HSBC Bank USA, Review

HSBC Bank USA, Review

Average rating based on 75 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
10
4 star:
2
3 star:
0
2 star:
2
1 star:
61
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 4
fastertowalkthemoney
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by cola65, Dec. 02, 2013

Was sending a wire transfer overseas which I have done previously with no issues.  It's almost 2 weeks money is out of my account but not where it should be.  Mind you it took two full days to complete.  The workers are incompetent have no idea what they are doing, and if I haven't called in the last 2 weeks would not have received a phone call that there was an error.  The branch manager is very unprofessional, as you can imagine my frustration I spoke to him thinking he would resolve the issue or at least try to calm me down...no, he hung up on me!!!  Honestly they really need to be retrained on how to handle customer service and at least how to answer a simple question regarding wire transfers (this is something they should already know)...called the 800 number and got my answer immediately.  For future reference western union is the way to go...money in minutes and transfer fees are lower.  Needless to say I and everyone I know will be changing banks.  They are the worst!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Staten Island Branch at Staten Island, NY
8 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Anton is the man
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by blacula, Feb. 27, 2017

I was in the bank on 39th@7th today about 3pm feeling kind of bad but the employee lifted my spirits.Thank you Anton

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Seventh Avenue Branch at New York, NY
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

This bank sucks
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Zorrito1988, Nov. 30, 2016

Well, i have read all the reviews here and I gotta said im not wealthy as many of u im just a landsca pe worker living in california.but heres my story on October  10th i opnen a basic chaking account ver the internet I also mail the money order for 200 dllrs for the account opening.ive to say it took almost a month for them to open the account i d so many times cause they said they will call me and no one did so finally after too many calls ive got approved it took 2 weeks to get my funds available almost 6 weeks with the whole process.after a long waiting i fanally received my debit card today is 29/11/2016 yeah it took them more than 30 days to mailed my debit card.to make the story short on monday i did a deposit for 2400 with a check from payroll i went to the branch cause i needed some cash i only had 200 available out of 2400 i told the teller just wanted to withdrawal  160 she said she couldnt give me the y because the check hasnt clear yet i said to r its fine but o have 200 available  for withdrawal she said yeah but we cant give you any cash because of the check told her i wanted to talk with branch manager he came up to me. We discuss the problem and told me the same story.
But i explained to him i didnt want all the money just 160 he said he wasnt abld that the only way to withdrawal that money was with debit card using the atm i said i dont have it he said i had to wait until i got the card or the check cleared out. But i told them how may supposed to get money with. No debit card he said there was nothing he could do.then the other told him he opened the account over the internet he started to looked my activity and start making questions regarding the other checks  so i told him, that has nothing to do with the funds im asking and he started reading the out questioning me why did i withdrawal 2000 last week.by that time i was furios very angry there was a few customers waiting behind me i told him im justa gonna asked you one last question and then im gonna go i said again are you gonna give whats available  he said no get the debit card so i said to them... thank you very much for wasting my time you guys are so unprofessional and you soulndt be working in a bank but i dint disrispect them. Ijust said out loud and I got everyones attention. It was funny how the manager turned hes yellow skin red. Made him feel embarrassed  in front of everyone lol. By the way this guys were all asians nothing agains them im mexican. But i just felt this bitch manager tried to step over me questioning my own  money. Im closing this account better go with chase or bof

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Irvine Center Drive Branch at Irvine, CA
11 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

bank branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by tealady, Jul. 07, 2016

I am a premier customer and I don't feel this branch treat any of its customers nicely.  They are very rude.  They don't dress appropriately either.  Who wears a tank top working at a bank? Why are they allowed to eat at their work station,then when your customer shows up they start cleaning the mess. They never greet you.  No "hi", No "good day", no "thank you".  They just do their thing and give you the receipt.  I am used to the old fashion way where businesses are nice to you. I am debating taking all my money and going to TD bank.  I never felt so crappy banking.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Queens Village Branch at Queens Village, NY
16 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Terrible!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ireneost, Aug. 24, 2015

