Citizens Bank, Review

Citizens Bank, Review

Average rating based on 28 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
10
4 star:
2
3 star:
0
2 star:
3
1 star:
13
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2
Citizens Bank Review
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DaveZ, Mar. 27, 2017

The people at the Panorama Trail Citizens Bank branch in Penfield, New York are exceptional. They are all so personable, and I never feel like just another customer. They treat me as a good friend and neighbor. And Linda couldn't be nicer. When my girlfriend passed away in July of 2016, her kind words to me meant so much. Thanks Linda.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Panorama Plaza at Rochester, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

New staff
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cheesecakefan, Dec. 29, 2015

I am so sad and excited that Jill and Mallory have been promoted and transferred to the Kingston bank.  My Norwell bank will never be the same.  I will travel to Kingston just to keep tabs with them.  Kingston has 2 of the best employees ever.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Kingston Stop And Shop Branch at Kingston, MA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mgr Customer Service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by TheOriginalGregB, Dec. 28, 2015

I have occasion to frequent this branch on occasion. Each and every time I do I have the pleasure to be helped by Aaron, I believe he is the branch manager. He is always friendly, courteous and professional. He has a good memory for remembering the small things that keep me coming back. He is very knowledgeable in his field. An excellent employee and manager.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Stop & Shop - Wickford Branch at North Kingstown, RI
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Branch Manager
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by atweedie, Nov. 03, 2015

I had recently moved to another state and tried to close my account in person but they wouldn't let me and said I needed to send a letter. So I left some money in my account to pay a couple more bills until I was able to open a different account where I lived because there was no citizens banks out west. I explained my situation with a seasoned teller at the time. Her and another lady were very helpful and we're willing to work with my situation. By the time I moved and got settled and opened up another account with a bank I sent that letter to close my account with a check for any extra fees that may have accured. By the time they had gotten that check fees had snowballed to $170 witch the teller and her supervisor at the time said would not happen. I had not received any emails phone calls or anything thinking my account was closed and taken care of. 2 weeks later I received an automated phone call saying I owed $170 witch then made me call. When I called I talked to the male branch manager that was completely understand professional and started raising his voice at me when I was put trying to explain the situation. It then got to the point where I confronted him on why he was talking to me like I was a criminal and not a customer for 7 years and with the same attitude he resisted to understand what the other employees had told me and just began to talk to me like I was a teenager and I didn't understand what late fees and over draft charges were. I was assured that I wouldn't get any fees as long as I sent a check to cover the difference but by the time they got the check I had already been $20 dollars over and that's when the snow ball effect happened. He assured me he would sort this out with the other employees I had talked to. I then said I have no problem paying the $20 I had miscalculated for and just let me close my account. I finally received a call 3 days later from the male branch manager with the same tone of disrespect saying to close the account I must pay $120 dollars. With sheer disgust I accepted to pay that with a pledge of never dealing with a citizens bank again and to tell my story of what happened. To anyone going to deal with this manager do jot expect any sort of professionalism or respect this man obviously has too man personal issues to be dealing in customer service and tends to bring his issues into work and let's his frustrations out on customers BE WARNED!!! And good luck go to Wells Fargo where customer service is excellent and professional and they are willing to help with real "citizens" needs.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, East Hampton Branch at East Hampton, CT
21 of 23 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Sevice !!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by shanara, Sep. 19, 2015

I went in to the Sop & Shop branch in Westborough today. The manager and teller were so friendly and polite. They were able to help me out in no time. I am looking forward to banking with them for a very long time. Now this is the way banking is supposed to be.  

* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Westborough Stop & Shop Branch at Westborough, MA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by limorin, Jul. 14, 2015

I have been working with Helen Brandon of the North Conway branch since April 2015 trying to get a mortgage on a condo and have been ignored, asked for documents already sent to her and blindsided by off-the-wall requests.  It has left me extremely upset and anxious,  Closing is in three days and today I was handed another obstacle.  She failed to schedule an appraisal of the property and now wants to delay the closing.  The seller will charge me $100 a day for each day of delay.  I am so not happy with her or Citizens Bank's performance throughout this whole awful ordeal.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, North Conway Branch at North Conway, NH
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dim wits
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Mrsale, Apr. 29, 2015

