Bank of America, Review

Bank of America, Review

Average rating based on 197 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
49
4 star:
2
3 star:
5
2 star:
7
1 star:
134
| Next >     page 1 of 20
Attacked verbally
Overall Rating
by Catsal, Mar. 24, 2014

Sunday around noon my husband and I and baby walked to bank
 After hours,went through security door we were followed and this big African
American man went inside after us we were thinking doors shut right after  which they should but don't! Please be careful this man followed us inside and yelled at me I was so scared ... He then left and we shut door with our hands before he came back... I alerted the branch I hope they fix doors ASAP!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of America, Whittwood Center Branch at Whittier, CA
2 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Reallyoldguy 2014-03-29 07:08:11
After reading over 20 pages of reviews, it is obvious that US Bank is not for me.
My wife had had an account with USB and lost nearly $200 over an autopay mistake by USB after she had paid that amount to payoff a medical bill.  When I opened my account with USB, she advised against  doing so but I was leaving a bank with which I had done business for over 15 years (because they were now charging a fee for paper monthly statements while insisting on maintaining a $1000 minimum balance in a non interest paying "free" checking account) to find a bank which did not require a minimum balance nor charged a fee for monthly hard copy statements (electronic statements can so easily be amended after the fact or even lost completely).   My banking needs are so simple (retirement income directly deposited, checks written to pay bills, ATM used for cash withdrawals only and no minimum balance because I'm an old guy).  Well in the past two days I have experienced the frequently cited abysmal customer service.  All I had to do was deposit a tax refund check that was payable to me and my wife.  While I agree that each of us needed to endorse the check and that we needed to put her name on my account so she can access my account without a court order when I die, I don't agree that the amount of misinformation and incomplete information that I received regarding this simple procedure was at all necessary.  Now having read the tremendous number of complaints regarding USB practices, I will be doing two things:  one, closing my account just as soon as I return to work and; two, urging a class action suit against USB (a corporation with assets over ONE TRILLION DOLLARS) not because of attitude but because of actual fraudulent practices including misappropriation of monies, failure to adequately notify/publish various fees, incompetent accounting practices, and possible intrastate/interstate wire fraud.  Additionally, there does seem to be some indication of both racial and ethnic discrimination by USB customer service.  If anyone should read this  reply to the above rating, please consider what I've said.  An enterprising young lawyer or group of lawyers willing to take on a contingency fee lawsuit, could well stand to make a ton of money while people like you and me would have the satisfaction of "getting a little of ours" against such corporate arrogance.  Who knows perhaps some of the highly paid officers might even go to prison.  Thank you for reading this and  I would really love to see that it is still possible for David to chuck a stone at Goliath.
by Catylady 2014-04-16 14:24:14
I think she was afraid for nothing. Sometimes people are courteous  enough to let someone come in also if the door is open. She did not say what he said to her to make her afraid. What she noticed most of all was his skin color or race. That make me think she is white and maybe be a racis.
I think that she should stay in her house because big black men are not going any place just like BIG white men. She should learn to pray like I do when I am afraid of someone or something. That is the only thing that would have protected  her at that time.
latoya is the best manager i have ever met with a bank!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by bakertn34, Mar. 24, 2014

THIS TEAM IS THE BEST OF THE BEST THEY ARE A VERY BUSY BANK MOST DON'T UNDERSTAND BUT THEY ARE FRIENDLY AND HELFUL. THANK YOU THEY HAVE THE BEST MANAGER THEY COULD EVER HAVE! LATOYA KEEP UP THE GREAT JOB!!! THANKS A GAIN :)

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of America, Dickerson Road Branch at Nashville, TN
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

awful customer service, questionable policies
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Ihatebanks, Mar. 19, 2014

