Bank of the West, Review

Bank of the West, Review

Average rating based on 38 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
13
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
3
1 star:
20
| Next >     page 1 of 4
The Worst Experience I've Had At A Bank
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by ColoradoMom, Jun. 21, 2014

While the staff is friendly at this branch, I had a terrible experience with my safety deposit box.  I had checked my box out and was in a privacy room when the door swung open without any warning, and the security guard and a plumber stood there gaping while the contents of my box were spread out all over.  The guard said, "Oh, someone is in here."  No knock, no apology.  I closed my box shortly after that, although I had several months paid up on my lease.  Very unprofessional.  Later I closed my account.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Aurora Town Center at Aurora, CO
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

OPENED A NEW ACCOUNT
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SpokenWord, Apr. 19, 2014

I'm a new resident in the Carson City area,
recently I opened a new checking account with
Bank of the west on Carson St. The staff were
all friendly & very professional. The bank sales
manager Matthew Wood was extremely accommodating
in expediting my requirements. Visit this branch, I can recommend
them to anyone seeking a great bank to associate with.
Their service is definitely outstanding.
Sincerely
Robert Vincent K.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Carson City Branch at Carson City, NV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

highway robber
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Dan222, Apr. 16, 2014

This bank charged me $6 to cash their check for $70. All of the other banks do not charge anything for cashing check for under $100 and if it is over $100 the charge is at most $5. From now on i will charge $6 more for anyone that banks at the bank of the west! There should be a law against banks to charge so much to cash their check!

* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Fruita Branch at Fruita, CO
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by SpokenWord 2014-04-19 04:51:12
What a bank charges for a service is their prerogative,
What you choose to do about it is yours.
If you didn't like their terms you were
under no obligation to cash your check there
Ken, Cathedral City, CA
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by desertken, Feb. 28, 2014

Sent in a deposit requesting some bank by mail envelopes be returned to me.  They arrived this morning, about 20 of them which should last 5 years.  This item was mailed with insufficient postage, I had to pay the mailman .63 just to get the mail. What is wrong with this bank?  Don't they have a postage meter and a scale or even a book to look up the pricing for postage.  Two USA forever stamps does not mean the bank has covered the postage. Half of the self addressed envelopes would have been more than enough. How do I get my .63 cents back?

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Oakland Main Branch at Oakland, CA
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by SpokenWord 2014-04-19 04:58:43
I'm certain if you were to visit your Bank of the West location and speak to the manager about your experience,
they would most likely apologize for your inconvenience and politely refund you for the postage.
by ByebyeBOW 2014-05-12 12:13:52
Wow!  No one could have told me that a banking relationship that began in the 80s and has been so sweet could POSSIBLY go so stinkingly foul and sour.  I am speaking of the PENN PLAZA BRANCH, where Katie John is steering the wheel.  If I go to Macy's and use my debit, they attach ATM charges.  If I put gas in my tank, ATM charges.  If I eat at Olive Garden, ATM charges.  I paid extra to have a check deposited via 24 hrs.  They recv'd it Sat morn.  I had to CALL them today (Mon.) To have them find and process it, leaving me w/2.08 in available funds.  Wow!
Everything except
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Mine, Feb. 22, 2014

I have been to Bank of the West for Many times now. But this is the first time I've ever received the most worst customer service in my entire life with Bank of the West especially in Oroville. Most of the time, I recieve good service and they would alway count the money out before handing out to you. But this time it was not like that. As I walked up the the accountant (she just been hired recently about 5 months almost half a year now.) I was there to deposit money in my parents account and make change for my parents. Usually I recieve service and have never been refused because as long as we have an account with them. They never ask question.  I told the lady which I believe that her name is daneil or whatever I can careless, but I told her that I wanted to DEPOSIT money in my parents account and make change for them as well. She ask me if I bank with them and I told her no but my parents does since I'm doing this for my parents sake because they are old and can barely walk down the street. She refused my service my service.  I can understand that I don't bank with them that why I can't recieve change but come on this was for my parents and it was only for a change of 5s for a damn 50. Yes, I understand the whole title saying that I could have been lying but come on I usually come there and make change even if I told others accountant the same thing and they would have given me a better service without refusing me and they would have tried to convince me to bank with them. This lady just straight up said "this will be that frist and last I will do this for you." And she try to play it off cool without an attitude and chuckle afterwards while her other coworker just looked at her quite weird. SHE GRAB A FEW FIVES AND JUST HANDED TO ME AND TOLD ME TO COUNT IT MYSELF.  Wow. Good job Bank of the west. YOU MADE A REAL DAMN EFFORT Hiring and damn lazy person.  JUST SO YOU KNOW. I HAVE BANKED WITH EVERY BANK IN OROVILLE ( I also use to bank with bank of the west. Name all the banks you can in oroville I've been there) by far this is the second worst place to bank with if you have that accountant helping you the rest of the staff are nice. All I can say is thank goodness I bank with Wells Fargo and they do an amazing job. By far the best bank in oroville as well. This is my opinion.  Hopefully you all don't experience this like I do.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Oroville Branch at Oroville, CA
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by SpokenWord 2014-04-19 05:24:14
There is no excuse for rude manners or poor customer service,
unfortunately this happens from time to time in any business.
Coincidentally I have personally experienced a similar occasion at a Wells Fargo,
however my response was to immediately speak with the branch manager about
my treatment and it was resolved to my satisfaction.
If this should ever happen to you again anywhere, communicate your dissatisfaction with a supervisor.
Don't allow the actions of one bad employee undermine
you're confidence of an entire organization.
by Abanker 2014-06-18 14:40:39
Poor service is nevera acceptable.  However you have to understand that if you are not a "signer" on an account you then have no authority to do anything with that account.  It doesn't make any difference if you are related to the account owners or not.  This is not a bank policy but dictated by the Federal government through privacy laws.  All banks must follow these laws.  I suggest you work with your parents to have you added as a signer on their account.  It will make it much easier for you to help them with their finances.  If they don't want to do that then there is a reason why they done't want to give you access to their account.  That is there call.
Top Notch Customer Service due to Neicy!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by iceburg, Jan. 14, 2014

