Compass Bank, Review

Compass Bank, Review

Average rating based on 47 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
13
4 star:
2
3 star:
1
2 star:
2
1 star:
29
< Previous Page | Next Page >     Page 2 of 3
disorganized
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 111111, Oct. 05, 2012

The Glen Eagles Branch is terrible. Very disorganized.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Gleneagles Branch at Plano, TX
7 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

WORST BANK EVER
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TIRED, Sep. 05, 2012

I MADE AN ATM DEPOSIT A WEEK AGO AND THE ATM TOLD ME THAT MY CASH WOULD BE RETAINED.  A WEEK LATER, I AM STILL TRYING TO GET MY MONEY.  EVERYDAY I CALL AND EVERY PERSON I SPEAK WITH HAS A DIFFERENT STORY.  I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO TALK WITH A SUPERVISOR AND NO ONE WILL RESPOND TO MY EMAILS.  SAY YOURSELF HEARTACHE AND OPEN AN ACCOUNT ANYWHERE BUT HERE.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Trinity Mills Branch at Carrollton, TX
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The worst bank on earth
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by HateCompassBank, Aug. 20, 2012

These jackasses paid my American Express bill of $7,800 twice.  They admit it, and I am still trying to get the amount refunded after two weeks.  They say they have 30 days to fix it, during which I cannot pay my electric and other bills.  It is just horrible!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Navasota Branch at Navasota, TX
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mortgage Disaster
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by michigangirl, Aug. 16, 2012

My parents recently sold their Florence Al home, their buyer used Compass Bank. Every opportunity for mistakes to be made during this process was jumped on with both feet by this incompetent bank. Supposedly a long-time employee was not aware of government changes dealing with mortgages and that was just the beginning. On the day of the closing (which was delayed for more than a week) she entered financial information incorrectly and we were delayed for another 3 hours. This employee has a reputation with Florence realtors as an incompetent....do NOT USE Compass Bank if you can avoid it!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Florence Main Branch at Florence, AL
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Avoid this Compass Bank. They will take advantage of you at every opportunity.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bewareofbanksters, Jul. 30, 2012

Please save your self time, money, abuse, neglect, poor customer care, and most surely do not get a home loan from this bank at the Edgewood Location.

A customer of over 10 years, I had the most horrible mortgage experience my realtor ever heard of, often get very rude service at the branch and if there is no one in line, the tellers will still leave you waiting.

As well, never deposit cash at the drive in window!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Southpoint Branch at Jacksonville, FL
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

courteous & friendly
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by lcjones, Jul. 25, 2012

I do not no where these negative reviews come from but I have been there eight years and never had anything but smiling faces and grateful service. Would not change for anything.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Leon Springs Branch at San Antonio, TX
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Terrible branches in Atascocita/Kingwood
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Diva90, Jul. 18, 2012

This bank has really bad Houston area management.  They promised me a low interest loan for my small business (at their own request that I apply), then told me there was no paperwork.  Turns out there was tons of paperwork and I had to make copies of even my W-2's and tax returns going back several years!  I had been banking with them about 6-8 months, perfect track record, great credit.  The manager Mohammad and some yahoo guy at the Atascocita branch promised me the moon, and never delivered.  After all that work, I was turned down for their pushy "low Interest business Loan of 2.75%" in 2011, that I had only applied for at their urging! They also arbitrarily upped the interest rate and then told me they had never told me it was so low, but told me the real rate was 4.5% or even prime.  Both Atascocita and West Lake Houston branches won't take your deposit via drive through even inside if you are a regular customer, especially  if it's over $5000 or after 5pm.  They act like it's a total Act of God to get the money to your account and won't even accept large checks they approved before, but especially "after Hours" in the drive thru, or even inside the branch if they think the check is too large to handle (stupid way to lose good business, and hello- all it takes is a phone call to verify funds, but they are so paranoid they don't even do that!).  They act is if they have never done business before and are turning off customers left and right with their deceptions, lies, and complete bs.  It was a good bank when it was Compass, I almost never had any issues.  Too bad BBVA could care less about customer service and is so into their "rules" that they can't even handle the exact same check deposits and withdrawls they've done before for the same customers on the same checks, businesses and accounts. Please don't open an account with them, you will regret it.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Atascocita Branch at Humble, TX
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

ms
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by kklm, Jul. 09, 2012

The folks at the PV location have been wonderful. Interested in my problem and willing to help.

