Prosperity Bank, Review

Prosperity Bank, Review

Average rating based on 18 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
6
4 star:
1
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
10
Best Bank In Town
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by smallbusinessnb, Nov. 28, 2017

Best bank in town!!!!  Two of our business debit cards had been hacked for over $550.00. First time bank called me immediately to see if I had purchased gas in Johnson City, I was in New Braunfels, so they immediately cancelled the card.  A couple of weeks later found over $500.00 worth of charges at a Shell Oil in Austin on another card.  Again called the bank and they immediately cancelled the card.  As of last week all money was refunded.  Customer service at this location is AWESOME!!!  I am a small business owner and appreciate all the work they have done for me.  Thank you.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Gruene Branch at New Braunfels, TX
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best Bank in Town
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by waverunner55, Sep. 14, 2016

The Staff and their service are excellent and the bank has a wide variety of products and services to choose from. I would recommend them to friends & family and often do. This is an EXCELLENT BANK.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Galveston Branch at Galveston, TX
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

VeryUnhappy!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JulieGregRip, Mar. 23, 2016

I was with First Victoria Bank for many years when Prosperity Bank bought them. The first problem was when they sent our new debit cards. I'm still not sure which card belonged to who. One card had my 1st name & my daughter's 1st name as my middle name (at least the last name was correct). They actually expected me to pay for new cards with our correct names! The online services are down more often than not. I ordered & paid for checks with carbon copies. I received single copy checks. No apology, no correction from Prosperity. Multiple other problems with this bank!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Huntsville Branch at Huntsville, TX
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

rudest Bank I've ever been to
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by skeeterjrs, May. 12, 2014

The lady's in the Jacksonville branch are the rudest people I've ever met! I didn't understand what they was saying then she started getting an attitude with me can I didn't understand. Then she started yelling at me and her boss didn't do nothing to come us down. Me and everyone I know will never do business with that bank ever again.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Jacksonville Branch at Jacksonville, TX
10 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Personal Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by setinways, Jan. 21, 2014

I hated when they switched from American State to Prosperity, I suppose it is because I do not like change. But I still deal with the same people and I think they are great. I have had no bad experiences with them and they have helped me with some bad online experiences and I really appreciate the way they do business.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, 82nd Street Branch at Lubbock, TX
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

** WARNING ** Prosperity Bank: Thieves
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by anonymousclient, Aug. 05, 2013

Ripped off corporate client for more than $100,000.
Staff withdrew funds from account without authorization.
Never credited or refunded.
Very very bad bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Sugar Land Branch at Sugar Land, TX
12 of 19 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

I Don't Have Time for This Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jessi5652, May. 07, 2013

I was with American State Bank and was very pleased with ASB when Prosperity bought them out.  At first the 20-minute wait to deposit a check was annoying but chalked up to training on a new system.  However, when I deposit my checks I always get cash back but there are no deposit slips at the drive-thru; you have to wait in line, buzz the teller, wait for them to send you a deposit slip, fill it out, send it back, and then hope they read it - EVERY time.  They never sent out a new debit card with their name on it, I was supposed to order one for a fee; also had to order PLAIN checks and was charged $30; I haven't paid for checks without carbon copy - ever!  Then this March I deposited a check one day too late and bounced one, which they covered with a $35 fee - that's fine, it was my fault.  At the endof the month I'm reconciling my account and see a $15 overdraft fee.  I called theloca number b/c the 800 number is a joke and apparently you pay not only the o/d fee per transaction, but an o/d service fee for the month in which and o/d occurs.  Rediculous, but it was my fault.  Then, the next month, I see a $10 returned mail fee.  OMG, so I call again.  I moved, changed my address online for my account, had my mail forwarded, and for some reason the mail came back to them and they charged me $10 for each account.  Absurd!  The final straw was seeing that again I need to call them because my savings account has twice now been charged a "service fee" I assume b/c it's just sitting there without debits/credits.  I went to another bank and can't wait to have everything finalized so I can leave these fee-charging losers behind.  I am a single mother of three with precious little time and extra money for calling about fees and payin for rediculous things.  Lastly I will say that last month my electric company sent me a new bill, with late fees, b/c my "financial institution had no record of my account."  I checked all my info, ran the payment through again, and today it processed so I guestt Prosperity found me.  Another time, my child support was deposited to another person's account and it took a week to get the money credited back.  I understand errors appen, my issue is having to watch very closely to make sure tey don't creatively charge me a fee, call them and get the fee returned (I should mention that almost all the fees I called about were refunded, but I believe it's because I call the local branch and talk to the people who worked there for years before being bought by clowns.  The whole point for me, though, is I don't have time to call every week about a fee for no transactions on a Monday or buying gas during a full moon.)  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Levelland Branch at Levelland, TX
20 of 21 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Run Far Away!!
Overall Rating
by lbk1, Apr. 18, 2013

