Firstmerit Bank, Review

Firstmerit Bank, Review

Average rating based on 33 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
9
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
19

| Next >     page 1 of 2
flushing mi branch...
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by lucille1, Jul. 05, 2014

I am so sick of this bank. We used to bank D&N bank, which got sent to citizens,then got switched to firstmerit. People who've been waiting on me for 20plus years have become rude to me. Don't get me started on Janeen at flushing branch, she has her nose in the air and very sharp with her words, no compassion for people. The only good thing this bank has to offer is Chaz.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Pierson Road Branch at Flushing, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Long wait at drive thru
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
by Kathy58, Jun. 19, 2014

Just waited 10 minutes in drive thru. Too long! I never did get to do my banking.

* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, One Jackson Square Branch at Jackson, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Billi1tm 2014-06-30 10:48:49
There is no drive thru at this bank...
Long wait at drive thru
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
by Kathy58, Jun. 19, 2014

Just waited 10 minutes in drive thru. Too long! I never did get to do my banking.

* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, One Jackson Square Branch at Jackson, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Realy unhappy with changes since Citizens became First Merit
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RKBerta, May. 22, 2014

My college student started a student account at Citizens which was than bought out or merged into First Merit. All of a sudden we get monthly charges for the paper statement. I switched to on-line and still got charged again this month. Plus....they made a $25 charge for an "inactive acct". Come on....a college student doesn't use it every month and not all in the summer. After I send this I am closing my account and switching back to another bank that honors their agreements.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Shelby Township Branch at Utica, MI
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by MissGnomer 2014-07-07 11:55:52
Just cancelled our business account which was set up with Citizens because of their FREE change service.  We only use this service if we ran out of change in our store and could not run to the bank.  FirstMerit decided that our account is inactive and started charging us $25.00 per per month fo for inactive fee.#unfair #fail
Frustrated every time
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ThinkCritical, May. 13, 2014

First Merit's staff is very unknowledgeable when it comes to anything beyond a typical checking or savings account.

If you have to deal with any type of financial management beyond simple accounts, go someplace else.

Don't ever bother calling either, after a 15-minute runaround with "transfers" to other departments, you usually end up with no answers and get disconnected.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Downtown Standish Branch at Standish, MI
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Julie
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jakljj, Apr. 11, 2014

Always are pleasant to deal with!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Orrville Branch at Orrville, OH
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer Loyalty
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dlloyd, Apr. 10, 2014

I am devastated by the changes I have experienced in the transition from Citizens to First Merit.  For the first time in my life,checks were allowed to be returned for NSF when the money only needed to be transferred from savings to checking.  Citizens would have accomplished it without hesitation.  The cost, the humiliation from vendors and companies I have done business with for years was far worse than the extra money I lost.  Shame on you, First Merit.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Downtown Fenton Branch at Fenton, MI
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Downhill after switching from citizens
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Luvhorses9876, Feb. 27, 2014

Banked at this location for many years. It has not been the same since switching names last year. Lots of mistakes, new fees etc.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, 1075 E. Main St. Branch at Pinckney, MI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Change from Citizens Bank to First Merit
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by vassarbankinfo, Jan. 13, 2014

Excessive and very inconvenient wait times.  Wait times with Citizens 1-800 system were ok but since the change to First Merit the wait times on the 1-800 line are terrible.  Have called probably 6 times in the last 3 months and each time I am waiting over 10 minutes to talk to a "banker".  Not acceptable since I am calling from work.  Terrible customer service since the change.  Might have to change banks.  Have banked at this branch for 20 years.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Vassar Branch at Vassar, MI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Mary3496, Dec. 20, 2013

I walked in to ask to use their washroom prior to opening an account and was told that because I was not a current member, I was not able to.  Really, how ridiculous is this. I took my business elsewhere. No customer service skills at all.  Do yourself a favor and RUN from this place.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Hinsdale Branch at Hinsdale, IL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by HAB1 2014-01-24 08:53:03
Perhaps you should have used the restroom across the street at the gas station.  My guess is you weren't opening an account.
veryunhappy
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by veryunpleased, Dec. 04, 2013

first merit is the worst bank, please do yourself a favor, and look else where for a bank! the bank made an error, even put in writting that the error was caused by the bank, it has been two full weeks and they still havent made our account right. then today we are hit with bank fees from THERE mistake. and forget trying to talk to anyone at the corporate offices, as they have been zero help as well. next stop, the BBB.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Orrville Branch at Orrville, OH
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Director Of Operations
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by wilson0129, Oct. 30, 2013

First merit bank is the worst bank I have ever dealt with. My advice for personal use is to take you money oout and go to a credit union. As for business... I have had more problems with first merit in the last month then citizens bank in the last 20 years. Take your funds and go somewhere else. You have been warned.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Vassar Branch at Vassar, MI
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Checking 2013-12-23 12:54:28
this bank is a rip off they go into your bill pay and pay when you have no funds so that they can make 35.00 per transaction fees off you
by dollbaby 2013-12-31 13:18:08
Me too , but if it is "true"  tho Citizens Bank went out of business because they were over charging ppl's accounts ? If anyone knows the truth please share :-/
I love this bank sorry for the ones that do not.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by love1another, Oct. 28, 2013

I see it as this a very nice bank with nice staff and people who care about securing my funds. Thank you for all hard work done with making my personal bank account safe and reliable to my access.And also for taking the time to help me understand the things I need to know.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Appleton West Branch at Appleton, WI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by whyme34, Sep. 17, 2013

