Bank of the West, Review

Bank of the West, Review

Average rating based on 61 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
27
4 star:
1
3 star:
2
2 star:
4
1 star:
27
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 4
GREAT CHOICE
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by loycer, Oct. 27, 2017

Great experience with the friendly, knowledgeable staff, highly recommended

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Auburn Branch at Auburn, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unhappy customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Irishfig, Oct. 19, 2017

I am not one to post about poor Biz but in this case I am.
My GrandDaughter opened her 1st bank account with $655.16 from 2 paychecks from Starbucks. She was given counter checks, she wrote a check for $100.00 as a payment on her new phone. Eight days later we get a NSF notice in the mail along with being charged a $35.00 fee. I was furious and they tried to justify it. I asked why then do you give counter checks, they said it was policy to hold funds that long.  
I said then why didn't you send a letter stating they were being held instead of bouncing it and sending a notice as if she wrote a check on an empty account.
We can't retrieve her funds to close the account until 10 business days.
I went to another bank, they said she'd have $200. of her funds available immediately and she'd be given a temp ATM card.
The asst. manager at the branch continued to not provide satisfactory customer service.
Poor poor customer service, over talking the upset customer, justification and not willing to rectify it immediately.
I have been in business for many years

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Tualatin Branch at Tualatin, OR
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mrs. Quinton Smith
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ibgolfer, Sep. 08, 2017

Watch out! Don't use recommendations on safe and secure securities. All about collecting a commission and when you close the account they charge you another $100.00
Watch out!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, The Dalles Branch at The Dalles, OR
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by tamaram22, May. 11, 2017

Wesley went above and beyond to help me with an issue I had with my account caused by a Third party!  I can't thank him enough!  AMAZING Customer service always from this Branch whenever I call!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Saratoga Branch at Saratoga, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Customer Service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by LoisSowa, Dec. 10, 2016

The customer service at this branch is EXCELLENT!  I recently had a very difficult transfer and I had the pleasure of working with Javier Del Toro.  Mr. Del Toro kept me updated as he had to do much consultation and his customer service was outstanding.  I also spoke with Brian, the branch manager and he was wonderful as well.  I recommend this bank, very professional and well run.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Anaheim Hills Branch at Anaheim, CA
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Love the Covina Ca branch!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by njgarza2001, Dec. 06, 2016

I deposited a personal check through a ATM other than my branch and the check was placed on hold. unfortunetly for me I needed those funds to pay a bill. I made a call to my branch in Covina and they simply heard me out and lifted the hold, just like that! I really appreciate how kindly Traci spoke to me and how easy the problem was resolved.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Covina Branch at Covina, CA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Central and San Mateo office Great
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Abqmiss, Sep. 24, 2016

Perfect perfect. Great service. Very professional and friendly. Wonderful Management.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, East Central Branch at Albuquerque, NM
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Hours
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MS01151970, Sep. 21, 2016

Your hours of business are very inconvenient.  What happened to the "bankers hours" 9-6 mentality?  I can't even go inside on a Saturday morning to conduct business. I work until 5pm Mon-Fri, so getting to the bank during the work week isn't happening either since your drive-thru and inside closes at 5pm.  It's frustrating and I am thinking about switching banks due to the inconvenience.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Derby Branch at Derby, KS
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

DXP HYDRAULIC HOSE SHOP TECH
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JimC24, Sep. 20, 2016

Just wanted to make sure that the management at this bank knows they have a great team of people.  I always get great service and friendly  smiles!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, 96th & L Branch at Omaha, NE
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ownere bookkeeper
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by concerned1, Aug. 19, 2016

Ive been with this bank for many years.  So far they have had their issues but no problem.  The employees were always very nice and helpful.  Lately in this Nampa Branch I don't even want to go in anymore or when I go in I hope I get one of the older people.  Suddenly there have been a large turnover of employees.  The new ones are not personable, sometimes rude and matter of factly.  I miss the nicer people and am thinking seriously of changing banks as this is the only one in the area.  I have tried to make conversation but the one lady is very stoic and the other wouldn't let me do a transaction Ive done forever was not polite about it and matter of factly changed the deposit, said nope cant do it.  geez rude

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Nampa Branch at Nampa, ID
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ripped Off For Mortage Ap, It Was Fraud by BofW
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by cashrichkid, Jun. 20, 2016

Was told I could get a Refi from the lone Tree Branch if I deposited up to 250K into a Interest Account as my income was down but they had a new High Net Worth program. They took my money from a CD I had to pay a penalty for and then Immediatey denied the loan. After paying the $300 Appraisal, a penalty of $1500 and then they denied the loan? Of course none of this was noticed by their High Net Worth Staff but just ignored. They had my money and I was stuck. No Refi, Fees and Penalties accessed to me. Very Poor Staff and could not understand why this was a big deal.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Lone Tree Branch at Lone Tree, CO
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible Customer Service
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by GloSpa, Jan. 25, 2016