If I get into the specific problems that I've encountered over the past few years, I could be easily identified. Suffice to say that there are a few really, really unqualified people working here.  I used to like this bank, but I am looking to take my business elsewhere.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Grand River / Beck Kroger at Novi, MI
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Nickled and dimed
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TobyinBoston, Feb. 18, 2015

Citizens used to be a great bank.  Now, it's just fair, and that's being exceedingly generous.  Management has elected to institute many new fees over the last few years, which are make me feel like I'm being nickled and dimed.  Branch service is likewise diapointing.  Again, management has elected to run the branches with a skeleton crew resulting in poor service.  The branch folk are overworked, and as a consequence, are happy to offer minimal service, so that they can "keep up".  I don't blame the staff, I blame the nitwit management team.  Overall, I'm looking forward to banking with another smaller institution that values both their customers and their employees.





* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, West Concord Office at Concord, MA
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by theresaeileen 2015-05-11 08:49:54
Too many fees.
Outside Driveup Issue
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Tonawanda, Jan. 27, 2015

I accidentally took too long at the outside teller on Wednesday and my debit card was pulled back into the machine.  When I went back at lunchtime to retrieve my card, I was told that they only open the outside vault ONCE A WEEK - on Tuesdays! They said they would call when I could pick it up. After waiting 6 days, I heard nothing, so called them.  They can't guarantee that the service person will be there before they close for the day.  If they come too late, they'll have to come back tomorrow....Really????  This is terrible customer service.  Not the staff's fault at all - they're very professional & helpful.  This is a bad bank policy.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Georgetown Square Branch at Buffalo, NY
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Looking for a new bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Lostme, Sep. 29, 2014

Customer for 20 years - treated like a criminal for trying to deposit an English check.  Funny - I thought them being a UK owned bank, it would have been no problem.

Insulted, straight from their director's office.  Took 7 days to verify money that I was able to verify leaving the account in 24 hours.

Once one of the best - now, just your typical bank.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Pawtuxet Branch at Providence, RI
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Beverly MA horrible service Brian Mgr, Kristine.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Crotchrkt, Apr. 09, 2014

Horrible customer service - refused to closed account. Made me wait 40 min when he couldn't verify how an account was opened!  Really?  a bank manager couldn't verify this after calling the customer service?  Something is seriously wrong here, possibly just with these two if not systematically with the whole operation.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Beverly Stop & Shop Elliott Branch at Beverly, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Erica F. Berman
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EricaBerman, Aug. 29, 2013

I have utilized the services of this bank for a number of years, including all of the branch managers, their assistants and tellers, and I am very impressed with everyone's professionalism, kindness, support and assistance. I have worked with the former manager, Rob, and now Jason Holcomb for a couple of years trying to help a family member with a mortgage, and their patience, compassion and assistance were greatly appreciated beyond words. Thank you to Citizen's Bank for your corporate citizenship and easy access to the community. Much appreciated!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Pine Hills Branch at Albany, NY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Erica F. Berman
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EricaBerman, Aug. 29, 2013

I have utilized the services of this bank for a number of years, including all of the branch managers, their assistants and tellers, and I am very impressed with everyone's professionalism, kindness, support and assistance. I have worked with the former manager, Rob, and now Jason Holcomb for a couple of years trying to help a family member with a mortgage, and their patience, compassion and assistance were greatly appreciated beyond words. Thank you to Citizen's Bank for your corporate citizenship and easy access to the community. Much appreciated!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Pine Hills Branch at Albany, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Erica F. Berman
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by EricaBerman, Aug. 29, 2013

I have utilized the services of this bank for a number of years, including all of the branch managers, their assistants and tellers, and I am very impressed with everyone's professionalism, kindness, support and assistance. I have worked with the former manager, Rob, and now Jason Holcomb for a couple of years trying to help a family member with a mortgage, and their patience, compassion and assistance were greatly appreciated beyond words. Thank you to Citizen's Bank for your corporate citizenship and easy access to the community. Much appreciated!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Pine Hills Branch at Albany, NY
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Thank you for credit $80.00 to me
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by gtr110512, Dec. 01, 2012