Me and my husband have banked with first merit for 8 years. The past five years have been pretty bad. There is a constant turnover at this branch. For all these years you would think the staff and I would know eachother but this is not the case. There is only one constant employee here (Ginger) and thank god for that! she is so sweet and nice and seems to be the only one who knows whats going on.  This bank has been consistently tacking fees on my account by "mistake" and I am constantly going in filling out paper wrk to fix it. Any time there is a problem/mistake on their behalf it takes at least 4 days for them to fix it. We have wanted to change banks for quite sometime but really didnt want to deal with the hassle of changing direct deposits and automatic bills. But we have finally been pushed over the edge! Their atm was out of money and charged me for my withdrawl. The tellers had no clue how to handle it. They sat me down and pretended like they were doing something.  After sitting at the desk for 8 min or so the woman finally calls headquarters and asks what shes supposed to do. I fill out some paper work. They say itl be there the next business day. Well it wasnt....called cooperate. ...yattta yatta.....bottom line it took them 7 days!!! To fix their screw up. Aweful bank to deal with. Perhaps Iif yhey kept the same employees people would actually know how to do their jobs.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Strongsville Branch at Strongsville, OH
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Taking Care of the Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ladybaker, Aug. 28, 2013

The Fowler Michigan branch of First Merit is a wonderful place to bank and the employees are top notch.  The manager of the bank is very friendly and actively seeks out the customer to make sure everything in their banking experience is the best it can be.

I would never consider banking anywhere else!  Thanks Fowler for being "home town" environment, YOU ARE THE BEST!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Fowler Branch at Fowler, MI
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by L3Hrm, Jun. 20, 2013

Seems to be very understaffed.  Management seems to be very uninterested in serving the customer.  Most of the tellers do a great job, but they seem to be different ones all the time.  
Becky and Linda are great at serving the customer.  The manager at the front office is very distracted and pre-occupied with her own issues.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Ellet Branch at Akron, OH
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

TERRIBE TERRIBLE BANK! STAY AWAY
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bnkr29, Jun. 04, 2013

I have lived all over the country and have used several banks. This bank by far is the worst. Their manamement is rude and disrecpectful. They do not care about you and your problems they simply "read a script" and do not take the time to help deliver a solution. They have a HIGH turnover rate for management as every few months they put a new manager in their locations that know less about banking than the first one. I would not bank with them again if they were the last bank on earth.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Twinsburg Branch at Twinsburg, OH
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

terrible managment
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by badmanagement, Mar. 15, 2013

The manager at this branch is a non-helpful, rude, conceded , egotistical, wind bag. I'm trying to be as constructive as possible. He was rude to customers, short
with answers and in general thinks he better than others. It was obvious even his employees thought the same as they rolled their eyes at things his said and tried to smooth
things over with customers after they interacted with him.
I TRUELY BELIEVE HE DRIVES MORE CUSTOMERS AWAY THAN HE
COULD POSSIBLY BRING IN AND I CAN'T BELIEVE FIRST MERIT
TOLERATES THIS. I FOR ONE, TOOK MY BUSINESS DOWN THE STREET
TO HARRIS AND WILL NOT BE BACK.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Villa Park Branch at Villa Park, IL
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by unhappywithfirstmeri 2014-02-27 09:15:26
Ever since Citizens Bank became First Merit, they are worse and worse with customer service.  We have been business customers since 2004, and if it keeps getting worse we are going to switch to another bank.  First Merit is the worst. So many issues with changes to procedures, long wait times for making deposits, and customer service representatives making promises that they can't keep, because of their new guidelines with First Merit.  Their online system is so much less user-friendly than Citizens Bank's online system.  I have had numerous issues with things not working properly with the online system.
BAD MANAGEMENT
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by badmanagement, Mar. 15, 2013

IM NOT SURE HOW THS MANAGER AT THIS LOCATION OBTAINED HIS POSITION. I HAD THE CHANCE TO SEE HIM INTERACT WITH CUSTOMERS ON A FIRST HAND BASIS. WHEN A CUSTOMER PASSED AWAY AND HER FAMILY CAME IN FOR HELP, HE WAS RUDE, INCONCIDERATE,AND JUDGEMENTAL OF THERE CHOICES. HE WAS THE OPPOSITE OF HELPFULL AND TALKED BAD ABOUT THEM AFTER THEY LEFT. I WOULD NEVER
RECOMMEND THIS BRANCH TO MY WORST ENEMY.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Villa Park Branch at Villa Park, IL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

First Merit FIRST for us
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by KSchmotz, Feb. 04, 2013

First merit has been out bank for too many years to count..we started back in Old Phoenix days... so long time.  We have savings, checking, mortgage, and automatic payroll deposit and could not be HAPPIER with our service.



* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Firstmerit Bank, Montville Branch at Medina, OH
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 2

Banks Nearby

Citizens Bank, Broadview Heights Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
9243 Broadview Road
Broadview Heights, OH 44147
Fifth Third Bank, Broadview Heights (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
9230 Broadview Road
Broadview Heights, OH 44147
The Huntington National Bank, Broadview Hts Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
9198 Broadview Road
Broadview Heights, OH 44147
The Huntington National Bank, Broadview Heights Giant Eagle Branch (1.3 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
4343 East Royalton Road
Broadview Heights, OH 44147
The Huntington National Bank, Royalton Plaza Branch (2.3 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
6000 Royalton Rd
North Royalton, OH 44133

More