Fifth Third Bank, Review

Fifth Third Bank, Review

Average rating based on 102 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
26
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
71
| Next >     page 1 of 11
horrible incompetent service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by charlottebanking, Mar. 21, 2014

Incompetent staff focused on product sales rather than service.  If I had a nickel for every time they changed my accounts, I'd be rich.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Noda Banking Center Branch at Charlotte, NC
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

SMALL BUSINESS OWNER
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by copperjohncook, Mar. 16, 2014

I had the worst possible banking experience with Amanda Julien a personal banker at the Loveland, Ohio branch. I refuse to do business with an organization that would allow itself to be represented in this manner.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Loveland Bank Mart Branch at Loveland, OH
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mount Pleasant, MI branch
Overall Rating
by Heather94, Mar. 12, 2014

I have had nothing but problems with this bank. At least once a month there is an issue with where my money is, they change their deposit cut off times every few months without any notice, and I've been charged for overdrafts I've never even made. The tellers at this bank are nearly completely incompetent when it comes to banking, informing clients of any new policies, and answering any questions about how they messed up and it's somehow the clients fault. Not impressed and I will never recommend anyone to use this awful branch.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Mt. Pleasant Banking Center Branch at Mount Pleasant, MI
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

CEO, entreprener, business owner
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by clear, Mar. 12, 2014

30 years of banking with Fifth Third/Old Kent/ Peoples Bank, regional bank, never had issues that were not resolved quickly and effectively.  I have business with several other financial institutions and am I in process to move all operations to Fifth Third.  I do not receive mis-information at Fifth Third, but when working with some other institutions I have become in the habit of taking precise notes, asking for names and titles along with departments.  Fifth Third is always my bank of choice, I have six branches I visit approximately 4 times per week.  Hope this helps anyone looking.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Flat Rock Branch at Flat Rock, MI
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude and Incompetent employees
Overall Rating
by scarymary, Feb. 28, 2014

I started an account with this bank several months ago. Apparently, I had a "second chance" account, but was not informed of this, until about a week before I closed my account. I called a different branch to get help with an issue with my account because no one would help me at this branch. That's when a very nice man informed me that I have a second chance account and proceeded to inform me of everything that comes with having such an account. First, I deposited my check from work. I was told that $100 would be available to me and that the rest would post at midnight. The next day, I drove from the Southside of Indianapolis to the Northside of Indianapolis, to take my daughter to daycare. I work up there, so its easier to take her to daycare close to work. Then I drove downtown to get my last name changed to my husband's last name, only to have my card declined at the parking meter. I called the bank to see what was going on, and I was told that there was a problem with the machines and that I would have to drive all the way back up to the Northside, to that branch, in order to have access to cash. I needed cash in order to eat before class that day, which is downtown. This was a huge inconvenience. The following week, I was double charged for checkbooks. I wasn't supposed to be charged at all since it was my first one. The following week, I was charged a $50 overdraft fee. I figured that I had miscalculated the amount of money that I had in my account and overspent. So I called the bank to see if they could reverse it. They said that they would take the $25 from my savings account (which was mandatory for me to even open the acct) and they would reverse the other $25. Later I received a statement in the mail showing that I had been charged two overdraft fees from the day when there was a problem with the machines. So I called and they corrected it. Since this is a second chance acct, I had no access to the atm. I could neither deposit, nor withdraw. One of the tellers, the only one who was consistently helpful and took the time to remember me (and my sister from when she worked at PNC,) changed my acct so that I would be able to used the atm. After about 2 weeks, it had been changed back. There was one instance in the last month that I had my acct, that I overdrew, and it was actually my fault. I asked them if they could reverse it, since I had had so many problems. They refused. This was the last straw. I was done. With the exception of the teller who I mentioned, who is consistently helpful, and a young foreign guy, everyone there is so rude, uninformative, and disrespectful. I have made sure to discourage my coworkers from banking there.


* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, North Michigan Road Branch at Indianapolis, IN
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

No Wonder Stock Still is in the Tank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 58799, Feb. 27, 2014

Be careful of any credit card product you have with 5/3 bank. I have had a business line of credit that they sold me 10 years ago. I have handled the account as agreed and revolved the line as required. Due to a bill payment issue on my end I made a payment 13 days late. NOW they have increased my interest rate from 8.99% to 30%. They are not willing to work with me after several failed attempts at correcting. I am not surprised to see that this bank continues to struggle!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Mount Vernon Il Downtown Branch at Mount Vernon, IL
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Always Have Had A Great Experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by anthropic, Feb. 21, 2014

I rarely write reviews, but felt obligated to after my experience today versus the average reviews I've seen here.  It might be that my services and requests are 'simple', but overall, this branch has time and again represented themselves the way I'd expect a company to act.  Today, I'd noticed I was getting service charges all of a sudden for my Est. checking account.  Going over the requirements to have the fees waived, I found there'd been a mistake.  Partly on me and partly on them.  I've an auto loan through them.  My wife is also on the account, but was never 'linked' to the auto loan.  Chad, the rep I spoke with, quickly linked my wife to the account, returned the service charges to my account, made sure the fees would continue to be waived (so long as I met requirements), and was onto the next thing in a matter of minutes.  I've been to this branch too many times to keep up with, and have never had an experience like that of most of the other reviews.  I've never walked out of there thinking, "I can't wait to write a review to let others know how bad this place is."  The staff has always been accommodating, friendly, and has never brushed me off.  I really don't understand the poor ratings this branch has received, but again, my requests are usually trivial and easy to handle I'd suppose.  
tl;dr : the staff is friendly and knowledgeable.  The bad reviews this branch has is rubbish.  It's a great branch probably getting bad reviews from individuals not good with their money, but great at griping about it on the web.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Spring Hill Branch at Spring Hill, TN
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

This bank and employees are the worst
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TheAzureKnight, Feb. 20, 2014

I had set up an investment account through one of their investment advisors. When I set it up I was told if I ever needed to pull part of it out, I could. This turned out to be a total lie. When I needed to pull some out, I was told I had to close the entire account. Now this wasn't so bad. He told me it should only take a few days to have my check from the investment. I am on week three right now and can't get a straight answer on where my money is. The advisor who help me set it up apparently only works like 2 days out the week. I called the investment company to get answers and was told it should only take a few days to a week to have everything taken care of. Nobody at 5/3rd knows where my money is or why its taken this long. All I know is im never doing anything with this bank again. I'd rather trust my money to a monkey.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Woodstock Branch at Woodstock, IL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

love ,love love my fifth third bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by reginak123, Feb. 06, 2014

they are wonderful. I would never bank anywhere else . they understand my needs and go out of the way to help me . I work out of state and if I ever have  any questions about my account they are there for me ... Thank you Kelly ,and Rachelle you are great keep up the good work ....

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, Nippers Corner Branch at Brentwood, TN
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Awful experience
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BubbaOwner, Nov. 29, 2013

They closed my account without notifying me there was no money in it. Today I had a check directly deposited, hoping to go get all the great deals for black Friday. Instead, my check was returned to where I work. I am not able to get all the great deals, and most importantly I cannot pay my house bill. I walked all the way up to the bank only to walk back empty handed, all they said was "Did what I could". You could have told me there was no longer an account open! Switching banks immediately.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Fifth Third Bank, 54th & Division Banking Center at Grand Rapids, MI
5 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 11
JPMorgan Chase Bank, North Canton Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
219 North Main Street
North Canton, OH 44720
PNC Bank, Portage - Whipple Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4140 Portage Street, N.W.
North Canton, OH 44720
Fifth Third Bank, North Canton Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1637 North Main Street
North Canton, OH 44720
The Commercial and Savings Bank of Millersburg, Ohio, North Canton Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1210 North Main Street
North Canton, OH 44720
Firstmerit Bank, North Canton Acme Branch
Limited Service Retail Office
1474 North Main Street
North Canton, OH 44720
Premier Bank & Trust, Canton Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
6141 Whipple Avenue, N.W.
North Canton, OH 44720
RBS Citizens, Belden Village
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4854 Everhard Rd Nw
Canton, OH 44718

View All