MUFG Union Bank, Review

MUFG Union Bank, Review

Average rating based on 40 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
11
4 star:
4
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
21
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2
unbelievable
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by closedbranch, Apr. 29, 2015

I find it unbelievable that you have posted a review page for the Port Townsend branch when that branch, along with quite a few others in this region (20) were closed back in February of this year. It was a sad day when our branch closed and many loyal customers stayed until the end because the loved the employees of the branch. Please remove this posting.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Port Townsend Branch at Port Townsend, WA
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Only One Bad Experience in 18 years
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BJC007, Nov. 14, 2014

I have 3 accounts in 2 branches, Hawthorne Blvd in Torrance and Silver Spur in Rolling Hills. They never made a mistake on statements, make all online payments on time without errors, have friendly tellers and CS telephone reps go the extra mile on special requests. Only bad experience was La Habra branch took 3 months before they got an address correct to send me my checks. I closed that account.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

WoW
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by carefeelivingassoc, Jul. 30, 2014

Worst accounting ever, unable to deposit homeowner checks and balance.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Vallejo Branch at Vallejo, CA
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by carefeelivingassoc 2014-07-30 18:49:03
This Vallejo branch accounting person Kelly Cho is a Airhead, must be on drugs, unable to fix her accounting errors on our three properties in port hueneme homeowner fees,desposit's checks in wrong accounts and then add's a late fee to say the money was never received. This has been going on for a year.
by UCBankcustomer 2014-08-12 12:00:43
It is impossible to get the information about the branch's hours of operation by phone or website. Very inconvenient and inconsiderate!
by dhlazaro3 2014-08-22 21:19:16
They charge for cashing their own check, so pay to the order of:   xxxxxx xxxxxxx  $5-$10 charges for these checks No Way Jose would. I pay for my checks, and then a cost to the person to be cashed. Not good business
Terrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Mistreatedcust5, Apr. 11, 2014

Worst most unfair awful service ever. Treats customer terrible.  Very irresponsible fiduciary.  Worst bank ever.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Temecula Branch at Temecula, CA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst choice of my life
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by shainhaas, Apr. 08, 2014

     Management is horrid. Banking 7 years, and held the same job for 7 years. Every 2 weeks put in a deposit for same employer. Have had nothing but problems with this bank. Fransisco is the worst bank manager. He told me he wasn't going to release my payroll check and it's for my own good. I have never had a check held. He is the only person that can release it and even corporate told me he should have released it, but He's the only one that can. I had $500.00 in my account when I made the deposit and my employer has never bounced a check. I told him I had to pay my mortgage and feed my kids, he wouldn't budge. Then he lied to me regarding Bank of America's policies, which he claims he worked for. When I was a member for years and know for a fact he is wrong. Corporate wants me to call during business hours so they can try to get him to remove the hold, they have my side, we'll see how that goes.
     Also Carrol has something to learn. I received a money order for escrow out of my account. UPS lost my money order. I lost the house cause of that. When I told here I needed money back, she said I needed the stub. It took me 2 days to find it and when I went in she needed more paper work I didn't have. She said, "I'll keep your stub so you don't loose it again" and put it in a folder. When I came back with the paper work, she lost my stub. Then she claims she never took it. I had to call corporate, and they told her to give me my money.
     A friend of mine had someone go in and write the wrong account number on a withdraw slip and tried to get a few thousand out of his account. The teller actually crossed the wrong account number out on his slip, then wrote the number for my friends account and gave him my friends money. Carrol  told him they where wrong, but he has to do a police report, which he won't receive for 10 days before they start an investigation on the matter. They know they where wrong, and  now are making him jump through hoops to get his money they illegally gave to someone else.
     My lodge is changing to a different bank, because Union charges fees to a 501C organization, and Provident or Rabobank actually pays them interest. Plus Fransisco lied to them also.
     I had a new teller that said my card was worn and she could get a new one coming. I said ok. She didn't do the paper work right and they filed it as stolen or lost. I went to they ATM and it took my card. I went into the bank and was givin attitude by yet another great customer service rep, I beleve her name starts with a D. I was on my lunch break and in a hurry and let her know I didn't have much time. Her response was, "Do you want me to help you or not?" The meeting ended with, "We screwed up, but you have to wait ten days for a new card" The card was ten feet away in their ATM and they could have called corporate to reactivate the card. Corporate told me this.
    I can not believe they are still in business. Everyone I know that banks with them hates them. They have the same excuse as I have. "It's so much trouble transfering my accounts and bills." No more, I am pulling all of my accounts from this horrible excuse for a bank. I have 5 with them. Fransisco and Carrol should never had been giving a job in management.
     It doesn't end there though. I am part of a few organizations that I have been on the phone with. All unhappy and all pulling their accounts.
     Rabobank and provident are part of this community. They give to this community and care. Union bank is ran by Yahoos. Pull your accounts go to people that care.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Blythe Branch at Blythe, CA
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Union Bank of California
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by concernedcitizen, Mar. 18, 2014