I was told that this bank would cash a federal tax return check.
I went in and all seemed fine the check was for 4,718.00. I asked if they could cash a check of this amount if I'm not an actual customer and if so how much would it cost. I was told that they absolutely could and there would be no fee. Sounded good to me they had me put my fingerprint on the check and asked for two forms of ID, I handed them my valid drivers license and my social security card. I was then asked if I had any other ID, I then showed them my expired state ID. They told me that this was not sufficient and that it could be a    debit or credit card w/or w/out pic, A college ID w/pic, a high school ID w/or w/out pic, a passport, a different out of state ID or license, an employee  name tag w/or w/out pic. Okay, so I don't have any of those things! But isn't  my social security card a second form of ID? I was told, no. I could go home  and get my birth certificate?  Sorry no also invalid. I was then told I could open  an account with the forms of ID that I had on hand. So I asked "If I open an  account could I cash this check?" They said yes. So now I'm in a little booth  and apparently this woman has been warned about me because the first thing  she asks is "are you going to close this account after you cash your check  because we don't like to make checking accounts, just for check cashing  services." I'm not exaggerating.  So being the honest person that I am I tell her  that I truly would just like to cash this check but none of my secondary forms  of identification are up to par. We then go through the list again and again I confirm that I do not have any of those I repeat "I have my driver's license,  social security card,  vehicle registration, court documents signed annd sealed by a judge, a birth certificate pay stub so on. She says "sorry none of those are valid.  She then asks "do you have a work badge such as this?" And points to her name tag. A name tag? "A name tag?" I ask. "If I get a name tag with a little sticker from a label-maker that says my name, that will be a valid second form of ID? Above even an actual paycheck stub?" "Yes" was her only reply.
I'm on a mission now so I go to work, explain the situation and my boss is more than happy to issue me a name tag.
I walk back into the bank thinking they can't possibly give me any other excuses not to cash this check. I go up to the first teller and try to cash this check again;  they ask for two forms of ID, I deliver. They say "I'm sorry but we can't cash checks of this amount unless you're a client of the bank."
The lady who told me about the name tag loophole walks up and asks what happened I proceed to tell her that earlier when I asked if they would have a problem cashing a check of this amount for a non-client, I was told there would be no problem.  And that I feel like I'm being treated badly because I don't want a bank account.  She just shrugged a little and said "sorry, this is why you should probably get a bank account."
As soon as I left, I called a different branch and asked, " would you be able to cash a federal tax return check in the amount of 4, 718.00 if I don't bank there or anywhere?  He said "absolutely, that wouldn't be a problem!"

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of America, Broadway/Camino Seco Branch at Tucson, AZ
5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by prc108 2014-03-25 15:06:26
Called to open an account, took 10 min to get to customer service. I guess when you have 1.5 Trillion in assets you don't care. I'll try another bank, but not Citizens, they have an attitude too.
Banking
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by JoAnnT, Mar. 18, 2014

I experienced impeccable service at the Bank Of America branch on E. Outer Dr. and VanDyke. The Branch Manager would always come and greet each customer and would help personally or direct each customer or advise in the matter that brought us in there. That was impressive. The staff would always greet you with a smile, courteous and friendly. I was disheartened to learn the branch on VanDyke would be closing. I sincerely hate to witness such heartwarming and professional care thats given, be gone. The staff at the VanDyke location will be missed greatly. I wish everyone the "Best" and I hope that each will get in return outstanding, impeccable service they gave to the community they served.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of America, Van Dyke/Outer Drive Branch at Detroit, MI
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

No wonder everyone hates this bank.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by SatisfiedcustomerNOT, Mar. 16, 2014

Opened a checking, savings, and home equity account years ago.  The savings was changed to a checking account without my permission.  We had no overdraft charges and made small deposits on a regular basis only to have a 25 dollar maintenance charge deducted every month which kind of defeats the purpose of trying to save.

Terrible wait times for phone support, 20 minutes, crappy customer service.   

We are closing all of our accounts and sincerely hope that BOA is the next big bank to go under.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of America, Charlottesville Branch at Charlottesville, VA
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Believe It!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by elusiveone, Mar. 05, 2014

I was referred to customer service after being unable to reach the local branch in an attempt to get my account number.  Provided my name, address,  SS #, and last 4 digits of my account number,   I was told by rep (Tina) that she could not provide the entire account number because I did not answer enough security questions.  This bank needs to be revamped.  It has the rating it deserves.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of America, Freshfields Village Branch at Johns Island, SC
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by madintexas 2014-03-09 22:51:54
I am so sick and tired of the way that I am treated at this bank.  We have been clients for almost 40 years, and still every time, I go, I am asked for I.D. or an account number.  When I am in the drive through line, it is always at least 30 to 45 minutes, just to get to the window.  Then I am treated as if I am some type of stranger.  It takes them at least 30 minutes to cash a $37.00 check from my daughter.  On Friday afternoon and Saturday there is only ONE window open, when WE would think that is a peak time for service.  I am very seriously thinking that this place needs a review or some new supervision.  If our small town had another bank,  I WOULD BE THERE in a heart beat.  I don't like the service, and most of the people in this town are feeing the same way.
$5.00 bucks after 20 plus years as a customer
Overall Rating
by stepmiracles, Mar. 03, 2014