Terrible bank, horrible branch.  Hours are not for the customers: you will need to take a day off from the job to complete transaction if it requires your presence: no late or weekend hours.  Only 800 number is available, no phone number for the local branches are given out.  We've been customers for decades, not years, and they are kicking us out of the safe deposit box because we don't have an account!!!  Terrible, terrible, terrible!!!  Irene O.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Avenue U Branch at Brooklyn, NY
20 of 22 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Personal Online Savings Account
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by docvitto, May. 17, 2015

I have been trying to close this account for the past one week and everytime I would call I would be diverted to a foreign country and the persons answering my inquiries kept on asking the same questions again and again and the calls would end by them telling me that somebody would call me in 24-48 hours. Well, up to now no one had called me.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Washington Dc Branch at Washington, DC
19 of 20 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by stev 2016-06-01 18:00:43
Terrible? What would you expect from a bank that has its roots in England`s Opium Empire? A  Bank that to this day is engaged in money laundering.
The worst. Holds checks longer than anyone
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by wendell, Apr. 14, 2015

I have 40 partners in my firm.  None of them have problems with their tax distribution checks clearing on time, except for me.  Well that is because I am the only one who banks at HSBC!  That will change shortly.  All they do is read back the policy to me. Well, I'm done.  Once April 15th comes around I'm changing banks.  I feel free already!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Cedarhurst Branch at Cedarhurst, NY
15 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by MMMMMMMM 2015-12-04 12:44:11
The absolute worst bank ever. Impossible to contact anybody. My family had multiple accounts there for years. It doesnt matter. They are absolutely terrible dealing with customers.
the worst bank in the america
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by welkzzz, Mar. 09, 2015

I'll rate -1 if theres such option. I had my bank account closed today. This place treat you like an animal. There's no services. Customer care are very rude. Told you to wait and they chatting in front of you for half hour like you are invisible. They blame customer for come in late when there still 45mins before closing. I guess I just interrupted their happy hour.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, 6102 8th Avenue Branch at Brooklyn, NY
19 of 19 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

the worst bank anywhere
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bank57, Feb. 23, 2015

impossible to reach an english speaking rep.  all calls go to the Philippines where the instruction set id extremely limited.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, South Setauket Branch at East Setauket, NY
11 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst experience ever with a bank!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Screwthis, Jan. 22, 2015

How ridiculous is this bank? They can't wire money for you, they send you home or to your office and make you do it on your own through their scientific website which makes no sense. I hold a business account with over $700,000 on deposit. And apparently I have to wait till Wednesday's to withdraw a measly $20,000. Even though I was told previously that if I need an amount over 5k to call in advance and they'll have it ready for me. I'm taking my business elsewhere where they'll appreciate my business. And Mike the manager needs to polish up on his customer service skills. Rudeness doesn't get you anywhere.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, 108th Street Branch at Forest Hills, NY
16 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Run, don't walk, away from this bank (and branch)
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by newdeb, Dec. 15, 2014

BUYER BEWARE!

This bank allowed a thief to withdraw $3000 from my checking account without proper identification. I was a customer at HSBC in Manhattan (3rd Ave and 68th St) and had my wallet stolen 2 months ago. Three weeks after it was stolen, someone used my ATM card (which had already been cancelled) and my drivers license to convince a teller at an HSBC branch in Jamaica, Queens, to give her my account number and allowed her to make a  fraudulent withdrawal of $2600 at the teller's window. My signature was forged, and the teller did not even check the ATM number. The next day, I cancelled that account and opened up a new one. Unfortunately, 3 weeks later, the perp (the same one as before) went to this branch in Rego Park and did the same thing!!! Used the same cancelled ATM card to "prove" she had an account there, the teller gave her my account number, she forged my signature and stole $3000 from my account. I am still waiting for the money to be reinstated by the bank.

Either the tellers are incredibly stupid, or they are part of the scheme to steal from their customers. Either way, this bank should not be in business, and I have reported them to the NY Department of Financial Services.

DO NOT USE THIS BANK. YOU WILL BE SORRY.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Rego Park Branch at Rego Park, NY
18 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

General Counsel of HSBC Account HOlder
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by xjcx, Dec. 03, 2014

This bank has horrible customer service.  It took 20 minutes of waiting through recordings, commercial offers, surveys, etc. to get to a live person, who then could not help me with basic commercial account information -- who then transferred me to a recording.

