PNC Bank, Review

PNC Bank, Review

Average rating based on 341 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
108
4 star:
19
3 star:
10
2 star:
13
1 star:
191
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 18
Looking for new bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
by MaggieJ, Jul. 01, 2015

I have nothing against this particular branch but PNC in general is THE worst bank I have ever dealt with. I had a problem with an overdraft of $5.83!!! it was an oversight due to a debit card charge. They charged me the overdraft fee of $36, not happy about but understandable. What I wasn't prepared for was the $7 per day charge which added up to over $100 because I didn't have the money to immediately cover the $36 original fee because I am on Social Security and live from month to month - I have no savings to fall back on. I've never heard of a bank doing this sort of thing - $7 per day!! So for $5.83 it has cost me $106! Crooks!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Lakewood Park Office at Fort Pierce, FL
17 of 19 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Extremely disappointed
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by switching, Jul. 01, 2015

For 6 months I have been trying to set up a custodial account for my newborn granddaughter.  Initially I had to come back multiple times to sign additional paperwork that was overlooked by the bank.  The account STILL is not correct.  I'm there every month trying to get this straightened out.  I'm promised return phone calls - no one calls me back.  I think it's time to switch banks otherwise my granddaughter will be going to kindergarten before PNC can get this right!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Mount Joy Branch at Mount Joy, PA
9 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Really disappointed
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Ftped, Jun. 29, 2015

Went in person to get my name added to my husband's account and get checks that was needed for my paycheck.  We went on a Tuesday, and was supposed to hear back by Friday at the latest.   Monday, I call, and they have no record of me being added, but the checks are on cue somewhere.   They then proceed to tell me I don't need a check, even though my administrator refused to accept account and routing number...guy kept insisting that I need to convince them that was all I need.   Seriously - try to tell my administrator how to do their job when I haven't started yet?   Customer service when I was there seemed pretty good, but follow-through and follow up are disappointing.   Definitely will encourage my husband and family to bank else where.  Thanks for nothing PNC.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Robinson Towne Center Branch at Pittsburgh, PA
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unhappy potential CUSTOMER
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 2UnhappyCustomers, Jun. 25, 2015

We had the most traumatic experience with this bank in Clayton, MO.  We had called in advance from Colorado inquiring as to what we needed to open a new business account in MO from an existing business in our state.  We were told we needed our EIN # and 2 forms of ID.  We traveled to Clayton, MO and  met with Bryan Allen.  Everything instructed by phone had changed, from forms to ID to requesting irrelevant information.  We were instructed to obtain additional forms that we needed to pull up on our own computer and print out, although they did not have internet to do so.  We had to leave a find a sandwich shop nearby that had internet, locate the form and e-mail the paperwork back to the bank; although when we returned to the bank- that form wasn't sufficient and they needed something else. It seems that the right hand didn't know what the left hand needed, and they were not knowledgeable on LLC business accounts.  Our deposit was an insurance check drawn on their bank. Although we never got the account open after wasting half a day in their bank, and wasting a lot of money and time traveling to their bank- we were able to get our business account resolved with another bank.  We had plenty of documentation of our business, ID, LLC, EIN#, documents and paperwork proving our identity of ownership of our existing business. It seemed unusual that we were taken to a back office, instead of the New Accounts desk in the lobby. Although we received an apology from 2 bankers, it did not replace our frustration we experienced.  We then just requested certified funds for the insurance check that was drawn on PNC Bank since they couldn't open the account, they refused. We offered to give our insurance adjuster's # from the claims check from PNC. We had plenty of documentation, ID, EIN#, proof of ownership of our existing business to open a new account.  We offered to open a new registration with the Secretary of State for MO, but we were encouraged to leave and deposit into our account from another bank.  The banker directed us to US Bank down the street in which we already had an account.  This was the most exhausting experience we have endeavored at a bank.  

* this review was made on PNC Bank, Clayton Branch at Saint Louis, MO
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Used Auto Refinance
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by dccnewlife, Jun. 13, 2015

I applied for a used auto refinance loan 3 times.  Every time I applied they came back with a different reason to deny me.  I even had an excellent co-signer with outstanding credit and they still turned me down.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Craig Street Branch at Pittsburgh, PA
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

michelle
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by vmmommy123, Jun. 04, 2015

I use Deptford, Gloucester city, and turnersville,new Jersey  ,locations and all 3 have the nicest people that work there....Keep up the good work

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Gloucester City Branch at Gloucester City, NJ
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bank clerks should be honest people
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
by yy51819987, May. 29, 2015

I went to PNC Bank N. Atherton Branch in State College around 1 pm for customer service, which can be done within 5 minutes. But I have waited for more than 30 minutes. This was not the worst part. During my waiting time, one female clerk (I don't wanna say her name, which I could) was on a phone call in her office. At the beginning, I assumed that it was an business phone call and it is more important. Until an male clerk came to the female clerk's office and ask her if I need help. The female clerk said "I asked her, and she didn't say anything". The male clerk came to talk to me and said they will be back to me in one sec. After only a few minutes, the female clerk came to help me. I said "I am sorry if you asked me earlier and I didn't hear you." She denied:"I didn't mean you. I mean her."  We both know that there was no other customer waiting out there. I was the only one.