I have been a customer of Bank of America since 1993.  I use their debit card.  On the back of the care are 3 numbers that are often required when you order anything online.  I use my card for almost everything.  So, as I used the card, the number faded.  I asked for a new one and was told the cost would be $5.  Now I didn't lose the card, it wore out.  I said "You have to be kidding me".  Of course they replied, all by email, nope.  It takes a lot of effort to change banks.  Over the next few weeks I'll get it done.  Nice bunch of people these folks?  Not in my book.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Bank of America, East Bonita Springs Branch at Bonita Springs, FL
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible experience
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Harpcon, Feb. 24, 2014

The tellers seem to be nice, the other staff members are horrible and very inexperienced as far as I am concerned.  Anita Grey is the worst employee at Bank of America that I have ever dealt with. She is very unprofessional and does not want to do anything to help you out.  I will never bank with these people again!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of America, Apalachee Parkway Branch at Tallahassee, FL
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Madison79 2014-03-01 12:41:02
I agree completely with this comment. Tellers are helpful. The 'account managers' and other staffers walk around as if they are above their customers. Not helpful nor in a rush to assist their customers or co-workers!
Worst Bank Ever
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by fbspec, Feb. 21, 2014

My son went on a 2 1/2 month mission trip to Africa.  I opened an account at this branch for the sole purpose of being able to transfer money into his BofA account (I bank with Wells Fargo).  When my son completed his trip in mid-November (2013), I went into the branch, withdrew the remaining balance, and told the teller I needed to close the account.  She said she was unable to close the account, that I would need to speak with one of the customer service managers.  

I went to the customer service kiosk, told the assistant manager that was standing there that I needed to close my account; she told me I would have to wait to speak with someone.  I told her I didn't have time to wait to speak with someone, particularly to close an account.  She told me I could go online to close the account, which I attempted to do, and was unable to find any links to close the account.

I assumed that with a zero balance and zero activity, BofA would simply close the account on their own.  No such luck.  After I received the third notice that I was being charged another $12/monthly service fee (I had maintained the minimum balance while the account was open, so no fees were charged/due), I called the bank to close account.  After explaining the situation and then waiting for several minutes, the CSR told me I would have to pay the $36 to bring the account current before it could be closed.  I laughed and hung up.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of America, Ballantyne Sherrill Building Branch at Charlotte, NC
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by erickson 2014-03-03 08:20:28
Hola mi nombre es erick talamantes osorio tuve un amigo que se llamaba con cesar alfredo barrechea quedazada dejo una caja p.obox la cual nadie puede acceder a dicha caja quisiera saber si soy algĂșn heredero de algĂșn documento me lo hicieran saber ya que familiares de la persona falcificaron documentos y firmas para poder acceder a dicha caja.. Yo tengo los papeles que su hermana falcifico.. Gracias y espero respuesta mi correo es erigean_@hotmail.com gracias
No Customer Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TrainCustomerService, Feb. 12, 2014

I waited at the drive up window with three cars ahead of me for 10 minutes.  When I reached the window I waited several minutes before anyone came to the window.  Then she told me that the four deposits I was depositing (which included four checks and one had cash) were a little over the limit for the drive-up and I would have to come in.  She didn't offer to deposit any of them.  Then she just left the window before I could respond.  The bank is understaffed at times and has terrible customer service!  The transaction was at noon on a wed. I won't be going back.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Bank of America, Putnam Branch at Putnam, CT
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by disappointedcustomer 2014-02-14 14:58:19
I have to make a deposit here almost daily as my office is near this branch. I hate this branch. They only have 1 line open at the drive thru and it takes forever; the time I did park and go in there was a guy sitting on the steps begging for money and this made me feel unsafe. I think I will just use my lunch hour to drive to a better branch. I wish they had never closed down the one on Graham Street. It was so much better there!!! This is a ghetto branch in a ghetto area!!
| Next >     page 1 of 20
Wells Fargo Bank, Crabtree Valley Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4315 Glenwood Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27612
PNC Bank, Glenwood Avenue Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4300 Glenwood Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27612
Branch Banking and Trust Company, Crabtree West Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4409 Creedmoor Road
Raleigh, NC 27612
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, Olde Raleigh Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3231 Edwards Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27612
Regions Bank, Glenwood Financial Center
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3700 Glenwood Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27612
Bank of Hampton Roads, Lake Boone Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
2235 Gateway Access Point
Raleigh, NC 27607
Paragon Commercial Bank
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
3535 Glenwood Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27612
TrustAtlantic Bank, Trustatlantic Bank
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4801 Glenwood Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27612
Capital Bank, Glenwood Ave-Raleigh Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
4901 Glenwood Ave
Raleigh, NC 27612

View All