I want to say thank you to Office of Chairman Meghan Arnold of Citizens Bank to credit $80 that I was missing on 10/24/2012 back to me.  Thanks again.  Grace Tr

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Shrewsbury Stop & Shop Branch at Shrewsbury, MA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

thieves
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jimm, Nov. 11, 2012

these people actually reshuffled my check deposits so that they could charge me a $39 penalty fee. then when i went to the branch manager at hampton falls, nh, she told me to come back in an hour as she was busy. i came back and she told me something about company policy and said i could close the account. i couldn't believe a bank would do that with a local small businessperson. i have to say i am sorry i closed my eastern bank account. they would have NEVER done that.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Hampton Falls Branch at Hampton Falls, NH
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Terrile bank, camera is not clear, stole money
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by gtr110512, Nov. 05, 2012

10-24, 2012, I deposited cash $300 (10 x $20 plus 1 x $100) at Citizens Bank, 539 Boston Tpk., Shrewsbury, Ma .  My brother n I carefully counted before I deposit.  But bank teller told me that I just gave $220 so I gave her another $80.  I told my brother this missing n he said: "Can not missing $4x $20, maybe the teller made mistake see a $100 bill was $20 bill so she told it was $220".  Next day, I came back to bank and requested  this teller to give me see video tape.  She told: "You cannot allow to see  video tape because of bank's security".  She told me manager Brian will review video and call me tomorrow.  10/26, Brian called me, and I told him this issue maybe teller saw 100 bill as 20 bill so she counted 11x$20 but I gave her 10x $20 + $100.   He told me that he can not allow to review video tape , only securities can be able review n he will call back to me after the security review this video. Nov 1, he told he cannot see the bill clearly so he cannot sure the bill was $20 or $100.  I told him to zoom out and review video slowly but he refuse and said he cannot do anymore so I called to the Citizens customer service and talked to Tiffany, and she told she will request Brian counted the money on that day and call back to me but nobody answered me.  Today, I called to bank, n the customer service is horrible to refusing resolve this issue.  So I complain to www.bbb.org n review online. I suppose teller know camera of  bank is not clear and the customer cannot allow to see their video so she stole my money and put $80 to her body or somewhere that  camera cannot reach or see such as blind spots or maybe teller dropped my $80 around her area and she did not know. This is Bank but how come the camera at Bank is not clear and if the theft is happen , how the police can recognize the theft's face and their gun.  I suspect they do not check camera as Brian said or Brian n teller are accomplice to steal the money from Citizens customer or they tried to protect each other in order to have no compensate the money was missing.  The money can not be missing without no reason, or the money can not fly by itself.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Shrewsbury Stop & Shop Branch at Shrewsbury, MA
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

horrible!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by demo4o1, Sep. 13, 2012

Never put people from the Hood at these kind of positions. NOTHING gets done.  Notory public is NEVER present. Svc is bad..

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Stop & Shop - Manton Avenue Branch at Providence, RI
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Citizens Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by hannaho, Sep. 03, 2012

People are not friendly.  Constant charges. Hate this Bank

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Mashpee Stop & Shop at Mashpee, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

terrible bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by moneylost, Jul. 17, 2012

One of the worst experiences of my life with this so called financial institution.  This place has cost me alot of money in fees and late charges etc.. due to mistakes on there behalf. 9 months at the red oaks mill branch 3 debits cards due to the fact that they "sometimes just stop working" . They close at 4pm and aren't .open on saturday . Which means the majority of your banking will be done in a grocery store.  Which by the way are now changed to "peoples choice " and aren't affiliated with citizens.  The final straw was when I tried to deposit cash today I was told my account was closed because I hadn't used it in12 days! That's just a few examples

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citizens Bank, Red Oaks Mill Branch at Poughkeepsie, NY
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2

Banks Nearby

Bank of America, One Atlantic Street Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
One Atlantic Street
Stamford, CT 06901
HSBC Bank USA, Stamford Office (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
101 Broad Street
Stamford, CT 06901
First County Bank (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
160 Atlantic Street
Stamford, CT 06901
Connecticut Community Bank, Stamford Bank And Trust Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
600 Summer Street
Stamford, CT 06928
People's United Bank, Bedford Street Branch (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
350 Bedford Street
Stamford, CT 06901

More