I work for a local small business here in Cheyenne, WY. In September 2015 my predecessor started the process of setting up direct deposit for our employees. My predecessor left the beginning of October. After numerous emails to the lady who was suppose to be assisting in the matter I was referred to the Branch Manager who said she was personally going to follow this through. The last week of December 2015 the Branch Manager called me to state that she was going on a mandatory vacation and she would call me again on January 11, 2016 to set up a time for me to come into the bank and FINALLY get this all taken care of. As of today, January 25, 2016, I have still not heard back regarding and give up. This is a perfect example of the customer service Bank of the West offers their customers and I would not refer ANYONE to them for their business OR personal needs.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Cheyenne North Branch at Cheyenne, WY
3 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Excellent
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by johng16, Dec. 05, 2015

What can I say Phenominal Service. Great Staff. Love them ALL.... they use names they remember everybody they give great service from the teller side to the desk areas I have used every one of them perfect branch to go to highly recommend

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, East Central Branch at Albuquerque, NM
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by NnnyJean, Sep. 23, 2015

Moved to the area 3 years ago. Every time we need to visit the branch we are met with excellent service. They remembered our names after the second visit.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Carson City Branch at Carson City, NV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Arrogant, inconsiderate and self sufficient branch manager!
Overall Rating
by Sabrina23, May. 13, 2015

I am a Bank of the West customer for a long time now. I never had an issue until last week when I went to make a name change on my account, I was faced with the most uncooperative Branch Manager ever!!
I had all the evidence for my name change but she kept asking for more papers which I provided afterwards. Unfortunately, she was still finding other absurd excuses to make the matter impossible!! She even refused to use my full last name under the pretext that in the US we don't allow a composed last name?!?!? She mentioned something related to a law here in the US! I asked her to show me a written close for this purpose, she said she will not show me anything as she is the highest power in that branch and she can do whatever pleases her...
I left the branch without changing my name, and she even encouraged me to close my account...
I am so disappointed with this customer service...

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Fruitvale Station Branch at Oakland, CA
16 of 19 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by JstOLiver733 2015-09-07 10:36:06
The Branch Manager should be  corrected by the Bank President for poor representation of the Bank as a whole. One Manager does not make the reputation for the establishment,but can ruin it for the banks good reputation. I suggest you go above his head and report the manager, I hate arrogance when we are the customer and for someone who has banked there for more than 5 yrs. You are due respect; even if you were only there for 1 week.
la cueva office the best
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by abq1234, Apr. 16, 2015

the most excellent branch very impaccable great customer service great manager Teresa and Angela is great behind the teller line

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, La Cueva Branch at Albuquerque, NM
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

mrs.patty wisel
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by pattya0618, Mar. 02, 2015

They are a friendly bank and know their customers by name.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Enid Branch at Enid, OK
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bank of the West, Southwest Plaza, Littleton, CO
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by COCustomer, Nov. 07, 2014

I have to give the Southwest Plaza branch TOP marks for friendliness, courtesy, professionalism, and great customer service! They have been so professional, during the debit card chaos with Target (needing a new card) and even with verifying funds so I could expedite a Capital One card payment for an emergency airplane ticket purchase! My parents visit the BOW on West Ken Caryl St. (Littleton, CO) and they are just as amazing and helpful and courteous. I would never switch banks!!! They are very sound financially and their employees are top notch!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Southwest Plaza at Littleton, CO
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Satisfied customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by PaulKersey, Oct. 29, 2014

I bank daily at Las Cruces, NM Bank of West(Church), along with almost every other bank in town, mostly 5 figures .often 6 figures. I am proud to report that Sally at My bank of the West(Church)  is far-and away the best and brightest! Greeting all regular customers by name. Prompt,professional,personable and accurate service! Way to go girl! Sally/Bank of the West have customer service figured out!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Las Cruces Branch at Las Cruces, NM
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

So Sad..my old bank is gone
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by toolittletoolate, Sep. 27, 2014

I am so sad.  When we lost the old staff, Sandra, Brenda, etc., we lost our great neighborhood bank. Went this morning to cash checks, etc., two managers, both busy, two cashiers, one of which disappeared and there was a line and people waiting outside.  Cashier didn't have denominations I needed.  It is Saturday, it is a payday weekend and the bank should have been prepared.   No one knows who we are.  We used to be acknowledged by our first names the minute we walked through the door.  What a shame

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of the West, Southglenn at Littleton, CO
4 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by cjVanJames 2015-12-22 15:22:18
I too am sad to see our financial companies get rid of employee's. Replace employee's, U.S. based, due to expensive benefits (Obamacare) are being replaced with offshore workers-non-U.S. citizens, who talk to us via a computer screen via a kiosk. The offshore Inidan's and others are on a rotating 24/7 shift so they will not know us either. What a joke. Humans are too expensive due to expensive 'benefits' and are being replaced with robots and cheaper non-U.S. citizen workers. This is what happens when U.S. fin. companies move from 'relationship' banking to 'transactional' banking. Customers like us are so much of a bother, and we know it by the way we are treated every day, by a bank.
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 4

Banks Nearby

Merchants Bank, Caledonia Branch (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
115 West Washington Street
Caledonia, MN 55921
ESB Bank, Esb Bank (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
115 North Highway 44/76
Caledonia, MN 55921
ESB Bank, Eitzen Office (7.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
108 Iowa Avenue Branch
Eitzen, MN 55931
Merchants Bank, Spring Grove Branch (8.7 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
126 West Main Street
Spring Grove, MN 55974

More