Citibank, Review

Citibank, Review

Average rating based on 88 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
16
4 star:
2
3 star:
3
2 star:
4
1 star:
63
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 5
Security breach
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Stevecally22, Oct. 06, 2017

I live in UK and visited New York in May with the express intention of opening a bank account. I made a deposit and opened an account at this branch. In August I attempted to use my account and had difficulty.  I telephoned Citibank customer service and they informed me initially that my account had been closed down the day after I opened it and the funds I had deposited had been withdrawn.  They advised me to contact the branch for further information.  I telephoned the branch and they told me the account had been closed down because of problems with my ID. I questioned them on this and they were unable to tell me what the problem with my ID was.  I questioned the whereabouts of the funds I placed in the account and they told me they had sent a cheque to my UK address.  I queried this and asked if there was any record of that cheque bring cashed.  The representative then changed his story and informed me that this wasn't the case, he had made a mistake and that the account was closed by a teller transaction - I questioned this and was informed that somebody came into the branch and withdrew my funds and as a result the account was closed.  I explained that I was not in New York that day and had only ever visited that branch on the one occasion and that was to open the account. I asked the representative to investigate this and he said he would get back to me in two weeks time. I have heard nothing since.  I now have no American bank account and my money has gone.  I do hope Citibank read this feedback. It seems to me that the security at Citibank is at best inadequate and I could not recommend this bank to anybody for that reason. Next step for me is a letter to the national newspaper.
Stephen Callaghan

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, 120 Broadway Branch at New York, NY
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Willyaqrpbb, Apr. 06, 2017

Not helpfull

* this review was made on Citibank, 8750 Doral Boulevard Branch at Miami, FL
3 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Other Services
Overall Rating
Waiting Time
Other Services
by 1106, Feb. 11, 2017

This branch does not keep its website up to date.  They advertise Saturday hours BUT they are not open on Saturdays.  What a waste of my time.  I drove all the way over to their branch to find it closed and padlocked.  Please update your website hours.  Very inconsiderate to your customers!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Arlington Branch at Arlington, VA
15 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Super Helpful
Overall Rating
by TriciaHop, Jun. 13, 2015

I am surprised at the other reviews. I have just lived here in Oceanside for 1 1/2 years and I have found the people at this branch to be so much friendlier than any other Citibanks that I have used. Archie in particular is very helpful. The tellers are efficient and chatty in a welcoming way. I love this bank and the employees!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Carlsbad Branch at Carlsbad, CA
6 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by kaczmarczyk 2015-08-12 11:03:45
i am trying to call a CITI Bank in NYC, no one answers the posted phone numbers & the 800 number is pointless if you want to talk to a human. Please send this to the President.
Coit rd Bank Customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by syl19, Mar. 17, 2015

Every time I go to the Bank the people are very unfriendly, the last time I sat outside at the drive through window for almost 10min and then all of a sudden after the two ladies were running their mouths one of them finally comes over and says oh sorry our bell is broken for the drive through, ha ha ha ha ha ha, you cannot tell me that one of them could not take a look to see if their is a customer at the window, you would think since they know they would look periodically to make sure customers do not have to wait so long!!!!!!!!!!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, 14909 Coit Road Branch at Dallas, TX
14 of 22 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by DownersSince84 2015-06-10 18:49:02
There is no drive through at this Citibank location.
Unsatisfied long term customer.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by treatedbad123, Sep. 11, 2014

The manager has no customer skills. I have been with this Bank for 25 years in this location. He told me "I will walk you out of this bank" when I protested about unwarranted fees on one of our checking account!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Glen Ellyn Branch at Glen Ellyn, IL
27 of 35 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by customer1 2014-12-10 14:33:57
It takes so long to see one of the banker in the branch.  Their attitude towards to customer is customer can wait.  I waited for 30 minites to see one of the banker in the branch.  I never experience in  ohter bank.
by BJS222 2015-03-11 11:18:26
I've been with Citibank for almost 40 years. I had a recent problem with being charged service fees that I was never charged before. The branch manager explained the problem and fixed it in under 20 minutes.She was wonderful and very patient, explaining everything in detail.
by gladnotmybank 2016-01-15 11:01:34
Was doing a deposit to a friend fof 200 dollars, since I did not have account with bank , was asked for ID. ID no problem, but unnecessary for them to even ask, deposit not withdraw. Then the receptionist asked me for my social security number, no way that was going to happen. What the..... it was $200, guess that bank does not like money. All she pointed to is some computer printout her own bank printed and posted sayingthey can ask dor ID or social if customer does not have account at bank. What bunch of scammers, she entered my info from my licence in the computer, cool for her to write down my information and want my social too, can you say stolen identity?
Citi bankers
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by GrosseFatigue, Apr. 16, 2014

