Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Review

Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Review

Average rating based on 44 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
12
4 star:
1
3 star:
0
2 star:
2
1 star:
29
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 3
Get ready for lots of fees
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by aggravatedclient, Nov. 19, 2017

I do most of my banking on line, so the waiting and office environemnt issues are irrelevant.  (this site should create ratings for online interface and ATMs).

My main beef with this bank is the never ending and creative ways they find to levy fees.  Any time you use an "out of network" ATM they charge you $3.  Even if you only do a balance inquiry out of network, $3.  Now and then something like a "fee assessment" mysteriously shows up.  this latest $50.  I have no idea what it is or why.  The account has plenty of money in it, so it can not be an overdraft.

I have been with them for 10 years and the service has gotten worse and worse.  When I get a day off and they are open I am going in to close accounts (I have two business accounts with them and two personal accounts), so it will be a hassle to switch to a different bank.  But I am sick of their predatory attitude toward their clients.

I recommend never opening an account with Citizens

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Ligonier Branch at Ligonier, PA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

I would like to say thank you!!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sharly33, Aug. 25, 2017

I would like to say thank you to chrysler kings financial investment for all the things they have helped me with. I have a large family, and every time we have had a crisis Destiny kings Loan finance has helped us out.need for extra money can arise at just about any time. they pride themselves on being able to meet your needs and provide a loan for just about any reason you may need. their process is 100% online, quick and simple. I thank God for the help they have provided to me and my family,email them today at {chryslerkings_financialinvest@aol.     com
or call: +1(512) 643-3473

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Roaring Spring Giant Eagle Branch at Roaring Spring, PA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Love the people in this branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MoSellsRE, Jan. 21, 2017

I have been going to this bank for quite a long time.  I absolutely love the staff and the policies of this bank.  If my work checks weren't drawn on another bank (so I can deposit them as cash immediately)I would use Citizens, this one particularly, for everything.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Feasterville Acme Branch at Feasterville Trevose, PA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Absolutely disgusted
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Kelseyk1127, Nov. 19, 2016

Both times I have gone to this specific branch in Thorndale, Pa in the Acme, I have had horrible experiences. The first time I went to cash my paycheck, the teller at the front desk was extremely rude to me. Her and the other woman both kept looking at me, then to each other and laughing in a bullying manner. The second time I went, which was 3 days ago, I handed my check to the bank teller to be cashed and he laughed at the amount on of the check. The check was only for $67.30, however, I waitress so I only make $2.83 an hour and make %90 of my money in tips. I said to him "If you are laughing at my paycheck, it's so small because I waitress...ect." and he proceeded to say, "Wow, they really jip you don't they?" I shouldnt have had to explain myself to begin with, however, I felt obligated after he insulted me. It was extremely ignorant of him to laugh at my paycheck. At first I was going to let it go, but the more I thought about it the more outraged I have become. I will be going back into this branch to speak with the manager tomorrow. I will never be using this branch again, and I'm half tempted to switch my bank because of this.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Thorndale Acme Branch at Downingtown, PA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Angela Robison
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Sylvester13, Mar. 28, 2016

Jodi and Donovan helped me with a loan. The loan procedure took forever but the help and communication that I received from both Donovan and Jodi are the only reason I continued with the loan! They are an asset to your company as well as all the tellers

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Moraine Point Plaza Giant Eagle Bran at Butler, PA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great People!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JMacEwan, Mar. 24, 2016

I love how friendly everyone is and how professional they are as well. Tom really impressed me with his level of service and professionalism.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Roaring Spring Giant Eagle Branch at Roaring Spring, PA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

owner
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Hasslefree, Feb. 17, 2016

Been a customer along time and always have a very pleasant experience i am in the branch everyday for my business and my personal banking I love the people they are very knowledgeable and pleasant every time.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Levittown Branch at Levittown, PA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Love this bank..Love this branch!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by PeterDC, Nov. 09, 2015