My point is that it is acceptable to wait for a little longer if all clerks are busy. But don't you think people working in banks should at least be honest?

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this review was made on PNC Bank, N Atherton Street Branch at State College, PA
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Terrible phone system
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by CustServicePro, May. 18, 2015

I made a cash deposit, and it wasn't credited to the account. To talk to a human I had to listen to a very long menu over and over, and then I was on hold with crappy muzak for over 20 minutes - with messages offering to put me back with an automated service. If I wanted an automated service I would have used one. It's bad enough that they didn't credit a CASH deposit, but to make me wait this long to talk to some one about it is very bad customer service

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, South Fayette Shop N Save Branch at Bridgeville, PA
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible staff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ztjjrl8895, May. 06, 2015

I just moved to the area and I was accustomed to the wonderful staff at the PNC in Frederick, MD. Well, all PNCs are not the same. The staff at the White Marsh location is rude, unfriendly and makes you feel like you're a burden to them. One of the higher-ups, "Marlon," has questioned me on multiple occasions why I come to this branch when I live in PA. Well, I work across the street. And, why is it his business? Then I came in to withdraw money from my savings account, he asked what it was for, I told him it was to have my car worked on. Then he continued to question me about the car work, why I had to pay in cash, then again why I'm here when I live in PA. Needless to say, I called corporate to file a complaint, and they've been wonderful.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, White Marsh Branch at Nottingham, MD
9 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

PNC Union Bridge
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Kpk27, Mar. 24, 2015

Always very polite and easy to work with.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Union Bridge Branch at Union Bridge, MD
6 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by thebozoshow 2015-04-27 14:22:48
I had a lovely experience at that branch also...LOL ...I went in on a Friday after work of course very dirty because I have a dirty job...go figure right? So I am trying to cash my $500 check that is drawn from pnc bank and they refused...it's ok though I had some weird looks as I walked in so I had already immediately began video recording with my cell put it in my shirt pocket as I was speaking very politely the teller I am all the sudden surrounded by the most obese people I have ever seen in my life...fearing they may sit on me I was like what? Sir ma'am...and the really obese woman starts asking me if I am video taping the conversation I said no and immediately headed for the door as I walked out I chirped up yep video taped the whole debauchery and YouTube is gonna love this..along with corporate too hahaha.
Banker
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ThressA, Mar. 23, 2015

They've always been very helpful especially for their professional bankers.

* this review was made on PNC Bank, Fishers Branch at Fishers, IN
9 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Safe deposit box
Overall Rating
by rdritchey, Mar. 12, 2015

I have had a safe deposit box since the bank was Harbor Federal. I continued to rent the box when National City took over and then when the bank became PNC.  I have accessed it off and on throughout this time.  Yesterday March 12, 2015 I went to the bank to access the box, and was denied access.  The employee said I was' authorized. I explained that I had been authorized for 30 years.  I asked her to check the sign in sheet and she would see that my signature was on most of the times the box was accessed. She remained adamant and refused to give me access to my box which I pay for.  She said she would have to do some research.
I wonder how I can trust my finances to a bank that cannot keep its records better!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Okeechobee Branch at Okeechobee, FL
22 of 27 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Joan Swartwood
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by csmanager, Mar. 09, 2015

I wanted to take a moment to note the great service received by Jennifer at the Mountain Top branch on Saturday, March 7. She walked over to assist me as soon as I walked in the door. She helped with several separate items and was extremely pleasant and professional. She is an asset to the branch and possesses outstanding customer service skills.

