished. No accounting from ST
mortgage loan
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dissatisfied0308, Feb. 18, 2015

We have been Sun Trust customers for over 30 years. It seems their customer service gets worse every year. We have had credit card theft, notified them immediately that the charges were not made by us and still they mailed a computer to an address that was not ours. They hold our mortgage and we paid from their online site EARLY and they still sent us to their collections department. Would not recommend them to anyone. Not worth the aggravation as they have no customer service skills.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, East Ocala Branch at Ocala, FL
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by coff618730 2015-03-09 09:00:21
They did the same thing to us with our home equity line, they said we were late, but we were not they sent us papers for forclosure
Great folks, good bank.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by GoldenOtter, Feb. 16, 2015

SunTrust in Kernersville on S. Main has a great group of people. They do the best job they can within the framework of being a bigger bank. Suntrust is better than most banks it's size or larger.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Kernersville Branch 585 at Kernersville, NC
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Gabby
Overall Rating
by gabhoover, Jan. 28, 2015

I have been with Suntrust for 5 years & have had the worst experiences. This year alone, my card has been compromised 3 times!  My husband recommended me to you saying he had great experiences.  Mine has been anything but.  If I leave he will obviously want to leave.  In addition, I have been dismayed with the response time to replace my card each time.  It has left me with 3 weeks in the past year with no debt card.  They make it almost impossible with a 9-5 job to bank because they close at 4:30.   

* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, North Beneva Branch at Sarasota, FL
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by mjxplant 2015-02-19 13:59:31
Its not the bank's fault your card was compromised. Yes, it is hard to get to the bank if you work a 9-5 job. But don't they also deserve a 9-5 job as well?
Customer account holder
Overall Rating
by Surprised, Jan. 03, 2015

This evening is the first time I've seen such behavior at Suntrust Bank. I was rushing to get to the bank at 2900 Peachtree Rd Atlanta Ga The Peach shopping center. It was raining, foggy and very messy. I got inside the Publix and to the bank. The bank lights were out. I had just missed it. I smiled at the man and woman in the bank. The woman said We're closed we close at 6:00. I'm standing there catching my breath and I hear the woman say "They've had all day to get here and we close at 6:00".  I said "Excuse me".  She replyed "Oh I was talking to the man here with me".  Then a guy walked up and ask if they were closed. The comment from the woman in the bank was uncalled for. As I walked I checked the time it was 6:05. My rating is for this experience.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, The Peach Branch at Atlanta, GA
10 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unprofessional Child-like Branch Manager
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HowSad, Dec. 23, 2014

I went into Thomasville, GA location bc I had a question about the internet banking, as I waited the Branch Manager who I thought maybe was just a young talkative teller, openly spoke negatively about several of her staff members to a few waiting customers. I mean very crude and personal details. I was disgusted!!! I asked who was the Branch Manager's direct boss and I was informed that the President (her boss) is her actual boyfriend so her customer complaints are overlooked or disregarded. Seriously how tacky but believable! I will never go into this "Made for TV" location again unless mature and professional management is put into play or my business accounts will be shifted to BofA in 2015.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Thomasville Branch at Thomasville, GA
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Card Services
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Jrwilliam, Dec. 08, 2014

This Bank assigned my new credit card to another person with the same name. They did not check my social or birthday. When I took the card to the bank they said they would fix the problem, get me a replacement, and to keep using my old card. When I tried to use my old card I found that they had changed it over to the user who had been errantly issued my new card. Now I am without a card until they send a new one...if it works. It is a personal and financial burden to have to repeatedly go to the bank to have them fix their mistakes. This is the worst security I have ever seen in a bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Chattanooga Branch at Chattanooga, TN
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Millhopper Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by WPadmin, Nov. 25, 2014

Biggest problems, need more staff behind the counter to reduce wait times, and second, closing at  5:00 - both lobby and drive up is inconvenient on weekdays. It would be really helpful if lobby closed at 5:00 and drive-up at 5:30.

Branch manager is very friendly and helpful. The other banker position has changed frequently, sometimes a great person, sometimes somebody who doesn't seem to get things. A bit more consistency and long-term position would be good. Even people behind the counter have changed. Maybe that's a company policy to shift people around, but as a customer, its better to have someone who knows you and visa versa.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Millhopper Branch at Gainesville, FL
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great People to Bank with
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Subnut97, Nov. 17, 2014

I travel overseas a lot and for extended periods of time.  If i have any issues it just takes one email and it is taken care of.  You only get that with good costumer care. They know how to look after their customers.  Great service and it gives a comfort level know if i have any problem while at home or away it is dealt with professionally and in a timely manner.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, East St. Cloud Branch at Saint Cloud, FL
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

SunTrust Bele Meade 5-Stars Across The Board
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TheWino, Nov. 03, 2014

The SunTrust Bank, Belle Meade Branch earns 5-Stars across the board for being extremely professional and courteous. The personnel take their time and are extremely thorough. I have had my share of banking relationships and the SunTrust Bank Belle Meade Branch is superior to any other bank. I highly recommend this location for your banking services.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Belle Meade Branch at Nashville, TN
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Thomas Farias
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by IDFraudVictim, Oct. 16, 2014

Beware of employees and management at Suntrust bank. Apparently someone at the Okeechobee branch was able to open an account with my personal info. When I received a letter congratulating me on my new overdraft account, I called the folks at the branch, and they refused to give me any information about who opened the account. It seems as though this happens all the time at their branch. They actually had the nerve to ask me for MORE of my confidential information. When I filed a complaint with Consumer Finance Protection Bureau, I received a useless response from the 'Assistant Vice President' of the
Client Advocacy Team, Thomas Farias. I'd be skeptical of his qualifications if his resume ever came across my desk.
In summary, use caution if you do any banking in Okeechobee, or at Suntrust itself, and don't bother trying to get any help from the Suntrust Corporate "Advocacy TEAM"

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Muddy Branch at Gaithersburg, MD
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Overall Very Poor
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bill0246, Oct. 04, 2014

Customer service is  poor,  they have a  condescending attitude and their asset "protection" counselling is horrific.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Orange Park Branch at Orange Park, FL
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tina Kamtaprasad
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by K4KDirector, Sep. 25, 2014

As a person who has worked in the service/hospitality and most recently charitable outreach industry, one would be hard pressed to find a person more personable yet, professional,and proficient yet, detail oriented than  Business Manager Tina K. She opened a business account for us in March of this year, and although initially I was a bit skeptical as to why a banking representative would literally have people waiting for  hours simply to consult with her, it is now [for me] no  disputed reason as to why.
Her personality and professionalism should be taught to EVERY up and coming customer service financial representative.
The world (and businesses in general) need more people like her. She is TRULY amazing~!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on SunTrust Bank, Alafaya/50 Branch at Orlando, FL
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 10

Banks Nearby

Branch Banking and Trust Company, Hamilton Place Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Regions Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2120 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
SunTrust Bank, Gunbarrel Road Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1900 Gunbarrel Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Bank of America, Gunbarrel Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2126 Gunbarrel Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Synovus Bank, Gunbarrel Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1821 Gunbarrell Road
Chattanooga, TN 37421

More