Eastern Bank, Review

Eastern Bank, Review

Average rating based on 7 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
3
4 star:
1
3 star:
0
2 star:
2
1 star:
1

Great first impression
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Tiffany14321, Mar. 15, 2014

I loved the staff when I first joined eastern bank but there gone and no one knows my name.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Eastern Bank, Taunton Branch at Taunton, MA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Lorene 2014-05-23 17:37:53
Tiffany, come see me! I'd love to "know your name" and help you any time. I'm in the Lexington office. :)
Imma Happy
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DukeOfNE, Mar. 14, 2014

It was fast and easy for me to open a checking account with them. The staff was very friendly and courteous to me. I should have done business with them sooner.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Eastern Bank, Dorchester Branch at Dorchester Center, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Lorene 2014-05-23 17:39:39
Duke, tell all of your friends! ;)
Deteriorated but getting better
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cityman, Jan. 03, 2014

The Back Bay Branch of Eastern used to be excellent until Wainwright sold to Eastern. The new Assistant Manager was rude, loud and unpleasant to deal with. I am happy to say that she has gone and seems to be have been replaced by an excellent person. Apparently, the former Manager was friendly with the former Assistant Manager and chose to leave also which was twice the joy. Hopefully now the branch will return to its former excellence and I will improve my ratings. The Staff held over before the Eastern takeover are excellent and probably kept many of us with it. But EXTREMELY pleased that the former Assistant Manager is gone for good.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Eastern Bank, Back Bay Station Branch at Boston, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Lorene 2014-05-23 17:41:38
I'm sorry to hear about the poor experience, but glad to know it's getting better. How would you rate the branch/bank now?
NEVER GO ANYWHERE ELSE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bobeisner1, Aug. 02, 2013

this is a no frills report on this office.  I have been dealing with Eastern, Mattapoisett for many years.  In my 71 years, there has never been a more efficient branch of any bank that I have seen.  Excellent service and a staff that knows you by first name.  Of course, the fact that all of the young ladies have been magnificently trained is very obvious.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Eastern Bank, Mattapoisett Branch at Mattapoisett, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Beyond Bankers
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by foundmybank, Oct. 04, 2012

I just had to comment on how wonderful the entire staff is in Downtown Plymouth. They go beyond the call of duty with everything that they do. They actually offered me some great marketing tips for my business and took the time to show me how I can better allocate my accounts to improve my bottom line on a yearly basis. Very helpful staff. See Scott Mazerall, who is the Branch Manager. He took the time to ask me some questions that no one ever took the time to do at my previous bank. With that information, I can honestly say he helped take my business to the next level with great suggestions.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Eastern Bank, Plymouth Branch at Plymouth, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bank Error
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
by annoyedcustomer, Sep. 05, 2012

I normally have nothing but great things to say about Eastern Bank, however I had never had to deal with this branch before this past week.
My husband deposited money on a Friday but then on Saturday the deposit was not in our account which left our account negative seven hundred dollars. What's worse we were in NH on a last family vacation before the summer ended. We spent the entire weekend with that negative balance.
When I went to this particular branch where the deposit was made I was told it was a computer error. Which I can understand however I wanted them to know exactly how much this error inconvenienced my family. When the customer service rep offered to have the branch manager come over I said sure. Well after a few minutes I heard her say "oh, she's still waiting for me?" That is just plain awful for a manager to say especially when the bank was at fault! When she did come over to me I was barely offered an apology, but was offered the sentiment that "these things happen". Really?! You go on vacation with no money and we'll see how you feel about someone telling you "these things happen" and then offer to order you encrypted deposit slips. It's not comforting or what a customer wants to hear!  You say I'm sorry this happened, look and act empathetic, and don't try to throw it back on the customer! That's all. I don't need a technical explanation. I want you to apologize for the huge inconvenience your branch caused me. I left there wanting to pull all my money out along with shaking my head at the sheer insensitivity. I have NEVER encountered this in the Saugus Lynn Fells branch or at the Main Street Melrose branch. This manager needs a lesson in customer service. Now I have to go back in there and explain that their error caused us a returned fee for an EFT payment to our gym. I can't wait to see how this "manager" handles this situation.
Eastern Bank on the whole is great. Just don't go to this branch, stick with Main Street!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Eastern Bank, Melrose Towers Branch at Melrose, MA
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Drive through window
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DLDM, Aug. 23, 2012

The drive through window is very very slow. What is most annoying is that you can see the tellers conversing, laughing, etc while you sit waiting for someone to help. Would not even be writing this review if it hadn't happened so many times. The last time, the teller could see how annoyed I was, and to add insult to injury SHE became confrontational!! What??? I mumbled under my breath, and she heard that!! Holding my deposit in her hand she began saying "excuse me?" at least three times, further delaying me! Closing my account.  No one should be treated that way. My annoyance was completely justified, how dare she!! As we all know, when one becomes that defensive, it because they know they are wrong. An apology is what I should have gotten.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Eastern Bank, Randolph Branch at Randolph, MA
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

TD Bank, Post Office Square Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
185 Franklin Street
Boston, MA 02110
Fidelity Management Trust Company
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
82 Devonshire Street
Boston, MA 02109
Santander Bank, N.A., One Federal Street Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
One Federal Street
Boston, MA 02110
RBS Citizens, Exchange Place Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
53 State Street
Boston, MA 02109