Customer service when you call in and get someone-somewhere not so good.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Prescott Valley Branch at Prescott Valley, AZ
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Terri Alverez BANKING MANAGER
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Disrespectedbyterri, Jul. 03, 2012

Hello, I would like to complain about a Terri Alverez, she was very rude and unkind to me and my husband.  We were going to put a huge savings account into compass and decided Ms. Terri Alverez's attitude will prevent us from doing that.  She was quick to answer and acted like we were keeping her from some important function, really overall a bad attitude for a branch money manager! We will be going elswhere to put our large amount of money.  Terri Alverez will keep many people away with her nasty belittling behavior and frankly, it's disgusting. I have heard about this problem with Compass and their nasty mangers at a few locations, now i know it's true.  Someone should really get rid of this unattractive lady with an attitude problem in general.  She must have faked her interview well, we can't see why any bank would hire her?! eeek, we are so dismayed! NO thank you Compass.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Allen Branch at Allen, TX
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

REVIEW Terri Alvarez at compass
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Aboutterrialverez, Jul. 03, 2012

DO NOT GO TO COMPASS IN ALLEN. Terri Alverez is the most hateful manager in the banking world. WOW. Disrespected us to the 10th degree, we will never go back there.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Allen Branch at Allen, TX
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr. Marcus N. Heath
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MHeath, Mar. 19, 2012

I have been with compass for several years and have personal and business accounts with them. This Branch on Union hills is one of the worst service and follow up business's I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. Over 60 days ago we added persons to our accounts that where supposed to be mailed their CC, have still never received them. I have deposited check batches at this branch where they will not deposit some of them for what ever reason, and they will never call you back. Just over all one of the worst bank branches I have ever dealt with.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, 7th Street & Union Hills Branch at Phoenix, AZ
11 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr. Russell L Lyons
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mask, Mar. 01, 2012

I have banked with Compass over 7 years and then this BBVA was added which is a Spain company that took over.  Since then all level of service is gone.  Departments within dont know what other departments are doing so you get transferred all over the place and several times it went round circle and I was right where I started. My average wait time is 45 min to speak with someone who just transfers you to someone else. When I did get service I call back and am told that they dont offer that service so I hang up call back and the next person does what I am requesting.  I did give them a chance with a minor complaint but even the employee from corporate couldnt fix all the problems with my business account. The worst though, I set up my house payment on auto and it was never sent, when I called the answer I got was "sorry we dont know why" is there anything else I can help with: YES what about my late payment and credit? They said to contact my loan company I told them it's YOU I have the loan with and they said not really they use our name but we dont service it sorry.  I closed 6 accounts (including my business accounts) and can you believe I put over 300,000 on average per year in this bank and no one even called or cared that I closed 4 CC accounts and 5 check/sav accounts. DONT use this company they dont know anything about banking or customer service.  *****NICE job Compass, I read the other reviews and when you try and add a comment it wont let you warn or comment on the review*** just another reason I wont work with this bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, 7th Street & Union Hills Branch at Phoenix, AZ
11 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Customer Service Ever
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ANNIE2, Feb. 28, 2012

Four years ago I had a business account at the Compass Bank in Helotes. I had an associate on the account with limited check writing. The tellers cashed checks for this man made out to my business name. They would not give me back my money. Last year, I had a Health Savings Account with a new employer who claimed I did not submit a receipt so they charged back my bank account. Compass did not use my personnel account; they applied to a now small business account and charged me overdraft fees. Last month, I went to the Wurzbach Compass Branch to change my address on the business account. They assured me it was changed. I did not receive my debit card on time so I called the customer service number to be advised that the address was not changed. Customer service advised that I go into a local branch and have them request me a new card but not cancel the current card as it would expire the end of February. The new one would arrive by the time the current one expired. The next day at the gas pump you can guess; my card was denied.  Has to be the worst bank ever and I have had enough........