* this review was made on PNC Bank, Mountain Top Branch at Mountain Top, PA
2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Are you kidding me?
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bethcope, Mar. 03, 2015

I banked with PNC for years. I opened a home equity line of credit and then when I was getting ready to refinance I went in to the branch to get a payoff.. I had a separate bank check for 600 over the amount they told me and told them to just either deposit the extra in my account or send me a check.  A month later I heard nothing. Called and they said it took about 7-10 days for the check to go through and they were sending out my refund that day. Then two months later I am informed that I owe them 350 for early closure. I would have thought when I went in to the branch to get the payoff they would have informed of this and secondly I thought they would not have sent me 600 back on overpayment.  I fought this for about 2 months with multiple calls to Rochelle with no response. After 2 months I receive a statement saying my balance was 0. I was so excited, then in the next second I open the next piece of mail from PNC and it is an overdraft since they just decided to take the money out of my checking without notifying me and causing me to bounce a check for 35$. And have the gall to charge me a fee for that said overdraft.  Fought this for another few months with no call back from Rochelle so the decision was mad to close me and my families 5 accounts..
Now fast forward nine months and I get an email regarding my account at PNC. Turns out after I closed my account I thought I had contacted everyone that automatically withdrew from my account, enquirer, YMCA etc. Today I am notified that PNC reopened my account without my knowledge for what they call a 'must pay' of 7.49. I had previously cancelled that and now they are telling me I need to pay them for this or go to collections. Really, you reopen an account without me knowing it.. They gave me the number to call the supposed company and the numbers is disconnected.  Not sure how PNC is still in business.  I can't believe they can just decide what to do in your accounts and not even notify you first.. I thought closing my account was enough. What is the next step if they can decide when your account is open or closed depending on their need??
Completely fed up

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, White Oak Branch at Cincinnati, OH
16 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Check Gone Missing
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by anonimous19, Feb. 28, 2015

Branch Manager Keindre Irving has continued to show an unhelpful attitude towards my wife and I.  We do not have  PNC account, but we were given a PNC check by a local business that was just over $300.  When we tried to deposit the check in our bank, it was returned and we were fined.  It turns out that some other entity has acquired these funds, and so the banking system thought that it had already been payed.  We have visited the branch 3 times now to resolve this, and (after nicely giving us her card) Keindre Irving has been unresponsive to our very courtious calls and emails (3 calls and 3 emails over a month).  This situation has gone on for about 6 months now and has not been resolved.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Michigan Road Branch at Indianapolis, IN
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Help
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by kespo12, Jan. 29, 2015

I have been banking with PNC for 7 years now and have never started having problems until this past year. Both time I was having major issues with my accounts, PNC was very patient on the phone with me and helped me with my problems in a very understanding and compatinate way. I work at a bank myself and knew if a bank isn't offering you their best services, then you shouldn't be banking with them. I was ready to end my business with PNC this past problem but Melissa was so helpful and fixed a problem that I myself had accidentally caused, so I've decided to stay. I will continually recommend you to my friends

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Eldersburg Branch at Sykesville, MD
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Served well
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by JustMyOpinion, Jan. 27, 2015

The staff is friendly and helpful.  I am a happy customer!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, North Ridge Branch at Raleigh, NC
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

horrible experience at the Bradford pa branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by anthonyb5615, Jan. 23, 2015

I had a transaction go through on my account by another greedy corporation "FedEx" without notifying me of it. Which caused a chain reaction of 6 transactions to decline, all under $5. I was charged over $200 in total in fees for transactions under $5 dollars. The assistant branch manager even refused to remove one fee. Responding by saying the bank all removed over 130 in fees in the last 12 months. In which they still made plenty of money off me. I paid the money and am really pissed off. It is not right for the bank to do this to anyone, especially someone who can barely afford it. SHAME ON YOU PNC BANK!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Bradford Branch at Bradford, PA
7 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

PNC Bank Saginaw, MI Tittabawassee Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by morganrae, Jan. 22, 2015

Terrible customer service when I walked up to the desk my first and ONLY time I have/will set foot inside this branch lobby. I asked a question about my "virtual wallet" accounts and was rudely treated like I was stupid for not knowing the answer to my own valid question. I will not ever go to this branch again and have been banking with PNC my entire life.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Towne Centre Branch at Saginaw, MI
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Admin Asst
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by paving83, Jan. 14, 2015

This branch is just wonderful to deal with. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly.  You are always greeted with a smile whether you walk in the branch or go through the drive through.  All the tellers are friendly, and quick to deliver so you are in and out.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on PNC Bank, Maryland Line Branch at Maryland Line, MD
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 18

Banks Nearby

KeyBank, 330 West 14 Mile Road Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
330 West 14 Mile Road
Clawson, MI 48017
Firstmerit Bank, Rochester Road Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4710 Rochester Road
Royal Oak, MI 48073
Bank of America, Maple/Livernois Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
150 East Maple
Troy, MI 48083
Firstmerit Bank, Crooks Road Branch (1.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4609 Crooks Road
Royal Oak, MI 48073
Bank of America, Thirteen-Rochester Branch (1.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
509 East Thirteen Mile Road
Royal Oak, MI 48073

More