Just trust me. This bank is horrible. They cashed a stolen check of ours. This check was laughable & a stolen ID was used. Ok so they made a mistake. Refund our money-yes. Apologize or take ownership in any way-nope. When we went in to close our account I was only asked why when the form called for it. Upon telling the employee why she simply said "Oh". Never once said anything to the effect of we hate to lose you as a customer or I'm sorry you are leaving. Very, very unprofessional on so many levels.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Texas Tech University Center Branch at Lubbock, TX
8 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by 1happycust 2014-12-12 12:03:49
I have been a customer with Poseperity and previously with American State Bank for 10 years. I have moved to another state but keep my account in Lubbock at the university branch becsue the customer service is unparalleled. Yes, there were a few glitches when ASB was taken over by Prosperity, and yes, I preferred ASB because their terms were more customer oriented; however, I won't change banks even if it is a bit inconvenient to have an account 10 hours away. That is how satisfied I am with the people at Prosperity on Texas Tech campus.
I love Height's Prosperity Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Fritz, Mar. 20, 2013

The Height's Bank is so helpful and friendly it is a pleasure to go to the bank. The past President who just retired had been in the Heights area for 40 years along with most of the staff. They know everyone and his new replacement is very nice as well. The west U branch is like that and a close 3rd is their location at Woodway and Bering. They know how to run a bank.  Call me crazy but I still like my banks to be solvent.
You didn't see their name in the paper for mortgages gone bad like other banks in Houston.  They are conservative like
bankers should be. Their number one priority is protecting your and my money.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Heights Branch at Houston, TX
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bad Service in Drive Thru
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Baed, Mar. 13, 2013

I drove through to make a deposit this morning for a family member at the Arlington location. Only two cars in the drive through and it took them 15 minutes to do what I thought would be a mindless transaction. I buzzed the teller to ask for a deposit slip and she seemed annoyed that I would make such a request. After recording the information and returning the tube to complete my transaction, there was no good morning, no hello, no would there be another transaction...nothing. I removed my receipt from the tube and sat for a moment staring in the window hoping to make eye contact with the teller but it would only be a waste of time. I drove off disgusted. I phoned back to speak with the branch manager and he was not in. I doubt Marie gave him the message which is why I've decided to post my comments.
Whether big or small, famous or ordinary, everyone deserves to be treated with respect.

* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Arlington Branch at Arlington, TX
13 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Go somewhere else!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Jgmcfin, Dec. 17, 2012

My bank was previously American State Bank, a Texas bank with branches in several west Texas towns.  I was with them for 19 years and was very happy with everything, but especially the personal service I got.  Since Prosperity took over, I am not happy with  anything!  Things are not run as they were before.  For one thing, it is nearly impossible to get hold of anyone by phone. Shortly after Prosperity took over, my account mysteriously became over $2000 overdrawn.  I was horrified to find my money had been transferred to a Prosperity customer with the same bank account number as mine with ASB.  It was cleared up, but I have never been sure that I got it all back.  I was supposed to have a free checking account, but have been charged a  service fee every month for an interest bearing account.  (I would have to have several thousand dollars more in my account for their piddling interest rate to provide me with enough to match the $10 fee. ). This has continued even though I called 3 months ago after I saw the first charge, and had them change me to the free account .  I spoke with an employee of the original bank, and I know that she did what I asked, which was to change my account to free checking and refund the fee.  She tried, anyway.  The fee was never refunded and I continue to be charged.  Today I was going over my statement and found a $15 overdraft fee.  My balance was $1300 at the time.  I began the process of changing to a new bank after it had been Prosperity long enough for me to see that I was not going to be happy with them.  You can get an idea of what kind of bank they are when you see that employees who had been with American State Bank for 25-30 years are leaving.  I haven't met anyone who is actually happy with the changes, although I know a few who are willing to give them a little more time to prove to be a good bank.  Ain't gonna happen!  I can hardly wait to finish getting all my direct deposits and automatic payments set up with my local credit union!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, 12th Street Branch at Abilene, TX
15 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Bankersdotter, Nov. 16, 2012