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Med Center - North Branch at San Antonio, TX
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank Ever
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by lessonlearned, Feb. 17, 2012

I have had nothing but problems with this bank. I never received my bank statements. I went in to change my name and add my husband to my account, waited over 30 mins, it wasn't even busy. I asked for two new cards never received them. They refused to cash or deposit my husbands check even when he was there. Money was taken out of my account without my knowledge,  until I received a nasty letter explaining that the account was overdrawn. Just found out they closed my account and never gave me any of the money I had in there. I WILL NEVER HAVE AN ACCOUNT WITH COMPASS BANK AGAIN!! THEY TREAT CUSTOMERS TERRIBLE.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Del Rio North Branch at Del Rio, TX
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Incompetent Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BBVABanks, Dec. 27, 2011

My husband and I banked with Guaranty Bank until it was acquired by Compass Bank about 2 years ago. My husband and I applied for a home equity loan in December (?) 2009 and the loan officer, Lena (Helotes TX Branch) failed to inform us that we could role our existing mortgage and our home equity loan into one loan for a shorter term and lower percentage rate. We were contacted three months into our loan and told of this option. The information was not correct; we had to wait one year from the inception of the loan before we could consolidate. In December 2010 we again contact Compass to consolidate our mortgage and home equity loan into one 15 year loan at just over 4.35%. This process was started in December 2010 with Lisa at the Boerne TX branch. Lisa is no longer with Compass Bank and the loan was turned over to Stewart in March 2011 and the rate was set to expire in May 2011. After weeks and weeks of contacting Stewart through emails and phone calls that were unreturned, the loan rate expired. Fortunately for us, the loan rates went down to just over 4% and we started the process again. I called Robyn, Helotes TX branch, since I was not receiving return calls from Stewart and was told that the loan was escalated to Stewart's manager Jeff. After several phone calls to Jeff that were returned, we still didn't have an answer as to whether our loan was approved. Two weeks into the complaint against Stewart, Jeff stopped calling and following up on the loan. Again I called Robyn and the lack of customer service, failure to follow up, allowing the loan rate to expire, and general disregard for us as loan applicants was escalated to Robyn's manager. I can't tell you his name because he never contacted us to find out what the problem was. My husband finally walked into a branch a week ago and spoke to Ashley (new loan officer at the Helotes branch) and she told him that she would get back to him with an answer the same day; she did. Ashley stated that the loan should have never been started since the amount we were trying to consolidate was not at least $150,000. Ashley was the first person we spoke to that knew about loans. We waited eight months from the inception of the loan to find out it should have never been started in the first place. I could have saved the headache of numerous phone calls that were never returned, follow-up by myself to Compass employees who never returned phone calls, escalation to Managers who never called us or didn't follow through with promises of "taking care of the problem." So to summarize: our loan started incorrectly, we received wrong information about consolidation three months later, a consolidation loan was started that should have never been started, we waited eight months for an answer about a loan that wasn't correct from the beginning, no return phone calls. I honestly don't know why we are still banking with Compass Bank. I spent 10 years in the banking industry from teller to personal banker, to service manager, I have never experienced such incompetence from loan officers as I have at Compass. I don't see us ever starting another loan with Compass Bank and am considering taking our business elsewhere based on the trust we have lost in the financial institution.
I have been working in tandem with the banks escalation team now for over 6 month due to numerous other problems with the bank (they wouldn't cash a check for my husband that was made payable to me because I wasn't in the vehicle; we have a joint account. They wouldn't allow me to transfer funds into my sons Compass account for an emergency. They changed my statement date, at my request, to stop a loan payment from debiting the day before my payday; the request has not taken affect yet and it has been 4 months. The Helotes TX branch refuses to put remarks on my account for convenience, such as letting my husband cash checks payable to me, yet the Boerne TX branch will, there are too many problems to even list)Will, in the excalation department has been wonderful to work with but unfortunately, this will not save my account.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Dezavala Branch at San Antonio, TX
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Owner Homes & Land
Overall Rating
by unhappycamper, Oct. 09, 2011

The people at this bank don't know what they are doing. Spent about an hour on the phone setting up for a loan to drafted my a checking account, then received a nasty past due letter. When I called the toll free number regarding the matter
I was told there was no record of my calling to set up the monthly draft service. Very disappointed!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Tyler Branch at Tyler, TX
8 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

They hope to steal your entire account. Believe it.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Robbed, Sep. 28, 2011

Compass Bank is looking for any opportunity to rob you.  Look at RipoffReport.com.  There are over 300 complaints there.  These people 'deactivated' my account while I was in the Persian Gulf on a ship, and now they are giving me a big run-around.  I was kept on hold for 30 minutes, after which time I received a recording saying that the bank was closed.  By my calculations it was 11:00 AM on a Monday in Beaumont.

