BMO Harris Bank, Review

BMO Harris Bank, Review

Average rating based on 98 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
28
4 star:
8
3 star:
3
2 star:
2
1 star:
57
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 5
Avoid for investment or trust banking!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by UWstarAlum, May. 04, 2016

This bank touts itself as being wealth management experts and providing account analysis and advisement to help clients meet their financial goals. In fact, at the Seattle branch, the opposite occurs; no analysis or advising is provided, investment accounts are managed very passively without any adjustment to follow market trends, and customers' stated financial needs and goals are ignored. One only finds this out after years of lackluster performance, with the investment dept. director unable to respond to concerns, year after year. They do not track individual accounts on even an annual basis, so they have no idea what's going on in each account!  There is no oversight of the investment dept., nor any accountability to higher-ups. The trust management specialists are poorly informed about trust law (including those who are trust lawyers!), and commit errors and illegalities due to ignorance. The trust staff seem to chronically be functioning in an emergency, panic mode, struggling to keep up with workloads and the steady exodus of dissatisfied clients. This was the situation when the Seattle branch was a small, local bank, and deteriorated after being acquired by the Harris, then BMO. Just when you think it can't get any worse, it does.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Seattle Branch at Seattle, WA
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Disrespected
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by skauth, Aug. 05, 2016

I have had a savings account at BMO for a majority of my life, starting as a young child and on into my adult life now. Every visit to BMO was a pleasant experience and I have never really had a problem. If their was a problem it usually was resolved immediately by the friendly staff at BMO. I opened a checking account at BMO a little over a year ago, before I left for college because I knew that this bank was a reliable, convenient, and friendly place to bank. The staff at the Minocqua Wisconsin BMO started a new checking and savings account for me that was meant for students, so I wouldn't need any minimum balance for these accounts and I wouldn't have to pay any extra service fees. Just this past week I noticed that BMO was charging me a $5 service fee for the past three months. I immediately went to my local bank to figure out what this fee was for. A banker was not available at the time so I left my name and number. They said a banker would contact me later that day. No call. Three days later a banker finally called me. I explained to her my issue and how when I opened this account I was told that I wouldn't need any minimum balance and wouldn't be charged any extra fees. She stated "I don't believe that at all", "There is no way that anyone would have told you that", and other statements like so. She showed me no respect and treated me like a child.  I do no appreciate this type of treatment from a place that claims to be very professional and friendly to their clients. I felt as though this banker did not care at all for my concerns. She was extremely rude and disrespectful. I will no longer be doing business at this bank due to this unpleasant experience and other past incidents that I have experienced recently.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Woodruff Branch at Woodruff, WI
12 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Cleopatra 2016-09-09 14:37:59
I signed on a month ago with my elderly father to handle his affairs.  I told them I knew nothing, needed checks, change of address, debit card and online access.
Today 9-9-16 I am still trying to monitor his account.  Who gives you online access and you cannot view your account.  Who changes personal information knowing(because you were told) the client has no checks, no debit card only to not receive anything the first month and go back being told you had to ask for it.  Going on 60 days, cannot pay bills without withdrawing cash. Can't close savings because aft have to be transferred. Called and asked if I needed to ask for a debit card, was told yes.  Went back this month after not receiving checks, to find, they had not been ordered.
People look at you when you admit you are operating blind and need information. Just to be ignored. My father is 93 years old. Need I say more.
by DennisMyrick 2016-12-13 17:28:46
I have been banking with Harris Bank since 2010. I have always had outstanding service with the bank in Kokomo Indiana.  I give Harris Bank a 5 star rating in my town.
Megan Allen universal banker
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by OMalley, Jun. 21, 2016

I would like to say thank you for the incredible, top notch customer service Megan Allen has provided to my dad and I both times we visited BMO.  She was knowledgeable, helpful, patient, kind and fun.  Megan was the total package and made our banking easy.  My dad is 92 and hard of hearing and Megan was so kind and friendly with him.  She laughed at all of his jokes and made him feel important.  You are very lucky to have Megan on your staff.  She is the total package!!!  Thank you!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, The Hill Branch at Saint Louis, MO
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A good choice for new bank account
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by heidousl, Jun. 10, 2016

I have used BOA and CHASE for a few years, their branch are always a horrible waiting que. Last year I passed by the this bank and their staff is very nice and the branch looks new and spacious. Their customer service is also very responsive.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Pilsen Branch at Chicago, IL
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

excellent bank with very friendly service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DOCTORSID, Jun. 01, 2016