I'm a middle-aged professional and lived locally for over 20 years. In over 35 years of dealing with various banking institutions, I've never had even close to the surreal nightmare experience and extreme lack of professionalism that I experienced at this bank, made markedly worse by the MV Miller Av branch (2012) staff. (Albeit, the teller-level staff seemed nice; the more "senior-ranked" banking officers, however, were - maybe still are - a seriously scary lot). However, I also followed up with Walnut Creek and the corporate southern CA offices, where I again encountered outrageous lack of sound reason and extreme lack of professionalism. In my experience, the only sanity I can detect at UBOC seems to reside at the Kentfield branch. (On the flip side, American Express exemplifies the UTMOST professionalism in a financial institution. I can't believe how good UBOC makes even just half-decent banks look. The tactics UBOC use are unethical - and probably downright illegal! How do they even survive? Once I close my accounts, I will share the outlandish details . . . if UBOC still exists, that is.)

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

jca
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jcaa, Sep. 12, 2013

The tellers are very very slow, not sure some of them know what they are doing,and they chat with customers when there is a long line. Union Bank on Los Angeles Ave, Simi Valley CA.The charges on the bank accounts are out of control.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Maravilla Branch at Santa Barbara, CA
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DB666, Sep. 12, 2013

I have been with this bank for over 10 years and i will NEVER return, closing account today as this bank no longer has any customer service and has raised their fee's significantly, not to mention you never get a notice about this either, worst experience ever. I predict this bank will have to close from so many people leaving them for the same reasons as my self, and they deserve it for how terrible there service and care is. my whole family already moved and i now see why.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Temecula Branch at Temecula, CA
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Deeply disappointing
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Traveler, Aug. 09, 2013

My much loved bank of 30 years was just bought by there behemoth, and not one of it's great qualities has been retained. The personal friendly service, the sheer humanity, kindness and professionalism are all gone. I will be leaving just as soon as is possible. And to add insult to injury I am currently out of the country, and the website is down so I am unable to check on my account. I don't know where they are finding their positive reviewers, because in our small community I do not know of a single person who is happy with this new incarnation of our much missed friendly little bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Solvang Branch at Solvang, CA
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Duped1 2013-09-03 18:03:53
I went into the main bank in Santa Barbara and was seeking a refi on my residence. Was told numerous times that the terms would be one thing and after submitting all the private info and jumping through the hoops was told that the terms were different now and they offered me a 10 yr ARM. The loan officer said it had changed since Union took over Santa Barbara trust and didn't offer what she originally said about a 30 yr refi.
I can't believe this was the first refi they've done since the takeover 6 months earlier. It was either the classic bait and switch or Union never trained this woman. Either way, what a terribly unprofessional place.
What a waste of my time and it put a credit inquiry on my score that I had to explain to another bank and the interest rate has gone up.
Stay so clear of this bank.
And they wonder why people don't trust banks.
Business Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NoComplaints, Jun. 25, 2013

I started off as a business customer but was so impressed that started a personal account and have referred several family members and friends. All seem to be very satisfied.