I doubt that I will ever get my money back.  I have heard reports that they will also steal your safe-deposit box if they think they can get away with it, even if your rent is paid.  Anyone who leaves their valuables with these people is going to be sorry.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Calder Branch at Beaumont, TX
7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

friendly, helpful service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by fireflyy, Sep. 08, 2011

So much of a bank's policies are out of their hands and are contolled by regulations that it isn't that helpful in my experience to compare interest rates and fees. However, the people ARE what make a difference between a lousy banking relationship and a great one. After years of bank-hopping with other banks that could have cared less, I have now been with Compass for over 10 years. They have done loans, mortgages, various personal and business accounts, and helped us with the strange financial transactions required in international adoption. I can't say enough good things about the people here.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Gunbarrel Branch at Boulder, CO
6 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Take your business elsewhere
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by FoamingMouth, Aug. 31, 2011

Compass had my current mtg. loan and so I decided to do a refinance with them to take advantage of a lower interest rate.  (Note - over 6 years of mtg. payment history with them.)  What a disaster!  First, I was told I had to get a loan for at least $140k as they did not do any refinancing for any amount less than that.  Was preapproved and credit scores are 750.  Then, after paying $450 for the appraisal which was well above the requested loan amount - recevied a letter from the underwriting dept. in GA that they would not approve the loan.  The loan officer handling this at the local branch never called me to inform me about any problem.  After that, I contacted a mtg. broker (not a bank) and got everything processed at a much lower rate and less fees (and for less than the $140k like the bank said I had to do).  Lastly, I still have an account here and just received a letter which reads:  "Changes in financial regulations over the last year have required BBVA Compass to reevaluate the features and pricing of our accounts and services.  As a result, we are implementing changes to account pricing and other fees which will impact your Build-to-Order Checking account."  Well go-ahead and change away as my business is going elsewhere!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Camp Bowie West Branch at Fort Worth, TX
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Awful - possibly the worst bank in the US
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jmilo, Jun. 16, 2011

I have business accounts with four different banks, including one at the Dickinson TX branch of BBVA Compass. This account was actually opened at Guaranty Bank many years ago.
Since Compass took over several years ago, I have been amazed at the pattern of racketeering they have used to squeeze undeserved fees out of account owners.
As one example, I deposited a check from a client drawn on a bank in Friendswood, a city right next to Dickinson.
My deposit was accepted with no mention of a "hold" being placed. This client writes me a check every month, and there has never been a hold.
Three days later I received a letter from Compass stating that a 3 day hold had been placed on the deposit.
According to my telephone and online banking, the deposit was available the following day. I then ordered several small items (office supplies) online, using my Compass check card. There were six transactions, total of under $100.
Compass paid these items, but charged a $38 NSF fee on each of the six transactions - $228 total.
I haven't had an NSF fee since my college days, in the 70s.
I went to the branch to get this mess straightened out, and spoke with Assistant Manager named Sasha.
She refused to do anything about it, and told me that I should not trust the telephone or online banking, as this is not the same information used by bank employees. Translation: They are keeping two sets of books!
They were "kind" enough to reverse two of the charges, net loss to me of $152. Sasha also admitted the hold on my deposit was an error. So, I asked, if it was an error, why is it costing me $152? She said that she is not allowed to refund more than 2 NSF fees, or she will "get into trouble" with her boss.
Essentially, this is a bank that is trying to make their profits by manipulating deposits and transactions to generate fee income.
If a cash deposit is made on the same day a debit comes through, the debit is processed first. So, if you go to Compass and deposit $100 cash, then go to the gas station and buy $20 worth of gas, it will generate an overdraft fee. If a number of transactions come though on the same day, they will process the largest ones first, so that the subsequent transactions will all get NSF fees.
They have stung me twice with this creative bookkeeping.
I still have the account, as it is connected to some direct-pay accounts. However, I would recommend that anyone who needs a checking account look elsewhere. This is a very poor excuse for a bank.
J. Milo
Dickinson, TX USA

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Compass Bank, Dickinson Branch at Dickinson, TX
31 of 31 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

< Previous Page | Next Page >     Page 2 of 3

Banks Nearby

Regions Bank, Inverness Valleydale Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
102 Inverness Plaza
Birmingham, AL 35242
Synovus Bank, Inverness Corners Bkng. Ctr. Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
102 Inverness Corners
Birmingham, AL 35242
Renasant Bank, Inverness Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
107 Inverness Cors
Birmingham, AL 35242
Regions Bank, Meadowbrook Birmingham Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
200 Corporate Ridge N.
Birmingham, AL 35242
Branch Banking and Trust Company, Meadow Brook Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4705 Meadow Brook Rd
Birmingham, AL 35242

More