I have had numerous banks due to buy outs Barnet Bank,Huntington Bank, Waucovia, Wells Fargo. Of all of them this bank gives the best service. Anthony and Louis at Tampa are very friendly and treat you more like a friend than just a customer. I recommend this bank highly. Other banks I've had LLoyds London, Citibank Chicago, American Bank Chicago, Elgin National, Cardunal Savings and Loan,Elgin Dundee Il., Sun Trust Tampa

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Tampa Branch at Tampa, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Sam
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RVsam, Dec. 03, 2015

I have only been a customer of this bank for a year and as such have very little use for the facility itself. I do 90% of my banking online. However, recently I had to go in to get a large amount of cash and the teller whom I dealt with at was Connie Todd. She was the most unpleasant and arrogant person I have ever experienced in any bank in my 50 years of banking. Snooty, unfriendly, officious and absolutely quietly RUDE. She needs to be given either a bottle of Happy Pills or the Boot - one or the other. She should take a long look at herself in a mirror someday!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Bonita Beach Road Office at Bonita Springs, FL
9 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

No care for the customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Istok, Oct. 21, 2015

This bank just now let through a scam with a fake bank draft. They must know it was a scam since we explained to them the whole story, but they didn't say a word, no warning and we fell into the trap, wiring back the money to the scammer. A loss of $61K. And thee still claim that they exercised due diligence! Beware: they don't care.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great personal service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ScottR50, Aug. 17, 2015

I have never had a bad experience with this location and have been banking here for years. They know us by name and treat us a s family

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Coon Rapids Office at Minneapolis, MN
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Outstanding
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Grubby, Jul. 03, 2015

This bank in Green Valley, AZ is so friendly and helpful.  As soon as I walk in I am personally greeted by name.  Everyone is great!  I will never change banks.  I give them two thumbs up!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Green Valley Branch at Green Valley, AZ
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Happy Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by CudahyCustomer, Jun. 12, 2015

I became a BMO Harris customer 3 years ago when I moved to Wisconsin. The folks here have helped me in numerous ways. They helped me incorporate my business, filing paperwork with the state, etc. They showed me how to merge my business and personal online accounts to a single logon. They also helped me with financial planning. And then when it came time for me to buy my house, they came through with a great interest rate and kept on top of everything that needed to be done for closing. The staff actually knows me by name, even though I don't go to the bank often. I feel good each time I walk through the doors. Very friendly, very professional.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Cudahy Office at Cudahy, WI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

BMO Harris Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by lisashaffer, Feb. 19, 2015

Being a disabled person, I found the whole staff very accomodating. They greet me by name and are always pleasant when I have a question relating to my checking account and other banking issues. I wish I were treated this well at every retail venue I visit!
L.Shaffer
Chicago, IL

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Harris Chicago - Logan Square Branch at Chicago, IL
3 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Happy client
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by iareapilot, Jan. 11, 2015

I have been banking with this location for 30 years and find the current staff to professional and helpful. I would recommend them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Beaver Dam Branch at Beaver Dam, WI
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very Satisfied Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Skyvista, Dec. 30, 2014

We are very pleased with the staff and professional banking services provided by this location BMO Harris Bank. BMO has improve the quality of service well beyond Richfield Bank and Trust and ME&I. We have bank at this location since 1978. We would not think of banking elsewhere.

J.M.Overton

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Bloomington Office at Minneapolis, MN
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

unprofesinal
Overall Rating
by unknownloyalwi, Dec. 26, 2014

i understand its a small town but that's still not a reason to be unprofessional and tell a parent something there adult daughter needs to know about her money and not call back when you say you are so over all unprofessional

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Loyal Branch at Loyal, WI
3 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Worst Bank Ever
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NotHappy7895216, Nov. 24, 2014

I now keep almost nothing in my account due to the incompetent banking at this bank.  They messed up my account in July and it is now almost December and it is still not corrected.  This was done by a Personal banker and not a teller so you would think they would know how to create an auto payment. Also, the Main Branch ATM has not worked since BMO Harris bought out M and I bank.  does anyone at this bank look at their feedback and correct their issues.  It looks like they just ignore the feedback.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Phoenix Camelback Branch at Phoenix, AZ
13 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

not happy
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by hatewaiting, Nov. 08, 2014

Every time I go to this bank in Eagle River Wi I wait and wait and wait, why only 1 window teller??? I don't get it. May get rid of this bank all together.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Eagle River at Eagle River, WI
3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

BMO
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bggbear, Oct. 08, 2014

No Review

* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Murdock Branch at Port Charlotte, FL
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Captaingordo 2014-12-06 15:14:19
I had a wonderful experience opening an account and getting a safe dep box at the Hudson Wi branch!!   Nothing could of been better!!!  Very friendly, competent and professional bankers!!   Gordon
Rude supervisor!
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bggbear, Oct. 08, 2014