I am a returning customer to Citizens Bank and I am a new customer to the branch in Phoenixville PA. I had recently bee nthrough some difficult times and I was in the negative in more than one account. As expected the accounts were closed over a period of inactivity. I wasnt sure what the reaction to me would be when approaching this bank to open a new account (I really enjoyed this bank in the past). I had called ahead of time to make sure everything would be ok and I had spoken with Stephanie at the Phoenixville branch and she assured me that I would be able to open a new account and may be asked to pay back the negative amount when I was in the position to do so. Fair enough! I found the people at the Phoenixville branch to be especially sunny and pleasant. I feel very welcome and at home at this branch and look forward to visiting every time. I would recommend this branch to anyone looking to have a good experience with their banking needs.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Kimberton-Maple Lawn Branch at Phoenixville, PA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bala Cynwyd Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MissBirdieB, Sep. 10, 2015

I cannot believe the personal attacks and misguided information in the reviews here.  It seems to me that the people writing the negative reviews have an inherently poor understanding of money management and have not read the terms they agreed to when opening the account. I love the little branch at the Acme in Bala Cynwyd.  All of the staff is very pleasant and helpful.  Occasionally, I need to get a couple hundred dollars in quarters for work, and even though it's a personal account, they are always accommodating (I think they think I go to AC and play the slots!) I appreciate the good service, and I  hope others will take the bulk of the reviews, which if you read carefully, seem to be from a few of the same people, with a grain of salt.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Bala Acme Branch at Bala Cynwyd, PA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by veester00 2016-02-19 15:07:39
Hello,

Just wanted to say the staff at this location was just wonderful.

They were all soooooo very nice and congenial and very very helpful.

They ALL deserve a raise.

U wish every bank would have such awesome people!
Retired VP Sales
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by grambling, Sep. 06, 2015

Staff is very accommodating, first greeting you with a smile and then supply quick service while being very personable. It seems that they make a wonderful effort to go out of their way to help with banking and just general questions -- regarding other services.
 

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Dillsburg Branch at Dillsburg, PA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Added Savings Account
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by GeoJetson, Jul. 11, 2015

No wait on a Saturday morning.  Added a savings account to an existing checking account.  Fees were politely explained.  Alternatives for interest were given, but not pushed.

* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Oakmont Branch at Oakmont, PA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

FOREIGN ATM FEES
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by terrilee1973, Nov. 22, 2014

I find it absolutely ridiculous that you cannot do a balance inquiry at a foreign atm with out being charged a $3 fee. Then on top of it in the same transaction I was charged another $3 for my withdraw. I think its ridiculous you cannot go to a free atm without being charged a fee. This is my money. So a $10 transaction cost $16. I called the Giant Eagle Altoona branch and the woman who answered the phone was very rude. I will be looking into changing banks as soon as possible. I will not be treated rudely.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Altoona Giant Eagle Branch at Altoona, PA
6 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Jadako 2015-03-28 17:55:55
I do understand and I'm quite sure they do apologize for the manner
by homerlly 2015-05-14 17:53:37
The charge at other arms is giving me pause now we need to save too maybe time for a change
DISGRACE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by gigiob, Nov. 11, 2014

My family has several accounts with Citizens (including a business account) and the loyalty they show to their customers is a disgrace. There is a charge for anything and everything you can think of. The over draft protection is a scam and should actually be illegal (I don't know how they get away with it). They have charged several hundred dollars in fees the past few months and there is no way too catch up. Evertime you deposit to make a payment, they charge you and your payment fails short and they charge you again for over draft. It's one big SCAM and they should be ashamed of themselves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Jadako 2015-03-28 17:58:34
We have changed alot since this review would you mind writing another review letting me know how the services are?
Inappropriate Employees
Overall Rating
by SharonDisimo, Nov. 10, 2014

When my Boyfriend entered the bank alone, after He was there with me earlier... The tall  African American manager - looking woman asked him if I was " His wife", what business is it of hers??? She is there to do banking! I did not feel this was appropriate in ANY way. Obviously neither did my boyfriend because he was the one that told me about it.  If she wanted to know who I was, why dident she ask me while I was standing In front of her??? Not professional at all!   ( At Lawrenceville, Pa. Branch

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Lawrenceville Branch at Pittsburgh, PA
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bank of Thiefs
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by krissell, Sep. 19, 2014