I've banked at this branch location since it opened (including pre-Prosperity era).  Customer service at both the teller counter and phone-in customer service have always been excellent.  The loan department has gone above the call of duty to save me money by offering financing alternatives I never would have thought to inquire about.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, West University Branch at Houston, TX
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Not customer friendly
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by stretch13, Jul. 03, 2012

Unfortunately, Prosperity Bank bought out Southern National Bank, which I loved.  Prosperity Bank has "updated" their website so that you can no longer see a detail of your daily transactions.  This is especially frustrating over the weekend.  Then, my debit card works sporadically, and now, will not work at all, declining the pin number that I have NEVER changed.  Lastly, they have gone to an idiot voice mail system, where the selection options do not answer the questions that I have.  I hate this bank, and am closing my account.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Sugar Land Branch at Sugar Land, TX
15 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Formerly a District Sales manager and Real estate Trustee
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tazdad, Dec. 24, 2011

I had a home/accident in 2008 began receiving Social Security Disability. All my
(income)disability checks come from this bank.... to make matters worse the checks are all handwritten. (I'm formerly employed as a retail district manager & 15+ years as a real estate professional.)
I've found other banks will not cash them because they are "suspect" handwritten w/o a company name printed on them.
*Even though, I've complained to my Familyeldercare "caregivers" (1.)the distance + expense driving + parking downtown. No one will give me any satisfaction... regarding this matter. Happy Holidays!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Congress Drive Thru at Austin, TX
10 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

I would never suggest anyone opening an account with this bank.
Overall Rating
by PDSmithLLC, Dec. 17, 2011

I would never suggest anyone opening an account with this bank.  My father-in-law was a patient at a nursing home, and the bank allowed other individuals to access his bank account with out his permission.   Prosperity Bank would not let my father-in-law have access to his own account.  Thank god for Harris County Guardianship for stepping in. Even when a Harris County Judge ordered the bank to freeze the account, money was still allowed to be taken out by other individuals (Harris county Court 9, Case 402988).  My father-in-law's judge appointed guardian was treated very badly by Prosperity Bank's employees, my wife and I were also treated very rudely..  If you have an account with this bank, consider moving to a more professional bank.  Please copy and paste this to other sites....

* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Hempstead Branch at Hempstead, TX
19 of 20 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Pesonal Service
Overall Rating
by tevavari, Mar. 05, 2011

These folks know me and greet me by name every time I walk in the door, the do the same with their other patrons as well. I find this small but personal touch to be quite refreshing in today's business climate.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Beaumont Branch at Beaumont, TX
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

I miss First Bank!
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HappyNoMore, Feb. 16, 2011

I opened my account with what was then,First Bank a few years ago and had an enjoyable experience. The people were extremely pleasant, friendly, competent, helpful and provided quick service. I referred many family and friends to First Bank, as it was a pleasure doing business with them.

The transition to Prosperity Bank was virtually a non-issue for a brief while as “my people” were, for the most part, still around so it was less painful. For the past several months now, all the familiar faces are gone and frankly have been replaced by some of the most solemn, incompetent, disorganized, unfriendly people I have ever encountered in a service industry. I had hoped, in time, this transition would smooth out and Prosperity Bank would step up to the level of service I received with First Bank, but to no avail. I do not recommend this bank or at least this branch.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Prosperity Bank, Beltway Office Branch at Houston, TX
10 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bill Thurston
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Crockett, Oct. 04, 2010

I have a request can you do away with the video/Audio screens at the Drive In banking.I like listening to my radio news etc.the volume on these units is so hihg that I roll my window up.This means I cannot hear the person inside if they have a question.At the very least can you tune it to Fox News. Thanks

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
4 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bank Nearby

The First National Bank of Layton, Messenger Branch Service (0.0 miles)
Limited Service Messenger Office
To Serve Davis, Weber & Salt Lake Counties
Layton, UT 84041

More