From the manager to the teller staff, all are friendly and helpful. They know many customers by name giving the feeling of a personal banking experience. Lines are seldom long. Services are great.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Ladera Heights Branch at Los Angeles, CA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

President/CEO
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sheahantransport, Jun. 13, 2013

I have had both my business and personal accounts at union bank since 1985, the last 15 years at citrus heights, CA.  They have brought in new management and they represent the new management mentality in this country.  They hire 20 year olds and call them branch managers and vice presidents and they have no concept of the banking industry.  Recently I have had the worst experience I have ever had with this branch and am currently interviewing other banks to move my accounts.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Sunrise Branch at Citrus Heights, CA
9 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

good sincere staff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by PhyllisE, Mar. 26, 2013

I find the staff pleasant and helpful, good to deal with.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Brawley Branch at Brawley, CA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Russell Tobler
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Russelltobler, Mar. 07, 2013

Today I received a call from my branch a teller named Yuan from Irvine Michelson Branch CA. I was informed to call back no message other than to call back. I did that and she was out to lunch or on break. I finally reached Yuan and she informed me that I had a check that came in that was over drafted and she informed me because I had just gotten hold of her she refused to pay the check. I asked her why it was not paid and informed her I made a transfer on March 1 and where asked where did the money go to she just informed me to go on line and fined out!
I finally returned to my office and went on line and learned that the transfer I made on March 1 was transferred to the wrong account. I call Union's online center and they told me that the check was paid and that they found the mistake and would refund me the overdraft charge.
Question is why could this individual Yuan supposedly and assistant manager not find out this information and relay this to me this is just horrible customer service? I have been with Union for over 20 years and I'm have priority banking statues why was I subjected to ponder this all day till I could contract someone with some sort of knowledge?


* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Orange County Airport at Irvine, CA
9 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Branch Manager, Pam, is So Rude!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by pamisrude, Feb. 27, 2013

I've been banking here for over 10 years, typically I go to a different branch.  Pam Newkirk is rude and not helpful at all.  I can't believe she is even a manager with such a poor attitude. What happened to customer service?  I would have rated this branch a zero but there is not an option to do so.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Lake Murray Branch at San Diego, CA
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible Horrible Horrible Customer Service!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ILoveGirlScouts, Dec. 21, 2012

Just visited the Modesto branch on Palendale and have got to say that the staff and manager are incredibly awful people. Super mean and their customer service tactics are the worse of any ever. EVER. This branch should be entirely re-staffed. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Modesto/Pelandale In-Store at Modesto, CA
12 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by shainhaas 2014-04-08 23:08:20
Management is horrid. Banking 7 years, and held the same job for 7 years. Every 2 weeks put in a deposit for same employer. Have had nothing but problems with this bank. Fransisco is the worst bank manager. He told me he wasn't going to release my payroll check and it's for my own good. I have never had a check held. He is the only person that can release it and even corporate told me he should have released it, but He's the only one that can. I had $500.00 in my account when I made the deposit and my employer has never bounced a check. I told him I had to pay my mortgage and feed my kids, he wouldn't budge. Then he lied to me regarding Bank of America's policies, which he claims he worked for. When I was a member for years and know for a fact he is wrong. Corporate wants me to call during business hours so they can try to get him to remove the hold, they have my side, we'll see how that goes.
     Also Carrol has something to learn. I received a money order for escrow out of my account. UPS lost my money order. I lost the house cause of that. When I told here I needed money back, she said I needed the stub. It took me 2 days to find it and when I went in she needed more paper work I didn't have. She said, "I'll keep your stub so you don't loose it again" and put it in a folder. When I came back with the paper work, she lost my stub. Then she claims she never took it. I had to call corporate, and they told her to give me my money.
     A friend of mine had someone go in and write the wrong account number on a withdraw slip and tried to get a few thousand out of his account. The teller actually crossed the wrong account number out on his slip, then wrote the number for my friends account and gave him my friends money. Carrol  told him they where wrong, but he has to do a police report, which he won't receive for 10 days before they start an investigation on the matter. They know they where wrong, and  now are making him jump through hoops to get his money they illegally gave to someone else.
     My lodge is changing to a different bank, because Union charges fees to a 501C organization, and Provident or Rabobank actually pays them interest. Plus Fransisco lied to them also.
     I had a new teller that said my card was worn and she could get a new one coming. I said ok. She didn't do the paper work right and they filed it as stolen or lost. I went to they ATM and it took my card. I went into the bank and was givin attitude by yet another great customer service rep, I beleve her name starts with a D. I was on my lunch break and in a hurry and let her know I didn't have much time. Her response was, "Do you want me to help you or not?" The meeting ended with, "We screwed up, but you have to wait ten days for a new card" The card was ten feet away in their ATM and they could have called corporate to reactivate the card. Corporate told me this.
    I can not believe they are still in business. Everyone I know that banks with them hates them. They have the same excuse as I have. "It's so much trouble transfering my accounts and bills." No more, I am pulling all of my accounts from this horrible excuse for a bank. I have 5 with them. Fransisco and Carrol should never had been giving a job in management.
     It doesn't end there though. I am part of a few orginizations that I have been on the phone with. All unhappy and all pulling their accounts.
     Rabobank and provodent are part of this community. They give to this community and care. Union bank is ran by Yahoos. Pull your accounts go to people that care.
Horrible Customer Service-BEWARE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Kookaburra, Dec. 14, 2012