I would never open an account at this bank based on this experience.  Do yourself a favor and find another bank!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Palo Alto at Palo Alto, CA
10 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude and improperly trained teller (GRAMERCY OFFICE, NY)
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by smarth20, Oct. 24, 2014

I visited the Gramercy Office HSBC(302 3rd ave) branch in NY. I needed to make a withdrawal from my savings(for an amount less than $1,000). To prevent having large amount of twenty dollar bills I proceeded to the teller line. I made my withdrawal request and the teller proceeded to count out the bills only to find that she didn't have enough 100 dollar bills. I told her it was OK to provide the remainder in 50 dollar bills. She then put back all the 100 dollar bills and started to give me all 50 dollar bills. I explained to her I would prefer to take the quantity of 100 dollar bill she had and the 50 dollar bills only to make up the remainder. She snapped at me and then asked me "Well then how am I supposed to have 100 dollar bills for other customers? The other tellers are on break." She then further ridicule me for not using the ATM machine.
It is appalling to see such poor customer service and rude behavior. It was unjustified behavior to a customer making such a simple request.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Gramercy Branch at New York, NY
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HSBC in Morristown
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Catc, Sep. 25, 2014

I had a HSBC account in HK and have faith in their services. So I opened a Premier Account with the HSBC US in Morristown. But the Morristown branch service is not even half of the HSBC in HK. I went to the branch trying to deposit a foreign currency draft to the account, they told me it will take 45 days to proceed. I find it ridiculous for such a long time to proceed, but I had no other options. However, 25 days later, they called me and said that I forgot to sign on bank of the draft so they cannot proceed... Aren't they suppose to instruct me where to sign at the moment I deposit the draft at the branch. I then went to branch again to sign. They did not apologize, and gave me a look as if I created troubles to them. The worst part is , they tell me there will be a delay to the fund... First, they were suppose to instruct me where to sign. Second, how can they realizd it 25 days later?!! Third, they did not have a sense of guilt. Are they even trained to serve clients?!
Another bad experience is I deposit a US currency check, I would assume it will be much faster because it is same currency. The clerk told me that she doesn't how long would it takes to present the check... what an answer, if she doesn't know, then who knows?!! After a few conversation, she told me maximum is 5 days for the fund available... 5 DAYS to deposit a USD check... This is non sense... I then ask would it be faster with the ATM machine, she told me yes, but she doesn't know how many days either...
Seriously, I rarely see clients going into the branch. And everytime I go, the staffs in the counters just sit there doing nothing. I don't understand why would it take so long to proceed the checks... I believe HSBC US definiely need some training from the HSBC HK. They need to learn how to serve their clients, and what is call service!! I will open another account in another bank, their service is unacceptable.
 

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Morristown Branch at Morristown, NJ
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Absolutely a horrible bank. They need to get some customer service training
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sam77, Jul. 04, 2014

Horrible customer service.  Do yourself a favor and avoid this bank.  I used to bank with them when they were on main street in centerport but moved to the huntington village location.  I continued to bank with them but everytime I go there they would never meet my expectations in customer service or even ability to assist in a timely manner to manage my account.  I went there to process a simple transaction today, I was greeted by Romeo (who turned out to be a crook) could not process my request stating silly company policies and wouldn't allow me to talk to anyone else regarding my request and sent me on my way.  This guy is a real jerk and should be fired from his post.  Or maybe he should be there representing this stupid bank since he's as customer service oriented as the bank he works for.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Huntington Village Branch at Huntington, NY
12 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Foreclosed Property
Overall Rating
by lousybank, Jun. 05, 2014

HSBC, West Palm Beach listed a foreclosed property with Lake
to Lake Realty, Salem, WI - HSBC accepted our offer and demanded $4,350 Earnest Money.  Our bank has committed to a
mortgage, but we have to reroof it, HSBC will not give us permission to do the roof in order to close and get a mortgage to pay HSBC.  Mean while, the sub pump has malfunctioned and flooded the lower level - HSBC will not allow us to repair the sub pump or remove the wet carpeting.
Now the moisture is in the drywall and mold is appearing.  It appears HSBC will be able to enjoy our earnest money,  but will be bull dozing the property when the city inspector becomes aware of the mold in the house.  We just can't believe there is a bank who treats clients like they have.  I suppose they have so much money, that some V.P. at
the bank is enjoying his ability to make $4530 and make a small guy, who worked so hard and saved suffer.  We never thought it necessary to check on a bank, but we sure know differt now.

* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Wellington Branch at West Palm Beach, FL
12 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Foreclosed Property
Overall Rating
by lousybank, Jun. 05, 2014

HSBC, West Palm Beach listed a foreclosed property with Lake
to Lake Realty, Salem, WI - HSBC accepted our offer and demanded $4,350 Earnest Money.  Our bank has committed to a
mortgage, but we have to reroof it, HSBC will not give us permission to do the roof in order to close and get a mortgage to pay HSBC.  Mean while, the sub pump has malfunctioned and flooded the lower level - HSBC will not allow us to repair the sub pump or remove the wet carpeting.
Now the moisture is in the drywall and mold is appearing.  It appears HSBC will be able to enjoy our earnest money,  but will be bull dozing the property when the city inspector becomes aware of the mold in the house.  We just can't believe there is a bank who treats clients like they have.  I suppose they have so much money, that some V.P. at
the bank is enjoying his ability to make $4530 and make a small guy, who worked so hard and saved suffer.  We never thought it necessary to check on a bank, but we sure know differt now.

* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Wellington Branch at West Palm Beach, FL
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Skiptt 2014-08-30 16:10:33
I am with this bank only through necessity as I bank in the US, Canada and the UK as they seem to be the only one that offers easy international links. But they are rude, incompetent and totally uninteresting in providing either customer service or a value based product. They must rely on a lot of suckers like me to keep going.
Worlds Worst Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sts1952, May. 07, 2014

Worst bank ever.  Branch phone number impossible to obtain.  Took two phone calls and they still gave me wrong number.  Getting money out of HSBC Toronto is more difficult than breaking into Fort Knox.  Truly the worlds WORST BANK.  They just do not care.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Boca West Branch at Boca Raton, FL
10 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HSBC SUCKS
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dumbbank, Apr. 03, 2014

I called the bank to get information about an auto loan and the banker did not have a clue what I was talking about.... I ask her is there an auto loan department and once again she had no clue... I dislike this bank.. and it the WORST...

* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Bellevue Downtown Branch at Bellevue, WA
12 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The worst Bank Honor goes to...HSBC!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BusinessGuy98004, Apr. 02, 2014

It really is remarkable at how terrible my experience was trying to open an account. I only started the process to make it easier for us to deal with our Hong Kong and UK operations in addition to North America.

The experience was immediately bad when the first person I talked to in each bank branch could barely speak English. They indicated the maximum turnover for a business account was 3 million dollars. When I said, "Do you mean the minimum?" She responded to with a huh?

I called another local branch for HSBC and the same issue happened with the language barrier. This time I did talk to a business banker and she informed us of their requirements. When I mentioned that although we exceed that requirement by about 5 time, we have never been asked that by our other banks. She decided that a condescending attitude would be the best response.

We have therefore concluded that staying with our existing banking relationships makes the most sense after all.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Bellevue Downtown Branch at Bellevue, WA
10 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

TRULY APPALLING
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by karensy, Mar. 20, 2014

I have had the most awful time trying to deal with this branch.  My late husband (a British citizen) had an account there.  He died 30 months ago.  I have been trying (together with the co-executor of his will) to close his accounts and transfer the funds to an HSBC account in the UK, for the benefit of our young daughter.
Despite their claims to be "the world's local bank", they are insisting that we must fly over to the US (from England)!  This has dragged on for over 2 years: no one at the bank will take responsibility, no one will give us clear instructions what to do; no one ever returns our calls or acknowledges receipt of documents sent to them.  I find it truly shocking that one of the biggest banks in the world is depriving a bereaved child of her inheritance.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on HSBC Bank USA, Carnegie Branch at New York, NY
9 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 4

Banks Nearby

Citibank, Mid Island Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2825 Richmond Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10314
People's United Bank, Staten Island S&S Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
2795 Richmond Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10314
JPMorgan Chase Bank, Richmond Avenue Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2845 Richmond Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10314
Apple Bank for Savings, Staten Island Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2655 Richmond Avenue, Suite 2005
Staten Island, NY 10314
JPMorgan Chase Bank, Staten Island Mall Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2655 Richmond Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10314

More