I opened account 3 months ago and this bank has charged me over $600 of fees, $380 in first week of banking with them.  I specifically denied the overdraft protection. So I walked out thinking this was the case. Also, I was promised $100 for having direct deposit, never gave to me now tell me they didnt have the special at the time but yet I was told they did.  That next week my direct deposit went in and I had a few bills coming out day after totally $200, they charged me fees for insufficient funds because the money was in different account.  I never checked the online cause I knew what I had in there would cover and would thought I would get notification if something was not right. Nothing. Had to wait to set up online account cause I had to wait for pin to come in mail in order to do so.  I checked online account and noticed I was charged $380 in fees and no courtesy call for being new account. They said I had overdraft protection on one account but not the other.  I was fed some much bull when opening that account and they are not willing to do anything to rectify just quote the policies which dont mean anything if never told ther correct information.  I have never in my life dealt with a business like this.  WORST BANK EVER!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Phoenixville Acme Branch at Phoenixville, PA
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by gigiob 2014-11-11 09:10:04
I couldn't agree more. My family has several accounts with Citizens (including a business account) and the loyalty they show to their customers is a disgrace. There is a charge for anything and everything you can think of. The over draft protection is a scam and should actually be illegal (I don't know how they get away with it). They have charged several hundred dollars in fees the past few months and there is no way too catch up. Evertime you deposit to make a payment, they charge you and your payment fails short and they charge you again for over draft. It's one big SCAM and they should be ashamed of themselves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7
Overall Rating
by 32327272, Sep. 05, 2014

Not a very good rating here. I hear the tellers are not treated well at all by the managers. Can we say "work place harassment" A good working environment starts with the people at the top of the chain. Bad apples produce bad seeds.

* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Cochran Road Branch at Pittsburgh, PA
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Awful customer service from Heather ( the manager)
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by customerservice45, Aug. 06, 2014

I have dealt with Heather twice now and her rudeness was downright disgusting. Customer service is not a priority for her at all. She was not helpful to me despite being in charge of the bank. Fortunately I do not have to use this branch. I will use a different one. I would avoid it at all costs.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Wexford Branch at Wexford, PA
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude tellers. Terrible customer service.
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by artgems, Apr. 18, 2014

Today I received the worst treatment ever from bank tellers.  I have banked at the Kingston branch for a number of years and everyone knew me by name.  They were always very helpful, friendly and courteous.  However, today was different.  I had not been there in about a month.  I did not recognize anyone.  Everyone seemed new.  I went there near closing time with the simple request of trading in pennies for dollars.  I cleaned my car and had lots of change.  The teller asked if I had an account.  I told her that I did have one.  She never asked for my debit card.  I asked for an extra penny folder since they told me they did not accept loose change.  She begrudgingly looked in the drawers and finally found one.  I filled the folder as fast as I could and gave it to the teller.  She critiqued my work and said that she did not like the way it was wrapped.  I refilled it and she said it was still unacceptable.  Another teller came over and said that I would have to leave because the bank was closing.  She told me to come back another day.  I was practically given the bums rush!  All over some pennies!  I was always pleased with the service I received at this branch until today.  I left there wanting to close my account.  I really do not feel comfortable going back there.     

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Kingston Branch at Kingston, PA
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Satisfied customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by brandch1, Feb. 01, 2014

I always get good service at this branch. They greet me by name and the wait is never too long.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Westtown Branch at West Chester, PA
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

worst customer service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by nick01, Oct. 29, 2013

My husband and I bank at different banks, mine is a small little bank and his is citizen. What a difference going from mine to his. I waited at citizens bank Souderton drive thru for over 5 minutes all the tellers looked at me when I pulled up but couldn't even say we'll be right with you. Then when they finally did help me the teller never apologized. In fact she never said a word to me just took my money. I have never had to deal with such rude customer service at a bank before.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank of Pennsylvania, Souderton Branch at Souderton, PA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 3

Banks Nearby

PNC Bank, Wilkinsburg Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
701 Penn Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15221
First National Bank of Pennsylvania, Wilkinsburg Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
732 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15221
First Commonwealth Bank, Regent Square Branch (0.8 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1105 South Braddock Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15218
PNC Bank, Homewood Branch (1.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
618 North Homewood Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15208
PNC Bank, Edgewood Towne Centre Branch (1.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1701 South Braddock Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15218

More