Citibank uses seasoned bankers and it shows while BOFA is always training new 18 years olds; one of them fainted when I was trying to open a new business account. There used to be Citi bankers, immediately recognizable, and everybody else. It is still true to this day in Evanston. Gerald Brett down to the cashiers are great to work with.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Evanston Branch at Evanston, IL
6 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The Best, Better than Chase, Better than BOFA (Easy), Better than Northern Trust
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DomPerignon, Apr. 16, 2014

I grew up in Paris in front of Citibank. It was like coming home! In those days they were the only game (American bank) in foreign countries. They still are. They are also the best here in Evanston, IL. Better educated, informative, helpful, always polite, their staff is a cut above all other banks.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Evanston Branch at Evanston, IL
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Not customer friendly
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by unhappycustomer77, Apr. 14, 2014

I've been a customer here for over 3 years.  Recently I had a couple merchants making unathorized debits from my account which caused my account to be overdrawn quite a bit and left me with a negative balance.  I went to the Preston Rd. branch in Frisco, TX and tried to straighten it out.  I paid off my balance and wanted to close the account and open a new one. I dealt with a personal banker who was NOT customer friendly.  Basically told me I needed to take my business elsewhere because I could not open another account.  I even had to close out my savings account which was not even the account I was having problems with.   I spoke with the assistant manager on Friday afternoon while I was at work and she told me I needed to come in TODAY and withdraw my $$ from my account or it would automatically be closed and a cahiers check mailed to me.  I thought customer satisfaction was # 1 priority but apparently not here.  I WILL be taking my business elsewhere and so will my husband who has multiple accounts here, including a business account.  Good luck to anyone who ever has to deal with these 2 individuals!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Frisco-Preston Road Branch at Frisco, TX
9 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

worst customer service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by CITI, Apr. 07, 2014

I am a regular customer for 13 years and used to go to other branches of Citibank but Bethesda Branch is horrible. The Asst. Branch Manager, Manager both are so rude, they are arrogant, they are not warm or friendly with customers or Co workers, horrible atmosphere, they are bad with everyone. The new Manager is always unavailable, the asst. manager is so much rude I never ever saw like that lady. How come CITIBANK keep this type of staff and wants to get good rating of customer service?  This Citibank is not a good place to work at all if anyone wants to apply please don't make a big mistake. This branch teller and other staffs are not staying there for long. This two ladies will make their life measurable and kick them out. We are no longer going to bank with Citibank-Bethesda.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Bethesda at Bethesda, MD
7 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mail deposit issues
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mrbob, Apr. 07, 2014

CITIBANK BRANCHES in the area of Miami  on the east coast of Florida.Concerning  mail deposit they are lazy do not do the job as hired. Refuse to go to there branch mailbox and collect incoming mail. I have to call to get my checks deposited, this has been going on for over a year.
NOT A 1 TIME ISSUE ON GOING.
WHEN I CALL THE BRANCH NO ONE ANSWERS THE PHONE, ONLY A RECORDING, THEY DO NOT RETURN CALLS.
ISCORE THEM A -100 LESS THE HUMAN

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, West Gardens Branch at Palm Beach Gardens, FL
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The worst bank ever ...
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by raj001, Mar. 20, 2014

The banks manager is horrible she is rude and arrogant, she is not warm or friendly with customers or Co workers. We are no longer going to bank with citibank in Howard beach ny 11414 . I would love for the big wigs to show up under cover n see for them selves.  Bank manager edna espaillat

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Howard Beach Branch at Howard Beach, NY
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The worst bank ever ...
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by raj001, Mar. 20, 2014

The banks manager is horrible she is rude and arrogant, she is not warm or friendly with customers or Co workers. We are no longer going to bank with citibank in Howard beach ny 11414 . I would love for the big wigs to show up under cover n see for them selves.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Howard Beach Branch at Howard Beach, NY
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible
Overall Rating
by sano, Mar. 06, 2014

Very unprofessional, in fact, the worst bank I have ever dealt with in all my years of banking, The employees and (other than one) managers are completely worthless and incompetent. Save your aggravation and your money and bank elsewhere.

should be no stars for this place

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, San Clemente at San Clemente, CA
12 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Amazing customer service in town
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JBarber, Feb. 24, 2014

We are very pleased with the people that works in the Loma Linda Citibank branch. We own a home health care agency in the same city as this bank. They are always happy to help you with any questions u may have. Especially Josh, the assistant manager- he is the best. And of course, Jeremy- the manager, u guys are awesome. Thanks for being there for us when we need u guys. We hope you will continue your EXCELLENT services....

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Loma Linda at Loma Linda, CA
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Investment Services
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Harvey, Feb. 02, 2014

Nancy Chang, my last financial advisor, I found to be unethical, rude, and dishonest.  She sold all my bonds without authorization and immediately bought a risky stock fund at a $30,000 plus loss to me.  She sold the individual bonds at a low point, which benefited her and the bank, because of the high fees.  I only had the bonds 8 months and paid those bank fees upfront and was in what I wanted to be in for tax purposes.