Neicy Melton went above and beyond the call of duty when I had problem with a business account. I had personally gone into Bank of the West to close the account in November 2013 and then began receiving late notices and getting fee assessments on the account. I went in to the branch at Stapleton and Neicy greeted me. She immediately realized the account was not accessible to her and called the home office. She was very friendly and I could tell she was very pleased to be able to help me clear up the problem with an account that should already have been closed. Long story short- she verified that the account should have been closed in November and had the main office get that account shut down set the account balance end back to $0 - wiping out the fees entirely. It felt wonderful to have someone that I could tell truly cared to get the issue resolved for me. She is a true asset to Bank of the West's team and because of her I'll continue to be a loyal Bank of the West patron. Thank you, Neicy!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Stapleton at Denver, CO
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

banking local
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Paulaloal29, Oct. 15, 2013

This is the best bank I have ever used. Very friendly staff. Clean office. I have had several accounts and multiple accounts with other banks nation wide and I am privileged to have such great quality service right around the corner from me. When I joined this bank I was also using US Bank and Desert Credit Union. After several years of great, friendly service I closed ALL my other banking accounts and am exclusive to Bank of The West in Black Canyon City!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Black Canyon City Branch at Black Canyon City, AZ
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Need people at drive up
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by BigRalph, Sep. 27, 2013

Drive up is terrible, cant tell which lanes are open, need new signs and service is very slow.  Ok bank other than that

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, La Cueva Branch at Albuquerque, NM
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by travsav13 2013-10-26 14:09:55
heres a thought-- when you pull into the drive way look up- if it is a red light its=closed or if its a green light then its safe to say it is =open.
Extremely Rude Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DAPDAP, Sep. 04, 2013

Very poor customer service.  Staff is extremely rude regardless of when you visit.  It is very clear that they do not need or appreciate your business.  I am moving my personal and business accounts to Midfirst where they understand  customer service and how to treat a customer.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Edmond Branch at Edmond, OK
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by mysterious 2013-10-27 00:48:53
the manager Ira is so RUDE! he seems so Uptight like something is missing in his life. I personally think he brings his problems from home and lets it dwell at work and it shows on his face all the time.  they made a Big mistake in letting go some of their Best workers! I loved going there when Dennette White was the Customer Service Manager. she did a lot, not just for me but other people too.
there is only still one person left there Azeb, whom I adore and love seeing everytime i go in. there was a islander girl so pretty, she knew how to count money like a cash counter and was always quick with her transactions. The supervisor now is pretty good too, hope he doesnt leave.
by whitedog 2013-11-03 13:26:19
This bank acts and deals like a car dealership. Need I say anymore. Do not believe what they tell you. Make sure you read all your paperwork. Save your time and money (especially your money) and go elsewhere. Use at your own risk. You have been warned.
Upset Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by my2cents, Aug. 31, 2013

I have been a customer at the Brunswick Branch for the past eight years.  All was fine until I became ill & ran into major medical expenses.  None of the managers at the branch were sympathetic to my situation, in fact they were quite the opposite & very condescending.  The manager there (Cheryl) is especially rude.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Grass Valley Branch at Grass Valley, CA
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 4
JPMorgan Chase Bank, Vine And Matheson Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1107 Vine Street
Healdsburg, CA 95448
Westamerica Bank, Healdsburg Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
511 Healdsburg Avenue
Healdsburg, CA 95448
Bank of America, Windsor Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
9022 Brooks Road South
Windsor, CA 95492
Wells Fargo Bank, Windsor Branch
Full Service Retail Office
8852 Lakewood Drive
Windsor, CA 95492
Exchange Bank, Healdsburg Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
1031 Vine Street
Healdsburg, CA 95448
Umpqua Bank, Healdsburg Branch
Full Service Retail Office
1115 Vine Street
Healdsburg, CA 95448

View All