I visited the Bonita Springs, FL branch (25 mi from home) to get a cashiers check to send to my daughter in AZ to help with wedding plans. I wanted to write a check but was told "No, we'll just pull the funds from your account plus the ten dollar fee." I received a check and stub but no receipt for the trans action, which I asked for. The teller told me that she couldn't produce an official one so she hand wrote the receipt. I didn't get a warm, fuzzy so I accessed my accounts online via iphone and sure enough no funds were taken from my account. I went back in and this time was met by a supervisor that assured me that all was ok and the machine will not produce a receipt. I told her that I wanted a record of the transaction, so she asked for the ck back and did it all again, producing another ck, still no receipt. Well, all in all she gave me four checks and took back three, and then told me that there wasn't enough in the account to cover it but I had social security deposits that morning. If that was true, then she was giving me cashiers checks that were worthless. Amid my frustration I asked her to get someone smarter than she was to get me a receipt and she said that no receipt was available and now was totally annoyed with me. Finally, she called another branch and a genius explained how to produce a receipt for a transaction, which I left with. I should add that I am a recent transplant from IL and for twenty tears never had a problem or an idiot supervisor like I had today. Stay away from BMO Harris, Bonita Springs!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Murdock Branch at Port Charlotte, FL
6 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer Service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by JimfromAz, Oct. 04, 2014

Harris Bank Manager:

Stopped in your BMO Harris facility at 80 S. Weber Road, Romeoville yesterday 10/3/14 around 2:30 to see if I could get 2 – two dollars bills for my grand-daughters. The teller greeted me and said she had two and then asked if I had an account, which I answered no. She then indicated she couldn’t make that transaction as I wasn’t a customer. At first I thought how rude! Maybe my next question would have been I would also like to open an account or see about a loan. But I thought if you don’t want to serve this simple request how would you serve me if I was a customer? So don’t worry I will NEVER go to a Harris banking facility the rest of my life and I will also educate my children and grand-children and whoever else will listen as to why they should not bank with BMO Harris.
No need to reply as any future business with your facility and BMO Harris will NEVER happen. But you may want to look at your practices for other potential customers who may over look your current policies.

PS: Drove down a mile to Chase banking facility who my son has an account with and they were more than happy to accommodate me. Looks like if I ever need any future banking needs Chase will get my business.

Sincerely,



* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Weber Road Branch at Romeoville, IL
5 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Success123 2015-06-24 13:12:38
Hence... you went to an account w/an established relationship.  Hmmm.
BMO: Breathe of fresh air
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bartdoard, Sep. 14, 2014

I have primarily used credit unions since late 80s.  In the past few yrs, my credit union downsized and service also did.  After a receiving a strongly worded letter about my mortgage payment(lost in mail...but they also didn't get statement to me at least 10 days before due...and I'd never been late and previous CU personnel would have called me to tell me that 'it must be lost cuz we know you'r always on time & have a long excellent history with us'), I decided to shop for new bank.  A friend pointed me to BMO.  BMO rolled out the red carpet and have provided courteous knowledgeable service to me from a number of branch managers as well as their personal wealth mgmt staff.  They are most receptive to building a relationship with me, and I feel that they are taking care of my needs.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, Glencroft Branch at Glendale, AZ
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Biggest spiders near atm
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by gvwjwhite, Sep. 10, 2014

The only reason why I bank at Bmo is because I am disabled and it's the closest Bank in walking distance.  The hours are very inconvenient (no Saturday lobby hours and drive through closes at 5:30). As a result I utilize the ATM machine (located right outside the branch) to conduct many of my banking needs.   I haven't been to the ATM for a 3 months and when I did tonight I couldn't help noticing this ATM has turned into a spider breeding farm. Spiders normally don't creep me out but it was quite obvious this ATM is not the maintenance guy/gal's friend.  By the size of some (diameter of a dime), the quantity of spiders and number of egg sacks on the machine, the site was truly a scene out of Arachnophobia.  Well, now that I can hardly bank both inside and outside,  I guess I am done with BMO.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BMO Harris Bank, La Crosse - Rose Branch at La Crosse, WI
6 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 5

Banks Nearby

JPMorgan Chase Bank, Trumbull-Porter Branch (0.3 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1450 Trumbull Avenue
Detroit, MI 48216
Comerica Bank, Comerica Bank Center (Cbc) (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
411 West Lafayette Blvd
Detroit, MI 48226
Level One Bank, Detroit Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1420 Washington Blvd
Detroit, MI 48226
Talmer Bank and Trust, Detroit (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
Penobscot Building, 645 Griswold Street, Suite 70
Detroit, MI 48226
Comerica Bank, Fort - Washington Branch (0.5 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
201 West Fort St.
Detroit, MI 48226

More