I have been a loyal customer to Union Bank for YEARS!  I recently changed jobs and when I went to deposit my payroll check on a Saturday they said that they couldn't accept it! That I'd have to come back on Monday. I don't know about you, but I try and handle a lot of errands on the weekend AS I WORK!!!

I went down the street to the Studio City Branch and they gladly took my check! Drive the extra mile or two it will be worth the trouble of being turned away!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Sherman Oaks Branch at Sherman Oaks, CA
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

It's like walking into a room full of friends who have your back.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Gege, Oct. 01, 2012

The Felton Branch has given me the best banking experience since I first started banking some 45 years ago. We had banked with Wells Fargo, Wachovia, Bank of America, and others.  Each time we left these banks because of their impersonal interaction, rigidness, errors, and unwillingness to admit to their errors.  We switched to Union Bank after I saw what good service my mother received at this bank. We continue to appreciate the excellent service we receive.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Felton Branch at Felton, CA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Local number
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
by ddbodal, Sep. 24, 2012

Why don't you list your local number.  The wait time for the central number was over 15 minutes and i have to pay for it!  Very poor customer service.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Edmonds Branch at Edmonds, WA
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Union bank on Lancaster Blvd
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Paige, Sep. 20, 2012

I have been with Union Bank for over 4 years and I LOVE THEM!!!!! the branch in Lancaster CA. Is My FAVORITE. My son has an account there too and they are always sweet and very helpful.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Lancaster Branch at Lancaster, CA
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Wonderful experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JoeMC, Aug. 02, 2012

Just to say how happy i am with the services that u had provided to me and finding none others could emulate your example

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on MUFG Union Bank, Canyon Country Office at Canyon Country, CA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2

Banks Nearby

JPMorgan Chase Bank, Atlanta Brach Branch (0.1 miles)
Limited Service Trust Office
3475 Piedmont Road, Suite 1800
Atlanta, GA 30305
RBC Bank, (Georgia), Rbc Bank, (Georgia) National Association (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3475 Piedmont Road, Ne, Suite 550
Atlanta, GA 30305
Fidelity Bank (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3490 Piedmont Road Ne
Atlanta, GA 30305
Wells Fargo Bank, Buckhead Loop Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3465 Buckhead Loop Ne
Atlanta, GA 30326
JPMorgan Chase Bank, Atlanta - Buckhead Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3330 Piedmont Road, Suite 28
Atlanta, GA 30305

More