Firstmerit Bank, Review

Firstmerit Bank, Review

Average rating based on 33 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
9
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
19

| Next >     page 1 of 4
flushing mi branch...
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by lucille1, Jul. 05, 2014

I am so sick of this bank. We used to bank D&N bank, which got sent to citizens,then got switched to firstmerit. People who've been waiting on me for 20plus years have become rude to me. Don't get me started on Janeen at flushing branch, she has her nose in the air and very sharp with her words, no compassion for people. The only good thing this bank has to offer is Chaz.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Pierson Road Branch at Flushing, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Long wait at drive thru
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
by Kathy58, Jun. 19, 2014

Just waited 10 minutes in drive thru. Too long! I never did get to do my banking.

* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, One Jackson Square Branch at Jackson, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Billi1tm 2014-06-30 10:48:49
There is no drive thru at this bank...
Long wait at drive thru
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
by Kathy58, Jun. 19, 2014

Just waited 10 minutes in drive thru. Too long! I never did get to do my banking.

* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, One Jackson Square Branch at Jackson, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Realy unhappy with changes since Citizens became First Merit
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RKBerta, May. 22, 2014

My college student started a student account at Citizens which was than bought out or merged into First Merit. All of a sudden we get monthly charges for the paper statement. I switched to on-line and still got charged again this month. Plus....they made a $25 charge for an "inactive acct". Come on....a college student doesn't use it every month and not all in the summer. After I send this I am closing my account and switching back to another bank that honors their agreements.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Shelby Township Branch at Utica, MI
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by MissGnomer 2014-07-07 11:55:52
Just cancelled our business account which was set up with Citizens because of their FREE change service.  We only use this service if we ran out of change in our store and could not run to the bank.  FirstMerit decided that our account is inactive and started charging us $25.00 per per month fo for inactive fee.#unfair #fail
Frustrated every time
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ThinkCritical, May. 13, 2014

First Merit's staff is very unknowledgeable when it comes to anything beyond a typical checking or savings account.

If you have to deal with any type of financial management beyond simple accounts, go someplace else.

Don't ever bother calling either, after a 15-minute runaround with "transfers" to other departments, you usually end up with no answers and get disconnected.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Downtown Standish Branch at Standish, MI
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Julie
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jakljj, Apr. 11, 2014

Always are pleasant to deal with!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Orrville Branch at Orrville, OH
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer Loyalty
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dlloyd, Apr. 10, 2014

I am devastated by the changes I have experienced in the transition from Citizens to First Merit.  For the first time in my life,checks were allowed to be returned for NSF when the money only needed to be transferred from savings to checking.  Citizens would have accomplished it without hesitation.  The cost, the humiliation from vendors and companies I have done business with for years was far worse than the extra money I lost.  Shame on you, First Merit.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Downtown Fenton Branch at Fenton, MI
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Downhill after switching from citizens
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Luvhorses9876, Feb. 27, 2014

Banked at this location for many years. It has not been the same since switching names last year. Lots of mistakes, new fees etc.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, 1075 E. Main St. Branch at Pinckney, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Change from Citizens Bank to First Merit
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by vassarbankinfo, Jan. 13, 2014

Excessive and very inconvenient wait times.  Wait times with Citizens 1-800 system were ok but since the change to First Merit the wait times on the 1-800 line are terrible.  Have called probably 6 times in the last 3 months and each time I am waiting over 10 minutes to talk to a "banker".  Not acceptable since I am calling from work.  Terrible customer service since the change.  Might have to change banks.  Have banked at this branch for 20 years.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Vassar Branch at Vassar, MI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Mary3496, Dec. 20, 2013

I walked in to ask to use their washroom prior to opening an account and was told that because I was not a current member, I was not able to.  Really, how ridiculous is this. I took my business elsewhere. No customer service skills at all.  Do yourself a favor and RUN from this place.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Hinsdale Branch at Hinsdale, IL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by HAB1 2014-01-24 08:53:03
Perhaps you should have used the restroom across the street at the gas station.  My guess is you weren't opening an account.
| Next >     page 1 of 4
PNC Bank, Brecksville Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8959 Brecksville Road
Brecksville, OH 44141
PNC Bank, North Royalton Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6041 Royalton Road
North Royalton, OH 44133
The Huntington National Bank, Broadview Hts Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
9198 Broadview Road
Broadview Heights, OH 44147
Fifth Third Bank, North Royalton
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6465 Royalton Rd
North Royalton, OH 44133
New York Community Bank, North Royalton, Ohio Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6520 Royalton Road
North Royalton, OH 44133
KeyBank, North Royalton Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6424 Royalton Road
North Royalton, OH 44133

View All