The "managed fund" that she said everybody wanted, was something that I did not fit my needs, as well as being a bad investment.  I asked for another advisor, which took 3 months and got one located in San Jose. I wanted help in getting out of this without losing more money.  I am still down $30,000 plus.

Being an older woman, I want to warn other people in Los Altos.  There are a lot of good investment companies and banks in the area.  Avoid this woman.     

    

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Los Altos Branch at Los Altos, CA
7 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

CITIBANK - DECEIVING PROMOTIONS!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by travels, Jan. 13, 2014

This is to rate the Burlington branch for the past three years I have dealt with them.  Top notch environment (clean) in every branch I have been to (Burlington, Lexington, & Boston/Boylston MA).  The staff can be hit or miss.  The new branch manager at Burlington is a joke.  Yeman just likes his title but does nothing. Liked John Rudy much better.  I am writing because of their tricks to get you to open an account because you never actually get the promotion featured.  As a business customer, one example, I was supposed to get a free ipad if they were not able to beat my current transaction rates (cc processor) and after many visits and everyone passing off the buck, I never got it.  I'm not one to keep haggling them after 6 attempts to get an answer.  The bank blamed it on FirstData who was suppose to honor it.  WTF, if a promotion is done together, BOTH get the blame.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Lexington Branch at Lexington, MA
5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

SHAME ON CITI BANK
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by nasrin, Jan. 11, 2014

if there was 0 I would rate them zero or even minus. New employee that do not know their job and the manger tony Perez that is a jerk . Citi Bank has to be ashamed to have such a rude, sick psycho as manager.
They had a promotion for 250$ for a new account if you pay 2 pill and 2 direct deposit in 2 months.
I opened the account and fulfilled all the requirement but they didn't deposit the money to my account. when I personally went to the bank and spoke to Tony the manager he pretend that doesn't know anything about the promotion and said there is nothing in their system about it.
He said that will investigate and call me back. He never called me back and after at least 5 messages that I left for him and no respond. I went back to the bank and showed him the flayer. he said will submit for investigation and call me.
of course no phone call from the absolute jerk and lair. I called again and he said still waiting for investigation.
Called the member service since I figured I am not getting anywhere with this guy.
spoke to someone that apologized for all trouble caused and said he will make sure 250$ to be deposite in my account next day and he will call me to make sure I received it.
GUESS WHAT!!!
He didn't call and no money in my account. called back spoke with another manager who said I do not qualify for that promotion. after 5 months and many calls and visit to the branch at the end they told me I do not qualify and do not give me any reason for that.
I am planning to sue CITI BANK for that and IF any of you that reading this review had same problem please post it.I want everybody knows how cheap this bank is and they do not give you what was promised at first.
SHAME ON YOU CITI BANK. YOU HAVE TO BE ASHAME OF YOURSELF.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Tustin Ranch Branch at Tustin, CA
8 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by thedoctor 2014-01-15 17:48:15
I've been with citi bank at 1 bway for 20 years and have yet to have a bad experience. I am so sorry to hear this. I deal with one rep there and he's be on target every time. I agree they need to respond much quicker with calls. I always email and get a much quicker response.
All the best...
MD
Fucin Racist @ 79 5th Avenue....... White Elite please apply
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by hanger555, Dec. 04, 2013

Got into a shouting match with the branch manager (Craig).  Dude said every word except for the N word. Come back the next day to file a complain he sends his even ruder assistant branch manager (Bahrija Perazic)  I HATE Citibank, I really hope they close that branch down.  FUCIN RACIST @ 79 5th avenue (Union Square Area)

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Madison & 79th Street at New York, NY
6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

#79 5th Ave & 16th Street = WORSE citi branch in NYC
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by citiuser, Nov. 13, 2013

This is the worse Citi branch in NYC

Summarizing:

Ever since this branch relocated from, 5th Ave & 13th Street, to 5th Ave & 16th Street, service is less then desirable to say the least! I certainly avoid going into this branch as much as possible for the following reasoning!

1- Staff is extremely inefficient by any NY standards.

2- Staff is untrained or perhaps unwilling to solve even the simplest clients' requests and manager "Craig Fisher", is not any better...

3- In general be prepared to deal with a rude employe who comes across as he/she is doing you a "big favor" to listen to you and service your account...

I do not understand how Citi headquarters allows a citi branch to operate in such different manners then their other branches... even worse, how do they keep this staff in place... clearly other customers have complained before... I sure have several times... to date at least 3 times!

Avoid this branch other citi branches are better to do business with!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Citibank, Fifth Avenue Branch at New York, NY
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 5

Banks Nearby

Capital One, Nyc 56th And Broadway Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1745 Broadway
New York, NY 10019
Wells Fargo Bank, Broadway & 56th Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1755 Broadway Avenue
New York, NY 10019
TD Bank, 57th & Broadway Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
224 West 57th Street
New York, NY 10019
Bank of America, 57th And Broadway Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
254 W 57th St
New York, NY 10107
HSBC Bank USA, 57th Street Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
252 West 57th Street
New York, NY 10107

More