First Commonwealth Bank, Review

First Commonwealth Bank, Review

Average rating based on 6 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
3
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
3
So friendly!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TouchofLove, Apr. 18, 2014

I use First Commonwealth for my business. The employees at the station medical center are so friendly! They got to know who I was very quickly. I always feel welcomed when I walk in to do my banking!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First Commonwealth Bank, Station Medical Center Branch at Altoona, PA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly Recommend
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BethC, Mar. 10, 2014

First Commonwealth Bank overall is a great place to bank with. The staff at this bank is very supportive, friendly and professional. It's been my experience that they will go above and beyond to make your banking experience exceptional.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First Commonwealth Bank, South Side Works Office Branch at Pittsburgh, PA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

frustrated and appalled
Overall Rating
Other Services
by FrustratedBanker, Aug. 01, 2013

I started a checking account with this bank while living in Pennsylvania years ago, because it was conveniently located close to my workplace at the time.  I kept this account after moving away years ago because my life insurance was deducted from this account, and because the online service made it convenient to monitor and pay bills from, topping it up intermittently through their mail teller.  I had also invested money in mutual funds through their in-house agent, though a partnership they had with an Investment Brokerage company.  I continued to get statements separately from both accounts before my last relocation in 2009. I had not updated my contact information while living overseas but continued to lodge checks and pay bills without a problem, monitoring details online.  In May, 2013 after logging on to check on a mailed deposit, there was no record of my account.  I telephoned their call center at the time, and they allowed me to update my contact information after their verification procedure, but stated they could not release specific info about my account without also speaking to the cosignatory, a family member, directly.  On calling back subsequently with my family member present, they told me they had no account for me and (after much time on hold and requesting the supervisor) was eventually told that the account was closed in January and "charged off" to a collections agency, when it developed a negative balance of $2!  They had no information on the whereabouts of the bank check mailed in subsequently.  Furthermore, they had no information about my mutual funds investments. Transfer to the Mutual Funds department was completely fruitless, except to be told the account was "closed" 3 years previously!  Despite having an email account where I am notified of bill balances etc, no contact was made with me at the time, or even after I updated my address.  Calling around on my own, revealed that the brokerage agency was taken over 18 months ago by another company.  The new company has no record of my account.  After further other fruitless calls to various companies, I am left only to seek assistance from the SEC.  This is unacceptable, since the law requires all banks to keep records of their client's investments.  The bank logo appeared on every statement of my investment account until I moved.  I would not recommend you bank with this company.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First Commonwealth Bank, Bloomfield Branch at Pittsburgh, PA
10 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Friendly and Efficient
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by andrewjf82, May. 07, 2013

I use this bank for work on a weekly basis.  The staff could not be more friendly, they always attend to my needs, I am always proptly waited on, etc.  I can't imagine anyone having a problem at this branch, when it is by far one of the most accommodating bank branches I have ever used.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on First Commonwealth Bank, Salem 22 Plaza Branch at Delmont, PA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

unhappy customer
Overall Rating
by unhappycustomer0129, Jan. 30, 2013

I have banked with this financial institution for over 10 years now and recently received no notification in the mail for overdraft fees and such. My mother was told about it as she entered the bank. Well this past week I accidentally overdrafted again only to find out from the person I wrote the check to, not the bank and then they continue to charge me overdraft fees and I deposited over $300 on January 29th and they put a hold on my debit card. This is all new to me and I am very unhappy with this bank. I'm very tempted to take my money elsewhere because you people seem to be becoming very very greedy!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on First Commonwealth Bank, Benscreek Shopping Center Branch at Johnstown, PA
7 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

checking account protection
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by banksdontcare, Sep. 06, 2012

I opened a checking account from the college I am attending. They allowed a person to steal money from my account FOUR times. They knew this was going on and did nothing to stop it. The refused to give my money back. DO NOT USE THIS BANK THEY DO NOT CARE OR PROTECT THE CUSTOMER. IF ANYONE IN CONGRESS VOTES TO BAIL OUT BANKS AGAIN I WILL BE SURE TO TELL THEM NOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

* this review was made on First Commonwealth Bank, Dick's Headquarters Branch at Coraopolis, PA
9 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

PNC Bank, Edgewood Towne Centre Branch (0.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1701 South Braddock Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15218
Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Edgewood Giant Eagle Branch (0.8 miles)
Full Service Retail Office
1705 S Braddock Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15218
Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Swissvale Branch (0.8 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1918 Mccague Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15218
Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Wilkinsburg Branch (0.8 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
901 Wood Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15221
First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Wilkinsburg Branch (0.9 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
732 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15221

More